View Full Version : Bus from Dubrovnik to Podgorica

Pages : 1 [2] 3

11/06/2008, 11:10 AM
Neil is the bus returning you never answered by post! :evil: :D

btw i thought its only about an hour from pod, dubrovnik that is.

Yeah the bus is returning that night a few hours after the game. I wont be on the return back but I am sure you will be fine without me.

11/06/2008, 12:52 PM
4 hours indeed winding roads

The Scientist
16/06/2008, 7:59 AM

the mula is gone in the post today!! also find out is there a toilet on the bus and can we bring an unlimited supply of beer on the bus!!

one more thing, will the bus driver have a problem if i sing the wonderly wagon!! :D:D

20/06/2008, 6:17 AM
[QUOTE=NeilMcD;959291][QUOTE=NeilMcD;949094]Neil McD = 5 (55 Euro)
Fr Joe =8 14 (88 Euro)
Scienist =4 17 (44 Euro)
Zeno Kelly=3 20 (33 Euro)
Green Paddy=4 24 (44 Euro)
Kevin H = 3 27 (33 Euro)
Donegalcelt = 4 31 (44 Euro)
Jaykay = 4 35 (44 Euro)
Superdub = 4 39 (44 Euro)
Clipper = 5* 44 (55 Euro)
Dave (Green Tribe)1 45 (11 Euro)
Paul O Shea 2 47 (22 Euro)
soylent Green 1 48 (11 Euro )

We now have a full bus which i am delighted about.

Bring it on.

AidoM
20/06/2008, 8:17 AM
[QUOTE=NeilMcD;959291][QUOTE=NeilMcD;949094]Neil McD = 5 (55 Euro)
Fr Joe =8 14 (88 Euro)
Scienist =4 17 (44 Euro)
Kevin H = 3 27 (33 Euro)
Donegalcelt = 4 31 (44 Euro)
Jaykay = 4 35 (44 Euro)
Superdub = 4 39 (44 Euro)
Clipper = 5* 44 (55 Euro)
Dave (Green Tribe)45 (11 Euro)
Paul O Shea 47 (22 Euro)
soylent Green 1 48 (11 Euro )

We now have a full bus which i am delighted about.

Bring it on.

Well done Neil. Now the problems begin :eek: :D

MagicMulv
23/06/2008, 7:46 PM
I have been studying for the past month and so missed this post. Is there a chance that a second bus could be organised or who I could contact to organise a bus. I presume most fans goinf will be staying in Dubrovnik. Any help apprciated

24/06/2008, 7:23 PM
might be hard to organise a 2nd bus at this stage, neilmcd was the one doing it. Neil, any 2nd bus? :eek:
otherwise i'm sure katie o robbery's pub could do you a seat :D
also contact maro see if he knows anyone else running a bus who has a spare seat?

01/07/2008, 6:56 PM
Sorry guys been out of internet range over the last while. In that I was too drunk and busy to be checking the site. Not that New York does not have coverage. Anyway I can't see myself organising another bus. Until the time of the game is comfirmed also I won't know what time we are leaving at. I think leaving early seems to be a popular option though but sure let me know what you think.

Fr. Joe
02/07/2008, 5:00 PM
The earlier the better is what I say especially if it turns out to be ~4hrs of a journey not including pit-stops. :D
Say a k.o. time of 7.30 you'd want a good few hours beforehand soaking up the atmosphere and the craic especially seeing as its a new city on our map.
Thats my 2c worth anyway

02/07/2008, 11:21 PM
Yeah totally agree on that, I think the earlier the better myself.

Sligo Hornet
03/07/2008, 6:24 AM
Yeah totally agree on that, I think the earlier the better myself.

So you'll be setting off the DAY BEFORE then!:D

05/07/2008, 3:00 PM
i'm guessing you'll leave 11am/12pm at latest.?

23/07/2008, 11:02 AM
Bus is paid for now with Mara. Just wondering could anyone who still owes me money please contact me by private message.

Cheers.

23/07/2008, 3:15 PM
Mail from Mara from the Bus Company

"Hi Neil,

There is a toilet on the bus but driver can also make a few stops for toilet along the way so people will be more comfortable.

Water and juices are allowed but any alcohol (beer, spirits etc.) are strickly forbidden because of the passinger's, diver's and bus safety.
Singing is completely OK but standing up and walking during the transfer is not (again for the safety reasons).

Please confirm and guarantee group will respect the above roles and behave apropriately.

Thank you!
Maro"

Considering we cannot drink on the bus I would now think that the earlier we leave the better. I would be all up for a 10 o' clock departure which would get us in at roughly 2 o clock in the afternoon. As the game is kicking off at 7pm according to the FAI's website this should give us 5 hours to drink etc before the game. I think 10am is a reasonable time to set off.

Fr. Joe
28/07/2008, 9:23 AM
10am no problem at all with us Neil, as I have said before the earlier the better and that definetly applies now :D

SuperDub
28/07/2008, 6:32 PM
10am is grand with us too.

Green Paddy
28/07/2008, 8:54 PM
10 am is spot on with us Neil.

07/08/2008, 12:17 PM
1 place left

Neil McD = 5 (55 Euro)
Fr Joe =8 14 (88 Euro)
Scienist =4 17 (44 Euro)
Donegalcelt = 4 28 (44 Euro)
Jaykay = 4 32 (44 Euro)
Superdub = 4 36 (44 Euro)
Clipper = 5* 41 (55 Euro)
Paul O Shea 2 43 (22 Euro)
soylent Green 1 44 (11 Euro )
Mark Watters 3 47 (33 Euro)

been there
07/08/2008, 1:40 PM
I'm trying 2 book rooms in Tbilisi but 2 no avail. As you can see by this message I'm new
2 the web I'm looking for 3 rooms [2 twin 1single] .I have sent off loads email 2 Hotels i
never got any answers if any body could help me out i would be very grateful

Sligo Hornet
07/08/2008, 1:52 PM
I'm trying 2 book rooms in Tbilisi but 2 no avail. As you can see by this message I'm new
2 the web I'm looking for 3 rooms [2 twin 1single] .I have sent off loads email 2 Hotels i
never got any answers if any body could help me out i would be very grateful

If you are hoping for Neil's Fun Bus to pick you up from Tbilisi, then you are seriously over estimating his generous nature!!:D

been there
07/08/2008, 3:50 PM
Sligo Hornet all i'm looking is advice not charity.i,m traveling a long number of years with travel companies i,m st ricking out on my own this double header better late than never

07/08/2008, 6:19 PM
LOL :D Stop winding up the newbies Sligo H!
try georgia select - hotel tori, or if georgia select have anything else?

07/08/2008, 6:39 PM
This thread is for the Wanderly Wagon from Dubrovnik to Podogorcia or however you spell it. Try the Tilblisi thread for info etc. Also just a word of advice, using numbers for words can get confusing when talking about booking a few hotel rooms. I was not sure for a minute how many rooms you were looking for as it was like a Paddy Kavanagh poems with its 2's and 3's. I am off to find my bicycle.

been there
07/08/2008, 8:07 PM
I hope it flat

been there
08/08/2008, 10:25 AM
Many thinks green tribe got VIP hotel now i can cons-trait on Norway

Sligo Hornet
08/08/2008, 10:43 AM
Many thinks green tribe got VIP hotel now i can cons-trait on Norway

wtf?....or is it just me?:confused:

09/08/2008, 5:43 PM
Can all of this rubbish be deleted from this thread.

20/08/2008, 11:22 AM
I am going to go with 10am as I put it up and nobody came back with any reason why not and that will get us in for 2pm into Pod. I will name a pub closer to the time just have to talk to Mara first. He cannot go into the Old town but he can meet us just outside, So it will be about a 5 minute walk from the pub we are in max.

Sligo Hornet
20/08/2008, 11:38 AM
I am going to go with 10am as I put it up and nobody came back with any reason why not and that will get us in for 2pm into Pod. I will name a pub closer to the time just have to talk to Mara first. He cannot go into the Old town but he can meet us just outside, So it will be about a 5 minute walk from the pub we are in max.

As we will be residing in Pod for the whole trip, and be there from Monday, I'll let you know if any pubs are selected by the masses as "meet-up" venues:)

AidoM
20/08/2008, 12:50 PM
As we will be residing in Pod for the whole trip, and be there from Monday, I'll let you know if any pubs are selected by the masses as "meet-up" venues:)

Hornet saying Mass now :confused: :rolleyes:

Moscow Mule
20/08/2008, 6:47 PM
SH has always liked dressing up so it was a natural progression!

21/08/2008, 2:15 PM
neil sorry to let ye down here, but we got to the london county final over here so I wont be able to make this trip. Can you take me off the bus list?

If my space isn't sold ill pass on the money to ye. sorry about this.

21/08/2008, 2:23 PM
No problem Paul,

Lads now we have 2 places left on the bus.

21/08/2008, 3:12 PM
Ok lads the meet up is at 9.30 at a bar called Karaka in Dubrovnik. There we will meet the driver and depart at 10am.

http://www.irishpub-karaka.t-com.hr/

21/08/2008, 3:22 PM
And boycott katie o'connors (katie o'robberys) bar!
neil i'll ask around and see if anyone needs a seat

21/08/2008, 3:35 PM
Yeah I was worried that was the bar that the rip off guy was from but glad it is not now. I was not sure of the names. If everybody could e mail me there e mail address that is travelling on the bus and I will then create a distribution group in my e mail and e mail people directly as well as putting up the posts here on the details etc.

Cheers.

Sligo Hornet
22/08/2008, 7:18 AM
Yeah I was worried that was the bar that the rip off guy was from but glad it is not now. I was not sure of the names. If everybody could e mail me there e mail address that is travelling on the bus and I will then create a distribution group in my e mail and e mail people directly as well as putting up the posts here on the details etc.

Cheers.

So is it communication by e mail?:D

22/08/2008, 9:27 AM
Like Michael Robinson the other night mentioning Ireland time and time again. Much more than someone who speaks English every day.

26/08/2008, 10:17 PM
Full Bus again.

Neil McD = 5 (55 Euro)
Fr Joe =8 14 (88 Euro)
Scienist =4 17 (44 Euro)
Donegalcelt = 4 28 (44 Euro)
Jaykay = 4 32 (44 Euro)
Superdub = 4 36 (44 Euro)
Clipper = 5 41 (55 Euro)
soylent Green 1 42 (11 Euro )
Mark Watters 3 45 (33 Euro)
Felim Glynn 3 48 (33 Euro)

12/09/2008, 9:51 AM
Hi Neil,

Thank you for the e-mail.

We had no problems on the border (on the way back). Zeljko spoke with the officers about the game Croatia - England so they didn't even count the people on the bus.

I must tell you that I am pleasently supprised with how your supporters where behaving - having good time and not making problems. Zeljko told me they were great on the bus and noone was drinking alcohol and smoking. Unfortunately our supporters are not as nice as yours... :-(

All the best,
Maro

12/09/2008, 11:46 AM
fair play, unlike our bus company tramps trying to over double the price....

SuperDub
12/09/2008, 5:25 PM
Well done Neil on organising the bus. A whip around was organised for Marko and Zeljko on the way back. Great to hear positive feedback too.

jaykay
12/09/2008, 7:30 PM
Thanks very much for all the hard work Neil. Worked out brilliantly. The driver helped us find a cab near Cavtat, which saved an hour. We also organised a whip-around for driver and escort when we they dropped our group off
Roll on April and Italy!!

Junior
12/09/2008, 8:16 PM
holy fcuk no drink on the bus????

The Scientist
15/09/2008, 7:42 AM
class trip lads!!

bus on the way back was the highlight!!!

the 5 boys from limerick were nuts!!

mush, stinky, balls, beano and the one and only papa john!!

i have a video of him i will be putting up on you tube soon but there must be more of this nutter!!!

richie kavanagh eat your heart out!! :D:D

Fr. Joe
15/09/2008, 4:07 PM
Fair play to Neil for doing a fantastic job in organising the bus. Great that nobody got thick with him over the delay at the border. I'm one of the Limerick lads and i'd like to thank everybody who put up with our carry on for the duration of the journey home, I collected a whiparound for the driver and the tour guide we'll call him, there was close on €200 in that bag i reckon which was nice to see. The singsong in the Gaffe in Dubrovnik on the Thurs night will live long in the memory. It was great to meet so many sound people which included the 3 kilkenny boys, the 3 Newry lads, the gang from Waterford who sang so well on the Thurs night, Neil McD, Zeno Kelly and his mate and Dad. All in all a fantastic trip and it was the best fans in the world that made it so good.

Clipper
15/09/2008, 4:33 PM
Neil,
Just adding to the chorus of thanks here. Fair play on organising the trip. I still have that traveller man tune going around in my head from the trip back!!!

The Scientist
15/09/2008, 4:34 PM
Fair play to Neil for doing a fantastic job in organising the bus. Great that nobody got thick with him over the delay at the border. I'm one of the Limerick lads and i'd like to thank everybody who put up with our carry on for the duration of the journey home, I collected a whiparound for the driver and the tour guide we'll call him, there was close on €200 in that bag i reckon which was nice to see. The singsong in the Gaffe in Dubrovnik on the Thurs night will live long in the memory. It was great to meet so many sound people which included the 3 kilkenny boys, the 3 Newry lads, the gang from Waterford who sang so well on the Thurs night, Neil McD, Zeno Kelly and his mate and Dad. All in all a fantastic trip and it was the best fans in the world that made it so good.

Fr Joe

u must have a few videos of papa john lying around there somewhere, i have one and will post it up on youtube as soon as i get time!!

15/09/2008, 5:39 PM
Cheers lads much appreciated if I could have been in 2 places at one time I would have loved to have been in Dubrovnik on Thursday night.

Nobody told me about an escort but sounds good!!!!!:)

zenokelly
15/09/2008, 9:07 PM
Ya cheers Neil for all the effort you put in and great to see everything went smoothly except for the small matter of the border crossing.

But at least a few of them cops had a nice visit to Pod, and I'm sure at least one of them got their share of the takings from that kip of a petrol station where we stopped....twice.

I'm sure we'll cross paths again FR JOE and make sure that's not Papas first and last Irish trip.