View Full Version : Is the Premiership title decided now?
14/04/2008, 9:00 PM
What a legend Emile Heskey is!(never thought i'd say that) I backed Wigan for 1-1 draw at the Bridge.:D
Surely that goal means Man Utd have won the league?:D It also should spell the end for Avram Grant and probably a few of the players from the Mourinho age.
I think as a Man Utd fan it could be time to celebrate, once we get Blackburn out of the way on Sunday.
Chelsea have a very hard game vs Everton on Thursday which I can't see them winning. I think United could have the league officially wrapped up by the time they meet Chelsea at the Bridge on the 26th.
Come on United!!!!!!!!!!!:D
14/04/2008, 9:03 PM
Disgusted. Again.
Grant out. Bring in Mancini. He's won something of note.
15/04/2008, 7:10 AM
Tite race is over. Chelsea were muck. Awful display.
Done and dusted now in my opinion. Fair play to the mancs, they got the job done when needed. Still dont think they will win they CL. The only way Grant will keep his job is if he does.
Rebal Boy
15/04/2008, 10:06 AM
Delighted with last nights result. Hopefully Everton can do the Red Devils a big favour by beating Chelsea on Thursday. If they do & Utd beat Blackburn I'd say its game set & match. COME ON UNITED!!!
Ambaiste!
15/04/2008, 10:26 AM
Chelsea have a very hard game vs Everton on Thursday which I can't see them winning.
Agreed. It would be a massive upset if Chelsea were to somehow overcome the might of Everton, who will be even more inspired than usual given they have nothing to play for :rolleyes:
15/04/2008, 11:17 AM
Anyone hear anything why Lampard withdrew after originally being selected? Was in dire need of some points from him for my Fantasy Football team :D
reder
15/04/2008, 11:30 AM
Anyone hear anything why Lampard withdrew after originally being selected? Was in dire need of some points from him for my Fantasy Football team :D
Aparently, he had one pie too many and got stuck in the door of the bus trying to squeeze out.
Denis The Red
15/04/2008, 12:40 PM
Open the champange, whoooo hoooo!!!!!!
15/04/2008, 1:38 PM
Players like Joe Cole need to be hung by their nads from a very high tree. He p!ssed about on the ball every time he got it and was only interested in the glory.
Feckin manc w*nks have it in the bag now :mad:
15/04/2008, 1:41 PM
Players like Joe Cole need to be hung by their nads from a very high tree. He p!ssed about on the ball every time he got it and was only interested in the glory.
Feckin manc w*nks have it in the bag now :mad:
THe same Joe Cole who has arguably been their best player this season?
15/04/2008, 4:04 PM
His local chip shop caught fire and he was said to be very sad. Chelsea have declared a day of mourning on Wednesday in it's honour as Frank felt he'd have to do a tribute to the place he loved so dear.:D
15/04/2008, 4:05 PM
His mother is very sick apparently, and he was called away to see her
His head couldn't fit in the door?:ball:
15/04/2008, 6:15 PM
THe same Joe Cole who has arguably been their best player this season?
Don't tell me you are one of these people who reckon a player is "the best" because of how many times he can step over a ball in a minute without touching it :rolleyes:
Players like Cech, Terry, Essien and Drogba are much more important to the team.
True but Cech has been out for quite some time, Terry and Essien are having so-so seasons by their standards and Drogba just doesn't care anymore, so arguably you could say Joe Cole has been more important to Chelsea this year.
I wouldn't though, I hate the guy :p
cheifo
16/04/2008, 1:07 AM
Wonder how many active(people who buy shirts or any official clobber)Man U supporters there is in Ireland compared to Liverpool and Celtic?(who I presume are next biggest). I am sure I read somewhere recently that said Man U have 100 million "active" supporters in China.Could this figure be possibly correct?
Bloody Chelsea, they could have at least made it interesting by keeping the pressure on MU, now the Chelsea MU game is kinda meaningless and its another anti-climatic finish to the season.
16/04/2008, 10:45 AM
Bloody Chelsea, they could have at least made it interesting by keeping the pressure on MU, now the Chelsea MU game is kinda meaningless and its another anti-climatic finish to the season.
Hardly meaningless, if Chelsea win (which they are more than capable of) then the title race is down to two points with two games left (assuming both Chelsea and United win their next game), all the Wigan result means is that for Chelsea to win the league they need United to lose another game now, where as before they needed United to draw or lose one other game besides the Stamford Bridge showdown, it just nullifies that draw
Morbo
16/04/2008, 11:03 AM
Hardly meaningless, if Chelsea win (which they are more than capable of) then the title race is down to two points with two games left (assuming both Chelsea and United win their next game), all the Wigan result means is that for Chelsea to win the league they need United to lose another game now, where as before they needed United to draw or lose one other game besides the Stamford Bridge showdown, it just nullifies that draw
I said kinda meaningless, I know its still mathematically possible for Chelsea to win the league, but now even if Chelsea beat MU, MU will more than likely still win the league, as it is very unlikely United will lose to either Blackburn or West Ham, there was a small chance of them drawing to one of them but I can't see MU dropping 3 points over those 2 games, hope I'm wrong but I doubt it.
16/04/2008, 12:19 PM
Wonder how many active(people who buy shirts or any official clobber)Man U supporters there is in Ireland compared to Liverpool and Celtic?(who I presume are next biggest)
I imagine Celtic are the biggest seen as people who support Man U, Liverpool or any other side also tend to have Celtic as a second team. Then there are the out and out Celtic fans.
19/04/2008, 1:03 PM
Wonder how many active(people who buy shirts or any official clobber)Man U supporters there is in Ireland compared to Liverpool and Celtic?(who I presume are next biggest). I am sure I read somewhere recently that said Man U have 100 million "active" supporters in China.Could this figure be possibly correct?
Depends what "active" means.
If it means "not in a coma and saw Utd playing on TV once" it could be
true.
However if it means "regularly buy online from the Utd website" it probably isn't
And Chelsea's bottle job against Wigan comes into sharp focus with United's draw with Blackburn
20/04/2008, 10:14 AM
And Chelsea's bottle job against Wigan comes into sharp focus with United's draw with Blackburn
too bloody right. All or nothing for Chelsea next Saturday.
cheifo
20/04/2008, 7:14 PM
Apparantly the word active is modern football marketing speak for them buying a related club product but that figure must be nonsense.Friedal was heroic yesterday.
26/04/2008, 1:44 PM
2-1 to Chelsea!!!
YEEEEESSSSSS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
26/04/2008, 2:10 PM
gutted.
Why take Anderson off? I knew putting O'Shea on would come back to haunt Fergie because Tevez needed to come on when Chelsea scored again.
Closed Account 2
26/04/2008, 2:18 PM
Well it certainly makes it more interesting now!
26/04/2008, 2:21 PM
"Is the Premiership title decided now?"
:confused: :D :p
26/04/2008, 3:21 PM
United were worse in the 1st half than thy were vs Barcelona.
Nani was useless. He didn't beat Ashley Cole once or pass it to the right man once. He should have been taken off not Anderson.
I can't argue with the penalty as it was a clear handball and well taken.
I thought Drogba was a disgrace. He was throwing himself all over the place and when he kicked Vidic in the face Sky should a slow motion replay and you could see Drogba was about to dive to the ground until he realised what he did.
26/04/2008, 5:24 PM
I thought Drogba was a disgrace. He was throwing himself all over the place and when he kicked Vidic in the face Sky should a slow motion replay and you could see Drogba was about to dive to the ground until he realised what he did.
I agree Drogba is a diving.....player but is anyone going to mention VDS or did the Man U fans have their backs turned for that?
TheBoss
26/04/2008, 5:41 PM
Utd were poor in the 1st half, they were better in the 2nd half but could have done better than they did, it was a penalty although Ferguson was not happy about it, also, how did Ronaldo not a get a penalty from Ballack, clear penalty, why do refs never give penalties from free kick/corner situations, they also favour the defending team.
Closed Account 2
26/04/2008, 6:42 PM
I agree Drogba is a diving.....player but is anyone going to mention VDS or did the Man U fans have their backs turned for that?
Van Der Saar is a disgrace, his card should have been marked 10 years ago for the Ortega incident, he robbed the world cup of a classic semi final. I'm glad he's never won anything with Holland, cheating disgrace.
cheifo
26/04/2008, 8:29 PM
Surprised Anderson was taken off.Will be even more amazed if Ferguson plays Park or Nani instead of him on Tues.The lad looks very strong.Are Barca playing tonight?
jmurphyc
26/04/2008, 8:32 PM
Are Barca playing tonight?
They said on the Premiership that they lost 2-0 to Deportivo.
TheBoss
26/04/2008, 8:42 PM
They were not at full strength, they rested their main players.
04/05/2008, 3:24 PM
Comfortable win for United yesterday. Newcastle are in good form at the moment, could see Chelsea slipping up.
05/05/2008, 3:58 PM
I'm assuming Wigan will blow the game on Sunday, as they have nothing to play for, and Fergie's mate won't be allowed back into OT again if they win. :rolleyes:
05/05/2008, 5:17 PM
Comfortable win for United yesterday. Newcastle are in good form at the moment, could see Chelsea slipping up.
Not happening!
One more game...
05/05/2008, 8:28 PM
Newcastle looked great in the first half but they were totally different in the 2nd half.
If Newcastle can get €15 million for Obafemi Martins based on that performence then i'd love to meet their negotiator and ask him how he does it! A useless player with no future at Newcastle.
I have no doubt that Man U will beat Wigan, Chelsea should just pay Bolton £20mill to lose 20-0
lionelhutz
06/05/2008, 2:08 PM
I have no doubt that Man U will beat Wigan, Chelsea should just pay Bolton £20mill to lose 20-0
You'd never know. The Wigan players will relish the chance of deciding the title race. My prediction is United will go 1-0 up but in the last minute Kilbane will come up with one of his trademark 30 yard screamers into the top corner to hand the title to the Blues
06/05/2008, 2:22 PM
You'd never know. The Wigan players will relish the chance of deciding the title race.
I assume Fergie and his friend will "manufacture" a Denmark-Sweden style result. :o
Wigan have nothing to play for, and Bruce won't want to upset he who must be obeyed. :rolleyes: Fix.
Word on the street is that Brucie is going to use this fixture to try out his new 2-6-2 formation where there are no central defenders and the 6 in midfield have a free role.
Seriously, Wigan have no chance. Mancs will win by 3 or 4. I wonder what ref will be given the game. :rolleyes:
06/05/2008, 3:09 PM
I assume Fergie and his friend will "manufacture" a Denmark-Sweden style result. :o
Wigan have nothing to play for, and Bruce won't want to upset he who must be obeyed. :rolleyes: Fix.
Because Man Utd wouldn't beat Wigan anyway...:rolleyes:
06/05/2008, 3:42 PM
Because Man Utd wouldn't beat Wigan anyway...:rolleyes:
They haven't won their last 4 away games, so the list sends them off to Manchester sorry, Wigan for a last game against one of Fergie's mates to make up for it. :rolleyes:
cheifo
06/05/2008, 3:53 PM
West Ham were a disgrace against UTD and hopefully Wigan at least give it maximum effort.Bumpy pitch and on the back of their 2-0 win at Villa, Wigan getting a draw is not out of the question.But then Ashley Cole would have a winners medal:eek:Hobsons choice.
Meanwhile Alan Hansen informs everybody in his BBC website column that "Man Utd and Fulham hold their faith in their own hands".
Thanks for that Alan.
06/05/2008, 4:29 PM
Bumpy pitch and on the back of their 2-0 win at Villa, Wigan getting a draw is not out of the question.
I reckon Fergie will order the pitch to be worked on during the week, so his team can play. :rolleyes: If he finds a bumpy pitch, you'll never hear the end of it.
Watch out for his motivation talk to Bolton during the week, and of course, the "strong referee" requests. :mad:
06/05/2008, 5:25 PM
you know it's bad when Liverpool fans are clutching at conspiracy theories!!!!!
11/05/2008, 4:17 PM
Well it's all over now. Cast iron penalty for Man U despite Andy "I hate referees" Gray saying it was 50/50. As for the Ferdinand "handball", only one Wigan player appealed and the commentators said nothing until they saw the replay. Possiibly arm, possibly shoulder. I think Wigan were unlucky that Scholes wasn't sent off but then Gray would then bleat on about the ref spoiling the game. Ref can't win with Gray. Anyway, with Chelsea conceding in the last minute it was pretty much academic anyway.
Man U deserved the title but Ronaldo needs to grow up.