Thread: Is this a Joke, John Gill

Is this a Joke, John Gill

http://www.dundalkfc.com/news/080430_Gill.asp

Has to be one of the worst managers in the first division, total BS artist whose team have played with a massive advantage of a plastic pitch for coming into it's third full season and they're still stuck in the first division. And now he is managing a national side! Why what has he done? What will the Players that play under good managers learn from this character? Nothing, zero is my guess, FAI hang your head in shame.

38 Posts
    What's he done? Won a First Division championship ahead of a very strong field, on a small budget at pre-season odds of 20/1 (so more than Scully) and been robbed of another promotion by a spurious contrived process hiding behind an acronym. "Plastic" pitch has nothing to do with it.

I would have thought this appointment was more to do with his being a mate of Fenlon, though.
    A leading authority on League of Ireland football since 2003. You're probably wrong.

Quote Originally Posted by Sheridan View Post
    What's he done? Won a First Division championship ahead of a very strong field, on a small budget at pre-season odds of 20/1 (so more than Scully) and been robbed of another promotion by a spurious contrived process hiding behind an acronym. "Plastic" pitch has nothing to do with it.

I would have thought this appointment was more to do with his being a mate of Fenlon, though.
    LOL so Dundalk have no advantage of playing on a plastic pitch?

DO you know the statisical advantage a team has from playing home games on a plastic pitch? He had the most expensive team last year and probably again this year, first sign pressure he will go into meltdown.

He won the first division that is nothing special, i would not say Gill himself is still living off that son. He is a BS artist and was a nothing footballer, players are going to learn nothing off him. On the day the FAI show off Trap to the world this blooper goes unoticed by the media.

Quote Originally Posted by Rovers Maniac View Post

Has to be one of the worst managers in the first division, total BS artist whose team have played with a massive advantage of a plastic pitch for coming into it's third full season and they're still stuck in the first division. And now he is managing a national side! Why what has he done? What will the Players that play under good managers learn from this character? Nothing, zero is my guess, FAI hang your head in shame.
    He's not managing a national side, he's no a management team of a national side. Nutsy is the U23 manager.

hes a clown, the budget wage structure they have and they finished 3rd last year, joke. Hendo twice the manager he is. Never mind the 10 in prem league ahead of him
    COBH RAMBLERS FIRST DIV CHAMPS 2007

http://irish-abroad.appspot.com/GameDayDetails fantastic website by tetsujin1979

Quote Originally Posted by Sheridan View Post

Total respect for John Gill. Won the title with Dublin City , with no plastic pitch & Fcuk all money.

44 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by bellavistaman View Post
    hes a clown, the budget wage structure they have and they finished 3rd last year, joke. Hendo twice the manager he is. Never mind the 10 in prem league ahead of him
    No,your a clown,and your club are pure and utter S*it
    Only another 9 titles till Drogheda become pride of county louth!!!

30 Posts
    True that Dundalk have an advantage with the plastic pitch but it still doesnt stop them winning away games when the other team should have an advantage.

I've no love for Dundalk but fair play to Giller. Credit where it's due.

Quote Originally Posted by shep View Post
    No,your a clown,and your club are pure and utter S*it
    Premier Division "sh*t".
    Your Chairperson,
    Gavin
    Membership Advisory Board
    "Ex Bardus , Vicis"

81 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by bellavistaman View Post
    hes a clown,..... Hendo twice the manager he is.
    So are you saying hendo is a double clown or something??

Maybe it's his reward for his part in rescuing The FAI's Christmas tree
    Galway United - Connacht Champions 2008

30 Posts
    Like the 3 Wise Men followed the Star of Bethlehem,
    Giller followed the Spark of Maxi's Lighter

74 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Ash View Post
    Like the 3 Wise Men followed the Star of Bethlehem,
    Giller followed the Spark of Maxi's Lighter
    Definitely Post of the century Ash.
    We are the Galway Boys Stand up and make some noise"

In fairness to Gill,at Dundalk the budget he reportedly had was 4,000euro per week each year since he took the job..Scully won the League at Rovers by a point from Gill with almost three times that budget. Then Dundalk beat Waterford in the play-off yet the FAI decided Delaney's hometown and Galway spoofers with their dvd should be in the Premier instead.

Then Maxi and the Christmas tree "farsh" happened.

Then Dundalk finished 3rd last year after leading for much of the campaign and again this year his side are presently 8 points ahead of the chasing pack.

He must be doing something right and in my opinion deserves the recognition. Well done Gill, ignore the begrudgers.

732 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Spoons View Post
    ...Dundalk beat Waterford in the play-off yet the FAI decided Delaney's hometown and Galway spoofers with their dvd should be in the Premier instead. ...
    As stupid as the idea of an IAG choosing the best team was (and the UCD fans kind of got on people's nerves here pointing it out all throughout that year), that playoff was worth near nothing in the agreement his club signed up to at the start of the year, and Gill made an arse of himself whinging when it still meant exactly what it was supposed to at the end of the year.

370 Posts

Pointless post to be honest, unless you have a hidden personal dislike of the man?

You obviously have a lot of time on your hands as you pulled this story from another clubs website. Do you not get out much ?
    #DundalkFC - First Irish club to win an away game in Europe (1963), first Irish club to win points in a group stage in Europe (2016).

So Fenlon wants Gill on his team?
    What has happened to his other great buddy, left destitute after his sacking by GUFC?
    Enough to make you run to the papers proclaiming what an awful shower of tits are running the U23 team when the won't give the job to one of the best managers/coaches in the country.
    Wonder will Phat Prat Pat get his wig in a spin over this?
    Expect TC to be on MNS whinging about how unfair life is to him, and how much better life would be in Athlone

370 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by John83 View Post
    As stupid as the idea of an IAG choosing the best team was (and the UCD fans kind of got on people's nerves here pointing it out all throughout that year), that playoff was worth near nothing in the agreement his club signed up to at the start of the year, and Gill made an arse of himself whinging when it still meant exactly what it was supposed to at the end of the year.

I think you`ll find biggest arseholes were the league who insisted the play off was to go ahead.

Giller has made the play offs in both seasons he`s been with Dundalk, missing winnning the lge title by one point in 2006, I think he deserves a bit of credit.
    #DundalkFC - First Irish club to win an away game in Europe (1963), first Irish club to win points in a group stage in Europe (2016).

we in waterford have the worse manager in league history (garath cronin)
    you wont get any worse then that.

Quote Originally Posted by The Man Himself View Post
    we in waterford have the worse manager in league history (garath cronin)
    you wont get any worse then that.
    Would ye consider a swop for John Ryan. PLEASEEEEEEEE SAY YES!