View Full Version : Gta 4
anto1208
18/04/2008, 9:51 AM
Surpirsed no thread has popped up on this its going to be the biggest game ever !! out in 11 days looks impressive they are keeping a tight lid on the gameplay aspects but its ment to be far more free roaming and interactive than purely mission based like the last ones. where you woul dsay right lets play this properly get killed have to start the mission again and start messing bootign around the town etc.
Ive seen the map its massive subway system everything i cant wait for it. Think im going to order it in on import 40 euro you cant go too far wrong with that rather than 70ish in game. Ive heard in a few shops they wont have any on the shelves for general sale that they must all be preordered and some places are only getting half what they ordered. I reckon thats just a marketing ploy but still if you really want it get it ordered this week.
Neish
18/04/2008, 10:42 AM
Have it pre-ordered from play.com cost €60. Looks like a good one alright.
18/04/2008, 4:05 PM
Think im going to order it in on import 40 euro you cant go too far wrong with that rather than 70ish in game.What website can you order it for 40 on?
Also, is it available for PS2?
anto1208
18/04/2008, 4:15 PM
www.videogamesplus.ca
40 euro and 4.99 delivery (45). Not sure when it will arrive i ordered Kane and Lynch from there it arrived the tuesday before release date so i had it early rainbow six 2 arrived the tuesday after release date.
It is out on a tuesday not a friday so i reckon they will post it then Rokcstar are being really though on this so you will prob have it on thursday.
I get the majority of my games from here and sell them off on ebay when im finished with them and usually make a few euro in the process. Beats getting 40 euro trading it in in town anyway.
Just seen the edit nope its not on PS2 only 7th gen machines ( 360 & ps3) im not sure about wii
harpstilidie
18/04/2008, 5:04 PM
I have it pre-ordered off e-bay. Think it came to €46 altogether which is pretty decent. Just hope it comes now! :D
18/04/2008, 5:19 PM
Just seen the edit nope its not on PS2 only 7th gen machines ( 360 & ps3) im not sure about wii
Not on the Wii. And as a wii owner, I couldn't give a ****e. I have way too many games to finish and buy already.
Boo_Boy
18/04/2008, 5:55 PM
www.videogamesplus.ca (http://www.videogamesplus.ca)
cheers for that,great website!
the one i used to use didnt accept PayPal but this one does and the games are 5 quid cheaper!:)
18/04/2008, 6:19 PM
www.videogamesplus.caDo PS2 games on that site work grand over here? Not different versions in Canada than Europe like?
gilberto_eire
18/04/2008, 6:48 PM
PS2 is region locked, PS3 is'nt so...Yes they should'nt work here!.
This game is going to redifine the industry!!:)
18/04/2008, 8:25 PM
PS2 is region locked, PS3 is'nt so...Yes they should'nt work here!.
This game is going to redifine the industry!!:)
Slight case of exagerration.
gilberto_eire
19/04/2008, 2:34 AM
Slight case of exagerration.
On the basis of what?.
Anyone who's readproperly about this game will agree!. 10/10 in any review released so far. Built to last for years(Rockstars words not mine). Detail on a scale never seen before. Record number of first week sales expected with 6 million to go in week 1, likley to gross more then ANY other entertainment product in a week(held by Pirates of the Caribbean). (lot's of)Shop's opening for a midnight release of the game!. 99% of shops stock already pre-sold for more then a week etc......
Yes that certainly means it's not going to redefine the gaming industry:rolleyes:
So what games did so?. Any gaming ''expert'' would agree that a previous title(GTA 3) already done this in the past!
Any games that did before we're anticipated as much as this or getting as good as reviews!!
Boo_Boy
19/04/2008, 4:00 AM
dont heed brewer, i think he's just angry because he's a wii owner!
Do PS2 games on that site work grand over here? Not different versions in Canada than Europe like?
you realise no new games are going to come out for the PS2 right?
xBox 360's are only 199 at smiths (http://www.toys.ie/Shop_Product_Detail.aspx?pcode=E08597):)
19/04/2008, 6:32 PM
On the basis of what?.
Anyone who's readproperly about this game will agree!. 10/10 in any review released so far. Built to last for years(Rockstars words not mine). Detail on a scale never seen before. Record number of first week sales expected with 6 million to go in week 1, likley to gross more then ANY other entertainment product in a week(held by Pirates of the Caribbean). (lot's of)Shop's opening for a midnight release of the game!. 99% of shops stock already pre-sold for more then a week etc......
Yes that certainly means it's not going to redefine the gaming industry:rolleyes:
So what games did so?. Any gaming ''expert'' would agree that a previous title(GTA 3) already done this in the past!
Any games that did before we're anticipated as much as this or getting as good as reviews!!
GTA3 was revolutionary in that it was a 3d game like Tomb Raider but provided you with far more free roaming capabilities. Looking back, their wasn't any more or less ground to cover in GTA3 than in Tomb Raider, but TR was developed for less powerful machines who could only work in enclosed spaces; hence the tombs, the tight paths, the claustrophobic spaces. Arguably the second Tomb Raider which featured free roaming around the streets of Venice in various vehicles set the mould that GTA3 followed.
GTA4 is another 3d free roamer. Sure, there are no arugments that it will probably be fantastic. But redefining the industry? No.
GTA3 was revolutionary in that it was a 3d game like Tomb Raider but provided you with far more free roaming capabilities. Looking back, their wasn't any more or less ground to cover in GTA3 than in Tomb Raider, but TR was developed for less powerful machines who could only work in enclosed spaces; hence the tombs, the tight paths, the claustrophobic spaces. Arguably the second Tomb Raider which featured free roaming around the streets of Venice in various vehicles set the mould that GTA3 followed.
GTA4 is another 3d free roamer. Sure, there are no arugments that it will probably be fantastic. But redefining the industry? No.
If it beats the Pirates of the Caribbean first week profit you could argue that it was the moment when the gaming industry finally fulfilled it's potential to overtake the film industry for profitability, that's about it though, I agree with you on your Tomb Raider point
19/04/2008, 9:04 PM
If it beats the Pirates of the Caribbean first week profit you could argue that it was the moment when the gaming industry finally fulfilled it's potential to overtake the film industry for profitability, that's about it though, I agree with you on your Tomb Raider point
I would say that already happened with games like Halo 2, and GTA San Andreas
gilberto_eire
20/04/2008, 1:02 PM
I have to disagree.
If this game does what we are told it can do, then it will redefine!!.
Games up until now have been built to last a few week, months tops.
Rockstar have told us this game has been built to last for years, this is the first of many games to come(MGS 4 has promised the same) in the following months and years which promise this!.
It may be another free-roamer but the attention to detail is told to be boarding on the insane!!.
On the basis of detail alone i think this game will take gaming to the next level!.
Flawless
20/04/2008, 5:38 PM
Looking at the trailers it looks like it will redefine gaming, the hype certainly suggests it will!!, really looking forward to it, have to book the week off work!!,having said that working with gamestop that might be a problem!!:D
gilberto_eire
20/04/2008, 6:19 PM
Many here getting it for the PS3?. We'll have afew games!!:D
Flawless
20/04/2008, 8:45 PM
360 man myself unfortunately, was thinking about changing over but its not feasable finacially at the min!!:(
20/04/2008, 8:49 PM
kids these days! redefining gaming was when, rather than having your character running into and out of each screen scene, the camera actually moved from side to side with you in Super Mario :D
Boo_Boy
21/04/2008, 5:01 AM
dammit!!
my PS3 fell yesterday and it wont work:mad:
im so looking forward to GTA:IV ive already ordered a new one:)
Its White (http://cgi.ebay.ie/BRAND-NEW-Sony-PlayStation-3-PS3-40GB-Console-White_W0QQitemZ170210508304QQihZ007QQcategoryZ1494 92QQssPageNameZWDVWQQrdZ1QQcmdZViewItem)
21/04/2008, 6:49 AM
ps3 man myself, cant wait for it. Next tuesday is it??
Boo_Boy
21/04/2008, 7:20 AM
ps3 man myself, cant wait for it. Next tuesday is it??
yep 8 days remaining, make sure you have it pre-ordered or theres hardly a chance you'll get a copy!
anto1208
21/04/2008, 8:58 AM
I dont know will it redifine gaming, open ended games have been around for a while but they are improving it , you shouldnt get the same charactor having the same conversation with you !!! thats massive.A huge living city aswell.
To truely redifine the gaming world would be if they had the city as a online living city where everyone "lived" say a million people on line all on the one city interacting with each other. Robbing shooting getting chased. Some could be cops some could be robbers some just upstanding citizens now that would be brilliant. And not like that 2nd life rubbish this one would be fun !!!
I think i was reading guitar hero has sold $1 billion worth do movies make that much ?
21/04/2008, 10:58 AM
I dont know will it redifine gaming, open ended games have been around for a while but they are improving it , you shouldnt get the same charactor having the same conversation with you !!! thats massive.A huge living city aswell.
To truely redifine the gaming world would be if they had the city as a online living city where everyone "lived" say a million people on line all on the one city interacting with each other. Robbing shooting getting chased. Some could be cops some could be robbers some just upstanding citizens now that would be brilliant. And not like that 2nd life rubbish this one would be fun !!!
I think i was reading guitar hero has sold $1 billion worth do movies make that much ?
Cops n' robbers is a good game mode in MTA San Andreas but I don't know if you could build an entire game around it. It resets after every chance and you get assigned to either cops or robbers. I mean, everyone would want to be a robber.
What you could do though, is have some sort of MMO based in an exaggerated "real world" of crime. Where some people specialise as drivers, some as robbers, some as bodyguards to the godfathers, some as the people calling the strategy shots and trying to avoid being knocked off the top. You could have parallel roles on the "law" side of things with the added intrigue of bribes/convictions etc.
Flawless
21/04/2008, 7:18 PM
Its expected to gross more at the box office than any film this year!!, another one to watch out for towards the end of the year is "This is Vegas" being released by Midway.
Like Boo Boy says, best bet for anyone looking for it would be to pre order it, wont be too many spare floating about!
gilberto_eire
21/04/2008, 8:23 PM
There defo won't!!. I went in to pre-book on the 10th and took me a few shops, they were just filled up/nearly full around then!!,
Flawless
21/04/2008, 8:45 PM
Well as far as i am aware Zavvi and Game have stopped taking deposits,but we arent in gamestoop!
Green_Hoop
22/04/2008, 12:07 PM
Any truth in the rumour going about on ign.com that if you car jack a police car you can access your criminal record and read your files and files of others?It supposed to link in with your missions,helping locate targets for assassination and all that,A few of the lads mentioned it to me as well.
anto1208
22/04/2008, 12:45 PM
Cops n' robbers is a good game mode in MTA San Andreas but I don't know if you could build an entire game around it. It resets after every chance and you get assigned to either cops or robbers. I mean, everyone would want to be a robber.
What you could do though, is have some sort of MMO based in an exaggerated "real world" of crime. Where some people specialise as drivers, some as robbers, some as bodyguards to the godfathers, some as the people calling the strategy shots and trying to avoid being knocked off the top. You could have parallel roles on the "law" side of things with the added intrigue of bribes/convictions etc.
I was thinking rather than just having it as multi player games with an end have it so thats your job if you pick to be a cop then you chase criminals unless your a dodgy cop. If your a criminal the bigger the job you pull the more trouble your in etc . Or you can even just be a normal guy buy up property make your money that way the possibilities are endless with out having to create and voice computor generated charactors it wouldnt be that hard to do.
Like the way 2nd life works where you walk around and meet people you could put together a gang take over a city block etc etc . It would last forever or as long as people played it.
gilberto_eire
22/04/2008, 1:07 PM
Any truth in the rumour going about on ign.com that if you car jack a police car you can access your criminal record and read your files and files of others?It supposed to link in with your missions,helping locate targets for assassination and all that,A few of the lads mentioned it to me as well.
That is true!, IIRC you can even ring in a call to them so you can take there car(you can defo call an ambulance/frie truck anyway), you can take pictures with your phone so you can then upload the pictures to get more info' about your target!!, This game sounds like it will be fun to clear 50 times!!:D
Boo_Boy
22/04/2008, 1:32 PM
Should we start a [FOOT] clan?:p
22/04/2008, 11:32 PM
This game just sounds ridiculous and way over hyped imo.
pól-dcfc
22/04/2008, 11:39 PM
You are wrong.;)
Sounds amazing. Snappin I don't have a ps3. Yet. When I can get a bit of money saved up I'm buying one for GTA4 alone. Bought a ps2 for San Andreas and ProEvo and it was well worth it.
gilberto_eire
23/04/2008, 12:41 AM
Well the majority don't agree with you, it's got 10/10 in every review that's been released with ALL reviewers saying it's the ''best game ever made''
Obviously EVERY one can't like something, but as a gamer your in the VERY tiny minority anyway saying that, as not even a reviewer !!
Interesting article in the Guardian yesterday(seen it posted on boards.ie) and there was the word i was using in previous posts.....
http://blogs.guardian.co.uk/games/archives/virtual_worlds/2005/02/gta_creators_future_is_massive.html
''....this title could redefine gaming as we know it......''
See this journo' agree's with me anyway:p
Boo_Boy
23/04/2008, 6:09 AM
Brewer is just saying that because its not being released for the wii;)
If he had an xBox or a PS3 he would get it right away:D
23/04/2008, 7:54 AM
Brewer is just saying that because its not being released for the wii;)
If he had an xBox or a PS3 he would get it right away:D
He could just buy it for the PC when it comes out. Thats what I'm doing anyway; Rockstar traditionally put a lot of effort into their PC ports, to the degree that GTA3 and GTA:SA were scored higher on the PC. Additionally, you have the array of add-ons and mods for it that usually appear for the PC. Also, the little wait suits me as I've got exams to do :D
Flawless
23/04/2008, 8:50 AM
Also, the little wait suits me as I've got exams to do :D
I knew something was gona have to suffer for the game!!,Damn!:D
Boo_Boy
23/04/2008, 8:52 AM
It's still not confirmed for a PC release AFAIK.
anto1208
23/04/2008, 9:37 AM
I think its underhyped if anything look at what happened Halo 3 they massively over hyped it ads every where reviews game clips etc etc etc then it came out and it was rubbish complete and utter rubbish.
Where as rock star have just released 4 trailers no gameplay and a few interviews where they still give very little away.
Im expecting it to be like this
First impression of the city will be awsome.
then after a while with annoying fiddly controlls, aiming being wonky, and silly annoying parts, animation as with all the games a big let down Why are the charactors so unlife like ?
The life span of the game will come down to how in bedded it is in missions. That killed the last games for me people wanted an open ended game and got one firmly routed in set out missions.
The cover system may be the best addition to the game.
gilberto_eire
23/04/2008, 1:50 PM
INTRO AND FIRST DRIVE LEAKED:eek:
8 minute clip, the first 4-5 mins are storyline, but if your like me and only want to see the action skip to just over 6mins to see the first driving sequence!. Won't spoil anything just see the game in motion!!
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=s48c4m-nZAg
Won't be there long so hurry!
23/04/2008, 2:34 PM
INTRO AND FIRST DRIVE LEAKED:eek:
8 minute clip, the first 4-5 mins are storyline, but if your like me and only want to see the action skip to just over 6mins to see the first driving sequence!. Won't spoil anything just see the game in motion!!
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=s48c4m-nZAg
Won't be there long so hurry!
I think you'll like this link ;)
http://www.ineed2getaway.co.uk/gtagameplay1.mp4
Flawless
23/04/2008, 5:35 PM
Thats making me more impatient!!!
Boo_Boy
24/04/2008, 1:30 PM
***SPOILERS***
Lots more gameplay footage here (http://thedarkslay3r.gametrailers.com/gamepad/index.php?action=fanmovs)
Including what its like when Niko gets drunk with roman and drives home:D
Direct link the the drunk driving video (http://www.gametrailers.com/player/usermovies/207168.html)
Some guy is streaming himself playing the game live here (http://www.justin.tv/sculay)
28/04/2008, 12:10 PM
how much is it goin to be??
Boo_Boy
28/04/2008, 3:26 PM
how much is it goin to be??
I paid 70 @ GameStop
gilberto_eire
28/04/2008, 4:00 PM
Smyths texted me there, not alone am i sorted but there opening at 12am.
Delighted was fairly ****ed for missing GAME(there opeing at 12 too) for a pre-order, get to play ALL night now!!:D
Boo_Boy
28/04/2008, 4:05 PM
Smyths texted me there, not alone am i sorted but there opening at 12am.
Delighted was fairly ****ed for missing GAME(there opeing at 12 too) for a pre-order, get to play ALL night now!!
the lazy ******** at GameStop are opening at 8am tomorrow morning:(
Tuesday is my day off work so i'll be playing online ALL DAY:D
Anyways i hate smyths, try to avoid it when possible, the lads at GameStop are good & actually play Video Games:)
gilberto_eire
28/04/2008, 4:14 PM
the lazy ******** at GameStop are opening at 8am tomorrow morning:(
Tuesday is my day off work so i'll be playing online ALL DAY:D
Anyways i hate smyths, try to avoid it when possible, the lads at GameStop are good & actually play Video Games:)
I have a booking there too so hopefully that comes through so i can pass it onto my little cousin.
I'm happier it's Smyths im getting it from on the basis of having to trade in games to pay for it, Gamestop give the WORST prices on trade-ins,
I got €40 for COD 4 in GAME there 2/3 weeks ago, i got months out of it too and was delighted with that price, GAME have gave me €35+ on every game i've traded in there, i traded in two games in Gamestop(for cash) and got less then €20(each) for the two of them even though they were brand new, i think the credit they were offering was even less then €30 also
twoenz
28/04/2008, 4:36 PM
Just checking about buying abroad: is the X Box copy that you buy from Canada going to work on an Irish XBox?