View Full Version : Is this a Joke, John Gill
Rovers Maniac
02/05/2008, 12:13 AM
http://www.dundalkfc.com/news/080430_Gill.asp
Has to be one of the worst managers in the first division, total BS artist whose team have played with a massive advantage of a plastic pitch for coming into it's third full season and they're still stuck in the first division. And now he is managing a national side! Why what has he done? What will the Players that play under good managers learn from this character? Nothing, zero is my guess, FAI hang your head in shame.
02/05/2008, 12:19 AM
What's he done? Won a First Division championship ahead of a very strong field, on a small budget at pre-season odds of 20/1 (so more than Scully) and been robbed of another promotion by a spurious contrived process hiding behind an acronym. "Plastic" pitch has nothing to do with it.
I would have thought this appointment was more to do with his being a mate of Fenlon, though.
Rovers Maniac
02/05/2008, 12:36 AM
What's he done? Won a First Division championship ahead of a very strong field, on a small budget at pre-season odds of 20/1 (so more than Scully) and been robbed of another promotion by a spurious contrived process hiding behind an acronym. "Plastic" pitch has nothing to do with it.
I would have thought this appointment was more to do with his being a mate of Fenlon, though.
LOL so Dundalk have no advantage of playing on a plastic pitch? :eek::D
DO you know the statisical advantage a team has from playing home games on a plastic pitch? He had the most expensive team last year and probably again this year, first sign pressure he will go into meltdown.
He won the first division that is nothing special, i would not say Gill himself is still living off that son. He is a BS artist and was a nothing footballer, players are going to learn nothing off him. On the day the FAI show off Trap to the world this blooper goes unoticed by the media.
niallsparky
02/05/2008, 12:48 AM
Has to be one of the worst managers in the first division, total BS artist whose team have played with a massive advantage of a plastic pitch for coming into it's third full season and they're still stuck in the first division. And now he is managing a national side! Why what has he done? What will the Players that play under good managers learn from this character? Nothing, zero is my guess, FAI hang your head in shame.
He's not managing a national side, he's no a management team of a national side. Nutsy is the U23 manager.
02/05/2008, 1:35 AM
hes a clown, the budget wage structure they have and they finished 3rd last year, joke. Hendo twice the manager he is. Never mind the 10 in prem league ahead of him
Total respect for John Gill. Won the title with Dublin City , with no plastic pitch & Fcuk all money.
hes a clown, the budget wage structure they have and they finished 3rd last year, joke. Hendo twice the manager he is. Never mind the 10 in prem league ahead of him
No,your a clown,and your club are pure and utter S*it
True that Dundalk have an advantage with the plastic pitch but it still doesnt stop them winning away games when the other team should have an advantage.
I've no love for Dundalk but fair play to Giller. Credit where it's due.
02/05/2008, 7:49 AM
Premier Division "sh*t".
Louth4sam
02/05/2008, 8:55 AM
hes a clown,..... Hendo twice the manager he is.
So are you saying hendo is a double clown or something??
GuisaSaigon
02/05/2008, 10:05 AM
Maybe it's his reward for his part in rescuing The FAI's Christmas tree:D
Like the 3 Wise Men followed the Star of Bethlehem,
Giller followed the Spark of Maxi's Lighter
02/05/2008, 10:17 AM
Like the 3 Wise Men followed the Star of Bethlehem,
Giller followed the Spark of Maxi's Lighter
Definitely Post of the century Ash.:D
Spoons
02/05/2008, 10:17 AM
In fairness to Gill,at Dundalk the budget he reportedly had was 4,000euro per week each year since he took the job..Scully won the League at Rovers by a point from Gill with almost three times that budget. Then Dundalk beat Waterford in the play-off yet the FAI decided Delaney's hometown and Galway spoofers with their dvd should be in the Premier instead. :confused:
Then Maxi and the Christmas tree "farsh" happened. :D
Then Dundalk finished 3rd last year after leading for much of the campaign and again this year his side are presently 8 points ahead of the chasing pack.
He must be doing something right and in my opinion deserves the recognition. Well done Gill, ignore the begrudgers.
02/05/2008, 10:32 AM
...Dundalk beat Waterford in the play-off yet the FAI decided Delaney's hometown and Galway spoofers with their dvd should be in the Premier instead. :confused:...
As stupid as the idea of an IAG choosing the best team was (and the UCD fans kind of got on people's nerves here pointing it out all throughout that year), that playoff was worth near nothing in the agreement his club signed up to at the start of the year, and Gill made an arse of himself whinging when it still meant exactly what it was supposed to at the end of the year.
oriel
02/05/2008, 10:40 AM
Pointless post to be honest, unless you have a hidden personal dislike of the man?
You obviously have a lot of time on your hands as you pulled this story from another clubs website. Do you not get out much ?
Demoshield
02/05/2008, 11:15 AM
So Fenlon wants Gill on his team?
What has happened to his other great buddy, left destitute after his sacking by GUFC?
Enough to make you run to the papers proclaiming what an awful shower of tits are running the U23 team when the won't give the job to one of the best managers/coaches in the country.
Wonder will Phat Prat Pat get his wig in a spin over this?
Expect TC to be on MNS whinging about how unfair life is to him, and how much better life would be in Athlone :p:D
As stupid as the idea of an IAG choosing the best team was (and the UCD fans kind of got on people's nerves here pointing it out all throughout that year), that playoff was worth near nothing in the agreement his club signed up to at the start of the year, and Gill made an arse of himself whinging when it still meant exactly what it was supposed to at the end of the year.
I think you`ll find biggest arseholes were the league who insisted the play off was to go ahead.
Giller has made the play offs in both seasons he`s been with Dundalk, missing winnning the lge title by one point in 2006, I think he deserves a bit of credit.
The Man Himself
02/05/2008, 2:08 PM
we in waterford have the worse manager in league history (garath cronin)
you wont get any worse then that.
sniffa
02/05/2008, 2:36 PM
we in waterford have the worse manager in league history (garath cronin)
you wont get any worse then that.
Would ye consider a swop for John Ryan. PLEASEEEEEEEE SAY YES!
shelsfan1
02/05/2008, 3:10 PM
cronins a legend. spent half the match last week talkin to us behind the dugout:)
just think of the list of managers that are better than gill. mahon, matthews, kenny keely etc. nutsy really has lost it if he thinks gill can help him and the u-23's
02/05/2008, 3:18 PM
I don't suppose any of those would be particularly keen to take time out from their lucrative day-jobs to play second fiddle to Nutsy.
Seriously, can you imagine Keely let loose on the cream of the league's young talent? They'd all have turned into balding centre-halves smoking forty a day before the week was out.
02/05/2008, 3:30 PM
just think of the list of managers that are better than gill. mahon, matthews, kenny keely etc. nutsy really has lost it if he thinks gill can help him and the u-23'sMahon was involved in this last year. Not sure why he's not this time, maybe has better things to do.
prince20
02/05/2008, 10:37 PM
I think you`ll find biggest arseholes were the league who insisted the play off was to go ahead.
Giller has made the play offs in both seasons he`s been with Dundalk, missing winnning the lge title by one point in 2006, I think he deserves a bit of credit.
Im not being personal but im not sure if you read the posts and fully understand what happened 2 years ago that it was at the clubs insistence,(all clubs in the eircom league),at the AGM of the league, that the play off went ahead as it was seen as a good end of season money spinner to the clubs involved.All clubs new at the time that the play off did not guarentee promotion or relagation but it merely gave additional ranking points.
For what its worth,and im no gill fan,but it seems like he is doing a good job up there....pity the season is played over 36 games though!!!:D
04/05/2008, 9:46 AM
Is this the third or fourth season of the plastic pitch?
Surely at this stage any advantage of the pitch has considerably reduced as most players will have played on it by now
04/05/2008, 3:05 PM
personal abuse adam:D:D
pure and utter **** eh, how many times did ye beat us last season?
how many positions above us did ye finish?
I'll quote john gill, reacting to our fans, see ye in the playoffs lads, we'll show ye then. Oh i love it!!!!!!
The Lilywhites
04/05/2008, 3:53 PM
Is this the third or fourth season of the plastic pitch?
Fourth.
[quote=bellavistaman;935008]personal abuse adam:D:D
I'll quote john gill, reacting to our fans, see ye in the playoffs lads, we'll show ye then. Oh i love it!!!!!![/quote
You only have about 53 fans.I wonder what your gates will be like back in Division 1 when you have no away fans to treble the crowd
04/05/2008, 7:37 PM
You only have about 53 fans.I wonder what your gates will be like back in Division 1 when you have no away fans to treble the crowd
No need to wonder, you'll find out when you head down next year.
Louth4sam
04/05/2008, 11:11 PM
No need to wonder, you'll find out when you head down next year.
What is this like school where cobh fans have to get their big brother(cork fans) to stop the bullies? :rolleyes:
04/05/2008, 11:38 PM
What is this like school where cobh fans have to get their big brother(cork fans) to stop the bullies? :rolleyes:
I just implied they're going down and ye're staying down.
I'm an equal opportunities offender.
05/05/2008, 1:23 PM
[quote=bellavistaman;935008]personal abuse adam
I'll quote john gill, reacting to our fans, see ye in the playoffs lads, we'll show ye then. Oh i love it!!!!!![/quote
If we did which we wont, the same as last year i reckon
I just implied they're going down and ye're staying down.
I'm an equal opportunities offender.
:D:D:D
5ForKeeps
08/05/2008, 12:40 PM
I think if Dundalk blow the first division title/promotion again like last season his reign as their manager would be called into question.
Rovers Maniac
08/05/2008, 8:28 PM
Getting 3-1 tonight this guy is a joker and as soon as people start kopping on to this absolute sham the better espicially the poor tortured souls in Dundalk. The web staff at the club will be in for another hard day.
Battle of the so called heavyweights in the first division its clear now Dundak will throw away that lead,when playing in Cobh-Shels always looked more organised anyway good luck to them hope they win it if anything it"ll give City someone else to dispise...
Black and White
09/05/2008, 8:21 PM
Gill is a legend and deserves recognition from what he has achieved and were he has brought us..when he took over we wer just about mid table an now were challenging every year not too mention he did technically get us promoted in his first season in charge only for us to be robed!!!
09/05/2008, 8:31 PM
Gill is a legend and deserves recognition from what he has achieved and were he has brought us..when he took over we wer just about mid table an now were challenging every year not too mention he did technically get us promoted in his first season in charge only for us to be robed!!!
ined, but does this make him no.2 behind fenlon in the list of best managers, no. Also hendo ,from our point of view, has done better than gill, with not even 1/5 of the resources, when we were reading yere programme last year we realised that ye nearly had more off field staff than we did bloody players
dundalksarge
28/06/2008, 1:03 AM
I think if Dundalk blow the first division title/promotion again like last season his reign as their manager would be called into question.
I think we are starting to see this already , the wheels seem to be failing off and the sense of de ja vu is surrounding us again
I reckon about 90% of dundalk fans are starting to question him now to be honest.