View Full Version : Euro 2008
Pike B
17/03/2008, 12:39 PM
Any predictions for the tournament lads? Anyone fancy themselves as an expert?
Pike B
17/03/2008, 12:44 PM
Group A: Czech, Portugal, Swiss, Turkey
Group B: Austria, Croatia, Germany, Poland
Group C: France, Italy, Holland, Romania
Group D: Greece, Russia, Spain, Sweden.
Pike B
17/03/2008, 12:46 PM
Also I realise I should have created this outside the Junior football section lads, so no need to point that out. All are welcome to give their shout..
booster 03
17/03/2008, 12:50 PM
germany willl **** the tournament.. only thing we'r missing is the english newspapers tellin us how they are going to win the tournament!!!!
Pike B
17/03/2008, 12:53 PM
germany willl **** the tournament.. only thing we'r missing is the english newspapers tellin us how they are going to win the tournament!!!!
Safe to say the English won't be missed, well their press at least. A few of their players will be, Gerrard and Rooney, most of all.
fancy the germans myself,czechs will be sticky,u never know with the dutch,too much infighting and too many ego's.....spain to finally perform at a major tournament?
Raśl Madrid
17/03/2008, 1:48 PM
Any predictions for the tournament lads?
Well, if Spain can afford to leave ME out, they must have great strength in depth ...
starbar
17/03/2008, 1:53 PM
italy to win it,right handy
3 Heroes
17/03/2008, 1:55 PM
Well, if Spain can afford to leave ME out, they must have great strength in depth ...
We all know you're REALLY a left back;)
Pike B
17/03/2008, 2:03 PM
Ha ha ha... Excellent!
Pike B
17/03/2008, 2:10 PM
My own thoughts are: Group 1 Portugal, Swiss,. Group 2 Germany Croatia, Group 3 France Holl, Group 4 Spain Greece.
That would see quarters of:
Portugal - Croatia, Germany-Swiss, France-Greece, Spain-Holl.
Semi-Finals of :
Portugal-Germany, France-Holl.
Final: Germany 2-1 France.
Pike B
17/03/2008, 2:11 PM
Stay tuned as I am going to put the fixtures down as they will happen and allow people to predict the entire tournament.... Going to be a good one.
starbar
17/03/2008, 2:15 PM
u forgot italy
Pike B
17/03/2008, 2:25 PM
Group A: Swiss - Czech/ Portugal - Turkey/Czech - Portugal/ Swiss - Turkey/ Swiss - Portugal/ Turkey - Czech.
Group B: Austria - Croatia/ Germany - Poland/ Croatia - Germany/ Poland - Austria/
Poland - Croatia/ Austria - Germany.
Group C: Romania - France/ Holl - Italy/ Italy - Romania/ Holl - France/
Holl - Romania /France - Italy.
Group D: Spain - Russia/ Greece - Sweden/Sweden - Spain/ Greece - Russia/
Greece - Spain/ Russia - Sweden.
Just fill in your scores lads... Will be intresting to see who are the real experts!!!
Pike B
17/03/2008, 2:28 PM
u forgot italy
I reckon they will fall at group stage. France and Holl to get out of that group..
Gerry the ferry
17/03/2008, 3:07 PM
I fancy Portugal,Ronaldo is the best player in the world IMO and i dont think there will be any defenders at the tournament that will be able to stop him
kingofkillteely
17/03/2008, 7:33 PM
Watch out for the swiss.... Home advantage will help.
Pike B
18/03/2008, 4:15 PM
Watch out for the swiss.... Home advantage will help.
Swiss will do well and get out of group I think, but limited after that, and a Germany quarter will see them out.
Pike B
18/03/2008, 4:16 PM
I fancy Portugal,Ronaldo is the best player in the world IMO and i dont think there will be any defenders at the tournament that will be able to stop him
Ya, Ronaldo will be top man at tournament I think. Will drag Portugal to Semi...
abbeyvale
18/03/2008, 7:52 PM
Ya, Ronaldo will be top man at tournament I think. Will drag Portugal to Semi...
Spain or Holland to win the tournament.
Pike B
18/03/2008, 10:13 PM
The two great underachievers!!! Anybody else fancy them lads???
Pike B
18/03/2008, 10:16 PM
Group A: Swiss 1-1 Czech/ Portugal 2-1 Turkey/Czech 2-2 Portugal/ Swiss 1-0 Turkey/ Swiss 0-0 Portugal/ Turkey 1-1 Czech.
Group B: Austria 1-2 Croatia/ Germany 3-1 Poland/ Croatia 1-1 Germany/ Poland 1-1 Austria/
Poland 1-1 Croatia/ Austria 0-2 Germany.
Group C: Romania 1-2 France/ Holl 1-1 Italy/ Italy 1-0 Romania/ Holl 0-0 France/
Holl 3-0 Romania /France 1-0 Italy.
Group D: Spain 2-1 Russia/ Greece 1-1 Sweden/Sweden 1-2 Spain/ Greece 1-0 Russia/
Greece 0-1 Spain/ Russia 2-2 Sweden.
abbeyvale
19/03/2008, 8:10 AM
The two great underachievers!!! Anybody else fancy them lads???
Under achievers they may be, but I just think they have too many quality players that are actually doing the business on a regular basis with their clubs this season.
For example:
Spain.....Cassilas, Ramos, Fabregas, Xavi, Iniesta, Torres, Villa, etc;
Holland....Van Der Sar, Seedorf, Robben, Snjeider, Van Der Vaart, Babel, Van Nistelrooy, Huntelaar.....etc;
Pike B
19/03/2008, 3:01 PM
Under achievers they may be, but I just think they have too many quality players that are actually doing the business on a regular basis with their clubs this season.
For example:
Spain.....Cassilas, Ramos, Fabregas, Xavi, Iniesta, Torres, Villa, etc;
Holland....Van Der Sar, Seedorf, Robben, Snjeider, Van Der Vaart, Babel, Van Nistelrooy, Huntelaar.....etc;
Too true. As a team unit though, I've got to talk up ze Germans.. I fancy them all the way. Plus it's being held on their doorstep in Aus/ Swiss.
You seem to like sticking your nose in,are pike B in Euro 2008 :eek: :D
Pike B
19/03/2008, 3:54 PM
You seem to like sticking your nose in,are pike B in Euro 2008 :eek: :D
;) Very good. I give you that one my Clare chum.
i reckon spain could be dark horses but i'd still tip the germans
Pike B
20/03/2008, 7:09 PM
i reckon spain could be dark horses but i'd still tip the germans
Ya, a lot of intrest in Spain. I'd imagine them to be a very good price in bookies. Maybe 10/1 or so. Worth a punt..
Gerry the ferry
21/03/2008, 11:31 AM
Ya, a lot of intrest in Spain. I'd imagine them to be a very good price in bookies. Maybe 10/1 or so. Worth a punt..
Spain remind me of Wembley FC
They look good on paper but they never deliver
There a shower of bottlers with no backbone:D:D:D
Pike B
21/03/2008, 3:32 PM
Spain remind me of Wembley FC
They look good on paper but they never deliver
There a shower of bottlers with no backbone:D:D:D
Oh dear... Your gonna get complaints my man!!
hoops12
22/03/2008, 4:31 AM
i think both these are due good tournaments
Pike B
25/03/2008, 7:16 AM
A lot of love for Dutch and Spain. What about the French? Are they still a threat? Not the same without the great Zizou I think..
Pike B
25/03/2008, 1:30 PM
Maybe a tad early for this thread lads, but it's open for when the action starts in June. All opinions welcome..
hoops12
29/03/2008, 2:35 AM
i fancy the dutch big time and i think that guy huntelaar will be a star,someone should buy him before it starts
oscar
29/03/2008, 10:23 AM
you can't doubt the ability of the Dutch,it's there for all to see,but i reckon it's how they'll gel as a squad not as a team.alot of big names there,u can only start with 11 and it's the lads who don't make the first team,or their ego's i should say which could determine their tournament..i know the same can be said about other countries but the Dutch are famous for infighting and sniping in major tournaments............for sure:D
Pike B
31/03/2008, 4:23 PM
i fancy the dutch big time and i think that guy huntelaar will be a star,someone should buy him before it starts
I agree. His record for Ajax is almost a goal a game. He really is a great prospect. Van Basten's attributes and Van Nistelrooys finishing. Go get him Rafa!!!!!
abbeyvale
31/03/2008, 6:48 PM
I agree. His record for Ajax is almost a goal a game. He really is a great prospect. Van Basten's attributes and Van Nistelrooys finishing. Go get him Rafa!!!!!
ha ha, ye said the same about super dirk kyut, and look how many goals hes scored for ye.
however, huntelaaer is a far better goalscorer than kuyt, but then again morientes, cisse, and a few others were decent strikers too, until they went to anfield.
Pike B
31/03/2008, 6:51 PM
ha ha, ye said the same about super dirk kyut, and look how many goals hes scored for ye.
however, huntelaaer is a far better goalscorer than kuyt, but then again morientes, cisse, and a few others were decent strikers too, until they went to anfield.
Mistakes have been made. I'll admit that, but this guy would be the perfect foil for Fernando.. United have had a few flops too, Jordi Cruyff, Kleberson, Djemba Djemba, even Alex Ferguson can get it wrong.... ;)
abbeyvale
31/03/2008, 6:58 PM
Mistakes have been made. I'll admit that, but this guy would be the perfect foil for Fernando.. United have had a few flops too, Jordi Cruyff, Kleberson, Djemba Djemba, even Alex Ferguson can get it wrong.... ;)
Agreed, but Rafa really takes the biscuit when it comes to buying flops, lets face it, without Carragher, Mascherano, Gerrard & Torres, Liverpool are crap, and even you cant deny that.:p
Pike B
31/03/2008, 8:05 PM
Agreed, but Rafa really takes the biscuit when it comes to buying flops, lets face it, without Carragher, Mascherano, Gerrard & Torres, Liverpool are crap, and even you cant deny that.:p
I'd rate Agger, Reina, Finnan, Benayoun, aswell. We need at least 5 signings in the Summer. But it's been that way for a long time. A lot of players just don't seem to settle. I also think Babbel can become a vital player. He has everything, but needs confidence. What odds he has a blinder for Holland in the Summer...
abbeyvale
01/04/2008, 7:42 AM
I'd rate Agger, Reina, Finnan, Benayoun, aswell. We need at least 5 signings in the Summer. But it's been that way for a long time. A lot of players just don't seem to settle. I also think Babbel can become a vital player. He has everything, but needs confidence. What odds he has a blinder for Holland in the Summer...
Babel, I agree with, the other 4 above are all average players, and in my honest opinion, they are not good enough to play for Liverpool.
Reina knows he has no oppostion for the No.1 jersey, and ye could do alot worse than bringing back Carson (if not for first choice, it would at least keep Reina on his toes).
Carragher at right back is a waste, he is a good solid consistant performer at centre back.
Just look at it this way (and be honest now), how many of the Liverpool squad would get in the United FIRST 11. Thats how I think you judge exactly how many players you need (always compare against the best).
Would these get in the Utd first 11.????
Reina............No
Carragher......Maybe
Babel............No (not yet anyway)
Mascherano...Maybe
Gerrard.........Yes
Torres..........Yes
Thats my honest view anyway, for what its worth.
Dirk Diggler
01/04/2008, 9:37 AM
money's on portugal
Pike B
01/04/2008, 8:07 PM
Back to the topic anyway, My eleven to watch for the tournament are
1:Casillas 2:Miguel 3:Lahm 4:Chivu 5:Cannavaro 6:Krancjar 7:Smolarek 8:Nasri 9:Torres 10:Podolski 11:Ronaldo.
I think Casillas, Miguel, Lahm, Ronaldo, Smolarek, Torres and Podolski, are players in great form who should make their reputations even bigger in this tournament. Chivu is a superb footballing centre half who is going to be busy in the group of death but I fancy he'll excell. Cannavaro is one to watch as he was player of the year after World cup but is now beginning to maybe get a bit of stick for club form. Intresting to see his reaction for the Azzuri.
Then there's Nasri. Heir to Zizous throne, and potentially the best young French player in a decade. If he starts he could be magic....
Krancjar I just like personally. He's a gifted technical footballer, two footed and can be way better than the player we are seeing at Pompey, so I would watch for him also..
Player of the tournament?? For me, Podolski.
abbeyvale
02/04/2008, 7:31 AM
Back to the topic anyway, My eleven to watch for the tournament are
1:Casillas 2:Miguel 3:Lahm 4:Chivu 5:Cannavaro 6:Krancjar 7:Smolarek 8:Nasri 9:Torres 10:Podolski 11:Ronaldo.
I think Casillas, Miguel, Lahm, Ronaldo, Smolarek, Torres and Podolski, are players in great form who should make their reputations even bigger in this tournament. Chivu is a superb footballing centre half who is going to be busy in the group of death but I fancy he'll excell. Cannavaro is one to watch as he was player of the year after World cup but is now beginning to maybe get a bit of stick for club form. Intresting to see his reaction for the Azzuri.
Then there's Nasri. Heir to Zizous throne, and potentially the best young French player in a decade. If he starts he could be magic....
Krancjar I just like personally. He's a gifted technical footballer, two footed and can be way better than the player we are seeing at Pompey, so I would watch for him also..
Player of the tournament?? For me, Podolski.
Change the subject why dont you!!!!
I agree though with Krancjar, I always liked him and is a class act, very rarely gives the ball away and always does the simple thing first,
Podolski, I'm not too sure about, I dont think he'll even start for the Germans this summer, maybe more of a super sub me thinks.
After all they do have Kuranyi, Gomes, Klose etc all playing very well at club level, and I dont think Podolski even gets a regular start for Bayern, does he?
summervilleman
02/04/2008, 8:04 AM
I agree though with Krancjar, I always liked him and is a class act, very rarely gives the ball away and always does the simple thing first,
Podolski, I'm not too sure about, I dont think he'll even start for the Germans this summer, maybe more of a super sub me thinks.
After all they do have Kuranyi, Gomes, Klose etc all playing very well at club level, and I dont think Podolski even gets a regular start for Bayern, does he?
this is SPAINS year....it has to be!!!!
Pike B
03/04/2008, 11:09 PM
All the more reason for him to prove them all wrong. I think he will start up front with Klose. Kuranyi only on the bench. Since I think the Germans are going to win it, I picked a player who needs a good tournament, and Podolski does. With Klose in the last World Cup , he looked like a back up to Klose's main man. I think it'll be the other way around this time. I backed Klose for top scorer in that tournament and won. He was 25/1!! My moneys on Lukas Podolski this time for the golden boot..
As for Krancjar, it's good to see I'm not the only one to recognise his talent. Could watch him play ball all day. Superb technical ability. Reminds of Zidane when he moves with the ball at his feet, tall elegant always in control. Super player, possible future great. Remember, Zizou didn't shine until he was gone 25.. Krancjar is around that now..
Pike B
03/04/2008, 11:11 PM
this is SPAINS year....it has to be!!!!
Ha ha it's always Spain's year!!! But if they click, maybe just maybe..
Poloman
07/04/2008, 10:24 AM
Group A: Portugal
Group B: Germany
Group C: Italy
Group D: Spain (Yes i am predicting spain to actually win a group!
Germany will be hard to beat. I reckon it will be Italy losing to them in the final. Best outsider chance: Holland.
Pike B
07/04/2008, 10:41 AM
Group A: Portugal
Group B: Germany
Group C: Italy
Group D: Spain (Yes i am predicting spain to actually win a group!
Germany will be hard to beat. I reckon it will be Italy losing to them in the final. Best outsider chance: Holland.
A lot of faith in the Italians there. I am not sure about them this time. I think their best players are past their best and the younger players are not up to scratch. I think the French and Dutch may prove too much for them in that group.
hoops12
08/04/2008, 12:08 AM
do,nt forget veron,forlan,taibi,liam miller,