View Full Version : Boy Racers
eamo1
28/03/2008, 12:55 AM
Having just nearly been knocked down by one a few days ago who ran a red light i feel i need to rant about them.A typical(but not always) boy racer has a job as a carpenter/plumber and thus has more money then sense,most carpies and plumbers are sound though.Some these days have transmitters in their cars to pick up the cops radio channell so they can stay one step ahead and have drag races on dual carraige ways etc.The sound of their souped up cars at 3am on a saturday night annoys the hell out of me.But as the economy slows and petrol prices go further out of control this "fad" will pass i assume,and hope.
28/03/2008, 1:12 AM
hate them, simple as
28/03/2008, 2:44 AM
We should copy the Australian solution. (http://www.news.com.au/story/0,23599,22740446-421,00.html)
Talking them out of the car first should be optional.
A typical(but not always) boy racer has a job as a carpenter/plumber and thus has more money then sense,most carpies and plumbers are sound though.
I live near a FAS training center and without fail, every lunch time these
morons try to race each other out the car park and up to the junction
with the main road.
Several times when going home for lunch I've been nearly knocked down
and crashed into by idiots momentarily loosing control of the car trying
to swerve out the gate in front of their equally idiotic friend.
Its usually followed by a minute or 2, depending on the line of traffic, of
beeping and a 2 finger salute out the window by the victor to indicate that
they are today’s champion asswipe :mad:
Lots of complaints have gone in to both FAS and the Gardai but the next
day they are back in the race! :mad:
anto1208
28/03/2008, 8:22 AM
I met some one one day that had a Fiat punto about 6 or 7 years old so worth maybe 5 to 8 grand but she had spent 20,000 euro "doing it up" and at the end of all her work it was still just a 1 litre punto !!
They are slightly different to the boy racers though the modified car gang while its stupid they do take care of there cars and drive safely.
Its the guys mentioned plumbers capernter sparkies mainly from the country but not allways that buy a Carolla or civic stick a pair of alloys on it and a big bean can on the back to make it sound loud and thats it and boot around the place.
Roadend
28/03/2008, 8:42 AM
I met some one one day that had a Fiat punto about 6 or 7 years old so worth maybe 5 to 8 grand but she had spent 20,000 euro "doing it up" and at the end of all her work it was still just a 1 litre punto !!
The pink one? Its a subject of ridicule throughout the city. The only thing that comes close is that purple Hyundai Accent with the chrome wheel arches.
28/03/2008, 10:29 AM
I'd murder each and every one of them given legal permission, but then the same can be said of about 70% of people I see :)
Wolfie
28/03/2008, 10:47 AM
I'd murder each and every one of them given legal permission, but then the same can be said of about 70% of people I see :)Agree - despise the morons. They were the scourge of an area I've since moved from. Tore around the estates with impunity and made gob****es of the cops.
lofty9
28/03/2008, 10:49 AM
I'd murder each and every one of them given legal permission, but then the same can be said of about 70% of people I see :)
I see the old Limerick stereotype is alive and well then Jebus..:) Your only 30% off being like the rest of Limerick! :D
28/03/2008, 10:52 AM
I see the old Limerick stereotype is alive and well then Jebus..:) Your only 30% off being like the rest of Limerick! :D
That's what happens when you have a strict, religious upbringing :D
28/03/2008, 10:55 AM
Jebus was always a pussy
He doesn't even own a gun ffs.
On the boy racer thing, as my old fella says "They could be doing a lot worse"
anto1208
28/03/2008, 11:06 AM
Im starting to spot a patern developing in your posts about people you dont like! If i hear of a mass shooting in limerick i know who ill think of first :D
The pink one? Its a subject of ridicule throughout the city. The only thing that comes close is that purple Hyundai Accent with the chrome wheel arches.
I know them 2 all though i think that pink one is just some scoaby bint the playboy covers give it away !! Why is it allways the ugly woman that buy this playboy stuff !!
28/03/2008, 11:08 AM
The only thing that comes close is that purple Hyundai Accent with the chrome wheel arches.
Daaaayyyyyyyycent sham :)
28/03/2008, 11:09 AM
I know them 2 all though i think that pink one is just some scoaby bint the playboy covers give it away !! Why is it allways the ugly woman that buy this playboy stuff !!
It's called suggestive advertising, you see Playboy, you see a nearby female, and the male mind does the rest (well not everything obviously)
Roadend
28/03/2008, 11:13 AM
Daaaayyyyyyyycent sham
Its pure rapid, man.
28/03/2008, 11:18 AM
Its pure rapid, man.
Swair ta Gawd
EAFC_rdfl
28/03/2008, 11:34 AM
http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2055262191
have a read through that lads, young sh1thead in donegal made a video of himself doin 155mph, had it on youtube but taken down since, the Gardai are supposed to be trying to do him, lets hope so!
Being a donegal man I know its all to common up there too, hopefully the rising petrol costs will halt them, i doubt it though
Monkfish
29/03/2008, 9:42 PM
[URL] hopefully the rising petrol costs will halt them, i doubt it though
Middle class country boys driving under there fathers name wont be troubled by petrol prices, coming out of their house to find their alloys missing and a bottle of brake fluid poured over their bonnet usually does the trick ;) just saying like. :)
Your not Vin Diesel, your a spotty skinny attention seeker!
forza rovers
29/03/2008, 9:57 PM
are the stupid boy racers deaf not everybody wants to listen to their crapy music
Monkfish
29/03/2008, 10:19 PM
are the stupid boy racers deaf not everybody wants to listen to their crapy music
Im telling ya mammy didnt pay them enough attention when they were younger so they have to put big exhausts and speakers on their cars so everyone will look at them. :)
deecay
29/03/2008, 10:29 PM
Same as,I hate other people
29/03/2008, 10:58 PM
I always say to them, "is that the exhaust from your fathers old tractor?". It would be usually met with 3 to 4 seconds of silence and then some name calling before trying to show off infront of their friends and then leave in a rush. I love it !
What is a boy racer? Is there an age limit or is it the type of car they drive?
KevB76
30/03/2008, 6:55 PM
Its not the car they drive, more like the way they drive it. As someone metioned earlier in the thread, there is a big difference between the person who likes to spend his/her hard earned cash on customising their car, and the person who treats the streets and roads as their personal race-track with no regard for anybody else.
Nobody usually cares to make the distinction though. In fact I would suggest most people think a boy-racer is any male under 30 who owns a car :D
oldyouth
31/03/2008, 6:16 PM
No it relates to the mental age of the driver.
It's not the noise, modifications, colours or music that gets to be about these s*its, it's the fact that they think they are experienced drivers ready for whatever the road presents them and that the rest of us can't drive. Problem is, they are not the only ones who pay the price when it's proven they aren't all that