View Full Version : LTFC vs ATFC

28/04/2008, 11:51 AM
So them first time in a long time we will have played them in a league fixture. Hopefully we can keep our unbeaten streak of two games going and get a win over them Saturday night. Anyone know if McKenna will be fit in time? Really want to see us win this one.

We hate Athlone and we hate Athlone.....

Salmon Coloured
28/04/2008, 11:58 AM
Wont be there meself unfortunately. Hopefully we will smite our fellow Midlanders down!!

Battery Rover
28/04/2008, 12:30 PM
Whatever happens Saturday night you will be forever in our shadow:p

Keen2win
28/04/2008, 3:57 PM
Whatever happens Saturday night you will be forever in our shadow:p

Wouldn't be so sure about that;)

Cabs88
28/04/2008, 4:41 PM
AND YOU'LL NEVER WALK IN ATHLONE, ON YOUR OWN, IN THE DARK, WITHOUT FEAR IN YOUR HEART, AND YOU'LL NEVER WALK IN ATHLONE!!!

Cant wait for this one, great to have a local derby to look forward to, and 3 points would be great

28/04/2008, 4:50 PM
Going home for my first game of the season. Can't wait for this one! Bring it on.

Battery Rover
28/04/2008, 6:00 PM
It must be one of the only matches in LOI where people attend and don't go to another match until the teams meet again

28/04/2008, 6:01 PM
I won't even be at this one:D

02/05/2008, 1:35 PM
One day to go! Cant fecking wait. Hope there is a good crowd at it. To all the lads in Section O bring every flag , scarf, novelty hairbrush you can find :) Get in there early and make yourselves heard. I shall be there hobbling and may have to sit down watching the game. Going to be very odd.....

02/05/2008, 3:11 PM
believe the game is now a seven thirty kick off game... long time waiting for this local derby in the league and we want revenge for them knocking us out of a penalty shootout last season...

02/05/2008, 3:20 PM
Looking forward to this one. Should be a bit of an edge to it given that there's so many ex-players of either team involved. McKenna is apparently fit again too so he should be another option up front. It'd be nice to get the three points.

02/05/2008, 3:30 PM
and we have fsix ex athlone players the four we signed from athlone in preseason plus iarlaith davoren gary murphy. athlone have two lavine and byrne. Im sure Lavine will get a great reception from us...

02/05/2008, 4:35 PM
AND YOU'LL NEVER WALK IN ATHLONE, ON YOUR OWN, IN THE DARK, WITHOUT FEAR IN YOUR HEART, AND YOU'LL NEVER WALK IN ATHLONE!!!

Cant wait for this one, great to have a local derby to look forward to, and 3 points would be great

That's a GUFC song.Nice of ye to take it.

02/05/2008, 4:41 PM
I think you have more troubling issues than people stealing songs :)

deecay
02/05/2008, 6:42 PM
I think you have more troubling issues than people stealing songs :)
Haha burn

Bosco
02/05/2008, 7:31 PM
Was it Galway that originally sang it?Cos over the years I've heard 3 different teams sing it, Us,Galway and bizarely Athlone?

On the game,been waiting for a long time for this,hopefully Athlone will bring a big crowd!Should be a big crowd in section o!I think me and a good few of the boys will be popping into jonh joes around 6 to get things going early!Dont agree with the 7.30 kick off,a 7.30 kick off always means that people wont stop coming in until at least 7.45...

LTFCfan
02/05/2008, 7:49 PM
The ko is def at 7.30 right? Only I had someone ring me to say it was 7...:confused: Dont wanna arrive late and miss all the goals we're gonna score in the first half:p

atfconline
02/05/2008, 7:51 PM
eircom League of Ireland First Division

Longford Town v Athlone Town

Flancare Park 7.30 pm

Have you not played at 7:30 all season?

02/05/2008, 10:00 PM
its down at 7pm on the site....

atfconline
02/05/2008, 11:50 PM
It's down as 7 in the left hand pane, but corrected as 7:30 in the match preview. It is also down as 7:30 in the latest League fixtures.

03/05/2008, 12:54 AM
Definitely 7.30. The erroneous mention of 7.00 in the next fixture panel has been removed.

03/05/2008, 12:07 PM
in the fai fixture list at the start of the season the kickoff time was seven which didnt make sense.. even the local press this week had it at seven o clock ko...

glad its the normal time to be honest and good to see the younger section o crew in jjs around six...

will be sum atmosphere in section o tonight then.. just spoke to gary murph just now hes really lookin forward to the game tongiht.. he shouldnt be playin at all as hes bein carrying an injury all season...

Keen2win
03/05/2008, 5:35 PM
Just heading off to the match.

Expecting a good win.

C'mon De Town

03/05/2008, 9:18 PM
Thatll do.

Keen2win
03/05/2008, 9:31 PM
Very nice even if most of the game was of a very poor standard.

I thaught Athlone were awful in the first half, and what about Davoren's miss near the end:o

Nice to see the Schoolies were out in force.

04/05/2008, 1:57 AM
It was particularly easy tonight. No point going on about a very poor standard, we're mid-table first division, it's a big step down from last year, people are going to have to accept that we're going to have some poor displays this year. We've won our last two home games scoring 6 without reply. Keep that up we'll be alright. McKenna caused numerous problems when he came on, good to see him back.

04/05/2008, 8:56 AM
Possibly the most embarrassing "performance" I've seen in years!!!!
Any Athlone player who accepts wages for that game should have
their contract terminated, be paid off and told never to darken
our doorstep again. :mad:

Not counting the bad luckof the 2 O'G.'s from Jinks, we were just horrendous.
From what I heard, the post match interview sounded more like a resignation
speech.

McKenna made a massibe difference when he came on.

Oh, and for the gang in the press box "HOME DANGER!" :p

And can anyone clarify exactly what happened at half and full time. I was told
it was the little shower of fcuks from our side but when I was leaving chatting to
John, Marty & Pauro, the LTFC stewards tore into the lads blaming them for something?

04/05/2008, 9:36 AM
There was a bit of squaring up between two groups of teenagers. Few idiots from our side few from Athlone. Not even handbags just ****e being shouted. The ltfc stewards like to tear into us at any opportunity we are all a disgrace apparently. For those of us who do nothing bar support the team. Week in and week out home and away.

Cabs88
04/05/2008, 12:08 PM
First things first, great result. Despite having scored the luckiest 2 goals we ever did, i thought we could have tagged 2 or 3 more in the second, tho we only started playing in the second when McKenna came on and gave us a focus in our attack.
Great to see Gallagher getting a run out, and i think our 2 centre backs are getn stronger by the game, Bermingham a great prospect.
Hardy in the middle looks decent, but i think Daire Doyle really needs to get going this season, as club captain and as a player, i feel his performances have been sub standard this year. If Athlone had anyone decent in the middle (they only had that mouthy no.6) i thought we would have been in trouble.Too often Doyle never looked up when he got the ball, ignoring playing the ball to feet to 2 of our most technical players, Davoren and Murphy.

04/05/2008, 9:13 PM
it was the little shower of fcuks from our side but when I was leaving chatting to
John, Marty & Pauro, the LTFC stewards tore into the lads blaming them for something?[/QUOTE]

the stewards were giving out to us for throwing till rolls, trouble at half time and full time... why were they not doin their job??

I didnt like the way they rounded up on us... they were a disgrace trying to humiliate us in front of certain people... they want two people to patrol section o when the lazy sods dont do it themselves??? I dont like their attitude and the whole thing stinks...

ok certain people were wrong in what they did but why blame the majority of scetion o? if the club did their job properly they would get the bad apples out of section o... If this continues they are goin to kill the atmosphere in section o and the club...

they are a bunch of amateurs and I am very tempted to write a strong letter of complaint to the club and to the media.. I have never bein so angry and humilaited in my life and the other lads that were there with me can vouch for me... If it was my decision the club will NOT get sponsorship money from section o but thats for other people to decide..

to the certain people in the club I hope you hang ur heads in shame as I have no respect for ye from now on..

05/05/2008, 5:57 AM
John, Marty & Pauro, the LTFC stewards tore into the lads blaming them for something?

All I can add to that is that some Athlone kids looked like they were throwing something at the cars below. They were standing over the wall at one point facing the road. All I can add to that is, that the way the stewards circled around us was cowardly. They were calling us a disgrace to the club etc., general finger pointing in our direction. All I'll say is that the stewards, it is they who are a disgrace. Using a sledgehammer to open a nut as usual. No call for it, they were embarrassing us in front of passers by, and we shouldnt have to take this so called abuse from these little Hitlers on a power trip.

05/05/2008, 7:22 PM
Outraged with what happened to ye Pauro. Of all the people for them to have a go at! Couldnt believe it when I was talking to Marty later that night. They have some ****ing cheek turning on ye like that making ye into scapegoats. Shower of *******.

05/05/2008, 7:44 PM
Bunch of w*****s. The stewards obviously cant control the problem, so they decide to pick on us. Seriously hacked off. That was my first Town game of the season, great result, great being back in the midst of Section O, but the way the stewards have treated long serving fans of this club leaves a sour taste in the mouth. I admit, there's a few of the younger lads that needs a good kick up the arse because they're dragging us down, but blaming us for it does nothing for the problem. It's only going to create more problems. As usual the stewards over-reacting, it is their heavy handedness that might be causing the aggro.

05/05/2008, 8:23 PM
In protest didnt bother goin to the over 35 match in flancare tonight... the ***** have really ****ed me off and will be gettin the silent treatment off me in future.. thats no way to treat longstanding supporters of ltfc...

tbh i think its time for a change at the higher level... Its all politicians runnin the club not football lovers and from my experience with the junior supporters club they are not very forthcoming... I cant wait for the next meeting of the club so I can vote these certain power egos of people out of the club forever...

:(

Tallanted
05/05/2008, 8:35 PM
Lads this has been comin for a long time, some of the younger section have been actin the maggot at away games and at home, as senior members of section o and constantly plugging it I can see where the stewards (I will be 1st to say we do have worst stewards in country that do over react before anyone has a swipe at me for it) are comin from bringing it up with yous. Yous are the lads that wanted everyone over to section o surely you gotta start takin responsibility for what goes on over there. This should have been cut out a long time ago but hasn't and it is now giving us a bad name. Some has to cut it out and its gonna have to come from the founding members. This is our club lets cut out the sh*t. Id rather have 50 genuine fans than 100 fans that are just there to cause trouble.

05/05/2008, 9:25 PM
In protest didnt bother goin to the over 35 match in flancare tonight... the ***** have really ****ed me off and will be gettin the silent treatment off me in future.. thats no way to treat longstanding supporters of ltfc...

tbh i think its time for a change at the higher level... Its all politicians runnin the club not football lovers and from my experience with the junior supporters club they are not very forthcoming... I cant wait for the next meeting of the club so I can vote these certain power egos of people out of the club forever...

:(
Alot of people must have been protesting....a very bad turn out to the game in Flancare this evening in my opinion. I thought there would have been more, good weather and all that. Good bit of fun in the game with Longford Town "legends" or "veterans" winning 2-1 in the end. Back line was safe as houses with Aaron there...and Jacko in goals :p

06/05/2008, 6:26 AM
Lads this has been comin for a long time, some of the younger section have been actin the maggot at away games and at home, as senior members of section o and constantly plugging it I can see where the stewards (I will be 1st to say we do have worst stewards in country that do over react before anyone has a swipe at me for it) are comin from bringing it up with yous. Yous are the lads that wanted everyone over to section o surely you gotta start takin responsibility for what goes on over there. This should have been cut out a long time ago but hasn't and it is now giving us a bad name. Some has to cut it out and its gonna have to come from the founding members. This is our club lets cut out the sh*t. Id rather have 50 genuine fans than 100 fans that are just there to cause trouble.

I can't speak for the senior Section O lads (that includes me), I havent been to enough games over the last few years. A lot of the younger lads are spot on, they're there for the banter, the craic, the songs, everything. But there's some bowsies in there, I think its a thing to discuss between us all rather than on a public forum is all that I'll say.

06/05/2008, 7:48 AM
Bóllox. It's the responsibility of the stewards to, eh, steward the fans. At the end it was obvious that the two groups of kids were heading out to try and cause trouble, what did the stewards do? Stood around watching instead of stopping them leaving or intervening. Some of them are purely on a power trip with the people that don't cause trouble, whilst washing their hands of the one's that do. The old section O heads were all about atmosphere, not trouble, and not policing other fans. The stewards are either paid or volunteer to do the job - let them do it.

If you want people to police a section, maybe the club should let the older heads control who goes into it, instead of taking money off everyone and then washing their hands not bothering to steward them, and then blaming it on soft targets like Marty. Whoever in the club who did that, or even witnessed it should be ashamed of themselves. That type of crap does more harm to the club than any poncy pretend playground not a punch thrown play acting by a bunch of kids ever does. Those knobs will be gone in a matter of months, the likes of Marty won't. And lets not kid ourselves that elements of the stand support have been itching to have a go at the section O lads over something, and they've found their target.

We wanted people to come to section O to sing, not to pathetically pretend to fight (as both sets of schooligans didn't have the balls too even when they were outside and free too - much harder to wait for the cops and then pretend either side of them.)

As for the match, awful stuff despite the win. Really crap referee too (not bias just absolutely shockingly brutal).

06/05/2008, 12:20 PM
Have to say the attempt at their brawl was embarassing! Not even handbags at fifty paces.

06/05/2008, 12:25 PM
Just stupid kids acting the pr!ck. That said, it really doesnt give a good impression on Section O. How do we get the message across that some of them aren't welcome in our Section? We were always about the chanting. Not about goading other 'schooligans' on f*cking Bebo.

06/05/2008, 12:26 PM
Talking to some one this morning its 3 or 4 lads mainly who are about 14-15. They have caused trouble before on buses so apparently they are well known. How to get rid of them is the next problem

Battery Rover
06/05/2008, 12:57 PM
Enjoy watching the highlights of what is hopefully your last victory against us this season by going to www.athlonetowntv.com

I am also sending Davorens miss into Soccer AM and any other joke show I can think of :)

06/05/2008, 1:06 PM
Thanks Battery Rover. Any pictures from it anywhere, raydonlon doesnt have any on his site from it.

Battery Rover
06/05/2008, 1:08 PM
One of the lads from Athlone was there taking photos but after that performance he might bin them like I am thinking of doing with the full match footage.

06/05/2008, 1:16 PM
Talking to some one this morning its 3 or 4 lads mainly who are about 14-15. They have caused trouble before on buses so apparently they are well known. How to get rid of them is the next problem
Not let them in the ground to start with, even for a couple of games as a shot across the bows. Sorry, on reflection that's a nonsense suggestion as it would involve the club and stewards doing some policing of the ground rather than blaming innocent people for the actions of others.

06/05/2008, 1:19 PM
Oh they shouldnt be let in at all but problem is they are getting in so someone somewhere isnt doing their jobs. Ridiculous goings on though, anyone worth their salt knows there has never been trouble before so targeting "original" section O members is outrageous

06/05/2008, 1:27 PM
Oh they shouldnt be let in at all but problem is they are getting in so someone somewhere isnt doing their jobs.
And then they're being let get up to what they want during and after the match. I mean the stewards by section O watched them head out, some with hoods up and scarves over their faces ffs to go and square up to their Athlone equivalents and didn't even follow them, let alone stop them. Totally bottled out of doing what they are there for.

06/05/2008, 1:34 PM
And then they're being let get up to what they want during and after the match. I mean the stewards by section O watched them head out, some with hoods up and scarves over their faces ffs to go and square up to their Athlone equivalents and didn't even follow them, let alone stop them. Totally bottled out of doing what they are there for.
How do you go about changing this? Who do you go to? Has to be some of them that can force change.

atfconline
06/05/2008, 1:35 PM
One of the lads from Athlone was there taking photos but after that performance he might bin them like I am thinking of doing with the full match footage.

First shot I got was of the Longford players celebrating, my heart just wasn't in it after that.

Needless to say, I promptly deleted the celebrating pics.

06/05/2008, 3:29 PM
We just got to sort out the bad eggs from the good eggs. But it's not that easy. What these young scuts are doing puts a bad name on us. The stewards are just tarring all of us with the same brush, and I reckon we should clear our name somehow by writing to the club or doing an article for the programme, something like that..