View Full Version : Well done to the Rebel Army

08/07/2003, 2:39 AM
I'd just like to say a big well done to everyone that travelled to tonights game. It was great to see so many City fans at it, I would estimate we had about 150 people there which is fantastic for a Monday night.
We outsang Pats for the whole game, they only managed about 3 chants. The 30 minute long 'Pat Dolan's Rebel Army' chant was class, even though it was very tiring!
We had 4 big flags plus all the banners while they only had 3 small flags, a red army banner and pathetic banner having a go at Dolan.
It is nice to see that the size of our travelling support is increasing and we are bringing plenty of noise and colour to our away games.
Roll on Waaaaaaaaaterford!

hayser
08/07/2003, 2:41 AM

08/07/2003, 2:44 AM
Originally posted by hayser

What the fcuk is that supposed to mean?

Our support tonight was fantastic, yours was a joke. Simple as that, anyone who says otherwise is a liar.

Eric
08/07/2003, 4:57 AM
Great to see so many at the away games and especially to see them all joining in the singing. Not only does this create a good atmosphere at the games it also gives a huge boost to the players so long may it continue.....

However one thing I did notice got on my nerves...... As some of you may know, a certain silver haired gimp and myself don't really like each other. He spouts on about getting more support etc blah blah blah Not once tonight did I notice the gimp singing!!!!!!!!!!!! And I'll point it out to him next time I see him:D

So long may the travelling rebel army continue and grow in size

08/07/2003, 8:20 AM
150 me arse, we couldn't hear ou at all (a little of rebel army actually) and it was out U21 team and we've been telling you for weeks, we weren't bringing flags (we brought a couple as after the game we tried a few thoings out for Friday)

So as hayser said :rolleyes:

08/07/2003, 9:23 AM
It really bugs you Dodge, when the fact that ye are a small group of fans, with a poorish following is pointed out to you, doesn't it?
Well, remember that the truth always hurts......:D

cue list of flags, banners and time it takes to put up display.... :rolleyes:

08/07/2003, 9:36 AM
Nah what bugs me is idiots posting about Pats....

We are a small, but perfectly formed club with the best attendances in Dublin with a nice little, improving team backed by loyal, passionate supporters in a soon to be superb stadium.

If this is hurting, I'm a masochist

08/07/2003, 9:44 AM
Originally posted by Dodge
Nah what bugs me is idiots posting about Pats....

Oh the irony of it all...:D
Of course, those idiots cannot compare with the Pats assh*les posting on the City forum

We are a small, but perfectly formed club with the best attendances in Dublin with a nice little, improving team backed by loyal, passionate supporters in a soon to be superb stadium.

Ah, so your real name is Walter Mitty!:p

08/07/2003, 9:52 AM
We are a small, but perfectly formed club with the best attendances in Dublin with a nice little, improving team backed by loyal, passionate supporters...

Agree with all that.

Yes youse had a bigger crowd than any other dublin club would have had for the same fixture but ye were much quieter than usual & really only mad any noise in extra time.

Even against an under strength Pats team City did well as youse are unbeaten at home i think. By the time Doyle was taken off in the first half city were missing 3 first choice midfielders so not totally our strongest first XI.

hayser
08/07/2003, 10:02 AM
Originally posted by pete
Agree with all that.

Yes youse had a bigger crowd than any other dublin club would have had for the same fixture but ye were much quieter than usual & really only mad any noise in extra time.

Even against an under strength Pats team City did well as youse are unbeaten at home i think. By the time Doyle was taken off in the first half city were missing 3 first choice midfielders so not totally our strongest first XI.

tut tut trying to make excuses, yeah` we are unbeaten at home btw
loved the saudi arabia flag by the way:rolleyes:

08/07/2003, 10:14 AM
thought cork fans generally have been very vocal away from home this season and yes they were good in support of their team last nite in normal time but saying things like " out done them on the flags" etc is just nonsense stuff designed to wind up (at least I hope it is)

08/07/2003, 11:23 AM
Originally posted by wws
saying things like " out done them on the flags" etc is just nonsense stuff designed to wind up (at least I hope it is)

Of course it is wws... of course it is :rolleyes:

hayser
08/07/2003, 11:26 AM
Squiggles everywhere oh oh oh oh squiggles everywhere

08/07/2003, 11:53 AM
Squiggles for Ireland!

who needs John O Flynn when we have

08/07/2003, 12:41 PM
Originally posted by wws
saying things like " out done them on the flags" etc is just nonsense stuff designed to wind up (at least I hope it is)

eh no it's not "designed to wind up" actually, we're merely stating the way it was last night.

08/07/2003, 1:23 PM
and how does 2 crappy flags out do the mighty pats flags?
ure avin a larf

08/07/2003, 1:28 PM
Originally posted by wws
and how does 2 crappy flags out do the mighty pats flags?

I know you're a jackeen but I still thought that you may be able to count.
We had 4 very big flags. Ye only had a few small crappy ones!

08/07/2003, 1:32 PM
how big?

they were not very big

08/07/2003, 1:43 PM
Everybody has flags.... Waterford, Drogheda, Galway etc all have flags, its the other stuff that separates the likes of us and Rovers from the rest of you. 4 flags does not make "a display "as claimed elsewhere. Come to a Pats Rovers game and you'll see more flags, banners and other "display" materials than you could imagine. (I'll repeat that we brought very little to last nioght's low priority game...)

I'd take our Red Army banners over any amount of waveys... you obviously think your flags are great and fair play to you...

08/07/2003, 1:49 PM
*YAWN*

Tell us again Uncle Dodge....

Just how great are the Saint Patirck Athlethic Shed End Invisibles ...................

:o :o :o

08/07/2003, 1:52 PM
better than cork fans

The Good Son
08/07/2003, 2:44 PM
What age are the people posting on both sides of this thread? Please tell me ye're under ten because that's the way it seems reading through it.

08/07/2003, 3:00 PM
ever heard of irony?

you have to be at least 13 to get these gags!

fella
08/07/2003, 3:26 PM
Lads I think we're gone way off the topic here which was to congratulate all who travelled and helped make the away support so vocal and colourful. Despite the result I really enjoyed last night ....great club with great support we just need to get a few small (ish) things sorted on the pitch and we really will be flying.

Have talked to several Pats fans since the game and they all commented on the noise & colour of the away fans so I'm not sure what part of the "huge stadium" the l@nger who couldn't hear us was in.

08/07/2003, 5:50 PM
Originally posted by wws
they were not very big

Thats just cos you were far away.

08/07/2003, 7:41 PM
We are a small, but perfectly formed club with the best attendances in Dublin with a nice little, improving team backed by loyal, passionate supporters
Couldn't agree more. As i've said countless times, Pats fans are by far the nicest of the dublin clubs, the only ones I'd go for a pint with after the game. But in fairness lads, ye were outsung for most of the game. We mightn' have been that loud, but we were louder than anything you lot had. Now can we stop the silly squabbling please :rolleyes:

08/07/2003, 8:03 PM
Originally posted by Éanna
As i've said countless times, Pats fans are by far the nicest of the dublin clubs, the only ones I'd go for a pint with after the game.

I would have agreed with you not so long ago. However, since we got Dolan they have shown their true colours and are now, in my mind, as bad as the rest of the jackeens (not quite as bad as Rovers obviously!).
Also, their claims that they are the best fans in Ireland, when clearly the are far from it, show them up as nothing but a bunch of *******s.
Finally, if all Pats fans are as ignorant and stupid as WWS then they are the last people I'd want to go for a pint with.

09/07/2003, 8:06 AM
Couldn't agree more. As i've said countless times, Pats fans are by far the nicest of the dublin clubs, the only ones I'd go for a pint with after the game. But in fairness lads, ye were outsung for most of the game. We mightn' have been that loud, but we were louder than anything you lot had. Now can we stop the silly squabbling please :rolleyes:
No-one ever said you didn't make more noise

09/07/2003, 6:09 PM
No-one ever said you didn't make more noise

Now can we stop the silly squabbling please :rolleyes: