15/04/2008, 10:47 PM
on front of tomorrows paper dont show irish football
in a positive light. ffn *******s will they ever grow up
Which paper is that?
What is it about?
skitz3
15/04/2008, 10:52 PM
http://www.sportsfile.com/fotoweb/Preview.fwx?position=36&archiveType=ImageFolder&sorting=ModifiedTimeAsc&search=&fileId=294F5BF0F068A5E1863CAD52A05A9F6D9E25F84E5FE 7EE0879418E4C487F0EBA25114CA9BD078AFBBE326098DD83C BD4DF6128572D4CDE86EFCE9E7E0FFCE2475806965515B2D16 FAB7CC4915C7C0EEF7F1F3C1A04A436F9CAD843C5EE6206C30 46ECD15ED1FF2DC6C8C928663F1A4C493E7A328BAAAB6DBB4C 87230EE246792
If that don't work go to sportfile and view the pictures from the Pats game tonight. There's plenty more like that.
geezer
15/04/2008, 11:01 PM
the same fella in all the pics, was it one fool causing all the trouble
15/04/2008, 11:02 PM
What actually happened?
topia
15/04/2008, 11:04 PM
http://www.sportsfile.com/fotoweb/Preview.fwx?position=36&archiveType=ImageFolder&sorting=ModifiedTimeAsc&search=&fileId=294F5BF0F068A5E1863CAD52A05A9F6D9E25F84E5FE 7EE0879418E4C487F0EBA25114CA9BD078AFBBE326098DD83C BD4DF6128572D4CDE86EFCE9E7E0FFCE2475806965515B2D16 FAB7CC4915C7C0EEF7F1F3C1A04A436F9CAD843C5EE6206C30 46ECD15ED1FF2DC6C8C928663F1A4C493E7A328BAAAB6DBB4C 87230EE246792
If that don't work go to sportfile and view the pictures from the Pats game tonight. There's plenty more like that.
The guy in the last few pictures being escorted away by the cops with his face covered in blood, doesnt seem to be covered in blood in the earlier picture which seems to be him and about 10 guards????????
skitz3
15/04/2008, 11:06 PM
http://www.breakingnews.ie/sport/?c=soccer&jp=mhojqlidmhey
15/04/2008, 11:06 PM
The guy in the last few pictures being escorted away by the cops with his face covered in blood, doesnt seem to be covered in blood in the earlier picture which seems to be him and about 10 guards????????
That's what I'm thinking too, that he wouldn't calm down so got a few smacks of the baton.
topia
15/04/2008, 11:09 PM
That's what I'm thinking too, that he wouldn't calm down so got a few smacks of the baton.
seems that way!
Carlin
15/04/2008, 11:12 PM
From what I was told from a steward, 2 of the Linfield lot were nicked for fighting each other:confused:. While I'm sure there'll be a multi page thread on the topic, I thought it was a tame atmosphere and whatever trouble there was, was minimal. As Dodge said, massive police presence after the match and they seemed to have it sussed.
15/04/2008, 11:12 PM
Yeah, its clear from the pictures that the Gardai smacked him up a bit. No doubt it'll all have been the Linfield fans fault and the Gardai acted impeccably :rolleyes:
topia
15/04/2008, 11:15 PM
judging from the pics and the article there doesnt seem to have been much happening really, was there actually any trouble or just a handful of rowdy fans?
if there wasnt actually any real trouble then is there a need to paint the game in a bad light on the front of a paper? the competition gets enough bad press as it is.
15/04/2008, 11:16 PM
What actually happened?
That particular fella was arrested for fighting with fellow Linfield fans apparently
At the game (i.e in the stand and terraces) there was no trouble
15/04/2008, 11:17 PM
judging from the pics and the article there doesnt seem to have been much happening really, was there actually any trouble or just a handful of rowdy fans?
if there wasnt actually any real trouble then is there a need to paint the game in a bad light on the front of a paper? the competition gets enough bad press as it is.
Its the Independent though ..... they will chase ambulances to get a story.
16/04/2008, 12:13 AM
the same fella in all the pics, was it one fool causing all the trouble
And he's been arrested by a Ban Gharda :D
That'll make him look really big to all his mates :o
Really does seem to have been a minor case of handbags, mostly with Linfield fans either fighting each other or gettign hoofed out for objecting to being searched.
The fact that no otehr paper carries it on their front page shows what a non-story it is.
charliesboots
16/04/2008, 12:21 AM
Yeah, its clear from the pictures that the Gardai smacked him up a bit. No doubt it'll all have been the Linfield fans fault and the Gardai acted impeccably :rolleyes:
I'm a huge critic of the cops (involved in human rights stuff, iccl and that jazz), have to deal with them everyday in work and to be honest I hate the *****s.
I was about 5 yards away from them arresting the two lads tonight though and they actually did nothing I anybody could have much complaint about. From what I could see the lad smacked his face on the ground when he was struggling with the cops hence the bloody nose.
I spoke to one of the photographers before the game and they were told to be on hand when the Linfield fans were entering the ground so they could get some pics if any trouble kicked off.
No doubt this minor scuffle will get more column inches tomorrow than the cracking game of football in Inchicore tonight. :mad:
CJTheGull
16/04/2008, 8:42 AM
That Linfield fan can have no complaints - live by the sword die by the sword etc.
16/04/2008, 8:52 AM
That Linfield fan can have no complaints - live by the sword die by the sword etc.
They brought swords !?!? :eek:
Holy sh!t - an All-island League ghas no chance if that's the case.....
:p
Yeah, its clear from the pictures that the Gardai smacked him up a bit.
Really? What pictures are you looking at that makes it so clear?
CharlesThompson
16/04/2008, 9:17 AM
I bought the Indo this morning and to be honest, if anybody looked at the 'story' with any kind of objectivity you could only come to the conclusion that a few ****ed up lads had a bit of aggro. Nothing more than you might see on an average Saturday night in Inchicore anyway.
They (Indo) have 7 pictures from the match. None of them have any football in them. One of them with Tardelli (hero!) sitting in his seat. Two of them are the same (front page and back page!!), one on the inside of some fool wearing a Queen Elizabeth mask (why?) and the last on the back page is of the fella that they've already two of the same pictures printed only in a different position.
In fact looking at it more closely, the lad beside the one being dragged out looks like he's the one in the other picture with two Gardai kneeling on him (printed twice). Front AND back pages of the Indo for two idiots having a row and it's the Gardai that spill the blood.
Sensationalist nonsense by the irish media. A few scuffles outside the away end, 4 arrests and one minor injury and it makes the front page. No doubt, the daily radio chat shows will milk it for a good hour and the usual comments regarding football fans will appear.
20 times more anti-social behaviour at weekends in the city but thats never seems to get a mention.
Pity they didnt write front page articles on all the games which have passed off peacefully so far and all the relationships that seem to been built as a result.
CameramanConka
16/04/2008, 9:57 AM
Seen the picture of the preson wearing a queen Liz mask, but the person to the left on the picture......where do you buy an ugly chav bitch mask?
16/04/2008, 10:20 AM
It was mentioned in the Sports bulletin on Morning Ireland at about 8am this morning.
Thankfully Con Murphy was doing the bulletin and basically rubbished the Indo report and the hyperbole/nonsense being spouted by the host.
He highlighted that both photos in the press were of the same bloke - and also made the point that more people are probably arrested at pop concerts or in town on a night out than there were at the game last night. Also made the case that these incidents on the whole are as rare as hens teeth and it shouldn't put people off going to games.
He did a bloody good job considering who he's working against - I expect something following on from this on MNS next week
16/04/2008, 10:36 AM
http://www.stpatsfc.com/news.php?id=2196
16/04/2008 [11:04]
ST PATS THANKS FANS FOR PATIENCE & CO-OPERATION AT SETANTA CUP
Last night St Patrick’s Athletic hosted over 800 travelling Linfield fans to Richmond Park. This travelling fan base, one of the largest to visit Richmond Park in recent years behaved impeccably over the night and gave their team great support.
One incident where two Linfield fans were ejected from the ground following a scuffle with gardai was captured by the press and the resulting images shown in the national media may have given the impression of more widespread trouble occurring at the match which was simply not the case. The match night arrangements ensured that fans were successfully segregated at the game itself and also when leaving the stadium.
While St Pat’s fans were maintained in the ground Linfield fans were escorted directly to their buses. A small group of Dublin youths did appear in the area as the match finished, these were not supporters of the club and had not attended the game. With the home support being kept in the ground and the street outside the ground clear this group was easily identifiable to the gardai and were ordered to move on. One of this group was subsequently arrested for criminal damage to a wing mirror of a car. No further arrests or instances of match-related trouble are understood to have been reported to the gardai in the area.
St Patrick’s Atletic Football Club would like to thank both sets of fans for their patience and co-operation as well as our match night security teams and local gardai for their excellent work on the night.
Poor show from the Independent. Would be nice to see the journalist who wrote the piece backtracking a bit from the sensationalism and giving the other (accurate) side to the story in another article. Wonder how much freedom he has to do so?
inchicore_saint
16/04/2008, 10:38 AM
There was more trouble at the Glentoran match but there was no pictures so it was a non story for the media.
Tir Oilean
16/04/2008, 10:53 AM
On a day when a former President of our country is buried they print to this? An article on Paddy Hillary RIP would be more appropriate and sell as many if not more papers. Pretty sad really. never have and ever will buy the Indo, their treatment of the League is very much akin to the red top paparazzi twisting what they can out of a story.
Did the GA match where the Caherconlish Taliban put a halt to an U18 match in Limerick make the newspapers?
soccerc
16/04/2008, 11:03 AM
A few pics from last night here. (http://www.flickr.com/photos/soccerc/sets/72157604562821597/)
No trouble inside ground apart from some barstool republicans and their ilk tryijng to stir it up.
Great game from a Pats' fan point of view.
16/04/2008, 11:08 AM
The whole thing is one of these (http://www.csc.noaa.gov/storm_info/images/2005montage.jpg)in one of these (http://se.inf.ethz.ch/people/leitner/erl_g/image/tea_cup_small.jpg)created by these (http://www.finfacts.com/irelandbusinessnews/uploads/irish_independent_003.jpg)
16/04/2008, 11:40 AM
It was mentioned in the Sports bulletin on Morning Ireland at about 8am this morning.
Thankfully Con Murphy was doing the bulletin and basically rubbished the Indo report and the hyperbole/nonsense being spouted by the host.
He highlighted that both photos in the press were of the same bloke - and also made the point that more people are probably arrested at pop concerts or in town on a night out than there were at the game last night. Also made the case that these incidents on the whole are as rare as hens teeth and it shouldn't put people off going to games.
He did a bloody good job considering who he's working against - I expect something following on from this on MNS next week
Fair play to the man.
Row Z
16/04/2008, 12:59 PM
Much more of the same from the Herald. ridiculous, sensationalist and OTT.
good, articulated response from St Pats re the crowd and troublemakers hanging around outside looking for trouble.
Its article's like this that drags the image of the Lge back into the late 80's and 90's
16/04/2008, 1:14 PM
They have gone to town on this one. I can imagine panic setting in at the Herald when they realised they weren't getting the fight they wanted. Never mind, run with the picture of guards in riot, sorry RIOT gear. And the exact same photos of the Linfield nosebleed guy. Most people will only see the headline and photos and imagine that all Hell broke loose.
Lowlife, cowardly journalism and potentially deeply hurtful to the league :mad:
16/04/2008, 1:45 PM
They have gone to town on this one. I can imagine panic setting in at the Herald when they realised they weren't getting the fight they wanted. Never mind, run with the picture of guards in riot, sorry RIOT gear. And the exact same photos of the Linfield nosebleed guy. Most people will only see the headline and photos and imagine that all Hell broke loose.
Lowlife, cowardly journalism and potentially deeply hurtful to the league :mad:
We should all get off our arses and do something about it. A liverpool style boycott and protest at games is in order me thinks
16/04/2008, 2:10 PM
We should all get off our arses and do something about it. A liverpool style boycott and protest at games is in order me thinks
Just had a flick through it there - it's comical in a way. They're so desperate to fill space that they even printed the quote from Jim Kerr that exposes their story as sensationalist tripe - 4 Glentoran fans get arrested at the Pats game and not one line about it in the papers.
Quote from some local resident.
Some Gardai had their hats knocked off in a scuffle with a Linfield fan. They had to bring more over to help. It was terrible. It was just awful to see.
And apparently Lincoln fans were also there and left through the Inchicore end :rolleyes:
CJTheGull
16/04/2008, 2:59 PM
For those of you that don't know The Hearld (De Heraduld) is owned and operated by Independent News and Media that publish The Irish Independent.
Both are tabloid newspapers although one of them thinks that it isn't.
I bought the Indo this morning and to be honest, if anybody looked at the 'story' with any kind of objectivity you could only come to the conclusion that a few ****ed up lads had a bit of aggro. Nothing more than you might see on an average Saturday night in Inchicore anyway.
They (Indo) have 7 pictures from the match. None of them have any football in them. One of them with Tardelli (hero!) sitting in his seat. Two of them are the same (front page and back page!!), one on the inside of some fool wearing a Queen Elizabeth mask (why?) and the last on the back page is of the fella that they've already two of the same pictures printed only in a different position.
In fact looking at it more closely, the lad beside the one being dragged out looks like he's the one in the other picture with two Gardai kneeling on him (printed twice). Front AND back pages of the Indo for two idiots having a row and it's the Gardai that spill the blood.
Any need to be abusive? It was actually me, was done for a bit of a laugh and certainly not meant as offensive. For what its worth we had a great day out. Spent the day in Drogheda and was thoroughly enjoyable except for the result.
16/04/2008, 3:24 PM
Any need to be abusive? It was actually me, was done for a bit of a laugh and certainly not meant as offensive. For what its worth we had a great day out. Spent the day in Drogheda and was thoroughly enjoyable except for the result.
So it'll be grand for some Pats fans or whoever to turn up to the next game at Windsor Park sporting a Gerry Adams mask then?
:ball:
So it'll be grand for some Pats fans or whoever to turn up to the next game at Windsor Park sporting a Gerry Adams mask then?
:ball:
Personally couldn't care less. My mate had one of Osama Bin Laden. What does that mean? It was a bit of a laugh ffs although I do fail to see how you can compare the Queen with a terrorist.
16/04/2008, 3:43 PM
Personally couldn't care less. My mate had one of Osama Bin Laden. What does that mean? It was a bit of a laugh ffs although I do fail to see how you can compare the Queen with a terrorist.
Some would say that the British Army in NI were state sponsored Terrorists. And BTW Gerry Adams is a politician not a terrorist ;)
hey davy i hope you werent wearing that queen mask in mother hughes :D
I think I actually might have been at one point. :D Guess what nobody got offended though. :eek: Had a brilliant day in there, as usual.
Any need to be abusive? It was actually me, was done for a bit of a laugh and certainly not meant as offensive
Not one single person around me thought it was offenseive. personally thought it was funny. But then I wasn't singing Up the'RA
CharlesThompson
16/04/2008, 5:11 PM
Who's being abusive? I just think it's kinda silly, certainly not offensive to me, neither is singing Rule Brittania (yawn), GSTQ (yawn). I have to say that seeing the picture in the paper this morning my perception was that whoever was wearing it was intending to be offensive rather than humerous.
16/04/2008, 5:21 PM
Lads, dont go there. Think before you post.
16/04/2008, 5:53 PM
Sensationalist nonsense by the irish media. A few scuffles outside the away end, 4 arrests and one minor injury and it makes the front page. No doubt, the daily radio chat shows will milk it for a good hour and the usual comments regarding football fans will appear.
20 times more anti-social behaviour at weekends in the city but thats never seems to get a mention.
Pity they didnt write front page articles on all the games which have passed off peacefully so far and all the relationships that seem to been built as a result.
Its not sensationalist nonsense by the Irish media. Its the Independent and The Herald so its hard to classify them as media.
David
16/04/2008, 11:31 PM
Who's being abusive? I just think it's kinda silly, certainly not offensive to me, neither is singing Rule Brittania (yawn), GSTQ (yawn). I have to say that seeing the picture in the paper this morning my perception was that whoever was wearing it was intending to be offensive rather than humerous.
You asked me who is being abusive yet in your original post you referred to someone that you clearly did not know as a fool. I can assure you that it was not meant to be offensive in any way, was meant as humorous. As I said my mate had an Osama Bin Laden mask on, someone that is at war with my country. It was a harmless bit of fun and honestly nothing more than that.
17/04/2008, 12:14 AM
As I said my mate had an Osama Bin Laden mask on, someone that is at war with my country. .
Sweet Buddha - you've swallowed the whole American right-wing 'we're in a war, Goddam it !' nonesense hook, line and trawler.... :o
Yet no doubt you'd be the first to claim 'The Troubloes' weren't a war.
You can rest easy at night though - safe in the knowledge that Osama Bin Laden doesn't even know where Norn Iron is... :)
Its the Independent and The Herald so its hard to classify them as media. Correct!
Come on lads, lets not turn this isnt a massive slagging match. No doubt a few hacks are browsing the web looking for another nothing story to put food on the table.
We are all football people here. Keep it like that. The comments about the mask are silly. The guy has mentioned that no offence was intended. A few pats lads work with me and they have had nothing but positive remarks about the vast majority of the fans that attended the game. It showed that a combined league is the future and that it should be no problems in terms of fans.
WoodquayBoy
17/04/2008, 9:18 AM
Yet no doubt you'd be the first to claim 'The Troubloes' weren't a war.
And he'd be right, they were 'Troubles' not a war. Two armies were not engaged in conflict, two countries were not engaged in conflict - it as more a continuous uprising, a revolution, but certainly wasn't a war.
One side may believe it was a war against an occupying force (and I'd subscribe to that to be honest) but a war, in the purest (war? pure?) sense of the word it was not
CharlesThompson
17/04/2008, 10:44 AM
You asked me who is being abusive yet in your original post you referred to someone that you clearly did not know as a fool. I can assure you that it was not meant to be offensive in any way, was meant as humorous. As I said my mate had an Osama Bin Laden mask on, someone that is at war with my country. It was a harmless bit of fun and honestly nothing more than that.
Thin skin David if you consider that 'abusive'. As I said, I didn't personally find it offensive but neither remotely funny. Ridiculous maybe but I didn't laugh.
The Man Himself
17/04/2008, 11:05 AM
this fella is a bit to old to be carrying on like that,
must be in his mid 50s
wanna cop himself on, scumbag.