View Full Version : Famous eL Fans

17/03/2008, 10:05 PM
Lads, just trying to get an idea of who supports who.

Famous eL fans, maybe not household names but at least they would be known locally and possible nation wide. Not ex-players etc. or people who were involved in the game, more so people involved in other sports, industries or fields.

Cork City - Ashley Keating from The Frank and Walters (http://www.thefrankandwalters.ie/)
Cork City - Des Bishop - Irish Comedian originally from New York (http://www.desbishop.com/)
Dundalk - Dermot Ahern - Minister for Foreign Affairs (http://foreignaffairs.gov.ie/home/index.aspx?id=8596)

Blue-Army
17/03/2008, 11:56 PM
how many games has Des Bishop been to?

18/03/2008, 12:01 AM
tommy gorman is a sligo rovers fan, RTE correspondant. and im pure famous sure

Tis-smeee
18/03/2008, 12:49 AM
John O Shea

cheifo
18/03/2008, 1:05 AM
Jessica Alba is a Harps fanatic.She can be seen every @FP every forthnight
standing beside the burger van usually giving the ref dogs abuse.

18/03/2008, 1:56 AM
Isnt Colin Farrell a Shamrock Rovers fan...?

gilberto_eire
18/03/2008, 2:23 AM
Labour's Michael D Higgins is a galway fan and club member

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Michael_D._Higgins

Boo_Boy
18/03/2008, 8:13 AM
the sligo lads from westlife?

maybe?

Pablo Escobar
18/03/2008, 8:25 AM

Whenever he's in Cork and there's a game on. Always has bits about 'THE SHED' in his shows too.

Pablo Escobar
18/03/2008, 8:26 AM
Isnt Colin Farrell a Shamrock Rovers fan...?
Didn't his father play for them or something!?

However, I doubt he's a 'fan'.

GuisaSaigon
18/03/2008, 9:28 AM
Tommy Tiernan and Hector have been spotted in Terryland fairly regularly.
Galway Brian from Mayo could be considered famous throughout the world!

18/03/2008, 9:33 AM
Dave Fanning is a UCD supporter. Dermot Morgan used to be too.

McShels
18/03/2008, 9:33 AM
Didn't his father play for them or something!?

However, I doubt he's a 'fan'.

He was quoted as saying recently his ambition as a kid was to play for Rovers as his Dad and one of his uncles had played for the club.

As for famous fans David Davin-Power is a Shels fan :D

18/03/2008, 9:48 AM
Declan Lynch (journalist, writer and playwright) supports Athlone Town

JC_GUFC
18/03/2008, 10:05 AM

Surely that should read 'infamous' ;)

niallsparky
18/03/2008, 10:27 AM
Bohs:

Johnny Logan (Eurovision winner)
Willie Walsh (CEO of British Airways)
Martin King (TV3 Weatherman)

18/03/2008, 10:45 AM
Bohs:

Johnny Logan (Eurovision winner)
Willie Walsh (CEO of British Airways)
Martin King (TV3 Weatherman)

Do they go to games though?

pixiehead
18/03/2008, 10:59 AM
I cant believe ye missed Tony O Donohuge RTE Sport!!!! Big Cork City Fan!!! Hes Famous isnt he!!!! And a big fan of the league too :) And That Derry Boxer Too Duddy and frank McCann are City Fans

18/03/2008, 11:34 AM
I remember seeing Pat Ingoldsby at Shels games a good few times, though someone told me they were certain he was a Bohs fan.

Tom Symonds must be a Blues fan the amount of Blues games he goes to...

18/03/2008, 11:39 AM
Longford Town - Declan Nerney ;)

HarpsinDublin
18/03/2008, 12:06 PM
That legendary singer and trade unionist Billy Bragg used to wear Harps shirts at his concerts. Not sure if he ever made it to a game tho!

CameramanConka
18/03/2008, 12:25 PM
I cant believe ye missed Tony O Donohuge RTE Sport!!!! Big Cork City Fan!!! Hes Famous isnt he!!!! And a big fan of the league too :) And That Derry Boxer Too Duddy and frank McCann are City Fans

Eamon McCann.

Only1Rovers
18/03/2008, 12:57 PM
That legendary singer and trade unionist Billy Bragg used to wear Harps shirts at his concerts. Not sure if he ever made it to a game tho!

I was intrigued and so did a little research.

Check out the below link.

http://www.billybragg.co.uk/guestbook_archive/guestJul-Aug00.html

I think the below was posted by Mr Bragg himself.

I guess you choose to see differences whereas I notice the similarities. Point is, when in Belfast I would rather sing about how we have a lot in common with one another than patronise them with "My Youngest Son". Now let that be the end of it or else I'll come on stage there wearing the Finn Harps shirt that someone gave me in Dublin on Saturday night.

18/03/2008, 2:20 PM
Roy Keane supports Cobh Ramblers, he makes it over 2 or 3 times a year to watch us and also Aston Villa left-back Stephen O'Halloran.

Trevor Welsh likes to think he's a Ramblers fan.

Also Michael Ahern TD is a Ramblers fan.

Nicky Byrne from Westlife still has a soft spot for us i'd say.

I read somewhere before that Samuel L. Jackson supports Bohemians.

The Lilywhites
18/03/2008, 3:39 PM

:D:D:D

niallsparky
18/03/2008, 3:55 PM

Yeah that turned out to be a wikipedia founded rumour. I think he may have went as far as denying it in some interview...

18/03/2008, 6:09 PM

I've seen him at a good few home games and seen him at a few away games.

18/03/2008, 6:22 PM
tommy gorman is a sligo rovers fan, RTE correspondant. and im pure famous sure

This Tommy Gorman (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=d1Vha2VFEeE)? Whats he doing supporting Sligo? He is from Dublin?

Lads, half of those names aren't confirmed at all are they? Do they even go to games?

18/03/2008, 7:02 PM
Tom the Gom supports Bray AFAIK :)

forza rovers
18/03/2008, 7:37 PM
sligo rovers
sean fallon

18/03/2008, 8:50 PM
This Tommy Gorman (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=d1Vha2VFEeE)? Whats he doing supporting Sligo? He is from Dublin?No, this Tommy Gorman (http://www.irelanduscouncil.com/images/2007/Belfast2.jpg)[in the middle]

18/03/2008, 8:55 PM
Tom the Gom supports Bray AFAIK :)
Tom doesn't support anyone- used to support Cork Hibs back in the day.

Paddyfield
18/03/2008, 8:59 PM
Tommy Tiernan and Hector have been spotted in Terryland fairly regularly.

Galway Brian? Is he the lad from Shrule? I saw him sleeping in a McDonald's in Liverpool after the Ireland V Holland game at Anfield in 1995. Legend.

Rovers fan
18/03/2008, 10:06 PM
No, this Tommy Gorman (http://www.irelanduscouncil.com/images/2007/Belfast2.jpg)[in the middle]

he was making a speech one time and he told a funny story. he was getting an operation and when he woke up he was very drowsy and he shouted out "up rovers" and all the doctors were just looking at him as if to say wtf!

Woody
18/03/2008, 10:19 PM
Colm Meaney of The Van, Snapper, Commitments, Intermission, Star Trek etc fame is a Shamrock Rovers fan as far as I know.

18/03/2008, 10:41 PM
Colm Meaney of The Van, Snapper, Commitments, Intermission, Star Trek etc fame is a Shamrock Rovers fan as far as I know.

How many games has he been at last year though?

18/03/2008, 10:43 PM
How many games has he been at last year though?He lives in Florida, I'll guess none.

18/03/2008, 10:47 PM
He lives in Florida, I'll guess none.

What kind of excuse is that? :rolleyes:

LeixlipRed
19/03/2008, 8:36 AM
I can confirm that Shels have no famous fans that currently attend matches on a regular basis. Unless you count Finian McGrath or our current Lord Mayor. Oh wait, I'm just hearing they were just pretending. Oops, sorry bout that

19/03/2008, 8:41 AM
Galway Brian? Is he the lad from Shrule? I saw him sleeping in a McDonald's in Liverpool after the Ireland V Holland game at Anfield in 1995. Legend.

Thats the man ... living legend ... although I'm surprised you didnt see
him trying to pick up a scouser to get a bed for the night :p

Paraic
19/03/2008, 10:46 AM
It's Tommie Gorman.

also Adrian Eames of RTE is a big Rovers fan - Stephen kenny was giving him some fierce strange looks in the press box during their radio commentary as Adrian was waxing lyrical about the home side on friday night last against Drogheda.

Dermot Mannion, Aer Lingus CEO is a verified Rovers supporter.

I presume the Galway boys will lay claim to Padraig O Ceidigh (sic) of Aer Arann.

The late Frazer Brown seems to be generally acknowledged as Sligo's best known fan.

In Dundalk, Mary McGelligot was a legend when I was growing up. She'd send shivers down the spines of manies a referee as she shrieked from her place in the stand. Vincy Cranny as well - he sat on the sidelines with the red cross people and had to be restrained more than once from chasing after players with his walking stick..

19/03/2008, 11:21 AM
Roy Keane supports Cobh Ramblers, he makes it over 2 or 3 times a year to watch us:D and sure he might fit in a visit to his family while he's over. :D
I can just imagine him planning his trips home around the Ramblers fixture list.

WoodquayBoy
19/03/2008, 11:47 AM
Chick Deacy, Galway Rovers legend and title winner with Aston Villa in the early 80s, is in Terryland for every home

Paddyfield
19/03/2008, 12:37 PM
Chick Deacy, Galway Rovers legend and title winner with Aston Villa in the early 80s, is in Terryland for every home

Crap. I haven't seen in Terryland for years.

oldyouth
19/03/2008, 12:48 PM
Roy Keane supports Cobh Ramblers, he makes it over 2 or 3 times a year to watch us.
Does he watch from the stand or from the corporate box with a prawn sandwich? Bloody casuals:D

WoodquayBoy
19/03/2008, 12:48 PM
You're not looking very hard, used to bring the daughter, now that the son is a bit older, he brings him

headtheball
19/03/2008, 2:43 PM
Dr Who....

http://www.bbc.co.uk/history/familyhistory/get_started/wdytya_celeb_gallery_05.shtml

Think he was only at one game, but is an honourary member of our exiles supporters club.:D

Woody
19/03/2008, 5:54 PM
How many games has he been at last year though?

Couldn't tell ya! But I doubt if he's been to any. I'm just going by that ever reliable information source Wikipedia.

Only1Rovers
19/03/2008, 8:55 PM
Eamon Sweeney author of the greatest sporting literary offering of all time
"There's only one Red Army", writes the back page of the examiner on Saturday's.

anyway he's a big Rovers fan, but lives in West Cork so dont know how many games he gets in.

19/03/2008, 9:04 PM
Eamon Sweeney author of the greatest sporting literary offering of all time
"There's only one Red Army", writes the back page of the examiner on Saturday's.

anyway he's a big Rovers fan, but lives in West Cork so dont know how many games he gets in.

West Cork? seriously? Does he go to City games i wonder?