View Full Version : Tonights Latest (Friday 25th April)

Pages : 1 2 [3] 4

WindmillWarrior
26/04/2008, 4:35 PM
Class? Honestly? You score a goal against the run of play, then score another goal when a team down to ten men is pushing forward to score, and then sit back, and thats class? At one point after the second goal the entirety of your team was on the edge of your box. You played the game well but it devalues the word class if you win in a situation you'd be expected to, in the way you'd be expected to.

Congrats on the win, but class it was not. If we're going down the road of could haves and should haves, we could have drawn level. In the real world, not every chance you get is converted.

Eh, yeah.

Ok, we were very good then. Maybe 4-0.

WindmillWarrior
26/04/2008, 4:37 PM
Idiot though he may be, with him on the field we would've swept aside your little blip and continued playing the way we were, all over you.

Haha, you've blown your wind up there with that line Gav!!

26/04/2008, 4:39 PM

It would be one of the things I would have worried about(thought Im sure ye didnt care last night) as a Drogs fans.

Both goals were defensive errors and I was surprised ye didnt put away a couple more.

I dont think ye're best 11 was playing tbh.

twowheelsonly
26/04/2008, 4:39 PM
Drogs were class last night. Sure the sending off made a difference but I'd say we would have won even without it. We were well up for it, played class passing football and played the right formation. It was a 4-3-3 formation when attacking - Baker and O'Keefe were pushed way up the field most of the time. Tbh I was dissapointed we didn't score more. We could have quite eashttp://foot.ie/images/editor/smilie.gif
http://foot.ie/images/editor/smilie.gifily won 5-0!

4-3-3 ?????? 4-5-1 with Baker and O Keeffe pushing on when you broke. Grant was the only one who was pushed up 'most of the time' (And did a great job in tying up our defence and caused them trouble all night in fairness).
Be honest, when do Drogs EVER play 4-3-3, in particular away from home and even more in particular down in Cork. :confused:

26/04/2008, 4:41 PM
Eh, yeah.

You should have won 4-0. There were a couple of very bad misses and with us going forward constantly I'm surprised ye didn't.

Haha, you've blown your wind up there with that line Gav!!Who was on top, when ye scored?

26/04/2008, 4:47 PM
You should have won 4-0. There were a couple of very bad misses and with us going forward constantly I'm surprised ye didn't.
Who was on top, when ye scored?

Drogs were - and pleanty of cork fans in the pub lastnight agreed with that.

We were great going forward - as said above it was a good mix of 433 when we had the ball and 451 when we didnt.

Mathews is under serious pressure down there now - spoke to two cork lads who reckon he;ll get the bullet before the season finishes despite having a couple of years contract

26/04/2008, 4:50 PM
Mathews is under serious pressure down there now - spoke to two cork lads who reckon he;ll get the bullet before the season finishes despite having a couple of years contract

Rubbish. Not a hope he will. Couldnt afford it

You'll find at least 2 fans down here to tell you anything you want.....

26/04/2008, 4:54 PM
Drogs were - and pleanty of cork fans in the pub lastnight agreed with that. :confused: right, well, I can imagine that ye couldnt see very much what with ye being on the opposite side of the stadium to the ball for the first 20 minutes, but your goal was against the run of play

We were great going forward - as said above it was a good mix of 433 when we had the ball and 451 when we didnt.You really weren't. If ye were "great" ye'd have scored a few more goals; instead you put away two defensive errors. Ye were great in defense alright though, despite constant pressure we didn't have that many clear cut chances.

Mathews is under serious pressure down there now - spoke to two cork lads who reckon he;ll get the bullet before the season finishes despite having a couple of years contractWhen you're at a club like Cork City, you're always under pressure. Unfortunately Mathews has a 3 year contract and we're busy paying off our last manager, so I can't see it happening barring omission from Europe.

Celdrog
26/04/2008, 6:05 PM
Who was on top, when ye scored?We were, we had scored you had not. So it was 1-0 to us. Basic maths actually. Keep up kiddo

Celdrog
26/04/2008, 6:08 PM
When we've got only 10 men on the field? Sure, doubly so if that player is Joe Gamble. Idiot though he may be, with him on the field we would've swept aside your little blip and continued playing the way we were, all over you.You think he would have molested us so, :rolleyes:
Sure if you had got more points than us last year you'd be champions, but you didn't and you're not.

26/04/2008, 6:11 PM
I really shouldn't have expected honesty, should I?

ndrog
26/04/2008, 7:06 PM
I really shouldn't have expected honesty, should I?

you people woulndt know honesty if it slapped you in the face .We were much the better side last nite FACT .We scored 2 goals and you scored none FACT , our keeper hadnt a save to make .The only half chance i remember you having was mooneys bicycle kick .Thats was it , your superstar Boy george was totally anonymous for the whole game .The article written in the evening echo was a total disgrace , i hope the author enjoyed the game :D

WindmillWarrior
26/04/2008, 7:13 PM
For the first 20 mins I wouldn't expect anything less than for Cork to come out all guns blazing and thats what yis did and yis did play some nice football. But it wasn't "constant pressure", we had a few breaks and some possession. Its up to the away team to weather the storm innit? I thought we done that fairly comfortably really and then scored a goal that was somewhat against the run of play, yes. Sorry for scoring it and not following your script!
Of course then Gamble got the red. That obviously knocked yous but I though for the rest of the game we were very good and very comfortable. We got our 2nd goal and created many many other chances which we squandered with terrible finishing and some good defending (MNS on monday should tell all).
Sure Cork had spells of pressure in the 2nd half - afterall you were 2-0 down at home! - but in all that our keeper didn't have to make 1 save, and again to suggest "constant pressure", Gav, is not very "honest" now is it.

26/04/2008, 7:46 PM
57'
Athlone 0 v 2 Dundalk
Cassidy 33'
Duffy 36'

26/04/2008, 8:26 PM
Full time 3-0, Cassidy 79'

Dundalk move five points clear.

26/04/2008, 8:43 PM
Will this be their year?

WoodquayBoy
26/04/2008, 10:02 PM
Will this be their year?
In short, no. If memory serves me right, they made a similarly impressive start last year and chokedand I'd expect the plastics to do the same this year

fbtn
26/04/2008, 10:08 PM
Harps announced birthday wishes over the tannoy to someone while the match was on:eek: :rolleyes:

Jeez your some boy. You give out that a birthday wish was given out over the tannoy but not a mention of the Sligo 'fans' that ran onto the pitch at half time and started making fun of the Special Olympics team that we're playing against one and another.

It was easily the most disgusting thing I've ever seen from opposing fans in this league and the two boy geniuses are very very lucky they didn't get the living ****e knocked out of them.

Once again Sligo fans cover themselves in glory in Finn Park.

And you come on a forum to whinge about a birthday wish been read out during the game. Priceless.

26/04/2008, 10:29 PM
Jeez your some boy. You give out that a birthday wish was given out over the tannoy but not a mention of the Sligo 'fans' that ran onto the pitch at half time and started making fun of the Special Olympics team that we're playing against one and another.

It was easily the most disgusting thing I've ever seen from opposing fans in this league and the two boy geniuses are very very lucky they didn't get the living ****e knocked out of them.

Once again Sligo fans cover themselves in glory in Finn Park.

And you come on a forum to whinge about a birthday wish been read out during the game. Priceless.:rolleyes:, I'm neither of the two that ran on so can't speak for them so why should I highlight that?

The amount of amateur stuff in FP last night was hilarious-the birthday wish, no bags searched on way in, no stewards stopping the two lads(took about 2mins for a steward to go near them), and then the team itself. Stop trying to divert attention from what I was saying and just accept yer set-up is a joke...and I thought the Showgrounds was bad:eek:.

I'm not defending the lads, but they did not go on to make fun of the special olympics kids, this is been blown way out of proportion.

26/04/2008, 10:44 PM
Will this be their year?
In a word, hopefully.

26/04/2008, 10:48 PM
The amount of amateur stuff in FP last night was hilarious-the birthday wish, no bags searched on way in, no stewards stopping the two lads(took about 2mins for a steward to go near them), and then the team itself.

In fairness I've taken a bag to Belfield, Richmond Park, Carlisle Grounds and Dalymount so far this season and on no occasion been searched. Neither was anyone else with me who were carrying bags. At Richmond Park the official just asked my friend, "Did one of the guys up there (pointing behind us) search your bag?"

26/04/2008, 11:09 PM
Decent game tonight at Dalymount. First half was even enough but Derry were a different side in the second half, went up a gear. Only a handful of clear cut chances but Derry deserved more than the point they got.

You must have went to the wrong game because thats not the one I saw. It was a poor game and neither side created anything apart from your keeper who dropped the ball and then rolled over feigning injury. The ref bizarrely stopped the game as we were about to score to let him get treatment and then re-started with a drop ball.

26/04/2008, 11:18 PM
You must have went to the wrong game because thats not the one I saw. It was a poor game and neither side created anything apart from your keeper who dropped the ball and then rolled over feigning injury. The ref bizarrely stopped the game as we were about to score to let him get treatment and then re-started with a drop ball.

Presumably the free header straight at Murphy and us hitting post escaped you in the bombastic atmosphere that reverberated round Dalyer last night:D

Hanney outdid himself for awarding a free kick for a handball which happened inside the area(and was accidental), and went out for a corner.

fbtn
26/04/2008, 11:19 PM
:rolleyes:, I'm neither of the two that ran on so can't speak for them so why should I highlight that?

The amount of amateur stuff in FP last night was hilarious-the birthday wish, no bags searched on way in, no stewards stopping the two lads(took about 2mins for a steward to go near them), and then the team itself. Stop trying to divert attention from what I was saying and just accept yer set-up is a joke...and I thought the Showgrounds was bad:eek:.

I'm not defending the lads, but they did not go on to make fun of the special olympics kids, this is been blown way out of proportion.

You can't speak for them? You are doing just that.

I met a mother of one of the boys that was involved in the little game at half time in tears. Tell her that is been blown way out of proportion. And there was many more than her distraught over it.

Whatever inadequacies you want to point out in the set-up in Finn Park, go ahead. But nothing gets away from the fact that two of your fans went on the pitch at half time, ran half the length of the field to where there was 100s of Harps fans and offered them out for a fight. When they didn't get the desired response they starting making fun out of the Special Olympics children.

The whole sorry incident is on camera and the chairman of the special olympics in Ulster has already been in touch with our club in regard to what happened.

Bravo.

26/04/2008, 11:23 PM

We outplayed you in the second half and to be honest, a lot of Derry fans went home disappinted we didn't win. But for the fact we just don't seem to have a decent finisher up front I think we probably would have won. I though Crowe did a good job holding the ball up, without ever really looking lke scoring. From where I was it looked like Doherty took a blow. The shot was taken after the whistle had blown. In fact, I though initially he was just taking kicking it out of frustration at the game being stopped.

Bohs were playing at home, against a team who will probably be big rivals this season: the onus is on them to attack and they did precious little of it, bar the very start. Oh and enjoy Brennan when things are going well, because when the going gets tough, Killian gets going.

26/04/2008, 11:33 PM
The whole sorry incident is on cameraGreat. I hope the FAI get a copy and heavily fine ye for inadequate stewarding so.

You still claim they made fun of the kids on the pitch, tell me what they did/say to them exactly so?

fbtn
27/04/2008, 12:01 AM
Great. I hope the FAI get a copy and heavily fine ye for inadequate stewarding so.

You still claim they made fun of the kids on the pitch, tell me what they did/say to them exactly so?

This is obviously well over your head.

27/04/2008, 12:04 AM
This is obviously well over your head.Haha great, so in other words you have no idea what was said/done so you're trying to turn it around and make it look like it's 'over my head'

Harps lost the match, face it. Good luck!

fbtn
27/04/2008, 12:07 AM
Haha great, so in other words you have no idea what was said/done so you're trying to turn it around and make it look like it's 'over my head'

Harps lost the match, face it. Good luck!

I seen it like the other few hundred fans behind the nets.

Are you denying it happened?

27/04/2008, 12:10 AM

Are you denying it happened?This is getting tiresome. I'm not denying that two lads ran onto the pitch and messed about around the goal, that's clear to see. It's just there's no proof they went on and did/said anything to the kids, all the Harps fans on their forum are saying they 'made fun of the kids' but yet nobody is actually saying what/how they did this.

27/04/2008, 12:11 AM

Are you denying it happened?

It would be helpful if you told people what 'it' is. Entering the pitch isn't on but I don't know if you could classify it as mocking the Special Olympians.

fbtn
27/04/2008, 12:11 AM
This is getting tiresome. I'm not denying that two lads ran onto the pitch and messed about around the goal, that's clear to see. It's just there's no proof they went on and did/said anything to the kids, all the Harps fans on their forum are saying they 'made fun of the kids' but yet nobody is actually saying what/how they did this.

They were laughing at them and trying to join in their game of football.

Is that clear enough for you?

Jesus.

twowheelsonly
27/04/2008, 12:20 AM
They were laughing at them and trying to join in their game of football.

Is that clear enough for you?

Jesus.

If that's the case, and I don't doubt that it is, then they should have been dragged out the back somewhere and given the fight that they were looking for.
Any Sligo fans that condone this or pretend that it's not serious 'because we don't have proof of what they said' should be ashamed of themselves and their supporters.

27/04/2008, 1:07 AM
In a word, hopefully.

Thank you... :D

27/04/2008, 9:34 AM
We outplayed you in the second half

Well we'll just have to agree to disagree on that.

From where I was it looked like Doherty took a blow. The shot was taken after the whistle had blown.

But the ref restarted with a drop ball so he didn't see it as a foul. Doherty spilled the ball to Crowe, his mistake, game should have gone on.

27/04/2008, 9:37 AM
But the ref restarted with a drop ball so he didn't see it as a foul.

http://foot.ie/showthread.php?t=88977

27/04/2008, 1:10 PM
With Bray home to Cobh next week and ourselves playing Bohs the bottom four could become separated from the rest.

27/04/2008, 1:28 PM
Well we'll just have to agree to disagree on that.

Derry were definitely the better team in the second half though the first half was all Bohs. I think a draw was a fair result in the end.

WindmillWarrior
27/04/2008, 4:07 PM
In a word, hopefully.

In 3 words, hopefully f*cking not!

shep
27/04/2008, 4:10 PM
In short, no. If memory serves me right, they made a similarly impressive start last year and chokedand I'd expect the plastics to do the same this year

What a bitter little Galwegian!!! At least if we dont make it up we will be able to play you off the pitch again like last time we met

Battery Rover
27/04/2008, 5:24 PM
Anyone know who the officials were at the Athlone vs Dundalk game last night. I know Buttimer was ref and Eddie Foley was 4th official but don't know the names of the assistants

27/04/2008, 6:31 PM
Pats 1 up desperate mistake by barry murphy

27/04/2008, 6:33 PM
Surprised Murphy didn't get a free there. Seems to be the keeper always gets a free in those situations.

27/04/2008, 6:34 PM
whats the guy fro Fair City doing beside the Rovers bench.

27/04/2008, 6:43 PM
Fantastic save by Barry Ryan just there.

27/04/2008, 7:51 PM
With Bray home to Cobh next week and ourselves playing Bohs the bottom four could become separated from the rest.

Unfortunately, even at this early stage its looking like a group of 4 to battle for one place :(

WoodquayBoy
27/04/2008, 9:55 PM
What a bitter little Galwegian!!! At least if we dont make it up we will be able to play you off the pitch again like last time we met
You'd want to check your facts friend - why would I be bitter when the team I support are in the top flight while your lot are in the First Division?
All I stated in the first part of my post were facts, in the second, a touch of hope mixed with a pinch of probability.
Nothing to be bitter about at all Mr Plastic.

27/04/2008, 10:01 PM
*looks nervously down the table*

WoodquayBoy
27/04/2008, 10:05 PM
*looks nervously down the table*

If that is directed at me, then yes, I am nervously looking down the table. But it is the Premier Division table I am looking at.

27/04/2008, 10:08 PM
No chance of your lot getting dragged into the relegation struggle, dfx- (much as I don't like to admit it.) They punched above their weight last season but they'll accumulate more than enough points against the weaker sides to be comfortably safe, probably around seventh. Could do with a finisher, though.