View Full Version : Drogheda on Saturday!
Rovers fan
09/03/2008, 11:12 AM
So lads how do you think this one will go? Drogheda didn't look great against shams and with peers and coleman back I think we have a chance. Hopefully cook will revert to a 4-4-2 formation and I expect he will. Will brush be fit? Hopefully there will be a good crowd and atmosphere for the first game of the season and everybody encourage your friends to come along.
Prediction: rovers to win 2-1. faz and boco to score.
forza rovers
09/03/2008, 12:06 PM
2-0(faz, boco)huges to be sent off:D
Guts&Glory
09/03/2008, 2:04 PM
2-0(faz, boco)huges to be sent off:D
Why Hughes to be sent off?
He gave nothing but 100% for the club when he was here and a Quiet Gent and hell of a nice bloke off it to boot.
I for one will welcome him back and shame on anyone who even thinks otherwise.
Its not as if he is anywhere in the situation of Turner, Singh and Mansarams of the world and what they did to Rovers.
09/03/2008, 2:47 PM
He gave nothing but 100% for the club when he was here and a Quiet Gent and hell of a nice bloke off it to boot.
Its not as if he is anywhere in the situation of Turner, Singh and Mansarams of the world and what they did to Rovers.
What did Turner do?
He gave 100% to the club as well.
Boo_Boy
09/03/2008, 4:08 PM
2 - 0 rovers,faz & judge to score,boco to set up both,hughes not to get a game;)
Knappagh Red
09/03/2008, 4:12 PM
As soon as Hughes signed for Drogs last summer he stopped giving 100% and did not want to play for us even though we were paying him, thats why Cook let him go before the season ended, he was our captain and wouldn't travel to Drogheda, himself and Doolan were very disrespectfull to us, hopefully we can pay them back on Sat.
Rovers fan
09/03/2008, 4:15 PM
As soon as Hughes signed for Drogs last summer he stopped giving 100% and did not want to play for us even though we were paying him, thats why Cook let him go before the season ended, he was our captain and wouldn't travel to Drogheda, himself and Doolan were very disrespectfull to us, hopefully we can pay them back on Sat.
Hear hear.
forza rovers
09/03/2008, 4:43 PM
As soon as Hughes signed for Drogs last summer he stopped giving 100% and did not want to play for us even though we were paying him, thats why Cook let him go before the season ended, he was our captain and wouldn't travel to Drogheda, himself and Doolan were very disrespectfull to us, hopefully we can pay them back on Sat.slipped in the shower??;)
Boo_Boy
09/03/2008, 4:50 PM
slipped in the shower??;)
slipped getting out of the shower;)
09/03/2008, 4:52 PM
Its not as if he is anywhere in the situation of Turner, Singh and Mansarams of the world and what they did to Rovers.As was already said, he did give 100% for most of his time with Rovers but towards the end he didn't give a ****. He just happened to slip in the shower prior to our game with Drogs...even I could come up with a better excuse than that. He deserves any abuse he gets on the night...if he even gets a game:).
09/03/2008, 5:02 PM
Doubt he will start. missed game on tv yesterday but from what ive heard, he wasnt great.
forza rovers
09/03/2008, 5:04 PM
Doubt he will start. missed game on tv yesterday but from what ive heard, he wasnt great.no came on with 5-10 mins to go but a header over the bar thats about it
09/03/2008, 5:06 PM
no came on with 5-10 mins to go but a header over the bar thats about itHe hit the bar according to a post in EL forum.
clubman
09/03/2008, 5:06 PM
...even I could come up with a better excuse than that.
I doubt it sligoman!
So you as a stewart are encourageing supporters to abuse a player from the opposition?
I realise the club is desperate for stewarts but I would say the club would prefer have none than one that could incite a riot.
forza rovers
09/03/2008, 5:10 PM
I doubt it sligoman!
So you as a stewart are encourageing supporters to abuse a player from the opposition?
I realise the club is desperate for stewarts but I would say the club would prefer have none than one that could incite a riot.u be a steward then!!:mad::mad:
09/03/2008, 5:11 PM
no came on with 5-10 mins to go but a header over the bar thats about it
sorry forza, ive miss typed that. i meant i missed the game. was on way to longford for some real first division football!! ;) :D
09/03/2008, 5:12 PM
I doubt it sligoman!
I realise the club is desperate for stewarts but I would say the club would prefer have none than one that could incite a riot.
09/03/2008, 5:15 PM
I doubt it sligoman!
I realise the club is desperate for stewarts but I would say the club would prefer have none than one that could incite a riot.Well you report me so, good man. I personally won't be shouting abuse at him in the Showgrounds, for obvious reasons, but will have no problem doing so in Drogheda. It all part of football and if he disrespects our club then he can expect abuse back.
Rovers fan
09/03/2008, 5:16 PM
He hit the bar according to a post in EL forum.
Not with the header he didn't
roversman
09/03/2008, 5:17 PM
be real if we get anything from the next two games will be a bonus
as it will take time for us to gel and playing the top teams dosent help
its after these games we got to pick up the points
redrov2005
09/03/2008, 9:10 PM
be real if we get anything from the next two games will be a bonus
as it will take time for us to gel and playing the top teams dosent help
its after these games we got to pick up the points
Lads we have got to lose this mentality and quickly. We have a professional set up assembled at no little expense. Cook's stuff about " we can't compete with the likes of Drogheda and Pat's" is true to a point. But that attitude transmits itself to the players.
Ye won't hear Pat Scully coming out with that stuff and his "part time" outfit did Drogheda on their home patch. Also his comment in the Champion that " a fit Alan Moore is better than Sligo Rovers" was a bizarre comment. I know what he was getting at but it was a clumsy thing to say.
Only1Rovers
10/03/2008, 4:44 PM
Also his comment in the Champion that " a fit Alan Moore is better than Sligo Rovers" was a bizarre comment. I know what he was getting at but it was a clumsy thing to say.
He made similar comments about Boco, which I thought were unnecessary, how and ever.....
I think we'll give Drogs a good game.
Doubt Hughes will get a game... never rated him anyway....
Guts&Glory
11/03/2008, 5:55 AM
What did Turner do?
He gave 100% to the club as well.
Forced Rovers hand into letting him go to be back with his buddie Seanie......didnt last long though.....:D
Guts&Glory
11/03/2008, 5:57 AM
slipped getting out of the shower;)
Ya lads he made that up including the visit to Casualty Dept of the Hospital and 4 stitches in a head wound that he had.
Suppose it was all an act eh??!!
The Outsider
11/03/2008, 8:49 AM
dont think the match should be about Hughes.Yeah of course he was a part of the reason why Rovers did so well last season but now he has been well replaced. Boco in midfield will show drogheda that hughes is not missed and hopefully Rovers can come out with a win. the fans will play a big part if they turn up in big numbers.
11/03/2008, 3:26 PM
Don't think anyone said the match is about Hughes, of course it's not. It's about Rovers putting in a good performance and hopefully getting some result.
south sligo red
11/03/2008, 4:31 PM
Have to say i,m really excited about the match on saturday as I missed the game at richmond park. I,m also confident that we can get a result with the lads coming back into the defence. I reckon we can pull off a 2-1 win with the goals coming from judge(hopefully he'll start) and boco. I,m bringing a few 1st time visitors with me so it should be a great evening!
Looking forward to our first away game of the season .Never an easy team to play and i think you have a good manager in mr cook .However we really need to be beating the likes of yourselves , no disrespect . We were terrible against Shams so hopefully there will be a bit of a backlash and you get a hiding :D
11/03/2008, 5:49 PM
We were terrible against Shams so hopefully there will be a bit of a backlash and you get a hiding :D
right back at ya ndrog ;) we'll be looking to put Pats behind us too.
think we'll get a point out of this...
11/03/2008, 6:50 PM
Ndrog, I don't know if you are aware of this but, unlike every other team in the league, we do not play our home games on a football pitch. We play on an allotment. Consequently, as in golf, local knowledge is a huge advantage. Our lads know where to chip the ball to avoid a divot/pothole and it would be a very frustrating evening for you but for the fact that the FAI have intervened and decided that wild shots over the bar - of which there will be many - will count as points as in the GAA. Prediction? Rovers 1-12 Drogheda 2-9 (a draw).
red arrow
12/03/2008, 9:37 PM
must think positive on this one . im going for rovers to win in a dramatic game.
this is a big game for us and our players now is the time to show the talent we have. unfortuately i wont be there but will be glued to mobile phone . all the best to everybody and i hope the crowd turn out. with all the rain the pitch will be very heavy butwe can do the trick
ndrog
13/03/2008, 10:49 AM
Ndrog, I don't know if you are aware of this but, unlike every other team in the league, we do not play our home games on a football pitch. We play on an allotment. Consequently, as in golf, local knowledge is a huge advantage. Our lads know where to chip the ball to avoid a divot/pothole and it would be a very frustrating evening for you but for the fact that the FAI have intervened and decided that wild shots over the bar - of which there will be many - will count as points as in the GAA. Prediction? Rovers 1-12 Drogheda 2-9 (a draw).
HA HA ! good stuff .Ploughed Farmers field i think was the quote:D
neutrino
13/03/2008, 11:46 AM
With the new Monday Night Soccer (MSN) show on Rte in fully swing , it's important to have our home games showing up well. Where will the TV camera be for the games ? has anything been done re: some kind of gantry on the Jinks avenue side ? Would look poor from the West Stand if it's going to continue from there. I'm sure the pitch could be mention too on the Show - well let's hope it is as that would mean Drogheda probably be moaning if/when they lose :D
forza rovers
13/03/2008, 3:12 PM
With the new Monday Night Soccer (MSN) show on Rte in fully swing , it's important to have our home games showing up well. Where will the TV camera be for the games ? has anything been done re: some kind of gantry on the Jinks avenue side ? Would look poor from the West Stand if it's going to continue from there. I'm sure the pitch could be mention too on the Show - well let's hope it is as that would mean Drogheda probably be moaning if/when they lose :D its being built is should be done in the next week or so
deecay
13/03/2008, 3:27 PM
its being built is should be done in the next week or so
Great,didnt think they would get going that quick
Only1Rovers
13/03/2008, 4:34 PM
With a full compliment (I really hope Dick is back) I think this game will give us a fantastic opportunity to kick-start the season following last weeks disappointment.
Although we were convincingly beaten by Pat's I'm still very excited about Saturday night. Spoke to Coleman the other night and I got the feeling that he can't wait to get back.
Will we be donning the new kit on Saturday night?
13/03/2008, 5:49 PM
With the new Monday Night Soccer (MSN) show on Rte in fully swing , it's important to have our home games showing up well. Where will the TV camera be for the games ? has anything been done re: some kind of gantry on the Jinks avenue side ? Would look poor from the West Stand if it's going to continue from there. I'm sure the pitch could be mention too on the Show - well let's hope it is as that would mean Drogheda probably be moaning if/when they lose :D
they want to put both the red containers behind the shed end on top of the Jinx....dont really fancy Tony O Donoghue and Sean Connor falling on top of me though, no way the Jinks could hold it! :(
13/03/2008, 5:51 PM
Just one of the containers Rovers1. Whatever about one, definitely wouldn't hold two.
13/03/2008, 5:58 PM
my apologies
redtildead
13/03/2008, 6:47 PM
Are they serious? Theres enough holes in the roof of that stand as there is.
I doubt it could hold something that size on top of it.
forza rovers
13/03/2008, 7:02 PM
they want to put both the red containers behind the shed end on top of the Jinx....dont really fancy Tony O Donoghue and Sean Connor falling on top of me though, no way the Jinks could hold it! :( their building a frame like the gantry we had for derry in the cup,one of them but permant
SRFCbrothelutd
13/03/2008, 10:22 PM
Definate team for Saturday nite.
Brush
Coleman Peers Almedia Butler
Murphy O'Grady Ventre Raf
Faz Bocu
Thoughts?
13/03/2008, 10:24 PM
Thoughts?Yeah after last time, don't heed you;)
13/03/2008, 10:29 PM
Brush
Faz Bocu
Thoughts?
where do you get your info?...you were a bit off for the Pat's game?
13/03/2008, 10:32 PM
where do you get your info?Not off Boco anyway;)
south sligo red
13/03/2008, 10:44 PM
Brush
Faz Bocu
Thoughts?
I think peers is supposed to be an injury worry so i dont think this is the team somehow! :confused:
WindmillWarrior
14/03/2008, 7:53 AM
Seems to be a lot of rain forecast over your way for tonight and tomorrow lads. Will your allotment patch hold up do you think?
Fivesilver
14/03/2008, 10:13 AM
Should be okay - we're thinking about switching over to rice anyway.
Besides, it seems we're going to be extending the allotment:
their building a farme
red bellied
14/03/2008, 5:07 PM
What time kick off tomorrow night? Website has it down for eight bells.
14/03/2008, 5:11 PM
no its 8 lights