View Full Version : Have you ever met anybody famous?
Wolfie
22/04/2008, 7:51 AM
Julia Roberts and Liam Neeson - filming Michael Collins. Didn't speak to them, mind. Their trailers were based in an old Sheriff Street car park while they were filming some city scenes. A few labourer lads kept roaring over "Julia!! - Get Dem off ye".
Had a (sort of) conversation with Eoin Hand in Quinns Pub, Drumcondra in 1993. I was obliterated drunk but was genuinely trying to convey to him that he had been very unlucky as Ireland Manager and that he'd laid the foundation for some of our success. He kept saying "Sorry son?, what you sayin?". I was like a desperate man in quick sand as I tried various ways of articulating this to him. I was in a terrible state. My mates were in fits laughing. Poor auld Eoin thought I was taking the pish. He looked very hurt which makes me sad even thinking about it now. Damn alcohol!! :o :(
Brendan Gleeson and Colm Meaney - Kennedy's Pub, Drumcondra. People kept quoting "The Snapper" at them. One bloke kept saying to them "That was A1 Sharon". They finally replied in unison "FECK OFF". :D
22/04/2008, 8:38 AM
Served BBC presenter Angelica Bell in my old bar in London. She's a lot cuter in real life. Really chatty too.
http://www.contactmusic.com/photos.nsf/pictures?open&artist=angelica_bell&page=1&start=1
22/04/2008, 2:30 PM
Served BBC presenter Angelica Bell in my old bar in London. She's a lot cuter in real life. Really chatty too.
http://www.contactmusic.com/photos.nsf/pictures?open&artist=angelica_bell&page=1&start=1
For a minute I thought you said you SERVICED her! :eek:
22/04/2008, 2:46 PM
For a minute I thought you said you SERVICED her! :eek:
I wish! ;) That picture does not do her justice. Unbelievably foxy in the flesh.
22/04/2008, 3:09 PM
Cool collection of shots.
But am I the only one who looked at all those photos and instead of going "Look, it's Frank Kelly", etc, instead went "Ah! So that's what Réiteoir looks like, he is a lot taller/ shorter/ younger/ older/ etc. than I had thought"?
Yes. I imagine you like this:
http://cache.eb.com/eb/image?id=6723&rendTypeId=4
That's Magicme you're talking to. Blatantly you're going to rape her.
22/04/2008, 4:34 PM
It's not really meeting someone famous (unless you count a prop buyer for TV famous)
But I printed the Famous "I Shot J.R." t-shirt for that guy in Father Ted. I was working in T-Shirt Print in blanch and was asked to do cover in the St. Stephens Green branch on that particular day when the Prop buyer came in. I though the shirt was unusual and asked the girl what was the story behind it and she told me watch out for it in an episode of father ted. I know it was my one because we were out of I's that day so I cut the cross bar off a T and used that, and the J was made from 2/3 of a letter U
22/04/2008, 5:54 PM
Yes. I imagine you like this:
http://cache.eb.com/eb/image?id=6723&rendTypeId=4
That's Magicme you're talking to. Blatantly you're going to rape her.
Oi were you at the Christmas meet up or how did you get that pic? I was only showing him which key unlocks my chastity belt and anyway its not rape if I say yes is it bluey?? :eek:
22/04/2008, 7:06 PM
Oi were you at the Christmas meet up or how did you get that pic? I was only showing him which key unlocks my chastity belt and anyway its not rape if I say yes is it bluey?? :eek:
Well that was my defence at court the last time...
Traps Cat
25/04/2008, 4:07 PM
Flavour Flav and Chuck D from Public Enemy
Martin Sheen
Belinda Carlisle
Tim Robbins
Mani from the stone roses - a madman!!
I once killed a famous guy with a trident.
Blue-Army
26/04/2008, 12:57 AM
It's not really meeting someone famous (unless you count a prop buyer for TV famous)
But I printed the Famous "I Shot J.R." t-shirt for that guy in Father Ted. I was working in T-Shirt Print in blanch and was asked to do cover in the St. Stephens Green branch on that particular day when the Prop buyer came in. I though the shirt was unusual and asked the girl what was the story behind it and she told me watch out for it in an episode of father ted. I know it was my one because we were out of I's that day so I cut the cross bar off a T and used that, and the J was made from 2/3 of a letter U
haha....cool story..:cool:
ken foree
26/04/2008, 10:26 AM
Mani from the stone roses - a madman!!
ha, i met them too in manhattan the day everton beat united in the cup final in 1995 i think it was. they weren't too happy about it! :D
26/04/2008, 5:22 PM
I Met Jebus the other night. he's pretty famous around here
blobbyblob
26/04/2008, 7:39 PM
Had a wee beside your man from Boyzone with the Tattoos.
Terry Phelan. Ledge.
Interviewed and humiliated on radio by Donnacha O'Domhlainn.
Niall Quinn
Your man from the BBC who got kidnapped last year in Iraq.
Mick McCarthy. Very Sound.
Tony Cascarino. Nice fella.
Richie Kavanagh. Aon Focal hmmmm
Stephen Tomkinson i think his name is. Didn't like him. (The priest from Bally K)
A few different bands.
01/05/2008, 9:06 AM
I met Trapattoni yesterday! Lovely smiling man!
dublinmick
04/05/2008, 7:29 PM
I too have met Trapattoni (twice). A lovely man.
Bono.
Bertie Ahern.
Gerry Adams.
Richard Dunne.
John Bruton.
Sean Brady, the Archbishop.
Ian Paisley (sound, strangely enough).
Ray Houghton.
Eamon Dunphy.
Samantha Mumba (hot.)
Joe Royle.
Peter Robinson (not very nice.)
George Best.
06/05/2008, 8:58 AM
I too have met Trapattoni (twice). A lovely man.
Bono.
Bertie Ahern.
Gerry Adams.
Richard Dunne.
John Bruton.
Sean Brady, the Archbishop.
Ian Paisley (sound, strangely enough).
Ray Houghton.
Eamon Dunphy.
Samantha Mumba (hot.)
Joe Royle.
Peter Robinson (not very nice.)
George Best.
I've met Gerry so many times now it's normal so I forgot to mention him
Wolfie
20/06/2008, 12:58 PM
My brother met Suggs from Madness during the week.
On introducing himself he said to Suggs - "I hope you're happy with yourself. You've got Captain Birdseye on the dole" :D
24/06/2008, 2:13 PM
My brother met Suggs from Madness during the week.
On introducing himself he said to Suggs - "I hope you're happy with yourself. You've got Captain Birdseye on the dole"
Ha brilliant:D
The list for myself would be:
Roy Keane(numerous times)
Packie Bonner
Paul McGrath
Daniel O'Donnell(legend!)
Raimand Van Der Gouw
Brian McClair(bit of a grump)
Sam Torrance(not a nice man)
Eamonn Darcy
Padraig Harrington(I asked him for a golf ball...he said no:()
Sonia O'Sullivan
Jimmy White
Ronnie O'Sullivan
Neil Lennon
Seán óg O'Hailpin, Diarmuid O'Sullivan(Sat next to them on a plane from Dublin, we started flopping pure orange juice:D)
Brian Corcoran
Darren Clarke
Lee Westwood
Colin Montgomerie
Graham McDowell
Sandy Lyle
Ian Poulter(He signed his autograph with a pink pen!)
Ian Woosnam
Paul Casey
Thomas Levet(Very Funny man)
Thomas Bjorn
Seve Ballesteros(funny man, what a shame he's retired!)
Fred Funk
Justin Rose
I hope I didn't forget anybody!..............I think I did!
joe_barry80
24/06/2008, 2:30 PM
I dropped the singer from Kosheen back to her tour bus because she was ****ed drunk in the pub that i worked in. She came in the next day and put myself & my wife on the guest list and brought us back stage after the gig.
When my mate played for Sunderland I went out a few times with some of the players.
Met the Man Utd team in the players Lounge at Sunderland.
John Aldridge Stayed back for a few pints in bar in Dublin where I worked.
I met Aqua of Barbie Girl Fame :eek:
Paddy Cerrand was in the pub I worked in when Man Utd played Sturm Graz in 2000.
Met some of the Irish team when they where on one of their nights out before a match. Remember I was working in the kitchen which had an open front on it and Jason Mc Ateer just picked up one of the meals and started eating it.
Tom Butler (Swansea City) is a mate of mine
Roadend
24/06/2008, 3:24 PM
Sam Torranace(not a nice man)
He was probably upset at being called Torranace...:p
24/06/2008, 3:27 PM
He was probably upset at being called Torranace...:p
My apologies Sam Torrance
stojkovic
24/06/2008, 7:32 PM
Twink
Did she take you, roughly.
Newryrep
25/06/2008, 7:44 AM
Ha brilliant:D
The list for myself would be:
Roy Keane(numerous times)
Packie Bonner
Paul McGrath
Daniel O'Donnell(legend!)
Raimand Van Der Gouw
Brian McClair(bit of a grump)
Sam Torrance(not a nice man)
Eamonn Darcy
Padraig Harrington(I asked him for a golf ball...he said no:()
Sonia O'Sullivan
Jimmy White
Ronnie O'Sullivan
Neil Lennon
Seán óg O'Hailpin, Diarmuid O'Sullivan(Sat next to them on a plane from Dublin, we started flopping pure orange juice:D)
Brian Corcoran
Darren Clarke
Lee Westwood
Colin Montgomerie
Graham McDowell
Sandy Lyle
Ian Poulter(He signed his autograph with a pink pen!)
Ian Woosnam
Paul Casey
Thomas Levet(Very Funny man)
Thomas Bjorn
Seve Ballesteros(funny man, what a shame he's retired!)
Fred Funk
Justin Rose
I hope I didn't forget anybody!..............I think I did!
Are you Pat Kenny ?
Fair_play_boy
26/06/2008, 8:23 PM
Threw a scowl at Charlie Haughey. As he scowled back, one of his sons (the helicopter one) threw me an even dirtier look. :eek: That was at Cork Ford Week down in Crosser.
Spoke briefly to the king of Spain on a beach in Menorca. Got a surly non-verbal reaction. Didn’t know who he was until later.
Chatted with Richard Branson on the same beach the following day. Uber friendly.
Exchanged Hellos with Sevvy Ballesteros a few minutes after chatting with Branson. Seemed friendly.
Met Bono the night U2 played support to Freddie White, back in the day.
Served a soda water and blackcurrant to Tommy Makem in a bar in Killarney
Served Mary Hegarty as one of my afternoon regulars in the same bar.
Got Johnny Giles autograph while he was playing for Leeds.
Mary Coughlan before she got on the wagon.
Booed Ian Woosnam at Portmarnock in 1988 for having played in Sun City.:mad:
Had dinner with Brian Farrell
Met Gay Byrne on the set of the Late Late show (Wife dragged me there. Honest).
Met Munster rugby’s Mick Galway in a narrow hallway in UCC. I had to reverse. He is a huge man.
Met Christy Moore at a wedding. What a lovely guy.
Chatted with Rory Gallagher in a bar down by City hall. Shy and awkward.
George O’Callaghan. Actually my daughter chatted with him in UCC bar when she was 10, shortly after winning the league. He could not have been nicer to her. Made her day.
Met Jack Lynch in The Bosun in Passage West the week before he fell ill.
Peter Sheridan, on a project in Rialto years ago.
Rose Dugdale, at a meeting in Rialto where she and I were both asked to leave.:confused:
Paul Hill (Guildford four) and his wife Courtney Kennedy, in a pub in Doolin.
Marty Whelan, at the jazz weekend a few years back.
Bertie Ahern twice, really amiable. Seemed totally natural.
Saw Eamonn de Valera in Cork when I was a kid. (Does that count?)
Billy Hutchinson of the Progressive Unionist Party, strolling along Castle Street in Cork a few years back. Surprised that he was recognised.
Saw Patricia Cornwell at the Late Late Show.
biscuit
26/06/2008, 9:34 PM
Met Ian Rush n Jan Molby in a niteclub after the legends game a few weeks back.Molby was an absolute gentleman, Rush...a complete ****.
And I know im not the only one in sligo with that opinion after his visit here.
27/06/2008, 12:14 AM
Charlie Bird was behind me in queue going through security in Dublin airport on Monday.
Mr Maroon
27/06/2008, 12:56 AM
Roy Keane (really sound)
Damien Duff (sound)
Shay Given (sound)
Clinton Morrisson (grumpy)
Graham Kavanagh
Stev Finnan
Alan Quinn
Gary Breen
Kevin Kilbane
Johnathan Macken (remember him?)
Kenny Cunningham
Brian Kerr
John O'Shea
Chris Houghton
Petr Cech
Milan Baros
Pavel Nedved (Legend!)
An old timer from Brazil called Coutinho
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Coutinho
(He played with Pele!)
Packie Bonner (in Terryland)
Ronnie Whelan
Frank Stapleton
Paul McGrath
Mark Viduka
Do Derek O'Brien and Tony Cousins count?
27/06/2008, 12:15 PM
I passed by Gary Breen and David Connolly the day before an Ireland match on Grafton Street
Steve McManaman in Bruxelles the day of the Ireland England rugby match in Croke Park
Ray Houghton in McDonalds at Dublin Airport the day after an Ireland match and Kevin Moran going through security later the same day
Not me but a friend was working in a pub in Swinford when one day Kurt Russell and Goldie Hawn strolled in for a pint
27/06/2008, 3:54 PM
Chatted with Rory Gallagher in a bar down by City hall. Shy and awkward.
interesting
I am big fan of his, and have heard he was extremely shy
As for me, only really met a few of the Irish squad - Robbie, Niall Quinn, Dunne, Harte, Kelly.and they were all pretty cool and friendly, even Robbie and the blonde hanging out of him:)
28/06/2008, 12:05 PM
Shay Given
Phil and April Magera in Paris at eifel tower ireland game 2004
PJ Gallagher
The edge
Bon Jovi
Pierce Brosnan
Uwe Rossler after a bray game once. Scouting Zayed he was.
Mick McCarthy
Neil Lennon
All Celtic Players
Gordon Starchan
Bono
I was in NY for the Italy game in Giants stadium.
Was in a McDonalds on 7th avenue the day before with an ireland jersey when 2 African American gentlemen came up to talk to me.
One of them told me that he really hoped Ireland would win - I could not believe that NY guys, especially non Anglo Saxon types would even have heard about the world cup, never mind know about games. He then told me that the only reason Ireland would win was that we had 3 Aston Villa players playing.
I unwisely then asked a guy who subsequently turned out to be Dwight Yorke to tell me who his Irish Villa colleagues were......d'oh