View Full Version : Friday nights latest

Pages : 1 2 [3] 4

05/04/2008, 11:18 AM
The display was a giant Mario crushing Tallaght Stadium with hooped Turtles running scared. Probably the most elaborate display ever in the LOI and p1ssed all over Rovers usual waving flags IMO but I'm biased.

PS - Glen Crowe is now Bohs record scorer of all time as he beat Turley's record last night in getting goal number 121.
Also his 15th goal against Rovers in 24 games.

4 in a row
05/04/2008, 11:26 AM
i am absolutely gutted after last night... that derby defeat probably hurt me the most since that seme final in dalyer went that fat red **** scored in the last few minutes...
the performance was ****e but the rovers fans showed why they are the best fans in the league, singing till the end and giving the team a good clap off, if bohs had lost they would be running amuck... bohs scum:p

05/04/2008, 11:28 AM
Singing to the end? There wasn't a peep out of you for the majority of the second half! Number 12 my hole.

4 in a row
05/04/2008, 11:32 AM
yes we were... i dont think any team desrved the win... bohs defended brilliantly when rovers were pileing on loads of pressure... a draw would have been a fair result...

sonofstan
05/04/2008, 11:59 AM
i am absolutely gutted after last night... that derby defeat probably hurt me the most since that seme final in dalyer went that fat red **** scored in the last few minutes...
the performance was ****e but the rovers fans showed why they are the best fans in the league, singing till the end and giving the team a good clap off, if bohs had lost they would be running amuck... bohs scum:p

There were f**k all of you left at the end - the Riverside was more than half empty by then

Flexy
05/04/2008, 12:02 PM
The Pats fans are very quiet on this forum today

05/04/2008, 12:05 PM
Also there were Rovers fans leaving with 10 MINUTES LEFT!!! WTF? Its a Derby, THE DERBY and you're only 1-0 down and starting to put a bit of pressure on and you make for the exit? Buttimer was trying his best to give Rovers the draw too.

05/04/2008, 12:07 PM
The Pats fans are very quiet on this forum today

Go easy on them, they've just seen the favourites for the league outplayed on their own ground. :D

Owen Morrisson's goal is here:

JDN1W2djvCg

05/04/2008, 12:10 PM
Go easy on them, they've just seen the favourites for the league outplayed on their own ground. :D

Owen Morrisson's goal is here: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JDN1W2djvCg

Very well taken in fairness. Bad by the goalkeeper but those are regularly wasted

4 in a row
05/04/2008, 1:52 PM
Also there were Rovers fans leaving with 10 MINUTES LEFT!!! WTF? Its a Derby, THE DERBY and you're only 1-0 down and starting to put a bit of pressure on and you make for the exit? Buttimer was trying his best to give Rovers the draw too.

not many people left, a few went and stood behind the goal and near near the gates...

05/04/2008, 2:01 PM
Bermingham sent off for the Blues, dissent

He was brought down in the box, looked a stonewall peno from the stand, and he wasn't best pleased and said a few things to the ref. Ref seemed to whip the red card out at him very quickly so I'd guess Karl went a little too far with his protests.

Was baffling at the time. A straight read for mouthing at the red when you're three up... :confused: Our league's very own Mascherano it seems. :)

alabama rover
05/04/2008, 2:07 PM

Owen Morrisson's goal is here:

JDN1W2djvCg

Buttimer would never have allowed Derry to use that kit... what with the white sleeves an all! Great to see such consistency by the refs in the league!

viagogo
05/04/2008, 2:16 PM
Delighted with our first win.
No way it was a penalty but Il take it.

Played much better imo and I enjoyed the game. Played a sort of 4-1-2-1-2 formation.
Great crod too for a game against UCD

Only person who thought it was a penalty was the referee Id say. Worried though about another poor display. UCD had their chances too.

ndrog
05/04/2008, 2:55 PM
UTD meant to be by far the better side in Drogheda in the second half.

Drogs very poor,robbed of a point by all accounts.
Hate missing the games!

you werent robbed of anything mate .You were even worse than we were .Dont think mikko had a save to make .O keefe had 3 grat chances and kicked the ball striaght at rogers .You played with lots of heart and kept going for 90 mins but i dont think you looked like scoring tbh .

05/04/2008, 2:59 PM
McDonnell now facing sack

What ? Stop talking rubbish. Five games in, of which we've won four, and you think Johnny Mac is for the boot ?

Big hello to Flexy btw. :) )

On the game itself, Derry were excellent first half, I thought Pats had the better of the second. I know I'm biased, but I thought we were worth a point. Only a superb save from Doherty prevented another Fahey wonder goal. Bad error by Brendan Clarke for the Derry goal (which in fairness was very well taken by Morrison) probably showed his inexperience there by not planting the ball over the stand. I felt sorry for him though as he had a superb game otherwise and made a great save early on(from Farren I think?). A fine game overall in my view, even though we were on the wrong end of the scoreline.

Monday night at the Brandwell should be good.

05/04/2008, 3:03 PM
a draw would have been a fair result...
The result was a fair result. And the result was a Bohs win. Take your medicine.

05/04/2008, 3:24 PM
A fine game overall in my view,

It was a great game, Tony, as good a football match as I've seen in the league in terms of quality of play. A great advert for the league, both teams really tried their best to play good football, there was very little punting of the ball forward. (Even Clarke tried to pass the ball down the wing at one stage when he probably should have punted it. :p)

05/04/2008, 5:17 PM
Only person who thought it was a penalty was the referee Id say. Worried though about another poor display. UCD had their chances too.
Actually, I thought it was a peno too, but then I could hardly have had a worse view of it. The Gardai and the few Cork fans I was talking to after said it was a dive.

Thought Cork probably deserved the win on the balance of play, but not nice to lose to a goal like that. Three times we've lost this season; arguably three games we should have drawn. Good to see we're more competitive than I thought we would be, but I'd rather get a few points.

05/04/2008, 5:20 PM
Actually, I thought it was a peno too, but then I could hardly have had a worse view of it. The Gardai and the few Cork fans I was talking to after said it was a dive.

Thought Cork probably deserved the win on the balance of play, but not nice to lose to a goal like that. Three times we've lost this season; arguably three games we should have drawn. Good to see we're more competitive than I thought we would be, but I'd rather get a few points.

I was quite impressed with ye. We dominated as expected but ye were very well organised and strong defensively. Gregg was excellent too.

Ye also have a bit of pace on the counter attack. I think ye'l pick up alot of points along the way

05/04/2008, 5:25 PM
do you get disowned as a Cork fan for posts like that? :p

05/04/2008, 5:27 PM

I think I was disowned long ago :D

Anyway, I never said I wanted ye to do well and stay up....:p

05/04/2008, 5:36 PM

Yes. John O'Flynn could get away with GBH for all I care if it sends ye down :p

05/04/2008, 6:18 PM
What ? Stop talking rubbish. Five games in, of which we've won four, and you think Johnny Mac is for the boot ?

Jasus, does anybody get humour?

05/04/2008, 6:26 PM
Jasus, does anybody get humour?

You have to be sensitive around the Pats fans at the moment; its looking all too familiar for them right now.

kdjaC
05/04/2008, 7:53 PM
You have to be sensitive around the Pats fans at the moment; its looking all too familiar for them right now.

Could be worse Ndo could have been off watching Shels. What did Farrelly think of your match last night? :p

kdjac

06/04/2008, 8:57 AM
I've been to 2 eL games this weekend, and they couldn't be more contrasting in standard.

First, Pats v Derry. Absolute cracker of a game, thought Derry were fantastic and deserved the win IMO, although Fahey should have scored in the last minute for Pats. Would have been uproar if he did though as Alan Kelly denied Derry what was probably going to be a goal when Ciaran Martyn was through 1 on 1 only for Kelly to pull it back for a Derry free instead of playing advantage.

Then, Town v Kildare. Shocking stuff, probably the lowest standard of football I've ever seen in Flancare Park.

hoops1
06/04/2008, 11:41 AM
The display was a giant Mario crushing Tallaght Stadium with hooped Turtles running scared. Probably the most elaborate display ever in the LOI and p1ssed all over Rovers usual waving flags IMO but I'm biased.

The only thing that gave me any joy on Friday was that display. Nice to see the work bohs are doing with special needs children

06/04/2008, 12:53 PM
The only thing that gave me any joy on Friday was that display. Nice to see the work bohs are doing with special needs children

Can't believe you have the gaul to slag our display after your pathetic effort.

forza rovers
06/04/2008, 1:24 PM
any pictures of this infamous display

06/04/2008, 2:15 PM

http://www.thebohs.com/forum/viewtopic.php?t=6857

HulaHoop
06/04/2008, 3:06 PM
Honestly which one is pathetic?

http://i32.tinypic.com/21kxc01.png

http://i38.photobucket.com/albums/e143/deantaaffe/DSCF0484Medium.jpg

For those still in disbelief that amateur looking banner does indeed say Super Mario Bohs :o

06/04/2008, 3:23 PM
Honestly which one is pathetic?

http://i32.tinypic.com/21kxc01.png

http://i38.photobucket.com/albums/e143/deantaaffe/DSCF0484Medium.jpg

For those still in disbelief that amateur looking banner does indeed say Super Mario Bohs :o

Already answered that. How long did you have to sit around thinking to come up with that slogan? All your displays are practically the same I.E. They are of the "we take ourselves waaaaaaay too seriously" variety and contain some sh1tty slogan about how "great" you are. Ours display some innovation, imagination and above all humour.

Rovers fan
06/04/2008, 8:07 PM
Already answered that. How long did you have to sit around thinking to come up with that slogan? All your displays are practically the same I.E. They are of the "we take ourselves waaaaaaay too seriously" variety and contain some sh1tty slogan about how "great" you are. Ours display some innovation, imagination and above all humour.

The humour being its funny how bad your displays are!!

pól-dcfc
06/04/2008, 8:20 PM
It doesn't look the best to be fair.

Jicked
06/04/2008, 10:07 PM

In fairness now that Mario display will have to go down as being the worst one of all time. Completely unintelligible and Super Mario Bohs doesn't really work when you remember that it's always pronounced Super Mario Brothers.

07/04/2008, 2:55 AM
i dont think the rovers one even counts as a display - a flag or two and a flare? at least the NBB put some time and effort into it!

NavanBohs
07/04/2008, 7:39 AM
How long did it take yous lads to come up with the "Dublin's Club" (:D) bit? great imagination lads...

I thought the Super Mario Bros/Bohs was a class idea.

As for being such great fans and applauding your shower off the pitch afterwards, you do realise your club are gonna be fined for yous letting off flares right? :p

Dugout
07/04/2008, 8:24 AM
I've been to 2 eL games this weekend, and they couldn't be more contrasting in standard.

First, Pats v Derry. Absolute cracker of a game, thought Derry were fantastic and deserved the win IMO, although Fahey should have scored in the last minute for Pats. Would have been uproar if he did though as Alan Kelly denied Derry what was probably going to be a goal when Ciaran Martyn was through 1 on 1 only for Kelly to pull it back for a Derry free instead of playing advantage.

Then, Town v Kildare. Shocking stuff, probably the lowest standard of football I've ever seen in Flancare Park.

I was also at the St Pats v Derry match and would agree that it was a cracking game. The football played by Derry in the first half was excellent but they seemed to stop playing in the second half. As for Pats, they weren't really in the game first half as there midfield was non existent! John Mc must have gave the Pats lads the hairdryer treatment at half time as there performance was much better in the second half but I think overall Derry deserved the win! As for Alan Kelly denying Derry a goal, he had blown the whistle before Martyn had gone through and the Pats players had stopped playing hence the only reason he was one on one with the keeper.
If the same standard of football is played tonight as on Friday it should be great for TV!

07/04/2008, 8:43 AM

http://www.notoriousbooboys.com
Go there, look at our displays from last year and compare them to anything you've ever done.

07/04/2008, 9:49 AM
Go there, look at our displays from last year and compare them to anything you've ever done.

Will the two of you just get a room?

Derry
07/04/2008, 10:03 AM
I was also at the St Pats v Derry match and would agree that it was a cracking game. The football played by Derry in the first half was excellent but they seemed to stop playing in the second half. As for Pats, they weren't really in the game first half as there midfield was non existent! John Mc must have gave the Pats lads the hairdryer treatment at half time as there performance was much better in the second half but I think overall Derry deserved the win! As for Alan Kelly denying Derry a goal, he had blown the whistle before Martyn had gone through and the Pats players had stopped playing hence the only reason he was one on one with the keeper.
If the same standard of football is played tonight as on Friday it should be great for TV!

Wrong.

Sammon headed the ball to Martyn who was just a yard or two away. As Martyn controlled it front of the keeper, Kelly blew and pulled play back.

He also did it in the first half when Paddy Mccourt beat two tackles to get free in the box. Only for Kelly also to bring play back, and give Derry a free.

His actions cost Derry dearly.

Krstic
07/04/2008, 10:40 AM
Wrong.

Sammon headed the ball to Martyn who was just a yard or two away. As Martyn controlled it front of the keeper, Kelly blew and pulled play back.

He also did it in the first half when Paddy Mccourt beat two tackles to get free in the box. Only for Kelly also to bring play back, and give Derry a free.

His actions cost Derry dearly.

Had we been beaten or drawn, then you could say his action cost us dearly, but we won so they cost us nowt.

Derry
07/04/2008, 10:51 AM
Had we been beaten or drawn, then you could say his action cost us dearly, but we won so they cost us nowt.

Perhaps i should have said COULD have cost us dearly. Also we were beat to the league title on goal difference only a season ago. So all goals can count.

pól-dcfc
07/04/2008, 12:07 PM

Pff.....

http://www.notoriousbooboys.com/display0507pats15.jpg

Thats rubbish looking. Compared to this:

http://youtube.com/watch?v=1dkJecd2zTw

I'll stop acting the devils advocate now....

placid casual
07/04/2008, 12:15 PM

while your team were worthy winners on friday, and it pains me like you wouldnt believe to admit that, the NBB are amatuers compared to some of the foremost ultras's groups in the league,of which SRFC Ultras are one.

and thats that until June 27th when we renew hostilities

07/04/2008, 2:36 PM
Pff.....

http://www.notoriousbooboys.com/display0507pats15.jpg

Thats rubbish looking. Compared to this:

http://youtube.com/watch?v=1dkJecd2zTw

I'll stop acting the devils advocate now....

Er, you pick out one two stick flag and pit it against a whole display?

pól-dcfc
07/04/2008, 2:49 PM
Er, you pick out one two stick flag and pit it against a whole display?

As I said I was acting Devil's Advocate.

But nothing on the NBB site looks anywhere near Rovers at their best, and the Super Mario Bohs one is absolutely cack looking.

"Warning: Ultras at Play" is one of the gayest things I have ever seen mind.

07/04/2008, 3:24 PM
As I said I was acting Devil's Advocate.

But nothing on the NBB site looks anywhere near Rovers at their best, and the Super Mario Bohs one is absolutely cack looking.

Theres been a very mixed reaction to the Mario display. A lot of people said they liked it (and I'm not just talking about Bohs people) and a lot hated it. I think a lot of that was down to the fact of the angle. However on us being "amateurs" compared to SRFC Ultras and others, thats nonsense. Ok SRFC Ultras to date have done very good small flag + pyro displays but thats all they really do. BD have done a lot of good stuff. The old SEI were great but the new SEI have an awful lot to learn. I don't think anyone does the really big stuff the way we do it and I'd definitely say that by the season's end we will be the number one group in the premier.

pól-dcfc
07/04/2008, 3:51 PM
Theres been a very mixed reaction to the Mario display. A lot of people said they liked it (and I'm not just talking about Bohs people) and a lot hated it. I think a lot of that was down to the fact of the angle. However on us being "amateurs" compared to SRFC Ultras and others, thats nonsense. Ok SRFC Ultras to date have done very good small flag + pyro displays but thats all they really do. BD have done a lot of good stuff. The old SEI were great but the new SEI have an awful lot to learn. I don't think anyone does the really big stuff the way we do it and I'd definitely say that by the season's end we will be the number one group in the premier.

Has no one told you that size doesn't matter?

NBB may make huge crowd cover displays, but the Rovers one I linked looks far better, even if it is just pyro, two-stick and the classic tifo flags.

Bohs are better than most though, it must be said. Derry's displays have looked great this season aswell (obvious bias here).

07/04/2008, 4:15 PM
Has no one told you that size doesn't matter?

Never been in a situation where that would come up! :D