Pages : 1 [2] 3 4

13/05/2009, 8:23 PM
My 4 most listened to recently are:

Doves- Kingdom of Rust
Yeah Yeah Yeahs - It's Blitz
Santogold
Glasvegas

All different but all very good in their own way.

13/05/2009, 8:24 PM
TV on the Radio - Dear Science[/B]
Just recently got into this, fantastic stuff.Have heard great things. You reckon it's worth buying, yeah?

My mate raves about the last Elbow album. Anyone agree?

Troubadour
14/05/2009, 1:06 PM
What I've been listening to:

Mic Christopher-Skylarkin (absolute classic)
David Gray-White Ladder
The Libertines-Up The Bracket
Dirty Pretty Things-Waterloo to Anywhere

14/05/2009, 9:27 PM
Have heard great things. You reckon it's worth buying, yeah?

My mate raves about the last Elbow album. Anyone agree?

100% get TV on the Radio and get Elbow while you're at it. Both quality.

18/05/2009, 9:45 PM
Green Day - 21st Century Breakdown

Really thought they'd go downhill after American Idiot. Thought wrong, a fantastic album....

endabob1
22/05/2009, 8:56 AM
Searching for the Hows & Whys - Get Cape Wear Cape Fly
American IV: The Man Comes Around - Johnny Cash
Blind Mans Zoo - 10,000 Maniacs
Sugar Mountain : Live At Canterbury House 1968 - Neil Young

22/05/2009, 10:38 AM
Manic Street Preachers - Journal for Plague Lovers
Eminem - The Eminem Show

Wangball
25/05/2009, 12:54 PM
Dowloaded Graham Coxon's new album from iTunes, its good but not mind blowing, nice folksy hum to it, but anyone looking for that kind of music would be better served picking up one of the John Martyn Re-Issues (Solid Air) floating about

Am contemplating a Neil Young Archive purchase too, anyone got one? Is it worth it?

stann
25/05/2009, 3:57 PM
Looking at it there now, I dunno. The first one looks good mind you, but 90-odd quid sterling is a bit pricey, you'd want to be a real completist!
The customer reviews on the UK Amazon (http://www.amazon.co.uk/Neil-Young-Archives-Vol-1963-1972/dp/B001O12TO4/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&s=music&qid=1243267655&sr=1-1) are not very complimentary either.

Wangball
25/05/2009, 6:28 PM
Looking at it there now, I dunno. The first one looks good mind you, but 90-odd quid sterling is a bit pricey, you'd want to be a real completist!
The customer reviews on the UK Amazon (http://www.amazon.co.uk/Neil-Young-Archives-Vol-1963-1972/dp/B001O12TO4/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&s=music&qid=1243267655&sr=1-1) are not very complimentary either.]

I would be quite the completist....a bit of an idiot for this kind of stuff too! I read in Uncut that a complete setlist would be over 1500 words..that kind of random factoid only makes me want it more!

27/05/2009, 11:13 AM
I've been listening to White Denim (new album out next month), Fleet Foxes and the Black Lip's latest. I bought the Dove's Kingdom of Rust but it's not appealing so far. Maybe a grower? Anybody bought the Grizzly Bears album? Worth a purchase?

Wangball
27/05/2009, 12:07 PM
I've been listening to White Denim (new album out next month), Fleet Foxes and the Black Lip's latest. I bought the Dove's Kingdom of Rust but it's not appealing so far. Maybe a grower? Anybody bought the Grizzly Bears album? Worth a purchase?

Yup, and its fantastic, try the Decemberists latest and another excellent album is the newest by The Low Anthem.....3 quality listens, have virtually ignored everything else on my iPod since I got these

Looking forward to the new White Denim album too, not usually the kind of stuff I listen to but its infectious!

ken foree
28/05/2009, 2:51 PM
2 new monstrosities from the edge of the oncoming apocalypse on rotation herewise:

sunn o))) - "monoliths and dimensions" (as imposing and doomed as it sounds)
current 93 - "aleph at hallucinatory mountain" (ditto)

great great rock music

08/06/2009, 1:27 PM
Kasabian - West Rider Pauper Lunatic Asylum

Insane title for an album. Fire is a real grower, and apart from a few fillers, it's pretty good. Underdog is a class track.

16/06/2009, 10:15 AM
Listening to Placebo, Battle for the Sun, was expecting to be disappointed but it's surprisingly good, up there with their best.

stann
16/06/2009, 1:26 PM
Have been giving Veckatimest by Grizzly Bear a whirl over the last few days.
Very good, not sure yet if it's quite as good as people are saying it is, but am liking it muchly.

The Pains Of Being Pure At Heart are up next, and the Yeah Yeah Yeahs' new one, so well shod for the next while. :)

27/06/2009, 8:24 AM
I've just discovered Fleet Foxes and am pleasantly surprised.

Wangball
01/07/2009, 9:32 AM
Anyone else picked up The Animal Collective's latest - Merriweather Post Pavillion...its frickin brilliant, not sure I've heard anything as good this year

stann
01/07/2009, 11:03 AM
Got it a while back on Ken Foree's recommendation, pretty damn good alright. :cool:

Not quite as good as The Pains Of Being Pure At Heart, but that's just nostalgia winning out.
An album full of Ecstasy & Wine-era MBV, with a pinch of the Mary Chain, The Sundays and The Pastels thrown in is always going to win there. :)

01/07/2009, 12:17 PM
Revisiting Blur's back catalog, and Blur & 13 have aged really well, Modern Life Is Rubbish is still relevant. But still disliking The Great Escape and cant see myself ever liking it...

Ozymandias
01/07/2009, 1:17 PM
As a result of another thread on here I have pulled out a number of albums from the late eighties and early nineties mainly Irish and gave them a twirl.....

The stars of Heaven , golden horde, cactus world news the blades, Waterboys ( big mention to their song 'Gala'..wonderful piece of work)

brought back great memories and I found it a welcome diversion from the current crop...not better neccessarily but more meaningful to me as they were my formative years and probably more poignant now as we move into recessionary times again

endabob1
01/07/2009, 2:04 PM
The stars of Heaven , golden horde, cactus world news the blades, Waterboys ( big mention to their song 'Gala'..wonderful piece of work)

Some great stuff there, i got the Blades double re-issued CD a few years back & it still sounds great, I had Something Happens & A House on in the car last week going back to your youth is very refreshing sometimes

ken foree
02/07/2009, 2:41 PM
Got it a while back on Ken Foree's recommendation, pretty damn good alright. :cool:

Not quite as good as The Pains Of Being Pure At Heart, but that's just nostalgia winning out.
An album full of Ecstasy & Wine-era MBV, with a pinch of the Mary Chain, The Sundays and The Pastels thrown in is always going to win there. :)

haaa good stuff wangball and stann, glad youse like the AC album. been listening to them for a while, you might want to check "sung tongs" or their vocalist panda bear's solo record "person pitch" - both have similar qualities to merriweather p.p., the former more folk driven, the latter more beach boys, 70s, sunny, and E.

not sure myself stann (think it was you?) about this grizzly bear phenomenon. "veckatimest" seems a bit too... refined or safe. as if every note and backing vocal has been exactly and minutely arranged in place. and their (sometimes cool, sometimes baffling) left-turns come across as a little too self-consciously oblique, if that makes any sense? once i've pigeon-holed them into sounding like robert wyatt or brian wilson they stick a melodic change in to keep things off-kilter. no bad thing, they are a progressive band and seem talented but i think they're holding something back and would love to see them get a little more noisy, loose and unhinged (they probably do live, but anyway).

05/07/2009, 7:53 PM
As a result of another thread on here I have pulled out a number of albums from the late eighties and early nineties mainly Irish and gave them a twirl.....

brought back great memories and I found it a welcome diversion from the current crop...not better neccessarily but more meaningful to me as they were my formative years and probably more poignant now as we move into recessionary times again

Stars of Heaven are the best Irish band there's ever been, in my humble opinion. Even 20 odd years later their stuff still stands up. Genuinely great, great music.The Blades were great too. Cactus World News on the other hand, well just take the first 3 letters of their name and it sums them up.

Ozymandias
06/07/2009, 1:41 PM
Stars of Heaven are the best Irish band there's ever been, in my humble opinion. Even 20 odd years later their stuff still stands up. Genuinely great, great music.The Blades were great too. Cactus World News on the other hand, well just take the first 3 letters of their name and it sums them up.

I agree..just had all of them together because of the era........but whether good are bad the memories they were part of a music scene that brings a smile back to me

07/07/2009, 8:49 PM
Duckworth Lewis Method, the conceptual album by Neil Hannon of Divine Comedy fame and Michael Walsh (Pugwash) which is all about....cricket.

As a concept album its really outstanding stuff.

brianw82
10/07/2009, 5:58 AM
Paradise Lost's self-titled effort. Never really gave it much time compared to its successor 'In Requiem', but I've been listening to it over and over the past few night shifts. Amazing songwriting.

pól-dcfc
22/07/2009, 11:18 AM
Malcolm Middleton - Waxing Gibbous

Unreal. It's so bloody good.

stann
27/07/2009, 12:37 AM
This week it's been all Hombre Lobo, the new Eels one, wonderful, wonderful record, even by their insanely high standards. Yeah I like 'em. :D

Opening track, and my new favourite song of all time, Prizefighter
1fLQ9ATx7n8

12/08/2009, 2:02 PM
Arctic Monkey's new album, Humbug, is bloody excellent. You can tell a mile off Josh Homme has produced the album. Really good effort, some great lyrics too.

Wolfie
13/08/2009, 12:00 PM
Arctic Monkey's new album, Humbug, is bloody excellent. You can tell a mile off Josh Homme has produced the album. Really good effort, some great lyrics too.

This will be next on the purchase list so.......................:)

stann
13/08/2009, 12:50 PM
Got another batch today to keep me going for a bit.

Paul Simon's Graceland is on as we speak, just an upgrade, this, had it on vinyl since it came out. Though the word is waaaay overused, a genuine bona fide classic.

Up next:
The Yeah Yeah Yeahs' EPs that I somehow never got around to getting
Florence And The Machine - Lungs
Husky Rescue - Ghost Is Not Real
Blitzen Trapper - Furr
and Genius: The Best Of Warren Zevon
(two more sales for the foot.ie exchange :D)

Wolfie
13/08/2009, 1:09 PM
Paul Simon's Gracelands is on as we speak, just an upgrade, this, had it on vinyl since it came out. Though the word is waaaay overused, a genuine bona fide classic.

Jaysus - blast from the past. Reminds me of when I was 12. Nostalgia overload.

Not heard that album in years. My parents had a copy of it when it was originally released.

The melody and lyric - "There's a girl from Newyork city, that calls herself the Human Trampoline" is currently running through my head now.

I'll have Graceland in my head for hours now!!!!

stann
13/08/2009, 1:21 PM
Could have a lot worse. :)

Wangball
14/08/2009, 10:45 AM
Blitzen Trapper - Furr

This here is a fantastic album, whay aren't they more famous?!

The Good Son
14/08/2009, 11:41 AM
Judy Sucks A Lemon For Breakfast - Cornershop, is up to the usual Cornershop standards.

ken foree
14/08/2009, 6:52 PM
let's see, been a while:

clear - james ferraro
discovery - james ferraro
edward flex presents: do you believe in hawaii - james ferraro
ballads of the revolution - jackie-o motherf*cker
island diamonds - pocahaunted

ferraro makes what david keenan in a recent Wire magazine calls, "hypnagogic pop" - apparently this type of music is predicated on being raised as a child in the 80s and, from your bed, sleepily hearing your parents have coked-up parties with don henley's "boys of summer" playing down the hall.. i'm not making this up (well maybe the cocaine bit). it's bleary stuff, lo-fi, with dance rhythms but it's not so dancey. the term garage (U.S.) has been thrown at it as well. the recording artist ariel pink would be a signpost.

ballads of the revolution is more structured dronefolkrock from the northwest u.s. masters of the form, jomf. i have a bunch of their stuff, if you're into freer music with early verve-like guitars, you could do a lot worse.

pocahaunted are a duo from the u.s. who have re-imagined dub via native american chant. spectral, spooky, droney, dark, and dubby. if massive attack were less self-aware and had two stoned yank chicks wordlessly vocalising.. ah i'm not even gonna try, just listen to it!

17/09/2009, 7:50 AM
The Resistance - Muse
Exogenesis is astonishing, one or two duff tracks though.

Backspacer - Pearl Jam
Really like this. Their 'poppiest' album yet but that's not a bad thing.

Relationship of Command - At The Drive-In
Don't know how I missed this first time around, but mindblowing....

Meet the Eels - The Eels
Another band I've somehow missed too. Some wonderful tracks. Which is their best album?

The Optimist
17/09/2009, 12:21 PM
[QUOTE=Pauro 76;1233707]

Backspacer - Pearl Jam
Really like this. Their 'poppiest' album yet but that's not a bad thing.

I've just listened to this one for the first time.
First impressions are very favourable!

Wolfie
17/09/2009, 12:25 PM
Arctic Monkeys: Humbug
Bob Marley: Legend
The Smiths: The Queen is Dead

stann
17/09/2009, 6:51 PM
Meet the Eels - The Eels
Another band I've somehow missed too. Some wonderful tracks. Which is their best album?

Genuinely, there is no best Eels album, they've all got something to recommend them, and they all have a mixture of really immediate tunes and slow burners.

I'd start off with Souljacker, more of a harder edged sound to it, might be your best way in. Then Beautiful Freak and Daisies of the Galaxy, the one sort of downbeat, melancholy pop, the other a good bit more upbeat, positively frothy at times. :D
Really though, any of them. Their recent album Hombre Lobo is as good as anything they've done (sample lyric below!), but would not be featured on the compilation, obviously.
Just avoid Electro-Shock Blues until later. At times it's my favourite, but it is very bleak!

17/09/2009, 8:38 PM
I've just listened to this one for the first time.
First impressions are very favourable!

Nice to see Pearl Jam trying something different.. possibly best since Yield? Must check out those Eels albums....

02/10/2009, 2:55 PM
Dream Theater: Black Clouds and Silver Linings

My boss is a massive fan. Great proggy stuff altogether, 20 minute epics, amazing guitar solos, didn't think I'd like it, but it's mighty stuff.

monzo
02/10/2009, 3:05 PM
This here is a fantastic album, whay aren't they more famous?!

Think they played a gig in Belfast recently, with tickets ridiculously cheap.

I've had Backspacer on two or three times since its release, it's fairly good after an average enough start.

Bought Quadrophenia and Neil Young's Unplugged set so they should keep me entertained for a while.

12/10/2009, 11:30 AM
Massive Attack - Splitting The Atom EP

Great to see them back..

Ian Brown - My Way

Best since Golden Greats, he's on top form here.

stann
13/10/2009, 12:32 AM
Lot of good albums about at the minute, but Cornershop's Judy Sucks A Lemon For Breakfast is getting played round the clock at Stann Towers. Absolute gem, like discovering there was a second disc to Handcream For A Generation all along, love it!

What an opener too, bit of sun, windows down, volume up, belting it out at the top of the lungs... :)
llVuUqfuhFw

Wolfie
14/10/2009, 12:58 PM
[B]Ian Brown - My Way

Best since Golden Greats, he's on top form here.

Great - I was wondering how this would turn out.

15/10/2009, 2:02 PM
Great - I was wondering how this would turn out.

No need to worry, excellent album. Thought he'd lost his way a bit with the last few, but he's back in business.

19/10/2009, 6:21 PM
A couple of tracks off the new "Delorentos" album " You Can Make Sound"

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JkR5THKFCwM

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CkcltdCknBI&feature=related

27/10/2009, 7:26 AM
Listening to Editors 'On This Light And On This Evening'... pretty decent. They sounds a bit more like Depeche Mode and less like Joy Division on this.