View Full Version : Least favourite sports commentators
11/03/2008, 10:06 AM
I am not talking pundits here.
Rhyl Nugent with that D4 artificial accent. I turn over and watch the rugby on BBC even though the reception is worse. Sky's Alan Parry where any half decent move or pass is called "brilliant".
Torn-Ado
11/03/2008, 4:43 PM
Jim Sherwin, George Hamilton, Martin Tyler are all GBH for the ears.
KevB76
11/03/2008, 6:40 PM
Andy Gray :(
12/03/2008, 11:56 AM
Martin Tyler
Really? I think he's an excellent commentator. Or are you just talking about his voice?
I'll go with Ian Darke of Sky. Not bad on boxing, but in every premier league game, all he ever talks about is the number of "controversial talking points."
As for analysts, has anybody ever heard Pat Crerand on MUTV. I know that it's MUtv, and I expect it to be biased, but he is a joke. He's like that annoying fan that you find yourself next to at a game who just won't shut up. Thoroughly obnoxious.
Wangball
12/03/2008, 12:14 PM
Clive Tyldsley....man is a goon & a blatant ManUre fan, still cringe when I think about him referring to the Utd players by nickname...."Seba Veron to Giggsy"
Horrible
12/03/2008, 12:46 PM
George Hamilton. At EVERY sport. Particularly his inability to let one simple fact or event go, and not end up constantly mentioning said fact/event for the rest of the game (or race or whatver) in higher and higher tones.
Jimmy magee's voice is as dull as Leitrim but at least he knows his stuff.
Everybody connected with eurosport (bar their cycling crew, even with david Duffield in semi retirement) is terrible.
monutdfc
12/03/2008, 4:20 PM
Andy Gray :(
Agree 100%. Annoys the t*ts off me. They should simply get an ex-referee to do his job, all he ever comments on are refereeing and linesmen decisions. (Apart from when he "points out" the obvious that a blind man could see.)
12/03/2008, 4:33 PM
Clive Tyldsley....man is a goon & a blatant ManUre fan
Yes he is. I suspect even Man Utd fans find him annoying.
As a child, listening to Mícheál Ó Muircheartaigh on the radio would give me a headache. Every. Single. Goddamned. Time. My parents never believed me. How I hated long car journeys on weekends. I think it's a significant reason for me never really taking to the GAA.
12/03/2008, 4:45 PM
Bryan Hamilton, Felix Healy, Darragh Maloney, Trevor Welch, Ger Canning, Pat Dolan, Mark Lawrenson, Mark Bright.
kingdom hoop
12/03/2008, 5:37 PM
As a child, listening to Mícheál Ó Muircheartaigh on the radio would give me a headache. Every. Single. Goddamned. Time. My parents never believed me. How I hated long car journeys on weekends. I think it's a significant reason for me never really taking to the GAA.
When I sit in the back of a car I often find that I get a headache from the radio, or would unless I wail loud enough to have the bloody thing turned off. As a child, few things made me as cranky as a summer Sunday, sitting into a stuffy car, and the radio blaring with Micheál's not-so-dulcet tones. Fantastic commentator though! And on that topic:
david Duffield
What a hero! His very own tours of France were an absolute joy. Any commentator that stops you chasing Spanish students around the town had to have been special. :) I've missed the last few Tours though so don't understand the "semi-retirement" comment Dodge....is he just a presenter now or something? A shame if so.
Ok enough positive stuff. If we extend the thread to presenters, John Inverdale (BBC rugby) is a dick of the highest order, an extreme but fair representation of the English public school set. It's hard to think of anyone I'd rather punch in the head more. Less severe hatred is extended towards Ray "if that ball that hit off the post had been inside the post and crossed the line it would've been a goal" Houghton. Also, George Hamilton must be up there; thanks to his negativity he's easily cost Ireland 3 Olympic gold medals, a Six Nations, and qualification for two World Cups. To compound that, a lad I know used go out with his daughter and said he, ah, isn't a very nice man.
12/03/2008, 6:06 PM
For me it's a no brainer choice, the Norn Iron rugby commentator that Sky use for the Heiniken cup games with Munsssther and Leinsssssther.
monutdfc
12/03/2008, 6:18 PM
Well said KH - David Duffield = legend.
Commentates for hours whilst nothing is happening. One tour he had to do it from his hotel room for 3 days because he put petrol in his diesel hire car! Sean Kelly is very very good as well, which came as a surprise considering he was once described in his racing days as the only man who would nod on the radio.
12/03/2008, 6:26 PM
I am not talking pundits here.
Rhyl Nugent with that D4 artificial accent. I turn over and watch the rugby on BBC even though the reception is worse. Sky's Alan Parry where any half decent move or pass is called "brilliant".
Man i cant stand Rhyl Nugent. Ever notice he always gets the vid ref decisions wrong.
Ger Canning is another guy i have to have the sound down for.
And Andy gray never says anything interesting at all, only rants against refs
forza rovers
12/03/2008, 7:53 PM
george hook
I've missed the last few Tours though so don't understand the "semi-retirement" comment Dodge....is he just a presenter now or something? A shame if so.
Yeah he's mainly a presenter on eurosport this year. He looked exactly how I thought he'd be. he still does some of the other "cycle races" (as he calls them) but he's no longer their main commentator. An absolute hero of mine...
12/03/2008, 10:09 PM
Darragh Maloney hands down for me. Everything is unbelievable to him he is also anti Man Utd (not that I support them) in his commentary and anti Dublin also.
Alan Parry is terrible also and Martin Tyler is so biased towards Arsenal that they had to take him off the Arsenal games.
shedite
13/03/2008, 2:00 PM
Any commentators people actually like? Or is it the usual "I know more than him" thing we're goin for here?
13/03/2008, 2:16 PM
Any commentators people actually like? Or is it the usual "I know more than him" thing we're goin for here?
Well, the thread is about people's least favourite commentators. Also, see KH and monutdfc's comments on David Duffield.
Roadend
13/03/2008, 2:54 PM
John Motson - A pale shadow of the commentator he once was, he is now an embarassment to himself.
Darragh Maloney hands down for me. Everything is unbelievable to him he is also anti Man Utd (not that I support them) in his commentary and anti Dublin also.
Alan Parry is terrible also and Martin Tyler is so biased towards Arsenal that they had to take him off the Arsenal games.
Is he not from Dublin?
Marked Man
13/03/2008, 4:54 PM
Wasn't it George Hamilton who kept claiming that Dino and Roberto Baggio were brothers during US 94?
That alone ought to qualify him as the worst.
Even if he didn't insist on tempting fate ("Ireland on the verge of another famous victory here in Poznan") all the time.
14/03/2008, 8:27 AM
John Motson has lost the plot. He's always getting his players mixed up and he's starting to show his age.
Mark Bright = Just plain annoying.
Jamie Redknapp is absolutely shocking. It could be Barnsley vs Crewe and he'd find a way to say "My Dad Harry" and "My cousin Frank". I really can't stand him.
Trevor Welsh on TV3 is just a plank when it comes to football.
KevB76
14/03/2008, 4:54 PM
Any commentators people actually like?
I enjoy the commentary from the guy who does the K-1 on Eurosport.
I think his name is Will Vanders.
Rovers fan
14/03/2008, 6:05 PM
shane o'donoghue trying to comment on golf is painful,he doesn't have a clue.
14/03/2008, 10:20 PM
Speaking of golf. Peter Alliss is out there on his own as the best golf commentator in the world. Very funny man.
Rovers fan
15/03/2008, 12:25 AM
Speaking of golf. Peter Alliss is out there on his own as the best golf commentator in the world. Very funny man.
legend,his autobiography is very enjoyable
16/03/2008, 2:34 AM
Everybody connected with eurosport (bar their cycling crew, even with david Duffield in semi retirement) is terrible.
I quite like Mats Wilanders commentary on the tennis. I don't agree with everything that he says but if it's a good match you can really feel his enjoyment and if the match isn't so good he usually helps to keep things interesting with his conversations and comments, its just harder to change the channel if he's commentating.
Don't like .... Mark Lawrenson (in fact `don't like` is a bit kind).
17/03/2008, 1:48 PM
Claire Balding. That woman has a face for the radio. Tracey Piggott purely for her plummy accent. John McCririck and his mad hand waving. Does anyone take him seriously anymore?
17/03/2008, 3:28 PM
Claire Balding. That woman has a face for the radio. Tracey Piggott purely for her plummy accent. John McCririck and his mad hand waving. Does anyone take him seriously anymore?
Ah McCririck is class. He's grand when he's covering the horse racing but on any other show he's a pain.
20/03/2008, 4:36 PM
Jim Sherwin
He almost yawns when he's commentating. He'd never get a job in Sky who go for the exact opposite.
20/03/2008, 7:30 PM
The guy Kennedy who does the Formula One.
Torn-Ado
22/03/2008, 5:51 PM
Marty Morrissey must offically be the worst in a long line of bad commentators. Anyone dare disagree?
22/03/2008, 9:50 PM
Marty Morrissey must offically be the worst in a long line of bad commentators. Anyone dare disagree?
are you serious.:eek: marty is a legend
23/03/2008, 11:23 AM
Ugliest man in Ireland. Used to be a Maths teacher in my old school
George Hamilton on anything except football. If he is commentating on rugby I switch to alternative channel & it is surprising how many others do this too. He does not understand the game.
Bryan 'superb' Hamilton. Setanta Cup commentary has never been so bad. Everything is super in the land of Bryan.
Lou Macari on Setanta. I get he is a Celtic supporter but does he have to mention them even when they are not playing?
Worst pundit is Ray Houghton. Can talk at length on even the most trivial point for ages & then 30 minutes later do a complete u-turn.
24/03/2008, 10:17 AM
Whoever the commentator was for the Chelsea v Arsenal game yesterday has a really annoying habit of rolling his 'r's whenever possible.
inexile
24/03/2008, 2:13 PM
mark robson on the rugby for setanta and sky drives me bananas
25/03/2008, 3:16 PM
The guy Kennedy who does the Formula One.
:p.....
Footsoldier
27/03/2008, 4:51 PM
There's a radio commentator on RTE1 who drives me absolutely demented! He does the gaah matches and every time someone scores, he ALWAYS screams "The kick from (insert player's surname here) and a point for (insert player's team here)!" Jesus wept! I'm going to punch that man in the face :mad:
27/03/2008, 8:02 PM
:p.....
Took you a while to notice. Fair play
27/03/2008, 8:03 PM
There's a radio commentator on RTE1 who drives me absolutely demented! He does the gaah matches and every time someone scores, he ALWAYS screams "The kick from (insert player's surname here) and a point for (insert player's team here)!" Jesus wept! I'm going to punch that man in the face :mad:
Is it Brian Carthy
Jamjar
27/03/2008, 8:37 PM
Johnaton Pearse or whatever his name is, the guy who also does robot wars....very very annoying.
And why did this guy ever stop doing sports commenatary ?
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hzSQ3xgoh-w
Footsoldier
28/03/2008, 10:20 AM
Is it Brian Carthy
That's the one! :mad:
endabob1
28/03/2008, 10:31 AM
For pundits Will Greenwood is the worst, he spent the RWC semi-final between the Pumas & the Boks talking about England and poking cheap shots at Australia, the only time in my life I've been moved to write to a tv company to complain, I didn't get around to ever posting it mind!!
Alan Smith would be number 2, ex Arsenal always seems to be given Spurs games (invariably with Martin Tyler) and is so biased it winds me up.
Commentators
Martin Tyler showed his true colours when Spurs scored a winner in the last minute against West Ham last season, screeching "oh no" in to the mike, as unprofessional as you can get.
George Hamilton, I have say it's one thing about living in Ireland I don't miss.
Any Australian Sports commentators, they are the most biased you'll ever hear
28/03/2008, 10:43 AM
Michael Corcoran on RTE radio for rugby matches. "the referee has blown his whistle... and it's a penalty... the penalty is to Munster" :rolleyes:, takes him about 10 seconds to tell you who's got the penalty/try/scrum.
Rovers fan
28/03/2008, 11:14 AM
Michael Corcoran on RTE radio for rugby matches. "the referee has blown his whistle... and it's a penalty... the penalty is to Munster" :rolleyes:, takes him about 10 seconds to tell you who's got the penalty/try/scrum.
That is so true, the most frustrating thing ever. "The ball has gone over... its 3 points... 3 points to Ireland".
theworm2345
29/03/2008, 5:32 PM
Chicago Blackhawks (hockey) commentators Dan Kelly and Eddie Olczyk are absolute jokes, they are awful. I don't know how you can't like Hamilton, whenver I remember a big goal Ireland has scored I think of his call as well, to be fair I can't really judge him because I've watched only RTE's feed for Ireland matches 2 or 3 times
rebus2008
01/04/2008, 5:22 PM
Yes he is. I suspect even Man Utd fans find him annoying.
Good lord...how could you take a dislike to the great man? (though I can somewhat understand if you have no allegiance to either gaa code and also a young age, his non stop tempo and wayward ramblings could confuse the young)
I'm sure there's been numerous postings of these classics previously but they'd even warm the heart of the most ardent non-gaa man.
“And Brian Dooher is down injured. And while he is, I’ll tell ye a little story. I was in Times Square in New York last week, and I was missing the Championship back home. So I approached a newsstand and I said 'I suppose ye wouldn't have ‘The Kerryman would ye?' To which the Egyptian behind the counter turned to me and he said 'Do you want the North Kerry edition or the South Kerry edition?'... He had both... So I bought both. And Dooher is back on his feet..."
"Anthony Lynch the Cork corner back will be the last person to let you down - his people are undertakers"
"I saw a few Sligo people at Mass in Gardiner Street this morning and the omens seem to be good for them. The priest was wearing the same colours as the Sligo jersey! Forty yards out on the Hogan stand side of the field Ciarán Whelan goes on a rampage, its a goal. So much for religion."
Colin Corkery on the ‘45’ lets go with the right boot. It’s over the bar. This man shouldn't be playing football. He's made an almost Lazarus-like recovery from a heart condition. Lazarus was a great man but he couldn't kick points like Colin Corkery.
"1-5 to 0-8… Well, from Lapland to the Antarctic, that's level scores in any man's language".
"Pat Fox has it on his hurley and is motoring well now ... But here comes Joe Rabbitte hot on his tail ... I've seen it all now - a Rabbitte chasing a Fox around Croke Park!"
"I see John O Donnell dispensing water on the sideline. Tipperary, sponsored by a water company. Cork Sponsored by a tay company. I wonder will they meet later for afternoon tay."
"Teddy looks at the ball, the ball looks at Teddy"
"He grabs the sliothar, he's on the 50...... He's on the 40...... He's on the 30...... He's on the ground"
"In the first half they played with the wind. In the second half they played with the ball".
"He kicks the ball ard san aer. Could've been a goal. Could've been a point.... It went wide."
"Stephen Byrne with the puck out for Offaly... Stephen, one of twelve ... All but one are here to-day. The one that's missing is Mary. She's at home minding the house… And the ball is dropping i lár na páirce...."
"Pat Fox out to the forty and grabs the sliothar. I bought a dog from his father last week. Fox turns and sprints for goal. The dog ran a great race last Tuesday in Limerick. Fox to the 21 fires a shot, it goes to the left and wide… And the dog lost as well.”
"Sean Óg Ó hAilpín.... His father's from Fermanagh, his mother's from Fiji - neither a hurling stronghold
"Teddy McCarthy to Mick McCarthy, no relation, Mick McCarthy back to Teddy McCarthy, still no relation "
Apol's if listed too many times previously and warnings made about anyone re-posting.
PS Ryle Nugent truely dreadful, Jim Sherwin a notch below and then you have Ger Canning (whaever about GAA matches, how do fervent follwers of the beautiful game stomach his ramblings?)
Reminded me how bad Ray Houghton was for Roma-Manchester game tonight. Switched over to ITV as David Pleat so easier to listen to. Houghton only watches the english team players, don't think he notices those foreigners.
01/04/2008, 9:35 PM
Good lord...how could you take a dislike to the great man? (though I can somewhat understand if you have no allegiance to either gaa code and also a young age, his non stop tempo and wayward ramblings could confuse the young)
)
I forgot how good his ramblings were!