04/04/2008, 8:37 PM
Pats 0-1 Derry FT

pól-dcfc
04/04/2008, 8:38 PM
:D :D :D

Top of the league!

04/04/2008, 8:38 PM
UTD meant to be by far the better side in Drogheda in the second half.

Drogs very poor,robbed of a point by all accounts.
Hate missing the games!

Grey Boy
04/04/2008, 8:39 PM
I think Derry have to be firmly included in the title race now. Great result for them.

04/04/2008, 8:40 PM
McDonnell now facing sack

JC_GUFC
04/04/2008, 8:41 PM
Bermingham sent off for the Blues, dissent

WTF!?! You're 3-0 up... what a clown.

04/04/2008, 8:44 PM
WTF!?! You're 3-0 up... what a clown.3-1 now. It'd be some comeback:D.

EDIT: Tis over now.

04/04/2008, 8:45 PM
There goes my accumulator!

I havent started singing yet. :p

04/04/2008, 8:45 PM
If Rovers-Bohs stays the same.

Eircom League Premier Division
Team P W D L F/A Pts
1 Derry City 5 4 1 0 9/4 13
2 St Patrick's Athletic 5 4 0 1 8/2 12
3 Bohemians 5 4 0 1 7/2 12
4 Shamrock Rovers 5 3 1 1 6/2 10
5 Drogheda United 5 2 1 2 4/3 7
6 Cork City 5 1 4 0 3/2 7
7 Finn Harps 5 2 0 3 4/7 6
8 UCD 5 1 1 3 4/5 4
9 Bray Wanderers 5 1 1 3 1/7 4
-------------------------------------
10 Sligo Rovers 4 0 2 2 2/5 2
11 Cobh Ramblers 4 0 2 2 2/6 2
12 Galway United 5 0 1 4 1/6 1

BacRod
04/04/2008, 8:46 PM
:D :D

Top of the league!

Aye, sure it's good to be home.

All together now:

We shall not, we shall not be moved...:D

JC_GUFC
04/04/2008, 8:47 PM
We shall not we shall not be moved... :(

04/04/2008, 8:49 PM

JC,
All reports are extremely positive.

Meant to have played some excellent football and according to both supporters and radio deserved to get a point.
Once we get a decent manger who ensures we keep the ball on the ground and get all of our players back we'll shoot up the table.:)

Rovers fan

Ye shall,ye shall be moved to the 1st division!!

forza rovers
We shall not we shall not be moved... :(from what relegation.:D:D

04/04/2008, 8:50 PM
Ye shall,ye shall be moved to the 1st division!!

Can't wait to beat ye in the showgrounds in 2 weeks time.:cool:

geezer
04/04/2008, 8:51 PM
usually works:(

Aaron
04/04/2008, 8:52 PM
Sounds a tense finish at Bohs-Rovers

04/04/2008, 8:53 PM
FT Mons 1 -2 Athlone

Aaron
04/04/2008, 8:54 PM
All over Bohs-Rovers, 1-0 Bohs

JC_GUFC
04/04/2008, 8:57 PM
Yeah sounds good alright Conor.

I think we'll get a result against Cork next week and then up to the Showgrounds for a handy 3 pts!

It's still very close at the bottom and probably no harm that Harps were beaten as they've a few points now...

04/04/2008, 9:01 PM
usually works:(

Thought you were there. We need at least one of the strikers back rapid.

geezer
04/04/2008, 9:03 PM
to go gufct but couldnt get away from work. Poor DOL was expectin a lift

Rovers fan
04/04/2008, 9:04 PM
FT Mons 1 -2 Athlone

so you're singing?!

04/04/2008, 9:11 PM
McDonnell now facing sack
How? They lose one game one nil to the second placed side?

Delighted to get a win tonight. Thought we played better over the ninety minutes and the players did seem up for it tonight.

Grey Boy
04/04/2008, 9:16 PM

Delighted to get a win tonight. Thought we played better over the ninety minutes and the players did seem up for it tonight.

I think you'll find Centre mids comments a bit tongue in cheek.

Sorry meant Superfrans comment

kdjaC
04/04/2008, 9:26 PM
Derry done well for the win, wasnt a lot in it and the goal was not a 40 yard screamer, altho it was close to 40 yards :p

derry fans were excellent, wet but stil excellent.

kdjac

04/04/2008, 10:13 PM

Ah come on superfrank, a little comedy is allowed on a friday night. :D

Flexy
04/04/2008, 10:16 PM
Derry done well for the win, wasnt a lot in it and the goal was not a 40 yard screamer, altho it was close to 40 yards :p

derry fans were excellent, wet but stil excellent.

kdjac
Great result away from home for us, and in a great position after 5 games having played Cork and pats away and drogs at home. Was there many at the match there tonite. Many down from derry

04/04/2008, 10:44 PM
Was at Rovers v Bohs, not too many clear chances for either side. Rovers edged the first half, Bohs scored from one of the worst defensive mistakes ever, a horror goal. Rovers had plenty of possession without creating a whole lot, didn't think Scully's changes worked very well, would have liked to see Eoin Doyle moved up front rather than taken off. Don't think either team will win the league, but they'll be fighting it out all the way.

Though the crowd control was handled very well, no chance of any trouble in the ground, atmosphere was good, maybe a little quieter than I expected. I'd estimate 4,500 at it, but that's 100% guess, I'm looking forward to seeing what the official figure is.

Jicked
04/04/2008, 10:45 PM
Just back from Rovers Bohs. Had the joy of being caught at the top of O'Connoll St when a gang of 15/20 Bohs teenage scumbags raced out of the flats (the ones between Dorset St and O'Connoll St, not sure the name of them, Hardwicke Street Flats??) and fired glass and plastic bottles at a 16 bus taking Rovers fans back to the southsides. One knacker chucked a big orange road barrier on to the road to try to stop the bus, while a different knacker threw another big orange barrier at the bus itself.

The *****s went off shouting bohs and anti-rovers songs, strolled back in to their flats. I counted two Garda cars on the next street down incl. a paddy wagon, neither of which were arsed going up to Dorset Street to chase the Bohs kids.

JC_GUFC
04/04/2008, 10:51 PM
Were any of them wielding umbrellas?

That seems to be the weapon of choice of the Bohs lads, though perhaps that's the casuals rather than the schooligans. ;)

Jicked
04/04/2008, 10:54 PM
No brollies spotted. In other news Bohs fans produced what has to be the worst/strangest display yet to hit the LoI. Im not sure exactly what the giant flag was, but it had Super Mario on it doing something. THen there was another banner which said Super Mario Bohs. Very strange altogether, looked like a 5th class arts & crafts project. Hope someone got a pic.

Boo_Boy
04/04/2008, 10:57 PM
No brollies spotted. In other news Bohs fans produced what has to be the worst/strangest display yet to hit the LoI. Im not sure exactly what the giant flag was, but it had Super Mario on it doing something. THen there was another banner which said Super Mario Bohs. Very strange altogether, looked like a 5th class arts & crafts project. Hope someone got a pic.

i hope so too.

im sure bail will be posted soon and they can come and tell us what the flag was about.

04/04/2008, 10:57 PM

Never has the chant "what the effing hell is that" been more apt odd to say the least. Have to say I enjoyed my first visit to 'the biggest derby in league of Ireland football'.*

*This may be the subject of debate!

04/04/2008, 11:06 PM
Was at Rovers v Bohs. Rovers edged the first half, Bohs scored from one of the worst defensive mistakes ever, a horror goal.

Darragh Maguire, wtf?? :confused::mad:

sonofstan
04/04/2008, 11:11 PM
Was at Rovers v Bohs, not too many clear chances for either side. Rovers edged the first half,.

You're joking!? they had one shot, straight at (Brian) Murphy;as much edge as a dull episode of Nationwide.

04/04/2008, 11:13 PM
Darragh Maguire, wtf?? :confused::mad:

Saw it on Sports Tonight and it didn't look as bad as in real time. It seemed like they had an eternity to clear the ball at the time. Still a shocker.

04/04/2008, 11:16 PM
You're joking!? they had one shot, straight at (Brian) Murphy;as much edge as a dull episode of Nationwide.

More in terms of possession and territory I suppose, in fairness Bohs had only had one (much better) shot too. Rovers had a few dangerous crosses into the box with no end product, Eoin Doyle completely missed a free header on the six yard line. I don't think either team would have felt hard done bye with a draw.

Jicked
04/04/2008, 11:20 PM
Yeah neither side had a host of chances, and Bohs wouldn't have won if it wasn't for a nightmare mistake at the back. Rovers also had a half chance when O'Connor went on a run and hit the side netting. Bohs probably shaded it and were the better side thanks mainly to Crowe and McGuinness, but considering the difference in budgets/personnel you might expect Bohs to have a bit more about them.

Erstwhile Bóz
04/04/2008, 11:22 PM
Buttimer was atrocious. Rovers were atrocious and Bohs almost as atrocious for letting them back into it.

Great win, though. :D

04/04/2008, 11:27 PM
If we there till now, we'd still be losing. After they scored, they shut up shop, and we couldn't break them down. Aimless punts up the field, free-kicks in good positions wasted, possession casually conceded, crosses into the middle of nowhere, Byrne's shot in the first half that was tipped onto the bar came about from an awful clearance from Ferguson, and as for the goal, let's be kind and say you don't expect someone as experienced as Darragh Maguire to fk up a routine defensive header. :(

There seems to be more pressure on the home side in these games, and we froze. Simple as really.

05/04/2008, 12:13 AM
Delighted with our first win.
No way it was a penalty but Il take it.

Played much better imo and I enjoyed the game. Played a sort of 4-1-2-1-2 formation.
Great crod too for a game against UCD

05/04/2008, 12:21 AM
Rovers edged the first half...
I'd have the wiring checked. Book yourself in with one A. Buttimer and you'll get a deal.

kdjaC
05/04/2008, 12:35 AM
ahhh dara you legend :D

was 3000 at pats game my guestimate, 300 derry.

kdjac

stann
05/04/2008, 1:37 AM
WTF!?! You're 3-0 up... what a clown.

He was brought down in the box, looked a stonewall peno from the stand, and he wasn't best pleased and said a few things to the ref. Ref seemed to whip the red card out at him very quickly so I'd guess Karl went a little too far with his protests.

sonofstan
05/04/2008, 8:01 AM
Just back from Rovers Bohs. Had the joy of being caught at the top of O'Connoll St when a gang of 15/20 Bohs teenage scumbags raced out of the flats (the ones between Dorset St and O'Connoll St, not sure the name of them, Hardwicke Street Flats??) and fired glass and plastic bottles at a 16 bus taking Rovers fans back to the southsides. One knacker chucked a big orange road barrier on to the road to try to stop the bus, while a different knacker threw another big orange barrier at the bus itself.

The *****s went off shouting bohs and anti-rovers songs, strolled back in to their flats. I counted two Garda cars on the next street down incl. a paddy wagon, neither of which were arsed going up to Dorset Street to chase the Bohs kids.

They can't have been at the game then - we weren't let out until well after 10
Not disputing that they call themselves Bohs fans........

onceahoop
05/04/2008, 9:03 AM
Went to Santry for Sporting and Dundalk. Conditions in first half horrendous. Disappointed with Dundalk. Sporting took the game to them and Hynes caused them a lot of problems. Doyle was also looking lively till he got sent off. Didn't notice the first yellow but he was slightly late going in on the keeper for the second yellow, although in fairness, there was a lot of water on the pitch. However, anyone who wears black tights playing football will attract notice.

After the sending off, I thought Dundalk would take control but it was Fingal who were the beter side. Scored from a corner and had the best move of the game where Conan Byrne should have scored. Equaliser was a magnificent free kick which gave Williams no chance. Poor Dundalk performance which produced the the chant of the night from the Sporting fans; "what a waste of petrol". They got p@@@@d on as well.

Lamper.sffc
05/04/2008, 9:55 AM
Was at the sporting game as well. We played brilliantly considering we were down to 10 men for an hour. We made the best chances for most of the game up until they scored. In fairness though they could have nicked all 3 points towards the end. A decent tip over from williams, a long distance shot that just cleared the bar, Williams tipping a ball wide from a corner when two dundalk lads where waiting to score at the far post, A header which was saved and a bit of a scramble in the box.

All in all happy enough though. It seems we are pretty good at home. We just need to sort out our away form.

05/04/2008, 10:08 AM
Are you at the Mons game Magicme? I am picturing you sittting in the stand with your laptop.

I was the one perched on the bench outside the bar with the laptop!
Damn double glazing :p

Buller
05/04/2008, 10:28 AM
Though the crowd control was handled very well, no chance of any trouble in the ground, atmosphere was good, maybe a little quieter than I expected. I'd estimate 4,500 at it, but that's 100% guess, I'm looking forward to seeing what the official figure is.

If you wanted atmosphere you were in the wrong stand love... I assume you were in the placid sitting rovers fans stand at the end of the ground. I estimate around 5,000 mark.