View Full Version : Most/least favourite ad's on TV

forza rovers
29/03/2008, 6:20 PM
i couldnt find a thread about this.i hate glemobi adds

Newryrep
29/03/2008, 6:39 PM
Least favourite - too many to mention but

Opel (Vauxhall) ads with the 2 kids with english northern accents - jesus could they not be bothered to dub them for an Irish audience as well as being sh1t

30/03/2008, 10:39 AM
I'm looking forward to old age and retirement just so I'll have time to lobby the Advertising Standards Authority to pull ads for all manner of rubbish.

Ads that wind me up most are the ones that make ludicrous claims for the product.

The Danone Bioactivia ads are dodgy, not just because they look like they were filmed on a fisher-price camcorder, but because they claim medicinal properties for a food -and if it did what they're claiming it should probably only be available from a chemist. Also I believe I'm right in saying none of the ladies of a certain age interviewed actually name the product being marketed as being responable for easing their bloatedness.

Any number of ads for womens products barefacedly claim that sentient nano-technologies have been deployed in everything from hairsprays, hair gels and mascara to lip gloss and eyeliner (self replenishing, intelligent micro-beads?? ...will you ever f.o.?)

Radio ads make me squirm even more and make me wonder does Ed Byrne and the other chap from The Panel die a little bit every time they record a new ad for 02, AXA, AIB, whoever...

Seems to be a steady earner for Irish comediens, kind of like actors in soaps and pantos and musicians in wedding bands.

30/03/2008, 10:56 AM
Yoplait had a series of ads years ago that I thought were excellent.

There was a black guy who used to sing and dance in some ads for some insurance company (I think it was insurance) who deserved pain.

30/03/2008, 12:10 PM
The ads for 3 are very very irritating - "Can you resist?" and there's a person going to clamp a car by a big puddle while someone is driving up behind them, or there's a couple rolling o the grass beside a "Keep off the grass" sign. Really gives an insight into the mentality of the 15-19 year mind.

Lots and lots of ads really really annoy me. The Cadbury one with the gorilla is cool though. And I have to admit to finding the ones for McDonald's and Coke disturbingly powerful (though I've long given up consuming either).

Ooh - just thought of those Danone ads - drink a bottle of this every day or your kids will die! That's right - kids can't handle changes in weather! Drink me now!!!!! Feck off.

30/03/2008, 12:27 PM
Every product that's pushing the fact that it is now loaded with Omega 3, and we're all dangerously low on Omega 3 so we have to use more butter, or DIE is my current bugbear.
That and the Kinder Bueno (sp?) ads that look like the bars were superimposed using microsoft paint and and clearly dubbed over. Not necessarily bad ads, just a poor effort all around.

forza rovers
30/03/2008, 1:05 PM
Yoplait had a series of ads years ago that I thought were excellent.

There was a black guy who used to sing and dance in some ads for some insurance company (I think it was insurance) who deserved pain.is that not halifax

30/03/2008, 1:19 PM
The grey-hair covering ads with Davina McCall and the men equivalents which are terribly dubbed.

The Denture seal ones. Cillit Bang. Lynx. Gillette. Toothpaste ads. Seven Seas (Let's Twist). There's too many.

I do like the high-quality Bravia LCD ads, like the one where there's a Skittles explosion or the one with the playdo rabbits. Actually can anyone tell me the name of the Rolling Stones song in that ad?

Keen2win
30/03/2008, 1:33 PM
I like the Guiness donimo ad.

30/03/2008, 1:56 PM
Favourite ads:
The car one with the cake. Think it was Skoda.
I think it's Sony, the one with the orchestra, very clever.
Guinness domino ad is superb.
The Sony Bravia one with the bouncing balls.

Least favourite ads:
Some of these are UK but the Churchill Insurance, in fact any insurance ads..
Cadburys one with the gorilla. It was effective alright, it got people talking but what the hell was that to do with chocolate?
There's one floating around on daytime tv here, Moonpig.com. The jingle makes me want to kill.
Halifax ads with that gimp Howard whats-his-face.

30/03/2008, 3:26 PM
Actually can anyone tell me the name of the Rolling Stones song in that ad?

It's 'She's a rainbow,' and you can find it on 'Their Satanic Majesties Request' album.

30/03/2008, 3:55 PM
Favourite ads:
The car one with the cake. Think it was Skoda.
Yeah, that's good too. Wouldn't make me consider buying a Skoda, but good nonetheless.

Least favourite ads:
Cadburys one with the gorilla. It was effective alright, it got people talking but what the hell was that to do with chocolate?
Nothing. But it made people talk. Which means success. What do metal aliens from Mars haev to do with instant bangers and mash? Nothing, but it's one of the most successful ad campaigns ever.

Lynx.
Yeah, good call. Spray this on you and hundreds of hot semi-naked birds will run after you. Don't spray, and people will hate you because your armpit will spray BO. Makes you wonder about the mentality of, again, the 15-19 year old target market.

Can't understand why Kinder and that anti-spot stuff have to dub their ads so appallingly. Really amateur.

Lev Yashin
30/03/2008, 5:53 PM
one name.... Barry Scott

oh and not technically an ad...but those Sky Bet things on spanish football...
"it matters more when there is money on it"...fecking hate that...why does it matter more, cause we are all gamblers? **** off!

30/03/2008, 6:43 PM
Ads that wind me up most are the ones that make ludicrous claims for the product.

The Danone Bioactivia ads are dodgy, not just because they look like they were filmed on a fisher-price camcorder, but because they claim medicinal properties for a food -and if it did what they're claiming it should probably only be available from a chemist. Also I believe I'm right in saying none of the ladies of a certain age interviewed actually name the product being marketed as being responable for easing their bloatedness.

Any number of ads for womens products barefacedly claim that sentient nano-technologies have been deployed in everything from hairsprays, hair gels and mascara to lip gloss and eyeliner (self replenishing, intelligent micro-beads?? ...will you ever f.o.?)

On a similar note, the ads that mention things like L Casei Immunitas, Biffidus Digestus and the like. They make this **** up surley ? We're suppose to be impressed by the fact that these products supposedly contain these emelements nobodies ever heard of, just because they have latin sounding names ?

KevB76
30/03/2008, 7:25 PM
Worst ads are all the ones from rip-off loan companies who get Carol Vorderman to convince people with desparate finances that all their problems will be over with a 25k loan which they will pay back 5 times over during the rest of their natural life and beyond.

Roadend
31/03/2008, 9:27 AM
:mad:
Worst ads are all the ones from rip-off loan companies who get Carol Vorderman to convince people with desparate finances that all their problems will be over with a 25k loan which they will pay back 5 times over during the rest of their natural life and beyond.

She actually advertises for a reputable loan company. The other ones however, pciture loans I think. The wife videoing the husband on the phone ringing up for a loan. AS if such a scenario would ever occur. "Ya, I'll have 25k if that's ok , wow you are so easy to deal with yadda yadda"

Dr. Ogba
31/03/2008, 10:17 AM
Lots and lots of ads really really annoy me. The Cadbury one with the gorilla is cool though. And I have to admit to finding the ones for McDonald's and Coke disturbingly powerful (though I've long given up consuming either).

the coke one ripping off Grand Theft Auto I thought was very clever. The McDonald's one with the father and daughter is excruciatingly annoying though - implying that all of the pivotal moments in their relationship somehow occur while they are eating at McDonalds! Its a wonder that she's not a fat bloater when she's older!

Fave ad has to be for Volkswagen where the dog is singing away in the car. In fact any ad's with a singing or talking animal is ok by me! (except Churchill's "Oh yes" dog :mad: )

noby
31/03/2008, 10:46 AM

I'm with Lionel and Tony on this one.

Hair dye that 'only targets the grey hairs'? Seriously? A dye that can analyse the colour of your hair, and decide whether or not it should attach itself to the individual hairs, depending on the colour. Were NASA involved in the development?

'If you use this margarine, along with a healthy diet, you will become healthier.' You know, if you just had the healthy diet thing it might just work too.

anto1208
31/03/2008, 11:40 AM
I like the rice krispies one its black and white a mum and the kid and some guy humming a song . Very similar to the one with somewhere over the rainbow in it.

Those mobile phone ringtone ads are horrible surley its the only product that sells with the line "get this annoying .........."

31/03/2008, 11:47 AM
Dare ye not diss Barry "Mr. Bang!" Scott - without his we would not have this (http://uk.youtube.com/watch?v=WGooQ8yYC0c). You now know what I am listening to this afternoon.

As for least favourite ads, the ones I hate most almost always start with one of these images (http://uk.youtube.com/watch?v=G0_M-McxG78) (quite good in and of themselves), with a voice over it saying "Now, the best of home grown comic talent in ..."

The thought makes me shudder, and eventually led to emigration for many of us.

31/03/2008, 11:47 AM
It's the ringtone you've all been waiting for;

ring ring ring banana phone

Ah how I've come to love it so.

Wolfie
31/03/2008, 12:35 PM
Anyone remember that ad for Ronseal Weather Guard (Sic)?

It had this overly aggressive geezer, stood on a roof, staring down the barrell of the TV lens berating you about what will happen if you don't damp proof your roof.

He more or less signed off by saying "AND IF YOU DON'T WEATHERPROOF IT - I'LL CALL AROUND AND KICK SEVEN SHADES OF **** OUT OF YOU"

31/03/2008, 1:53 PM
Anyone remember that ad for Ronseal Weather Guard (Sic)?

It had this overly aggressive geezer, stood on a roof, staring down the barrell of the TV lens berating you about what will happen if you don't damp proof your roof.

He more or less signed off by saying "AND IF YOU DON'T WEATHERPROOF IT - I'LL CALL AROUND AND KICK SEVEN SHADES OF **** OUT OF YOU"

ya wouldnt want to spill that man’s pint. :) Thought the Snickers one with Mr T was excellent. As was the Sprite p!ss-take one of Gillette ads. You know the one, this guy tries shaving himself with splashes of Sprite and cuts himself to shreds....

noby
31/03/2008, 1:59 PM
Well, it does taste like aftershave...

Wolfie
31/03/2008, 2:29 PM
Thought the Snickers one with Mr T was excellent.

I like that one myself. "Quit your Jibber-Jabba!!!. I catch you acting like a crazy fool again your gonna meet my friend - PAAAAAAAAAIIIN!!!!! :D :D

Every week I hope he's going to show up at Astro Park. No show yet. :(

31/03/2008, 2:45 PM
I liked the Guiness Ad that has Donald Sutherland doing the voice over, the transformation of the dot to a pint. Also the domino Guiness ad.

One ad from the past I loved and its never on anymore, is for Esb, setting is xmas time, son travelling home from abroad collected at station travels over miles of countryside to house in the middle of nowhere. Song playing over it is sung by a woman ,"going back to the place I knew so well, in my youth" anyone know it?

noby
31/03/2008, 2:48 PM
Dusty Springfield innit? Great song.

31/03/2008, 3:18 PM
One ad from the past I loved and its never on anymore, is for Esb, setting is xmas time, son travelling home from abroad collected at station travels over miles of countryside to house in the middle of nowhere. Song playing over it is sung by a woman ,"going back to the place I knew so well, in my youth" anyone know it?

Wonderful advert that, one of my all time faves. Always reminds me of coming home for Christmas. Great song too.

31/03/2008, 3:45 PM
I liked the Guiness Ad that has Donald Sutherland doing the voice over, the transformation of the dot to a pint. Also the domino Guiness ad.

Can't find the ad, so here is Dusty singing Going Back (http://uk.youtube.com/watch?v=rJknm_MQ2s0) at least - it is incredibly evocative if you are of Ireland and a certain age.

Just like the old Penny's Christmas ad.

31/03/2008, 4:08 PM
My 2 year old nephew went hysterical yesterday when the Lynx ad came on with a chocolate man eating bits off himself.

31/03/2008, 5:42 PM
Can't find the ad, so here is Dusty singing Going Back (http://uk.youtube.com/watch?v=rJknm_MQ2s0) at least - it is incredibly evocative if you are of Ireland and a certain age.

Just like the old Penny's Christmas ad.

Liked the Denny rashers ad. the guy in America eating rashers at 2 in the morning and saying 'it's breakfast time back home'....

31/03/2008, 6:56 PM
My 2 year old nephew went hysterical yesterday when the Lynx ad came on with a chocolate man eating bits off himself.

I found that a tad upsetting myself, poor chocolate man :(

01/04/2008, 10:47 AM
Dusty Springfield innit? Great song.Good man thanks.
Wonderful advert that, one of my all time faves. Always reminds me of coming home for Christmas. Great song too.Yeah, when it started my grandparents had both just died so all the relations started coming back from abroad to ours. Good times.

Just like the old Penny's Christmas ad.Thanks too.

01/04/2008, 11:09 AM
Wonderful advert that, one of my all time faves. Always reminds me of coming home for Christmas. Great song too.

It's Alan Hughes the guy who is on TV3 breakfast shows and stuff like that , that plays the son.
Also another one from the 80's that I remember is the one with the garda from Glenroe getting up in the middle of the night to feed the baby , ESB i think it was

01/04/2008, 3:41 PM
It's Alan Hughes the guy who is on TV3 breakfast shows and stuff like that , that plays the son.
Also another one from the 80's that I remember is the one with the garda from Glenroe getting up in the middle of the night to feed the baby , ESB i think it was

Good spot!

inexile
01/04/2008, 3:54 PM
love the corn flakes ad from christmas time with the little girl meets santa, very sweet ad

01/04/2008, 3:58 PM
boom-boombababoom-boom-boombababboom-boom....."MAAFEEES!!!". (Murphy's, for those of you unfamiliar with Japanese pronunciation).

01/04/2008, 4:03 PM
boom-boombababoom-boom-boombababboom-boom....."MAAFEEES!!!". (Murphy's, for those of you unfamiliar with Japanese pronunciation).

That the one where they do that spinning trick with the pint? I used to do that all the time

01/04/2008, 4:44 PM
i don't really remember, but i do recall one with a samurai running across the fields and into a building which turned out to be a bar, and shouting "Maafees".

01/04/2008, 5:03 PM
i don't really remember, but i do recall one with a samurai running across the fields and into a building which turned out to be a bar, and shouting "Maafees".

I always liked that ad!

01/04/2008, 8:34 PM

Ooooooooooonly youuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuu............ another great old school Telefis Eireann ad there. Alan Hughes? Flippin' hell. Here's another great old school advert slogan.

'A pint of Harp and a pack of dates please'.

anto1208
02/04/2008, 8:15 AM
What about those Kenco ads why do they employ that Rtard that keeps messing up its about 3 or 4 times now he has caused a commotion why can he understand they use the same beans for there instant that they use for there fresh ground coffee. Just keep him away from the beans put him in admin or something.

02/04/2008, 10:20 AM
Ooooooooooonly youuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuu............ another great old school Telefis Eireann ad there. Alan Hughes? Flippin' hell. Here's another great old school advert slogan.

'Hey Lawerence a pint of Harp and a pack of dates please'.

Feckin' love that ad

02/04/2008, 12:33 PM
I like the ad set on the fishing trawler, with three fishermen. Its for Donegal catch, I think.

"You may be beautiful, but they're keeping my idea on file......in a filing keyabinet(it's mainly the accent that makes it.)

Boo_Boy
02/04/2008, 12:56 PM
Favourite right now: VW Polo Advert -

sN2VukonuWM&

What a brilliant ad!

[B]Least Favourite: Ad's for the ringtones.

Terrible ad's,have to change the channel sometimes because there always bloody on!

The cadbury ad with the gorilla is good too - http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=iKdQC-hbY7k

It has nothing to do with cadbury but when someone searches youtube for the ad its done the job!

02/04/2008, 1:23 PM
The one for John West Salmon was funny. the fisherman fighting the bear was cool.

02/04/2008, 2:59 PM
The one for John West Salmon was funny. the fisherman fighting the bear was cool.

:D Agreed.

First one: http://youtube.com/watch?v=zOpKFPEah3E&feature=related

Second one: http://youtube.com/watch?v=5n4xXc25wPE&feature=related

29/04/2008, 7:46 PM
This nike ad is very good.

H548YEfbO-k

30/04/2008, 9:01 AM
Can anyone please explain the relevence to chocolate of the new Dairymilk add. the one with the trucks at the Airport racing:confused::o:confused:

noby
30/04/2008, 9:58 AM
None.
Taken from last year's Independent:

People don't want advertisers droning on and on about their products any more; they want to be entertained. "Cadbury traditionally did well-built ads for the interruption age when consumers had an implicit media deal with advertisers. In exchange for free TV they would allow us to interrupt their programmes with commercials," says Green. "The nation has a massive soft spot for CDM and it is deeply embedded in the national psyche. For a brand that is so well known, it's arguable whether the old style interruption advertising model is the best model for the future. So we are trying to engage more genuinely with our audience."

Basically, if your product is well enough known, you don't have to try and sell it, in the traditional sense. You can provide entertainment, a short film of something fun, just like with the drumming gorilla. Obviously it is also working on a more subtle level of advertising.