View Full Version : Least favourite sports commentators
Rovers fan
01/04/2008, 10:24 PM
Micheal is a legend,best turn of phrase ever.
onceahoop
07/04/2008, 1:33 PM
Is it Brian Carthy
Gives me a blinding headache with his lilting commentary.
07/04/2008, 4:50 PM
Gives me a blinding headache with his lilting commentary.
Tommy Conlon in the Sindo wrote a very scathing and accurate article about him some years ago and promptly had to apologise for it, thing that annoys me about Carty is he only seems to have one tone for his commetary ie full paced and exictable even when there is nothing happening
padjoe
08/04/2008, 5:51 AM
John Virgo, Jim Sherwin, Peter Collins, and that guy who commentates on northern ireland games from BBC.
favourites
Michael O Mhuirteagh of course, murray walker and willie hegarty (shannonside radio).
padjoe
02/06/2008, 3:14 AM
New contender has to be TV3's Mike Finnerty during the clare v waterford game. Watching it through Setanta Sports coverage last night in a bar in Sydney and Finnerty committed so many war crimes on my ear drums and he had me asleep on the counter. Matt Cooper should stick to rugby
02/06/2008, 9:55 AM
John Virgo, Jim Sherwin, Peter Collins, and that guy who commentates on northern ireland games from BBC.
favourites
Michael O Mhuirteagh of course, murray walker and willie hegarty (shannonside radio).
willie can go on a bit too much in fairness, though some of it can be funny. Sometimes ye think he is a bit of an eejit though.
02/06/2008, 4:32 PM
i think Jim beglin is a bit of a fool, has he made an impression at all after all these years doing commentary - i dont think so
padjoe
02/06/2008, 11:44 PM
willie can go on a bit too much in fairness, though some of it can be funny. Sometimes ye think he is a bit of an eejit though.
Its all passion....TV3 should approach someone like him with a nearly unique style of commentating if they are to compete with RTE. when i say nearly unique a bit of it would be borrowed off the great Michael O' Mhuirteagh as more than a few commentators do.
03/06/2008, 12:25 AM
Don't think he's been mentioned yet, the guy who commentates on Setanta Sports 2 for the Copa Libertadores. He wets himself whenever someone gets a glimpse of goal! Over-dramatic, every move is a ``great chance``..... other than that he's grand :D
sligofan4ever
04/06/2008, 2:55 PM
whats the name of your man with the spiked up hair and glasses hes on "the premiership" for the highlights hes my least favourite becasue he takes to long getting on to highlights of a match for example: Liverpool vs Chelsea highlights are about 8-10 minutes long this fella takes even longer with analysis and its as if he dosent want to stop talking!!!