Least favourite - too many to mention but
Opel (Vauxhall) ads with the 2 kids with english northern accents - jesus could they not be bothered to dub them for an Irish audience as well as being sh1t
i couldnt find a thread about this.i hate glemobi adds
Least favourite - too many to mention but
Opel (Vauxhall) ads with the 2 kids with english northern accents - jesus could they not be bothered to dub them for an Irish audience as well as being sh1t
I'm looking forward to old age and retirement just so I'll have time to lobby the Advertising Standards Authority to pull ads for all manner of rubbish.
Ads that wind me up most are the ones that make ludicrous claims for the product.
The Danone Bioactivia ads are dodgy, not just because they look like they were filmed on a fisher-price camcorder, but because they claim medicinal properties for a food -and if it did what they're claiming it should probably only be available from a chemist. Also I believe I'm right in saying none of the ladies of a certain age interviewed actually name the product being marketed as being responable for easing their bloatedness.
Any number of ads for womens products barefacedly claim that sentient nano-technologies have been deployed in everything from hairsprays, hair gels and mascara to lip gloss and eyeliner (self replenishing, intelligent micro-beads?? ...will you ever f.o.?)
Radio ads make me squirm even more and make me wonder does Ed Byrne and the other chap from The Panel die a little bit every time they record a new ad for 02, AXA, AIB, whoever...
Seems to be a steady earner for Irish comediens, kind of like actors in soaps and pantos and musicians in wedding bands.
" I wish to God that someone would be able to block out the voices in my head for five minutes, the voices that scream, over and over again: "Why do they come to me to die?"
Yoplait had a series of ads years ago that I thought were excellent.
There was a black guy who used to sing and dance in some ads for some insurance company (I think it was insurance) who deserved pain.
The ads for 3 are very very irritating - "Can you resist?" and there's a person going to clamp a car by a big puddle while someone is driving up behind them, or there's a couple rolling o the grass beside a "Keep off the grass" sign. Really gives an insight into the mentality of the 15-19 year mind.
Lots and lots of ads really really annoy me. The Cadbury one with the gorilla is cool though. And I have to admit to finding the ones for McDonald's and Coke disturbingly powerful (though I've long given up consuming either).
Ooh - just thought of those Danone ads - drink a bottle of this every day or your kids will die! That's right - kids can't handle changes in weather! Drink me now!!!!! Feck off.
Every product that's pushing the fact that it is now loaded with Omega 3, and we're all dangerously low on Omega 3 so we have to use more butter, or DIE is my current bugbear.
That and the Kinder Bueno (sp?) ads that look like the bars were superimposed using microsoft paint and and clearly dubbed over. Not necessarily bad ads, just a poor effort all around.
The grey-hair covering ads with Davina McCall and the men equivalents which are terribly dubbed.
The Denture seal ones. Cillit Bang. Lynx. Gillette. Toothpaste ads. Seven Seas (Let's Twist). There's too many.
I do like the high-quality Bravia LCD ads, like the one where there's a Skittles explosion or the one with the playdo rabbits. Actually can anyone tell me the name of the Rolling Stones song in that ad?
Extratime.ie
Yo te quiero, mi querida. Sin tus besos, yo soy nada.
Abri o portão de ouro, da maquina do tempo.
Mi mamá me hizo guapo, listo y antimadridista.
I like the Guiness donimo ad.
Favourite ads:
The car one with the cake. Think it was Skoda.
I think it's Sony, the one with the orchestra, very clever.
Guinness domino ad is superb.
The Sony Bravia one with the bouncing balls.
Least favourite ads:
Some of these are UK but the Churchill Insurance, in fact any insurance ads..
Cadburys one with the gorilla. It was effective alright, it got people talking but what the hell was that to do with chocolate?
There's one floating around on daytime tv here, Moonpig.com. The jingle makes me want to kill.
Halifax ads with that gimp Howard whats-his-face.
'Fascists dress in black and go round telling people what to do, where as priests.....'
Yeah, that's good too. Wouldn't make me consider buying a Skoda, but good nonetheless.
Nothing. But it made people talk. Which means success. What do metal aliens from Mars haev to do with instant bangers and mash? Nothing, but it's one of the most successful ad campaigns ever.Least favourite ads:
Cadburys one with the gorilla. It was effective alright, it got people talking but what the hell was that to do with chocolate?
Yeah, good call. Spray this on you and hundreds of hot semi-naked birds will run after you. Don't spray, and people will hate you because your armpit will spray BO. Makes you wonder about the mentality of, again, the 15-19 year old target market.
Can't understand why Kinder and that anti-spot stuff have to dub their ads so appallingly. Really amateur.
one name.... Barry Scott
oh and not technically an ad...but those Sky Bet things on spanish football...
"it matters more when there is money on it"...fecking hate that...why does it matter more, cause we are all gamblers? **** off!
Last edited by sligoman; 30/03/2008 at 6:03 PM.
My Goal Is To Deny Yours...
On a similar note, the ads that mention things like L Casei Immunitas, Biffidus Digestus and the like. They make this **** up surley ? We're suppose to be impressed by the fact that these products supposedly contain these emelements nobodies ever heard of, just because they have latin sounding names ?
Out for a spell, got neglected, lay on the bench unselected.
Worst ads are all the ones from rip-off loan companies who get Carol Vorderman to convince people with desparate finances that all their problems will be over with a 25k loan which they will pay back 5 times over during the rest of their natural life and beyond.
LTID
She actually advertises for a reputable loan company. The other ones however, pciture loans I think. The wife videoing the husband on the phone ringing up for a loan. AS if such a scenario would ever occur. "Ya, I'll have 25k if that's ok , wow you are so easy to deal with yadda yadda"
the coke one ripping off Grand Theft Auto I thought was very clever. The McDonald's one with the father and daughter is excruciatingly annoying though - implying that all of the pivotal moments in their relationship somehow occur while they are eating at McDonalds! Its a wonder that she's not a fat bloater when she's older!
Fave ad has to be for Volkswagen where the dog is singing away in the car. In fact any ad's with a singing or talking animal is ok by me! (except Churchill's "Oh yes" dog)
"Well I think they'll be a little disappointed with that" - Matt Holland on TV3 after 5-2 drubbing by Cyprus
I'm with Lionel and Tony on this one.Ads that wind me up most are the ones that make ludicrous claims for the product.
Hair dye that 'only targets the grey hairs'? Seriously? A dye that can analyse the colour of your hair, and decide whether or not it should attach itself to the individual hairs, depending on the colour. Were NASA involved in the development?
'If you use this margarine, along with a healthy diet, you will become healthier.' You know, if you just had the healthy diet thing it might just work too.
Ceci n'est pas une signature
I like the rice krispies one its black and white a mum and the kid and some guy humming a song . Very similar to the one with somewhere over the rainbow in it.
Those mobile phone ringtone ads are horrible surley its the only product that sells with the line "get this annoying .........."
Dare ye not diss Barry "Mr. Bang!" Scott - without his we would not have this. You now know what I am listening to this afternoon.
As for least favourite ads, the ones I hate most almost always start with one of these images (quite good in and of themselves), with a voice over it saying "Now, the best of home grown comic talent in ..."
The thought makes me shudder, and eventually led to emigration for many of us.
That question was less stupid, though you asked it in a profoundly stupid way.
Help me, Arthur Murphy, you're my only hope!
Originally Posted by Dodge