View Full Version : MNS 21st April

deecay
21/04/2008, 4:18 PM
I got a mention

http://www.rte.ie/sport/soccer/mns/features/conmurphy/

Apart from the e-mails which come into to us - and we've had several hundred at this stage, for which thanks - we also look from time to time at the various fans' forums on the Internet to see what the general reaction to the output is like.

One contributor calls me a fool every week, and gives out about the fact that I say soccer instead of football. The irony is that I said football many more times than soccer in the show this week, but some people get a bee in their bonnet about something and tend to listen with rather closed ears

Boo_Boy
21/04/2008, 4:26 PM
I got a mention

Apart from the e-mails which come into to us - and we've had several hundred at this stage, for which thanks - we also look from time to time at the various fans' forums on the Internet to see what the general reaction to the output is like.

One contributor calls me a fool every week, and gives out about the fact that I say soccer instead of football. The irony is that I said football many more times than soccer in the show this week, but some people get a bee in their bonnet about something and tend to listen with rather closed ears

i read that last week and thought of your posts straight away:D

21/04/2008, 7:01 PM
Monday Night Soccer just started.

http://www.rte.ie/sport/soccer/mns/

mns@rte.ie

Boo_Boy
21/04/2008, 7:06 PM
sean connor is in a bad mood!, con better not say anything else about his pretty boy shirt:D

wonder would it have anything to do with the galway managers position?:p

Flawless
21/04/2008, 7:11 PM
Seamus Coleman seems a lclass act!, how long will he stay at sligo?

Boo_Boy
21/04/2008, 7:12 PM
Seamus Coleman seems a lclass act!, how long will he stay at sligo?

i'd say this will be his last year, big future for him!

i wonder is murphys ribs broke after that heavy slap from wes charles?:D

21/04/2008, 7:14 PM
Has Jeff Kenna got a dye job on the hair or what?

Maroon 7
21/04/2008, 7:17 PM
i wonder is murphys ribs broke after that heavy slap from wes charles?:D

Looked like a scene from the start of Saving Private Ryan.

Boo_Boy
21/04/2008, 7:18 PM

definatly some hair restoration.

and he's camera shy..:p

Boo_Boy
21/04/2008, 7:20 PM
not a good report for the Rovers-Galway game, focused on all the negatives, even though there was a GOTM contender & a bit of magic from seamie, no replays?

21/04/2008, 7:25 PM
Someone didnt recognise Georgie. He'l be gutted

Boo_Boy
Conor Gethins what was that?, all he had to do was tap it in!

Did your man just call George O'Callaghan, Denis O'Callaghan:confused:

21/04/2008, 7:26 PM
Anyone else find it interesting, that when asked about How he'll cope with the league considering he's not played in it, and been out of Ireland for years, he said he dosen't see it as a problem, but then goes onto say the standard in quality is obviously a bit lower, or something to that effect...

Considering he was playing with Kidderminster, bit worrying for Galway fans if he thinks non-league in England is better quality than LOI!:eek:

chuckie
21/04/2008, 7:29 PM
Considering he was playing with Kidderminster, bit worrying for Galway fans if he thinks non-league in England is better quality than LOI!:eek:
Better than Galway anyway;)

biscuit
Did your man just call George O'Callaghan, Denis O'Callaghan:confused:

Your correct there Dunny! Stephen Alkin is the commentator afaik! A premiership regular :rolleyes:
No discussion on the Galway Rovers game at all. Typical.

Liam Kearney looks like a little girl by the way!!:D

Boo_Boy
Better than Galway anyway;)

i was waiting for that to be posted!

Maroon 7
21/04/2008, 7:30 PM
Anyone else find it interesting, that when asked about How he'll cope with the league considering he's not played in it, and been out of Ireland for years, he said he dosen't see it as a problem, but then goes onto say the standard in quality is obviously a bit lower, or something to that effect...

I think he was talking in relation to the bulk of his career over in England rather than specfically non-league football over there.

Flawless
21/04/2008, 7:34 PM
Kenna is a ringer for a short haired Michael Jackson!!

Boo_Boy
21/04/2008, 7:38 PM
Can we set up a vote?

I think it will be a though choice between Jeff Kenna & Rob McDonald for best hair!:D

21/04/2008, 7:43 PM
Sean Connor's shirt makes him look like a lollipop.
He seems to hate Ramblers aswell.

Seamus Coleman is a class act too. What a run:eek:

SeanDrog
21/04/2008, 7:47 PM
was Doolin for real in his interview - we were the better side in the second half - does this guy actually believe this crap? He looked like a rabbit caught in the headlights. Muppet

21/04/2008, 7:49 PM
I thing he means after ye scored, in fairness drogheda had a good 10 min spell until Stu Byrne got sent off

21/04/2008, 7:49 PM
Killian Brennan-I was only showing my appreciation for the Drogheda fans :D

21/04/2008, 7:50 PM
I thing he means after ye scored, in fairness drogheda had a good 10 min spell until Stu Byrne got sent off

In the full interview last night, he claimed they had the better of the first half and they second half was probably more even :rolleyes:

SeanDrog
21/04/2008, 7:52 PM
might have looked that way on TV but from the terrace it was clear we huffed and puffed - we were toothless tbh Thiam was a waste upfront - Doolin basically brought us to 10 men by bringing him on - the game was crying out for Tony Grant.

The fella randomly gong off with stories is doing my head in.

Boo_Boy
was Doolin for real in his interview - we were the better side in the second half - does this guy actually believe this crap? He looked like a rabbit caught in the headlights. Muppet

:confused::confused::confused:

eh?

SeanDrog

yeah his tongue was nearly popping out of his cheek :rolleyes:

SeanDrog
21/04/2008, 7:53 PM
:confused::confused::confused:

eh?

a saying meaning he was stunned.

Boo_Boy
21/04/2008, 7:54 PM

i think he's being smoking something, he talks to fast, moves his hands too much.

6yardpunisha
21/04/2008, 7:54 PM

he looked like some kind of futuristic cult leader when he came on first with the bright white top:D

21/04/2008, 8:22 PM

To be fair, it was in the context of all his playing career. I dont think he meant the club he immediately came from. In all fairness, i dont think he'll walk into that one.

Blackburn are better that Galway, end of.

Tir Oilean
21/04/2008, 8:24 PM
Did anybody else think that there were alot of poor reffing decisions? Kelly, Buttimer, Connolly, McKeown all very poor from what ive seen this season

21/04/2008, 8:31 PM

I liked it, different ... not BBC or Sky so might not be everyones cup of tea if thats what your used to. Lets people know there is a bit of character in the league.

The Rebel Ram
21/04/2008, 8:33 PM
Did anybody else think that there were alot of poor reffing decisions? Kelly, Buttimer, Connolly, McKeown all very poor from what ive seen this season

You have only noticed it this season:eek::D:eek:

21/04/2008, 8:34 PM
I liked it, different ... not BBC or Sky so might not be everyones cup of tea if thats what your used to. Lets people know there is a bit of character in the league.

It would have been grand if he could actually speak clearly

DeNiro
21/04/2008, 8:35 PM

Phillip Quinn that is. I think they are struggling for panelists.

21/04/2008, 8:36 PM

This season? Buttimer especially has been poor for a bit longer than this season ;) (yeah I'm aware you've already been pulled up on this.)

But I'm not here just to have a dig...... ah sure why not. Some cat decisions well highlighted by MNS.

EDIT: I quite enjoyed Phillip Quinn's ramblings, I hope they bring him back.

21/04/2008, 8:37 PM
Phillip Quinn that is. I think they are struggling for panelists.

Jebus, he wan't that bad lads. Definitely added something to the programme. Do you think Sean O'Connor was better? :eek:

21/04/2008, 8:37 PM

that killian brennan has some neck firstly to have a go at paul doolin when celebrating and then celbrating in front of the drogs fans. no wonder he wasnt liked in derry...

killian brennan the pre madonna of the eircom league!:rolleyes:

21/04/2008, 8:40 PM

But they've been getting away with murder, shocking stuff and now its on telly they cant hid it anymore.

Did they send off a manager for giving out about a line ball? That is actually unreal if its the case.

Agreed with the panellist that they should revoke the red card from Wes Charles and fine your man. Unreal stuff there, i mean everybody takes a dive but most try and make it believable anyway. Unless Charles had a taser up his sleeve your man was blatantly trying to get him sent off.

21/04/2008, 8:41 PM
killian brennan the pre madonna of the eircom league!:rolleyes:

When's Madonna coming?

21/04/2008, 8:43 PM
When's Madonna coming?

:D:D:D nice

21/04/2008, 8:47 PM
you are an awful man deecay.. have first hand experience of that myself man!:cool:

oldyouth
21/04/2008, 8:52 PM
I got a mention

Apart from the e-mails which come into to us - and we've had several hundred at this stage, for which thanks - we also look from time to time at the various fans' forums on the Internet to see what the general reaction to the output is like. :)
Although I am not in the habit of repeating myself, would 5 minutes of First Division coverage really kill yez. MNS could make up the additional cost by cancelling a few sunbed sessions for the presenters

21/04/2008, 9:03 PM
Although I am not in the habit of repeating myself, would 5 minutes of First Division coverage really kill yez. MNS could make up the additional cost by cancelling a few sunbed sessions for the presenters

Going to cover games at the business end of the season apparently...

geezer
21/04/2008, 9:10 PM
was a beauty and they barely acknowledged it and it should have been shown again at the end of programme

oldyouth
21/04/2008, 9:13 PM
Going to cover games at the business end of the season apparently...
...........and now we can track the unexpected progress of Wexford Youths from everyone's choice for relegation to undisputed 1st division champions in addition to their trophy wins in the League & FAI Cup competitions

WoodquayBoy
21/04/2008, 9:15 PM
Faz goal was an absolute cracker, deserved to be reshown - what was the gesture to the crowd, was he peeved at not starting?
That Sligo player murdered by Wes Charles should be ashamed of himself. Wes should just go s*it or bust and level him completely nexty time we play Sligo to show him what a real challenge was like.
Great to see officials being shown up for ineptness.
All well and good slagging our new Sensai's hairdo, but at least he has hair, eh Cookie! ;0)