Athlone Town vs. Finn Harps
Derry City vs. Liffeys Pearse
Sporting Fingal vs. Cobh Ramblers
Bohemians vs. Drogheda Town
Shamrock Rovers vs. Sligo Rovers
St Mary's vs. Wayside Celtic
So close to getting Shamrock Rovers at Dalymount :D
Douglas Hall v Drogheda Utd
Should be a few City fans supporting Hall this night. I'd say they'll move it to the cross like they did the Limerick game last year
rte could have warned the lads not to be roaring on live television
Boo_Boy
12/05/2008, 7:35 PM
oh no, Roddy says he fancys Sligo Rovers to win the FAI Cup:(
Exactly what I thought. Cursed from the start.
Annoyed that they didn't have Tardelli and Trappatoni call out the names. An attempt at Cobh or Drogheda would've been interesting.
Maroon 7
rte could have warned the lads not to be roaring on live television
Sounded like a few jars had been taken.:D
an_ceannaire
12/05/2008, 7:37 PM
does anyone else find the Wooping and roaring at the draw embarassing and really really unprofessional. Is it any wonder the league gets a name of being a "joke" etc
Christ its cringeworthy
gufc4life
12/05/2008, 7:39 PM
does anyone else find the Wooping and roaring at the draw embarassing and really really unprofessional. Is it any wonder the league gets a name of being a "joke" etc
Christ its cringeworthy
that was the none league teams doing all the shouting
ya hall will be well up for this after there fai intermediate final appearrance on sunday. They ll definately give a good account of themselves anyway. There a good footballing side
12/05/2008, 7:40 PM
The idiotic whooping and hollering was coming from juniorballers. :rolleyes:
Shouldn't be invited into polite company to mix with serious football people.
an_ceannaire
12/05/2008, 7:41 PM
i am well aware of that Gufc but try telling that to the naked eye of the casual watcher who tuned in to see Trap. Its the same every year, could they not be more professional about it. Just makes it all seem so bloody amateur. The GAA are an amateur organisation but you dont see this lark at their draws
ya rte should have told the lads not to be roaring. Bit late now though
an_ceannaire
12/05/2008, 7:43 PM
great draw for Limerick football, shoul draw a big crowd and reignite an old rivalry. Could be fun ;)
12/05/2008, 7:46 PM
Don't worry. If they're anything like St. Mochta's, they'll be getting a right hammering.
Stop bitching ffs. Its all part of the draw, big draw for junior teams. Trap and Tardelli seemed to enjoy it
12/05/2008, 8:27 PM
Will one of the games be on TV does anyone know?
HarpoJoyce
12/05/2008, 8:29 PM
If you promise to bring about 500 supporters:D
No offence meant but really need one of the historic premier teams. I am trying to promote the club locally with free tickets and stuff but if we got one of the big clubs it would make my 10 minute pieces on the radio a lot easier to hype up.
No offence taken, I hope you found what you were looking for. And good luck with promoting the game.
The ties seem to be balanced enough but with one all-Premier Division tie I feel there will be 11 Premier Div. sides in the next round.
Which county are Carrick Utd. from? I thought they were Wexford, but in the last week I also heard Waterford.
Don;t TG4 normally show a game per round ? Battle of the SRFC's I'd guess would be the choice if there is a live match.
12/05/2008, 8:31 PM
was that terry eviston drogheda town mgr dancin a jig of joy around his seat??:D:D
fergalr
12/05/2008, 8:32 PM
Interesting to contrast the quote with the avatar.
Youths4Ever
12/05/2008, 8:33 PM
Which county are Carrick Utd. from? I thought they were Wexford, but in the last week I also heard Waterford.
Then are a team from Carrick on Suir Waterford as far as I know
12/05/2008, 8:35 PM
Carrick on Suir, Co. Tipp as far as I know.
Difficult draw for the Youths, Killester one of the strongest non-league sides and won't be a big crowd draw.
12/05/2008, 8:35 PM
Don;t TG4 normally show a game per round ? Battle of the SRFC's I'd guess would be the choice if there is a live match.
I'd assume that would be the match but if it was TG4 then maybe they would go for Galway vs. Waterford. It'd probably be a more interesting match with the potential for an upset.
12/05/2008, 8:36 PM
Difficult draw for the Youths, Killester one of the strongest non-league sides and won't be a big crowd draw.
Get through it though and you could get the big crowd draw in the next round. :)
EAFC_rdfl
12/05/2008, 8:37 PM
well, ya got the big prem division side battery rover!!!! gonna hav some fun in work with this one!!what about fanad to upset kildare?? playin summer ball now, gave longford a bit of a game last year, and that was them out of season
Interesting to contrast the quote with the avatar.
Indeed :D
forza rovers
12/05/2008, 8:44 PM
shams-rovers this will be a good game.
blobbyblob
12/05/2008, 8:45 PM
Waterford
el punter
12/05/2008, 9:21 PM
Christ its cringeworthy
I thought it was great. Cup draws are usually soulless and very awkward stilted affairs. Thought it was great to have a bit of cheering and atmosphere.
Go watch an oboe recital Mr Stuffy
Demoshield
12/05/2008, 9:23 PM
Waterford
Oh no it's not. County Tipperary
"Carrick-on-Suir is located on the National Road 24 (N24), the route which runs from Rosslare Ferry Port to Limerick on the west coast. The town itself is in Ireland's largest inland county, namely Tipperary. Although the majority of the town is in Co. Tipperary, some of the town resides in neighbouring Co. Waterford, an issue which can lead to some highly charged debate among locals!."
http://www.carrickonsuir.ie
HarpoJoyce
12/05/2008, 9:34 PM
Which county are carrick Utd. from?
Then are a team from Carrick on Suir Waterford as far as I know
Waterford
Oh no it's not. County Tipperary
"Carrick-on-Suir is located on the National Road 24 (N24), the route which runs from Rosslare Ferry Port to Limerick on the west coast. The town itself is in Ireland's largest inland county, namely Tipperary. Although the majority of the town is in Co. Tipperary, some of the town resides in neighbouring Co. Waterford, an issue which can lead to some highly charged debate among locals!."
http://www.carrickonsuir.ie
No problem......thanks for your help. I'll...I'll Google it myself thanks.
bawn79
12/05/2008, 9:47 PM
No problem......thanks for your help. I'll...I'll Google it myself thanks.
The town is in Tipperary, or most of it anyway but this particular team plays in the Waterford league.
In unrelated GAA titbit, they seemingly are the only town in Ireland that has two Senior hurling teams. One in Tipp and One in Waterford.
12/05/2008, 10:05 PM
They are in the cup, why wouldn't they be invited ... jebus wept, in all fairness.
i am well aware of that Gufc but try telling that to the naked eye of the casual watcher who tuned in to see Trap. Its the same every year, could they not be more professional about it. Just makes it all seem so bloody amateur. The GAA are an amateur organisation but you dont see this lark at their draws
Its our game not the casual viewer or the gaa. They can dance on the table for all i care. God forbid people express an interest in the competition and show a bit of character :(
ya rte should have told the lads not to be roaring. Bit late now though
I think they know that atmosphere and a crowd with an actual pulse makes for better tv viewing, not a bunch of deck chairs just sitting there. Its in their interests to make it better and they know it.
Stop bitching ffs. Its all part of the draw, big draw for junior teams. Trap and Tardelli seemed to enjoy it
Exactly, they might even realise that people care for the game here. A bit of personality from people who are completely immersed in the game on the island. Like the two lads would have really wanted a completely clinical, devoid of emotion, soulless atmosphere, get a grip people.
I thought it was great. Cup draws are usually soulless and very awkward stilted affairs. Thought it was great to have a bit of cheering and atmosphere.
Go watch an oboe recital Mr Stuffy
Exactly ..... Its the one time in the football calendar where junior, intermediate and senior football cross swords and people are giving out about cheers .... come off the sodding stage will ye for the love of god :mad:
12/05/2008, 10:11 PM
I dunno if Tony O'Donoghue was reading from notes on each club but mentioning the clubs previous wins and involvement in the competition over the years was great. Mentioning managers and the various rivalries was great stuff, fair play to him.
12/05/2008, 10:22 PM
I enjoyed the draw. Contrast it to the bureaucratic snooze fest that is the earlier rounds of the Champions League and UEFA Cup. I enjoyed the way Trap got drawn into the craic. This was undiscovered country for the two gentlemen and they seemed a bit nervy, at least the raucausness seemed to break the ice.
Greenforever
12/05/2008, 10:23 PM
I agree cheering etc should be banned, ffs next thing they'll be going to a match and singing :rolleyes:
12/05/2008, 10:25 PM
I enjoyed the way Trap got drawn into the craic. This was undiscovered country for the two gentlemen and they seemed a bit nervy, at least the raucausness seemed to break the ice.
Exactly. I thought it was great to see such a fuss made of the Cup draw. Third Round day os one of the biggest in the footballing calendar and it was nice to see some of the magic in it tonight.
pól-dcfc
12/05/2008, 10:27 PM
Would love to see the Dundalk Shels on telly.
Think it's the most exciting tie in the round, with SRFC v Rovers next.
Blueandproud
12/05/2008, 10:37 PM
Thinking of making the trip up to Galway for our cup game. I have to say I am really looking forward to the cup this year. I'd love a repeat of our 2004 F.A.I. Cup run that saw us reach the final, but obviously without the Cup - Final defeat especially in the manner in which it happened.
Bring It On.
COME ON THE BLUES !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! !!!!!!!!
el punter
12/05/2008, 10:42 PM
Here's the odds, Stan James style
FAI Cup 2008 - OUTRIGHT
Drogheda Utd 4/1
Bohemians 9/2
Cork City 5/1
Derry City 11/2
St Patricks Athletic 11/2
Shamrock Rovers 10
Bray Wanderers 16
Sligo Rovers 16
UCD 25
Galway United 33
Sporting Fingal 50
Shelbourne 50
Cobh Ramblers 50
Waterford United 66
Dundalk 66
Finn Harps 100
Monaghan Utd 100
Wexford Youths 150
Kildare County 150
Longford Town 200
Limerick 37 200
Athlone Town 250
Everton (Cork) 500
St Marys 500
Carrick United 750
Wayside Celtic 750
Rockmount 750
Fanad United 750
Liffey Pearse 1000
Killester United 1000
Drogheda Town 1000
Douglas Hall 2000
FAI Cup 2008 Special
Where will the winner come from?
Any other county 4/5
A Dublin Club 13/8
A Cork Club 9/2
12/05/2008, 10:56 PM
Here's the odds, Stan James style
FAI Cup 2008 - OUTRIGHT
Cobh Ramblers 50
They are great odds for Ramblers. A tenner there wouldn't go astray i'd say.
12/05/2008, 11:09 PM
They are great odds for Ramblers. A tenner there wouldn't go astray i'd say.Wouldn't surprise me to see Fingal knock them out tbh.
12/05/2008, 11:12 PM
Wouldn't surprise me to see Fingal knock them out tbh.
Same here- Cobh seem to be poor away from home.
Clifford
13/05/2008, 9:41 AM
750-1 on Rockmount? Happy days seeing as we're through to the 3rd round already with the home draw we got! :D
JC_GUFC
13/05/2008, 10:33 AM
I dunno if Tony O'Donoghue was reading from notes on each club but mentioning the clubs previous wins and involvement in the competition over the years was great. Mentioning managers and the various rivalries was great stuff, fair play to him.
He seemed to think that Rovers were the "cup specialists"
That gets funnier and funnier every year! 2 finals and no wins in the last 20 years.
With the Olympics on this year do you think the guys in the 100m will be glad that "Olympic Specialist" Carl Lewis didn't enter.
pól-dcfc
13/05/2008, 10:35 AM
He seemed to think that Rovers were the "cup specialists"
That gets funnier and funnier every year! 2 finals and no wins in the last 20 years.
With the Olympics on this year do you think the guys in the 100m will be glad that "Olympic Specialist" Carl Lewis didn't enter.
:D:D
Fair play to the MNS team though. Enjoy hearing people talk about the league who are passionate and know their stuff, rather than some bloody rent a voice harping on about something he knows arse all about.
seanog2001
13/05/2008, 10:40 AM
well, ya got the big prem division side battery rover!!!! gonna hav some fun in work with this one!!what about fanad to upset kildare?? playin summer ball now, gave longford a bit of a game last year, and that was them out of season
not a bad draw for the town home tie will hopefully attract a crowd we have a good record against the boys from donegal i can see us winning this one 2-1 with a home draw against fanad in the next round :D:D:D
monutdfc
13/05/2008, 11:40 AM
He's still trying to live down the time Shelbourne (iirc) were drawn against Fairview and he said it was a local derby!
13/05/2008, 11:56 AM
He's still trying to live down the time Shelbourne (iirc) were drawn against Fairview and he said it was a local derby!
An easy mistake to make in fairness with the more commonly known Fairview in the country being in North Dublin.
el punter
13/05/2008, 12:01 PM
An easy mistake to make in fairness with the more commonly known Fairview in the country being in North Dublin.
Come on, that's a big blunder for a football journo with the national broadcaster
Not one I'd hold against him for eternity, but certainly something he should be mortified about.