View Full Version : Have you ever met anybody famous?

Pages : 1 [2] 3

Pike B
09/04/2008, 12:18 PM
Met Phil Lynott's mother and his dog Gnasher:D
Old f...ing dog man!!

09/04/2008, 12:24 PM
Met Richard Harris when I was a kid as well

09/04/2008, 12:42 PM
Met and had a pint with Shane MaGowan in Carnival on Camden Street.

Eddie Irvine when he visited our college.

Lily Allen in a London nightclub.

Chatted to Gordon Ramsey last year when at his restaurant in New York (don't ask!:cool:).

Bought Steve O'Flynn and Clive Delaney pints in Derry. :D

...oh, and Cat Deeley!

Wolfie
09/04/2008, 12:56 PM
A list to Z list it (doesn't matter) have you got any good stories to tell?!

My dad ran into Bono at the local shop a couple of years ago.

Bono is originally from around my neck of the woods and he tends to drop back the odd time.

It was early morning and literally noone else around only my Dad and Bono on the street.

My Dad said "Bono - you're the second living legend I've met. The first was Jimmy Keaveny" (A Dublin GAA Footballer).

Bono replied "Yeah - but its only right they'll remember Jimmy. They won't remember me!!!" :)

09/04/2008, 1:03 PM
Hmm. Were you a CCFC Legend or a Celebrity. If the former, might I suggest that you may be more of a CCFC Myth?;)
Can't be telling ye that :p

09/04/2008, 1:22 PM
Chris Eubank - handshake like a bear.

Ronan O'Gara- handshake like a girl. This was just after the Namibia game. If I knew it was going to get worse I'd have lent him some of the money he allegedly owed.

Pete Doherty/Carlos Barat - This was when the Libertines had just started to take off. Post gig they were both drinking a bottle of whisky each (neat).

Neil Morrissey (men behaving badly) - I don't think anybody recognised him at the bar (Ralf Little was with him). I had a pint with em both. My mate had never heard of men behaving badly or the roylefamily and thought they were people I knew haha!!! Next time I turned round there was a queue of very attractive girls just ready to pounce. The lucky sod had to sign a lot of body parts that night. Very strange.......

Nigel Clough, seen Kevin Doyle at Dublin airport the morning after he got the winner against Slovakia, Neil Lennon, Ricky Hatton.

No supermodels yet but I wait in vain. I'd love to meet Maradona, Noel or Liam Gallagher and Ali.

McShels
09/04/2008, 1:28 PM
Met Joe Elliott when I worked in the Customs and Excise branch of the Revenue, he was sound.

Jack Charlton, Chris Kamara, Jeff Stelling (Legend), Jordan!!!

Was at a wedding in the gresham years ago and went into Rumours afterwards and lo and behold there was Satunton and most of the Irish squad on the lash for Stauntons stag, me and me mates ended up on the **** with them in the hotel bar til the small hours.

Met most the Liverpool team from the 87/88 season except Barry Venison (muppet).

Seen Bernie Slaven getting blanked by all the women in tomangos years ago all because Bonner was also there :D

09/04/2008, 2:03 PM
My dad ran into Bono at the local shop a couple of years ago.

Bono is originally from around my neck of the woods and he tends to drop back the odd time.

It was early morning and literally noone else around only my Dad and Bono on the street.

My Dad said "Bono - you're the second living legend I've met. The first was Jimmy Keaveny" (A Dublin GAA Footballer).

Bono replied "Yeah - but its only right they'll remember Jimmy. They won't remember me!!!" :)where sycamore road?!

That post has really made me laugh, im sending it onto lads now. one of the lads over here on the team is a dub and the manager calls him jimmy after jimmy keaveney and that is quite funny given where it originated...:D

09/04/2008, 4:16 PM
Damn, that women is beautiful. Photo's just don't do her any justice. Very nice and courteous also. Trying to get a picture with her is just about impossible though. They made me turn in my mobile whilst in the car and handed me a walkie-talkie...bathstuds:D. Her coach is one obnoxious *****! Next date is Thursday...have to get creative.:D

She has an interesting warm up routine. Starts out by throwing an American football around. Not bad either.

kingdom hoop
09/04/2008, 4:29 PM
Was anyone else in the car?

09/04/2008, 4:33 PM
Was anyone else in the car?
Her coach and someone else, not sure who she was though.

kingdom hoop
09/04/2008, 4:41 PM
Damn! I'm sure she could've done with an extra warm-up. :D

Would the coach let you talk to her? Apparently she likes Sherlock Holmes books. Many's the time I've eased into a chat-up with the "oh, you look clever, I bet you like detective books" line, works a charm.

09/04/2008, 5:14 PM
Would the coach let you talk to her? Apparently she likes Sherlock Holmes books. Many's the time I've eased into a chat-up with the "oh, you look clever, I bet you like detective books" line, works a charm.We're under strict instructions not to initiate any conversation, but you just gave me a great idea. Going to head down to the book shop and get 'The Hound of the Baskervilles' and just leave it on the back seat. We'll see if you're right or not.

09/04/2008, 5:25 PM
Robert Fisk thread reminded me that I met George Galloway in Cork last year when he was at a debate in UCC. Have to say form my brief 5 minute conversation with the man that he came across as a thoroughly decent bloke :)

citizenerased
09/04/2008, 6:25 PM
Franz ferdinand
Kings of Leon
Arthur Lee
Damien Rice
John Hartson
Mick McCarthy
Zoe Ball
Niall Quinn
Tommy Tiernan
Tony O'donoghue!
Dava Fanning

09/04/2008, 6:34 PM
Franz ferdinand

Your name isn't Princhip by any chance?

citizenerased
09/04/2008, 6:58 PM
no, but i do have a time machine:D

DaveyCakes
09/04/2008, 7:47 PM
We're under strict instructions not to initiate any conversation, but you just gave me a great idea. Going to head down to the book shop and get 'The Hound of the Baskervilles' and just leave it on the back seat. We'll see if you're right or not.

Make sure you pronounce her name right and I'm sure she'll be very impressed. The stress is on the 'ap'..

Sharapova, not Shara-pova.

Seagull
09/04/2008, 9:18 PM
DeeDee Ramone, God rest him, walking down D'Olier St- got his autograph. He was looking for a castle with suits of armour and stuff!

Also, met Bono when he was lost in Kindlestown woods with his missus and kids. I was mountain-biking there and showed them the way out. Met them later at the gate when he said thanks. If it wasn't for me, he might still be wandering around up there!

09/04/2008, 9:25 PM
Also, met Bono when he was lost in Kindlestown woods with his missus and kids. I was mountain-biking there and showed them the way out. Met them later at the gate when he said thanks. If it wasn't for me, he might still be wandering around up there!Did they find what they were looking for?:D

09/04/2008, 9:37 PM
If it wasn't for me, he might still be wandering around up there!You are now my enemy.

stojkovic
09/04/2008, 11:04 PM
Numerous Irish players down the years
Liverpool players from 80s incl Dalglish, Hansen etc
Stood two feet away from Maradona as he boarded the bus outside Lansdowne.

SHAKIRA in a hotel in Barcelona - oh yes

and The Man of the 20th Century - MOHAMMED ALI.

When Ali was in Dublin in 1972 (he fought Al Blue Lewis in Croker) he visited a local hospital and lifted up my four month old baby sister.

10/04/2008, 6:29 AM
We're under strict instructions not to initiate any conversation, but you just gave me a great idea. Going to head down to the book shop and get 'The Hound of the Baskervilles' and just leave it on the back seat. We'll see if you're right or not.

If you pull Maria you'll be a foot.ie legend :D even more so if it's because you left a Sherlock Holmes book in your car!!!

Wolfie
10/04/2008, 7:26 AM
where sycamore road?!

That post has really made me laugh, im sending it onto lads now. one of the lads over here on the team is a dub and the manager calls him jimmy after jimmy keaveney and that is quite funny given where it originated...:D

Yeah, very close Paul - Bono lived on Cedarwood Rd which is only a stones throw from Sycamore.

My Da was still far more impressed the he'd met Jimmy!!!! :D

10/04/2008, 7:47 AM
I once saw Groanin Ronan Keating on a BMI flight to Dublin from Heathrow. He's frighteningly small and ginger. He was glued to his mobile a lot waiting for the flight. the next day, Boyzone reform. :mad:

10/04/2008, 10:08 AM
Also, met Bono when he was lost in Kindlestown woods with his missus and kids. I was mountain-biking there and showed them the way out. Met them later at the gate when he said thanks. If it wasn't for me, he might still be wandering around up there!

You are now my enemy.

Yeah, very close Paul - Bono lived on Cedarwood Rd which is only a stones throw from Sycamore.

I suspect that GavinZac would like you to have measured that, with extreme prejudice...

biscuit
10/04/2008, 11:02 AM
Juninho (tiny!!)
Ravenelli
Kenny Dalglsh
Robbie Keane
Have played a few matches with the Fiar City Charity 11:eek:
Westlife a few times
Emerson (the long haired one!)
Damien Duff
Brendan O' Carrol
Mark Kennedy
Louie Walsh
Pat Kenny
Nadine Coyle
Stereophonics
PJ Gallagher
Brian McFadden
Jack Charlton
Paul McGrath

DaveyCakes
10/04/2008, 12:30 PM
Juninho (tiny!!)

Stereophonics

I'd forgotten about them. There's a Hot Press cover with the Stereophonics sitting on the bonnet of my car, with my previous car in the background.

Wolfie
10/04/2008, 12:38 PM
I once saw Groanin Ronan Keating on a BMI flight to Dublin from Heathrow. He's frighteningly small and ginger. He was glued to his mobile a lot waiting for the flight. the next day, Boyzone reform. :mad:

Myself and some mates were on our way home from a stag in Manchester a few years ago and Keith Duffy was on our flight. We let him know he was our favourite in Westlife :D

10/04/2008, 7:48 PM
Mikey is my fav but Keith is a close 2nd. Had the pair of them in fits of laughter while they were being interviewed for TG4 once by making faces and blowing kisses at them.

Louis Walsh started his career in the business of show by lugging equipment for my dad's band. Sorry world.

Edit: While waiting for How Low Can You Go to start on RTE caught the end of Hollywood Trials and the bould Mikey (or Michael as he is calling himself) is on it. Also 2 others that I have met before are on the way to possible stardom in Hollywood. Joe (guy from Guinness ads went to same college as me and I almost shared a house with him) and Susan whose mum is from Monaghan and she used to come here on holidays. She went out with an old mate of mine and came with us to see REM at Slane! Mad.

11/04/2008, 12:58 PM

My Da was still far more impressed the he'd met Jimmy!!!! :D

Good man, id like to meet your Da then!!

Ah i know that place well, i just on the corner there of sycamore and his house was about 10 yards down the way. I used to know the neighbours there right on the corner, the father was from elphin, the other neighbours were not so nice.....

ForzaWexford
11/04/2008, 1:19 PM
Paul McGrath

Forgot all about him!

Last summer he played with a group of 40-somethings (including my oul lad) on the floodlit pitches out at Ferrycarrig Park practically every Friday evening. The first few times he played grown men actually fought over bibs to be on the same team as him! After a few weeks though he was just one of the lads, which I think he liked. He can still play a bit aswell. Doesn't cover much (ie any) ground mind, but his touch came back quick enough.

He's an absolute gentelman too. He must have posed for photos with, and signed books for, half of Wexford town - always with a laugh or a smile.

Top bloke.

11/04/2008, 2:00 PM
He's an absolute gentelman too. He must have posed for photos with, and signed books for, half of Wexford town - always with a laugh or a smile.

Top bloke.

I think Legend status is bandied around all to freely in this media hyped era but after everything that man went through in his life the fact that he was able to function on any coherent level let alone become a wold class professional footballer is beyond comprehension . the man is a Legend FACT

smellyfeet
11/04/2008, 2:36 PM
Paul McGrath(He trained are Football team when we were younger)
Paul McStay same as above.
Packie Bonner same again.
Richard Sadlier ( Played with him under 16)
Met a load of Man Utd team few years ago in Old Trafford.
Gareth Farrelly "Is he famous"??, Went for pints with him while at Rotherham UTD.
Fernando Couto,Luis Figo,Jao Pinto. At Ireland V Croatia few years back.
Ricky Tomlinson (The Royal Family) in Liverpool last year.

11/04/2008, 2:43 PM
Jaysus I forgot I was in the same class as Glen Crowe in school
Richie Forans Mother and My Mother were best friends when we lived in Darndale so I knew Richie really well when we were about 5 or 6 years old

smellyfeet
11/04/2008, 3:05 PM
Jaysus I forgot I was in the same class as Glen Crowe in school
Richie Forans Mother and My Mother were best friends when we lived in Darndale so I knew Richie really well when we were about 5 or 6 years old

Forgot about him, Met him over in Carlisle while on trial there

11/04/2008, 4:01 PM
I think Legend status is bandied around all to freely in this media hyped era but after everything that man went through in his life the fact that he was able to function on any coherent level let alone become a wold class professional footballer is beyond comprehension . the man is a Legend FACT

I think the word "bandied" is used to freely in this media hype era too.

11/04/2008, 5:42 PM
A list to Z list it (doesn't matter) have you got any good stories to tell?!

Met Clint Eastwood on hollywood boulevard when he was making "million dollar baby". Six weeks later we found out that the wife was pregnant !

Babysis
11/04/2008, 8:38 PM
I met Jack Charlton and his wife in Duty Free at Dublin airport. He couldnt find a pen to sign my boarding pass, so she tipped out her handbag on the counter to find one. This was the Christmas of 1994 and the Ryanair staff were a damn sight friendlier then - They ripped just enough of my boarding pass so as to leave the sig in tact.

The night that Ireland played Georgia at Lansdown, I met Paul McGrath in town. I got a hug and kiss from him and he signed the green sheets they used to give out at the game with the song words on it. It made my night becasue I had actually been snuck into the game without a ticket. Happy days

oldyouth
11/04/2008, 9:52 PM
Met Clint Eastwood on hollywood boulevard when he was making "million dollar baby". Six weeks later we found out that the wife was pregnant !
I heard that Clint never missed a shot

13/04/2008, 9:31 PM
Grew up with Paddy McCarthy.

Met Lawrence McKeown (SP??), the hunger striker, a few weeks back.

Also, when I was younger one of my mate's older sister was pals with the blondie wan out of the first ever Irish porno :o :D - she's always been filth :p

14/04/2008, 3:52 PM
I think the word "bandied" is used to freely in this media hype era too.
Personally, I find the phrase 'media hype' bandied about too freely in this media hype era.

ken foree
17/04/2008, 8:07 PM
i grew up friends with deirdre gogarty. does she count?? she knocked half my front tooth out with a shovel. and my mum worked for her dad, a dentist. you couldn't make this sh!t up hehee :D

18/04/2008, 6:28 PM
Next date is Thursday

Going to head down to the book shop and get 'The Hound of the Baskervilles' and just leave it on the back seat. We'll see if you're right or not.No response yet...did you (http://www.cpcgamereviews.com/f/footballer_of_the_year.png)?:D

18/04/2008, 6:34 PM
No response yet...did you (http://www.cpcgamereviews.com/f/footballer_of_the_year.png)?:D
Ha Ha Ha...Not likely. Had a good time though and she did autograph the book to the Missus and myself.(Missus was in serious ***kblocking mode):D

19/04/2008, 2:51 PM
I've met Frank Kelly and Mr Tayto at the same time: http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v623/reiteoir/1024fk.jpg

Adrian Chiles at Wembley a couple of weeks ago: http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v623/reiteoir/w3.jpg

Pat Fenlon and Stephen Kenny (when Kenny was Bohs manager and Fenlon was in charge of Shels): http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v623/reiteoir/n507132467_25472_6939.jpg

And ex-Premiership and World Cup referee Graham Poll: http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v623/reiteoir/n606010545_1106099_7185.jpg

21/04/2008, 12:48 PM
I've met Frank Kelly and Mr Tayto at the same time: http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v623/reiteoir/1024fk.jpg

Adrian Chiles at Wembley a couple of weeks ago: http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v623/reiteoir/w3.jpg

Pat Fenlon and Stephen Kenny (when Kenny was Bohs manager and Fenlon was in charge of Shels): http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v623/reiteoir/n507132467_25472_6939.jpg

And ex-Premiership and World Cup referee Graham Poll: http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v623/reiteoir/n606010545_1106099_7185.jpg

Cool collection of shots.

But am I the only one who looked at all those photos and instead of going "Look, it's Frank Kelly", etc, instead went "Ah! So that's what Réiteoir looks like, he is a lot taller/ shorter/ younger/ older/ etc. than I had thought"?

21/04/2008, 2:08 PM
Cool collection of shots.

But am I the only one who looked at all those photos and instead of going "Look, it's Frank Kelly", etc, instead went "Ah! So that's what Réiteoir looks like he is a lot taller/ shorter/ younger/ older/ etc. than I had thought"?

Yeah me too

MojoPin
21/04/2008, 2:24 PM
me too ha ha ha ha

Flawless
21/04/2008, 9:27 PM
Met the whole Liverpool Team in 1996, met a load of snooker players in the citywest a few years back, ran into Shay Given in Marbella, Served an "eerish cooffeee" to Gerard Dépardieu and even met Colin Hendry in Glasgow Prestwick airport!