View Full Version : Joe O'Cearuill
Billsthoughts
10/03/2008, 2:09 PM
Saw him make his competitive debut for his new club on Friday. Looked okay. Comfortable on the ball. Think he will get alook in under new manager given how much Brady knows about him. Says as much himself in the paper today.
as_i_say
10/03/2008, 2:16 PM
What club is that?
10/03/2008, 2:18 PM
st pats.
as_i_say
10/03/2008, 2:23 PM
Ah. the sig could have given it away i guess. good luck to him-wasnt he at arsenal? without trying to offend any LOIers here but to go straight from a prem team to LOI is a serious step down -does he have any serious injury concerns or was her really at a team and league way to high for his level?
Billsthoughts
10/03/2008, 2:27 PM
Well he was in the Ireland squad for the US trip only a few months ago. He wanted to play European football I suppose. Many players have failed to make the grade at Arsenal and still gone on to be good players.
10/03/2008, 2:31 PM
Would he be first choice at centre half with Pats?
Billsthoughts
10/03/2008, 2:37 PM
Hes started in every league game this seasons so suppose he is..
RogerMilla
10/03/2008, 2:37 PM
only player in the eircom league with every vowel in his name ? anyone ?
10/03/2008, 2:40 PM
Hes started in every league game this seasons so suppose he is..
All 1 of them :D
I thought he was the better of the two centre-halves against England in the recent U21 international. He looks a better player to me than O'Dea so depending on how he goes with Pats and considering our lack of options in that position, it'd be no harm in considering him for the seniors.
Seagull-4-life
10/03/2008, 2:52 PM
How old is he?
Shedender81
10/03/2008, 2:54 PM
Gents... playing LOI level is not sufficient to be expect to playing international football for Ireland.. I am a long time fan of the League , However unless we are REALLY stuck (eg if a serial killer has done all the players grannies in)... THERE IS NO CHANCE of a LOI player starting in a competitive game ... NONE !!!
10/03/2008, 2:55 PM
Ah. the sig could have given it away i guess. good luck to him-wasnt he at arsenal? without trying to offend any LOIers here but to go straight from a prem team to LOI is a serious step down -does he have any serious injury concerns or was her really at a team and league way to high for his level?
He was with Barnet after Arsenal, so he's made a step up leaving them.
10/03/2008, 3:07 PM
A lot of clubs took a look at him at various times (Arsenal, Watford, Luton are a few) and didn't keep him on or take him after a trial. You'd fear for his prospects given the number of rejections he's had - Arsenal excepted, the others are hardly overflowing with talent. However, he's looked pretty decent in his two last U21 internationals and hasn't looked much better or worse than his peers for Ireland, or Bulgaria or England.
It just shows how frustratingly fine a line it is for a young player these days. I hope he does well for Pats and if he does well consistently and makes the grade ultimately in England it'll be yet another indication that playing in Ireland well into your 20s can still be a platform for progress.
livehead1
10/03/2008, 3:08 PM
He was with Barnet after Arsenal, so he's made a step up leaving them.
You reckon? Barnet released him as they deemed he wasn't good enough.
10/03/2008, 3:09 PM
Gents... playing LOI level is not sufficient to be expect to playing international football for Ireland.. I am a long time fan of the League , However unless we are REALLY stuck (eg if a serial killer has done all the players grannies in)... THERE IS NO CHANCE of a LOI player starting in a competitive game ... NONE !!!
How dare you say this, have you not seen athlone-kildare play?! :rolleyes:
Billsthoughts
10/03/2008, 3:40 PM
..and hes bounced back to be playing European football this season. Fair play to the lad.
10/03/2008, 3:49 PM
ya bill but honestly, "european" football, about how many games, 4 at the most, probably 2 and 2 against opposition on the same level as the EL....
Barnet did not release him. Pats paid a transfer fee.
Personally don't think he's international standard but he's in the U21 squad a good while and as near to ever present as anybody. Very comfortable on the ball, he wasn't really preswsed into too much defending on Friday (although did fall asleep for the goal IMO)
If he continues to play well for the U21s (and is now eligible for the U23s) who knows. I know I'd prefer him playing for Pats than Andy O'Brien who Liam brady wants back into the fold...
boovidge
10/03/2008, 4:43 PM
..and hes bounced back to be playing European football this season. Fair play to the lad.
livehead1
10/03/2008, 5:29 PM
Personally don't think he's international standard but he's in the U21 squad a good while and as near to ever present as anybody. Very comfortable on the ball, he wasn't really preswsed into too much defending on Friday (although did fall asleep for the goal IMO)
If he continues to play well for the U21s (and is now eligible for the U23s) who knows. I know I'd prefer him playing for Pats than Andy O'Brien who Liam brady wants back into the fold...
If he was any good he wouldn't have moved IMO. 1. Barnet would have been unlikely to have sold him to an EL club as they would have wished to hold onto him and also there would probably have been other clubs in England interested in him.
2. He wouldn't have moved. He's from London as far as I remember and would have almost certainly preferred to stay around his home.
3. Most LoI players hanker for years after a move to England so its unusual that a good player will move to the EL from England unless he's able to cut the mustard in England.
A harsh analysis you may feel, but also IMO an accurate one.
boovidge
10/03/2008, 5:39 PM
2. He wouldn't have moved. He's from London as far as I remember and would have almost certainly preferred to stay around his home.
bit of an unfounded presumption that?
10/03/2008, 5:41 PM
If he was any good he wouldn't have moved IMO. 1. Barnet would have been unlikely to have sold him to an EL club as they would have wished to hold onto him and also there would probably have been other clubs in England interested in him.
3. Most LoI players hanker for years after a move to England so its unusual that a good player will move to the EL from England unless he's able to cut the mustard in England.
A harsh analysis you may feel, but also IMO an accurate one.
Maybe Pats are paying more than Barent were willing to pay. Apparently the top sides in the LOI are paying wages comparable to Division One sides in England. Barnet are bottom of Division Two so perhaps they do not have the finances that Pats have.
EalingGreen
10/03/2008, 5:56 PM
I saw him play at Brentford whilst on loan with Brighton last season (maybe the season before?).
Anyhow, he had an absolute shocker. To be fair, he may have been playing out of position (at left back), but he was absolutely creamed by a young wee winger, Charlie Ide, who was playing only his 5th or 6th game for the Bees.
And perhaps he was lacking match fitness, since he was sucking in air for most of the second half, but how he got away with not being red carded (he got a yellow) for persistently kicking Ide I'll never understand - it was just about his only tactic for stopping him.
As I've indicated, there may have been mitigating circumstances, but I have to say, he was truly dreadful and it doesn't surprise me that he doesn't look as if he'll ever make it in England.
Wangball
10/03/2008, 6:35 PM
This will only be a stop over for him, as soon as a half decent offer from the lower leagues in England or the SPL comes in he's gone, which is a shame because the couple of games I've seen him in he looks like a classy player and he'd be a loss to the league not to mention Pats!
How do you know he'd be gone? A lot of assumptions in this thread, not enough fact!
livehead1
10/03/2008, 6:58 PM
How do you know he'd be gone? A lot of assumptions in this thread, not enough fact!
If he has any ambitions, including international ambitions, and he's any good, then he will be.
10/03/2008, 7:13 PM
I saw him play at Brentford whilst on loan with Brighton last season (maybe the season before?).
Anyhow, he had an absolute shocker. To be fair, he may have been playing out of position (at left back), but he was absolutely creamed by a young wee winger, Charlie Ide, who was playing only his 5th or 6th game for the Bees.
And perhaps he was lacking match fitness, since he was sucking in air for most of the second half, but how he got away with not being red carded (he got a yellow) for persistently kicking Ide I'll never understand - it was just about his only tactic for stopping him.
As I've indicated, there may have been mitigating circumstances, but I have to say, he was truly dreadful and it doesn't surprise me that he doesn't look as if he'll ever make it in England.
You must of cursed him EG :D
"21:54 - GOAL FOR GLENTORAN! A defensive howler from Joe O'Cearuil has allowed Michael Halliday in to give the Northern side an early lead at Richmond Park. What a start! O'Cearuil left it for Barry Ryan, who was never going to get there and Halliday raced in to round the keeper and put Glentoran in front."
Billsthoughts
10/03/2008, 8:25 PM
was the goal on friday not the exact same ??:(
10/03/2008, 9:34 PM
did anyone else read that word as someone who had a problem with pronouncing their "R"'s. :D Thats no slight on you dodge btw.
KianD
10/03/2008, 10:17 PM
He was playing for Brighton under Wilkins, out of position is a standard role... and the Albion were fairly shocking for most of last season bar two runs that kept the club up, really.
However, he still was below par compared to the rest of the squad at the time, so...
10/03/2008, 10:25 PM
You must of cursed him EG :D
"21:54 - GOAL FOR GLENTORAN! A defensive howler from Joe O'Cearuil has allowed Michael Halliday in to give the Northern side an early lead at Richmond Park. What a start! O'Cearuil left it for Barry Ryan, who was never going to get there and Halliday raced in to round the keeper and put Glentoran in front."
BTW it was 100% Ryan's fault. He called keepers and Joe left it, as he should've. He played well tonight IMO
11/03/2008, 9:56 AM
BTW it was 100% Ryan's fault. He called keepers and Joe left it, as he should've. He played well tonight IMO
Didn't see the goal but sounds exactly like Lescott's goal against Man City when Dunne left the ball for his keeper.
11/03/2008, 11:20 AM
I have been very impressed with him any time I have seen him for the U21's. Will catch him this Friday and see how he does. Although I am sure he will be able to match Crowe and Fenn for pace.
deecay
12/03/2008, 6:53 PM
only player in the eircom league with every vowel in his name ? anyone ?
Hmm very intresting:confused:
No, waterlogged pitch ... game was called off an hour before kickoff :p
14/03/2008, 12:26 AM
...he wasn't really preswsed into too much defending...
did anyone else read that word as someone who had a problem with pronouncing their "R"'s. :D
Me. :o :D
14/03/2008, 1:07 PM
Have you?
did anyone else read that word as someone who had a problem with pronouncing their "R"'s. :D Thats no slight on you dodge btw.
No bother POS. Can say them alright, just can't fecking type...
14/03/2008, 1:50 PM
Have you?
Have you?!
14/03/2008, 8:34 PM
He looks a good signing for Pats, an intelligent footballer.
nijboyle
14/03/2008, 10:20 PM
What clever or good at football?:D
15/03/2008, 10:05 AM
Have you?!
Several times. Never playing each other I'll give you. :)
I'll take your question to my question as a no shall I?
15/03/2008, 10:18 AM
He played well last night against Cillian Brennan, had him in his pocket. Was playing at right back. St Pats seemed to be playing 2 centre backs at full back as well as there two big centre backs. What did Boh do, pump it long.
15/03/2008, 10:30 AM
He played well last night against Cillian Brennan, had him in his pocket. Was playing at right back. St Pats seemed to be playing 2 centre backs at full back as well as there two big centre backs. What did Boh do, pump it long.
Pats played the big men at full back because thye know what Fenlon is like...
finnpark
15/03/2008, 10:40 AM
Pats played the big men at full back because thye know what Fenlon is like...
:D Yes.
Bohs were shocking poor last night. Really shocking. Typical Fenlon, same as with Derry last year and Shels before that.
O'Cearuil was ok last night. I think that he will be good in another 2-3 years but not good enough for top class International standard. Hes probably already as good as McShane and O'Shea though but thats not hard
15/03/2008, 1:14 PM
He took a while to get used to the right back position last night. Was caught out of position 2 or 3 times in the first 20 minutes. Did well after that though. I'd never judge a centre half at full back though. Positionally it's completely different.
green army
16/03/2008, 8:19 AM
he did ok on friday night. played too many long balls in the first half though
Billsthoughts
20/03/2008, 1:08 PM
O'Cearuil was ok last night. I think that he will be good in another 2-3 years but not good enough for top class International standard. Hes probably already as good as McShane and O'Shea though but thats not hard
Do you think the days of us picking a first 11 made up of premiership players at the higher end of the table are gone tho? think it wont be long before we will have to be picking players who arent at a massive standard but still might be able to do a job for us.
irishfan86
20/03/2008, 9:11 PM
Do you think the days of us picking a first 11 made up of premiership players at the higher end of the table are gone tho? think it wont be long before we will have to be picking players who arent at a massive standard but still might be able to do a job for us.
With the quality of the Premiership rising as the best from all around the world begin to concentrate there, I think we'll have to begin picking players from the Championship.
I think moving to other European leagues is an option for our players if they're willing to make a massive culture change, but yes I'd say the days of an Irish XI consisting of Premier League plays in the top half of the table are done.
If we tried to make a team from the top 10 Premier League clubs (as of the table today) here is all we could come up with, and this includes retired players:
O'Shea--Dunne--Finnan
Carsley--Ireland--S.Reid
Now obviously what club you play for isn't everything, those aren't our six best players there, but it does say something.
livehead1
21/03/2008, 1:55 PM
Some people do make me laugh. You reckon this lad is as good as O'Shea. Stop being daft; you may slate O'Shea but he's comfortable on the ball, has a high pass ratio, is a danger at set pieces but just doesn't have any determination.
This lad appears to be a mile off the standard for Ireland's national side.