View Full Version : Paul Doolin

Pages : 1 [2] 3

Flume
27/03/2008, 5:02 PM
Yes he plays boring long ball football but it works for his team. It mightn't work at a big club like Bohs, Cork City, Derry City, Rovers or Pat's were the standard is higher. But it works for Drogheda. Doolin can't go out and buy the league but he can go out and buy the players to win it for him. He's not a great manager but he's not a bad one either.

While i appreciate the sentiment in there, its a bit inaccurate to say that we're at a higher standard.They are the champions. From my own personal view, drogheda played great football against us so its difficult for me to see were the few having a moan are coming from because i havent seen this.(Bar the game at the end of the season which was a nothing game)

On doolin i dont think you can really argue with his record but in fairness its what would have been expected at drogheda given the investment im sure?

ndrog
27/03/2008, 5:06 PM
While i appreciate the sentiment in there, its a bit inaccurate to say that we're at a higher standard.They are the champions. From my own personal view, drogheda played great football against us so its difficult for me to see were the few having a moan are coming from because i havent seen this.(Bar the game at the end of the season which was a nothing game)

On doolin i dont think you can really argue with his record but in fairness its what would have been expected at drogheda given the investment im sure?

Thanks very much mate .At last someone with a brain who isnt just churning out the old bull**** cliche about us ;)

27/03/2008, 6:55 PM
Yeah, the football was great from Bohs last season wasn't it! :rolleyes:

Think that was his point.

WindmillWarrior
27/03/2008, 7:16 PM
Think that was his point.

Eh? And what about when Pats were known as Set Piece Athletic? Its a ridiculous point.

Another thing people are forgetting is the horrendous injuries Doolin had to cope with last season. It really was mental for a large part of the season despite the dept of the squad.

Jaime
28/03/2008, 12:05 AM
But the most physical team doesn't always win the league. Cork were certainly not physical when they won the league, and 1 or 2 of the Pats teams weren't either. (SOme of them were)

No they don't always win it, hence I didn't say that they always win it. Cork haven't been short of rough stuff at the back in a while though.

Which Pat's teams were physical and which weren't? Not saying skill is irrelevant - if you're simply a better footballer than your opponent then great - but even the likes of Osam and Gormley were always well able to take it and give it back. Ricky wasn't easily shaken off the ball either. When I say physical I don't necessarily mean dirty.

28/03/2008, 12:08 AM
Another thing people are forgetting is the horrendous injuries Doolin had to cope with last season. It really was mental for a large part of the season despite the dept of the squad.

Lets say that was the reason. Will he play a different more attacking style of football so this season? doubt it.

What he does, he does well, it has worked for ye and ye have won, pretty or not.

DruggyDrog
28/03/2008, 7:23 AM
Most pointless thread I've read in a long, long time. Full of biased opinions (on all sides) and also some pure rubbish, genuine opinion or not. Drogheda won the league last year because they were comfortably the best team in it. The league table rarely lies. All this about the poorest league in years, etc, was based purely on the fact that none of the so-called big teams were at the business end. If, say, Portsmouth or Villa came out to win the Premiership, the same would be said in England regardless of actual quality. And while I will be the first to admit that at times last season the quality of football played was atrocious by the Drogs, there were also occasions where it was quite exceptional. I'm sure the same can be said of a lot of teams, but I certainly don't remember an occasion last season where I was blown away by the football played by any team. In fact some of the so-called footballing sides are living on reputation alone in that department.

As for the original pointless debate, yes Doolin is as paranoid as they come. Doesn't bother Drogs cos he's winning. Bothers everyone else cos he's winning.

Coltron
28/03/2008, 8:41 AM
Perception is not reality. I know a few would like this to be the case and if it is then show me the last example of a goal we scored that was "hoofball" football. And any other two examples from last season where we scored by playing this style. Of the six goals we have scored this year none, that's zero, below one, resulted or were created by a long ball up from either defender or goalkeeper. So better "raid the achieves" lads.

Since many of you have posted that we play "negative football" I have a question. What is negative football?

Of the, what 50 odd, games we played last year this negative football should be obvious to find as it would be there to see in at least sixty percent of them. Did we play negative football when it came to the crunch against Rovers, Pats and Cork to win the league? No. Is this a time to try lots of new ideas? No. This is a time of pressure and in sure a time you stick to what you know so that what's got you so far will get you through. And the football we played was positive. Positive in that it was we who took the initative and played a high tempo attack-minded football.

Your conclusions are wrong so check your assumptions for your faulty opinion.

derm
28/03/2008, 9:54 AM
Since many of you have posted that we play "negative football" I have a question. What is negative football?

Of the, what 50 odd, games we played last year this negative football should be obvious to find as it would be there to see in at least sixty percent of them. Did we play negative football when it came to the crunch against Rovers, Pats and Cork to win the league? No.

In the City vs Drogs game on the 22nd July last year I saw the most negative thing I have seen in 18 years of LoI football. City were pressing for a win to get them back in with a chance but lacked the quality, Drogs were happy with a draw, which is fair enough. A very boring match crawled to the finish when Drogs won a corner in the last minute of extra time. My heart sank, convinced that ye'd score a poxy goal and claim an undeserved 3 points. Instead ye kept it in the corner to waste time.

I have never seen a team so negative as to spurn a scoring opportunity at the death. My brother-in-law and his two sons have never returned to the Cross since that match...

Coltron
28/03/2008, 10:48 AM
That's a start dern. I can kinda see what you mean. Some things I'm not clear on though.

Negative football is a team sitting back and playing for a draw? I can subscribe to that. This game performance should still be taken in context of that point last season. As Drogs had a number of injuries of a number of key players, like Jasin Gavin, Gartland, Fabio, Barrett and others. So when the balance of any team is disrupted so much, fluidity takes a back seat to the result. Also, I take it your friends were going there to see City and not as potential Drogs fans. So is the real reason they haven't yet come back a reflection on City or Drogheda United?

Again it's one example. So it strikes me more as the exception than the rule. And no examples yet of why we've branded hoofballers.

28/03/2008, 11:09 AM
So is the real reason they haven't yet come back a reflection on City or Drogheda United?
No, because it was a reflection on the league. Thats what people are buying into; if they were told to choose a team in the ELOI they would pick Cork City, but its the league itself that they are outsiders to.

Unfortunately, defensive teams do well in this league, making for less than attractive football at times. At this standard, it is easier to defend than to attack, and players who do stand out in attack are more likely to be signed up to abroad than defenders - for instance, I would rate Dan Murray and Joe Gamble as highly as Roy O'Donovan and Kevin Doyle (ok - maybe Shane Long) but they aren't signed up because they don't go on 10-in-10 scoring runs. That leaves you with higher quality defenders.

Even our famously free flowing 2005 team won the league not on the attacking prowess of Doyle, O'Donovan, O'Flynn and O'Callaghan but on the unbeatable back 5 and Joe Gamble's incessant harrying.

Coltron
28/03/2008, 11:16 AM
Gavin I don't agree that defensive teams do better than attacking minded teams. The majority if not all teams who win the league have a strong defence but they are at least as good going forward.

I take your point on players who get attention but your sample isn't big enough. For example you say Kevin Doyle and Roy O Donavan but there was also two defenders who left City recently too, Alan Bennett and Danny Murphy. On balance what you say is probably true but this is something that is fooball wide and no only common to the eL. Awards usually go to attack ortientated players, Cannavaro and Keane being the exceptions to this rule.

Jaime
28/03/2008, 12:27 PM
My brother-in-law and his two sons have never returned to the Cross since that match...

Sorry but that is the funniest thing I have read in ages

ndrog
28/03/2008, 12:31 PM
Sorry but that is the funniest thing I have read in ages

same as that .They didnt return because the quality of the game that day wasnt to there liking .poor pets .Better off supporting man u , which they probably do anyway .

28/03/2008, 12:33 PM
When I say physical I don't necessarily mean dirty.

Fair enough. Don't forget we had martin Russell though, the windiest footballer of all time ;)

Agree with your above comment too :D

Most times I've seen Drogheda play they've been horrible to watch. Don't really care what terms people wish to use to describe their tactics.

28/03/2008, 12:49 PM
Yes he did. He relegated us in 2003, for the only time in our last 12 premier division seasons. We lost our first 7 games that year and got 1 point from our first 9 games. After 20 games, when he left for Drogheda, we had 12. At the end of the season, we had 34. The results under Pete Mahon would have had us comfortably in the top half so the early season performances can't be blamed on poor players.

Did he not bring Drogheda close to relegation as well that season? Think they only finished one above the playoffs and three above bottom with similar goal difference.

28/03/2008, 1:01 PM
Did he not bring Drogheda close to relegation as well that season? Think they only finished one above the playoffs and three above bottom with similar goal difference.
He had a terrible start there, 1 win in 14 games or something. They didn't escape relegation by much.

Coltron
28/03/2008, 5:47 PM
Most times I've seen Drogheda play they've been horrible to watch.

I'd say it's tough watching your team take a beating alright.

28/03/2008, 8:45 PM

Miss the complete point anyway why dont ya :rolleyes:

pól-dcfc
28/03/2008, 8:50 PM

Must be :D

28/03/2008, 9:04 PM
MNS interview with Doolin On Monday will be predictable. Pressure must be creeping up on him now.

saint morrissey
28/03/2008, 9:12 PM
sure one of the goals was an o.g. and the other was a penalty so thats basically a draw in doo-land if he adopts same attitude he did after drogs were beaten by rovers. when you factor in the sending off he'll probably take a moral victory out of the evening.

28/03/2008, 10:03 PM
MNS interview with Doolin On Monday will be predictable. Pressure must be creeping up on him now.

Yeah, totally defensive and guilty :rolleyes: I think i'll keep the mute button handy cos it'll be the same auld crap from him i think.

28/03/2008, 11:45 PM
Yeah, totally defensive and guilty :rolleyes: I think i'll keep the mute button handy cos it'll be the same auld crap from him i think.

Nice to hear he is in your head!!!!!!!

His interviews are obviously working! Cant wait for the excuses for tonights match just to wind you l@ngers up if his words mean so much to you - I love it!!!!

pól-dcfc
28/03/2008, 11:52 PM
His interviews are obviously working!

Having a great effect on the team alright.

29/03/2008, 12:03 AM
Having a great effect on the team alright.

But having a great effect an winding up alot of idiots on here!

pól-dcfc
29/03/2008, 12:05 AM
But having a great effect an winding up alot of idiots on here!

Good to see where his priorities lie. What a manager. A good defence of the league title or winding up some Corkies on foot.ie? Winding up the Corkies an obvious winner :rolleyes:

29/03/2008, 12:20 AM
Good to see where his priorities lie. What a manager. A good defence of the league title or winding up some Corkies on foot.ie? Winding up the Corkies an obvious winner :rolleyes:

The hilarity of the situation of course being that while Doolin might get a few token boos next time he's at the cross, Drogheda reacted to their first ever league win by singing songs about a player that used to play for Cork City and hanging around outside the Cork City dressing rooms for 15 minutes like a bunch of irony-coated groupies. Oh they're experts on "in the head" alright! :D

29/03/2008, 12:50 AM
The hilarity of the situation of course being that while Doolin might get a few token boos next time he's at the cross, Drogheda reacted to their first ever league win by singing songs about a player that used to play for Cork City and hanging around outside the Cork City dressing rooms for 15 minutes like a bunch of irony-coated groupies. Oh they're experts on "in the head" alright!

Ha ha :p

And its funny cos every single bit of it is true, or is that scary :eek: Well right now its 'split my sides laughing' .... its the truth :D

Good to see where his priorities lie. What a manager. A good defence of the league title or winding up some Corkies on foot.ie? Winding up the Corkies an obvious winner

That about sums it up alright, but yeah Doolin is in our heads ... ffs, its embarrassing at this stage.

29/03/2008, 3:29 PM
Jaysus, if you can't wind up Corkonians in the process of doing just about anything, you should apply to the government for a disability grant. ;)

ndrog
29/03/2008, 4:40 PM
The hilarity of the situation of course being that while Doolin might get a few token boos next time he's at the cross, Drogheda reacted to their first ever league win by singing songs about a player that used to play for Cork City and hanging around outside the Cork City dressing rooms for 15 minutes like a bunch of irony-coated groupies. Oh they're experts on "in the head" alright! :D

I think youll find that Drogheda fans reacted to winning our first leauge title by celebrating in the pub and around town afterwards .Fantastic night it was to .Some of your players were outside the clubhouse later on as were lots of drogheda supporters " Schock horror " a few people sang some songs at the cork players . Oh my god that must have been a first FFS . Get over yourselves will ya .Drogheda united players dont go on local radio stations and go on about cork city , they talk about Drogheda united funnilly enough . You and the rest of the corkies on this forum are the ones obsessing about our manager .Run along and get the Alan matthews out campaing going will ye :eek: its embarrassing at this stage your little obsession with us :confused:

29/03/2008, 5:38 PM
Drogheda united players dont go on local radio stations and go on about cork city

What do you mean? What did i miss?

Celdrog
29/03/2008, 5:50 PM
What do you mean? What did i miss?Psesumably its about Georgie calling Drogheda people inbred on RedFm

30/03/2008, 9:52 AM
Psesumably its about Georgie calling Drogheda people inbred on RedFm

While I thought his interview from the convicted drink driver was quite funny imagine the consequences for the player if it was a premiership player that said that in england.

30/03/2008, 8:10 PM
Psesumably its about Georgie calling Drogheda people inbred on RedFm

I must have missed that. Sheeze you Drogs supporters must be really obsessed if you're listening out for what a City players is saying on a Cork radio station :p

While I thought his interview from the convicted drink driver was quite funny imagine the consequences for the player if it was a premiership player that said that in england.

Its not England though.

ndrog
30/03/2008, 11:21 PM
[QUOTE=A face;909361]I must have missed that. Sheeze you Drogs supporters must be really obsessed if you're listening out for what a City players is saying on a Cork radio station :p

No a face we are not obsessed .There was a thread onlangerweb and it was also debated on our forum .All the little biys and girls on langerweb thought it was great .Fair play Georgie biy :confused: what a diick .

derm
31/03/2008, 8:23 AM
same as that .They didnt return because the quality of the game that day wasnt to there liking .poor pets .Better off supporting man u , which they probably do anyway .

The 8 and 9 year olds do support Man Utd actually. Their Dad, who was a Londoner until his teens supports Crystal Palace, a team his Dad brought him to. Bringing his sons to the game was an excuse to get to see live football again, but they were bored out of their heads.

I don't understand why you feel potential fans should not be entertained, despite the many downtimes, following City has never felt like a penance to me.

Maybe the difference is in the teams we support :confused:

SunderlandBohs
31/03/2008, 10:31 AM
Yeah, the football was great from Bohs last season wasn't it! :rolleyes:
Thanks for proving my point WW. The football we played last year was terrible. All we did was stop the opposition from playing. Anyone who watched the cup game would between us last year will tell you it was the worst game of the season. Hence, Bohs fans didn't have much time for Connor dispite finishing 3rd, getting to the final of the League Cup & semis of the FAI cup in his first season.

ndrog
31/03/2008, 10:42 AM
The 8 and 9 year olds do support Man Utd actually. Their Dad, who was a Londoner until his teens supports Crystal Palace, a team his Dad brought him to. Bringing his sons to the game was an excuse to get to see live football again, but they were bored out of their heads.

I don't understand why you feel potential fans should not be entertained, despite the many downtimes, following City has never felt like a penance to me.

Maybe the difference is in the teams we support :confused:

The point is they went along to see city and if you play such fantastic football as you all like to think you do , how come they wont go anymore . Blaming Dufc for this is a little lame dont you think . Im happy for you that following city has never been a penance , same cant be said about the Drogs with our turbulent history .

Celdrog
31/03/2008, 12:29 PM
I must have missed that. Sheeze you Drogs supporters must be really obsessed if you're listening out for what a City players is saying on a Cork radio station :pOne of your mob posted it on our forum. Just shows how obsessed Georgie is of us. I'm sure Doolin was delighted to hear it - no need for motivation when he comes to Drogheda next (if he dares)

portydrog
01/04/2008, 1:03 PM
When you win a league title whether it be last season or 20 seasons ago... Whether you play sparkling or flowing football or whatever, when you read the history books it says last SEASON that the Drogs where champions..
FFS get over the fact that a club outside Dublin and Cork won the league.. Seems to be an obsession with Doolin and Drogheda instead of looking at your own clubs and how they performed..

01/04/2008, 1:05 PM
Seems to be an obsession with Doolin and Drogheda instead of looking at your own clubs and how they performed..

You seem to think this is the only thread on this forum. You realise there's 100s of others don't you? The champions are struggling, so obviously its going to be talked about

Doolin thought they played well up in Derry btw

ndrog
01/04/2008, 1:50 PM
so what .Whats you opinion on how we played up in derry then ?

portydrog
01/04/2008, 7:31 PM
Hasnt answered yet brother..Good in 1st half, poor in the 2nd.. Derry took their chances, we didnt.. Next game please..

01/04/2008, 7:33 PM
so what .Whats you opinion on how we played up in derry then ?

****e

ndrog
01/04/2008, 10:33 PM
insightfull

01/04/2008, 11:02 PM
One of your mob posted it on our forum. Just shows how obsessed Georgie is of us. I'm sure Doolin was delighted to hear it - no need for motivation when he comes to Drogheda next (if he dares)

So Georgie spoke about Drogs in an interview with Red FM, so what? whats the big deal? He is with City now so of course he is not going to favour Drogs over City? What do you expect him to say? that he likes Drogs :eek:

ndrog
01/04/2008, 11:20 PM
Listen will you run along and actually find out what he said before you go yacking about it :rolleyes:

01/04/2008, 11:37 PM
Listen will you run along and actually find out what he said before you go yacking about it :rolleyes:

What did he say so? Post up the link will ya.

02/04/2008, 2:30 AM
What did he say so? Post up the link will ya.

"would you ever have gone to bohs or to drogs, george?"
"no, i dont have enough toes for drogs"

or words to that effect.