View Full Version : Tonights Latest
08/03/2008, 7:51 PM
Expected more of Fingal, to be honest, especially given the two teams' performances against us in pre-season.
Me too. Especially with Longford kind of just throwing a team together. First division should be very interesting this year (unfortunately!).
Gareth
08/03/2008, 7:53 PM
oh dear oh dear :)
08/03/2008, 7:55 PM
Christ. Darren McKenna got a hat-trick. Sporting Franchise must be really bad or he's really improved. Anyway,good enough for them - Franchise football doesn't work.
08/03/2008, 7:56 PM
oh dear oh dear :)
Christ. Darren McKenna got a hat-trick. Sporting Franchise must be really bad or he's really improved. Anyway,good enough for them - Franchise football doesn't work.
I'm hoping SF are pure muck because I hadn't factored Longford into the title race at all! :eek:
08/03/2008, 7:56 PM
Ouch. 5-1 now.
LeixlipRed
08/03/2008, 8:00 PM
SF only have ten men!! That's why its 5-1
08/03/2008, 8:01 PM
Only for the second half. Doesn't explain the complete collapse. Fingal have players you've heard of; would expect them to be putting a fight up to Longford, even with ten.
08/03/2008, 8:01 PM
SF only have ten men!! That's why its 5-1
We went down to ten and then nine last night but that didn't end 5-1 did it? ;)
Gareth
08/03/2008, 8:06 PM
Nine men now :)
The Lilywhites
08/03/2008, 8:32 PM
Drogheda's Official Website Report from today's game
Rovers took the points on a blustery night at United Park courtesy of a goal by Alan Murphy in the 2nd minute and if the truth be told, Rovers were good value for their win despite the Drogs creating many half-chances , even as late as the 93rd minute Adam Hughes's header just cleared the bar from a knock forward by new signing Thiam.
It was always going to be a difficult match and right from the start Rover's new look side showed plenty of application and skill and I suppose its one of the consequences of our success last year that our opponents will have studied our methods and have a plan to frustrate us. Rovers showed planty of skill with Baker and Murphy up front and a solid midfield of Danny and Stephen Rice, and Joe Kendrick had his hands full with tricky winger Sean O'Connor. And what about us, well we tried hard and came into the game well, dominated the second half but could not put the liathroid into the net. Murphy;'s goal came from a snap shot which gave Rovers the early edge and despite the Rovers centre back conceding plenty of frees, we could not deliver the telling ball and even though we were gifted possession in the second half, it was not to be our night.
Mind you, we showed brilliance in flashes, and midway through the first half Ollie Cahill fed Joe Kendrick, whose brilliant cross just eluded Eamon with the goal at his mercy and as the first half drew to a close, Keego's brilliant header from a Richie Baker cross struck the bar and rebounded out. From the restart we dominated and despite creating quite a few chances the River defence stood firm and I really don't want to talk about this anymore. Let's forget about it - fair play to Rovers and chins up all round !
Did yiz see the Ronnie Drew thing on ret th’other week , it had a had a big audience, but what a load of rubbish – the song I mean, don’t get me wrong, Ronnie will always be the greatest – up there with Pavarotti and some of them other fat blokes as far as I’m concerned, the ragman’s ball, easy and slow, the twangman, etc etc,… but the new song !!. … it was like askin’ phil coulter to write a song for the rugby crowd – bad idea !...ok , I know Bono and the U2s is very busy people, I mean, haven’t they made poverty history and got the third world debt cancelled and stuff, but couldn’t they get Pete or Wally to write something decent. And Wally has a great musical and pool-playing pedigree, takin’ on all-comers in the Widda’s or Barney Mac’s until he reaches beverage fatigue. Hasn’t he kept us well entertained over the years with ‘Under the Clock’, ‘ The Boyne Fishermen’ and ‘Pitcher Hill ( we love you still)’. I well remember the time and us below in Barney Mac’s and McDermott sez ‘Fancy a wee tune’ (he’s Scottish, y’know) and after about 3 hours we ran outa bread and there was no more coming from any direction and McDermot sez ‘ The Irishman in me wants another drink but the Scoitsman in me does nae want to pay for it !. And Brian sez ‘right lads that’s your lot ‘ and there we were out in the street with the instruments , three sheets to the wind and it only half three in the afternoon !........ and Wally says, ‘lets go to the Widda’s to shoot some pool’ and we thought …… where does he get these brilliant ideas ????
http://droghedaunited.ie/scripts/result.asp?FixtureID=906
08/03/2008, 8:38 PM
That's a big result for Longford tonight - well done.
RockofGibraltar
08/03/2008, 8:55 PM
we are going up :D
08/03/2008, 9:10 PM
Great performance for LTFC, even if Fingal were muck. may aswell close the goal of the season competition aswell, peter hynes wins after tonights effort. chipped shay kelly from 40 yards from an angle. fantastic goal.
LeixlipRed
08/03/2008, 9:17 PM
That match report from the Drogs website is embarrassing. I thought they'd cut that rubbish out?
Can any one even understand it? Millions have been put into the league & promotion greater than ever still that that ****e.
sonofstan
08/03/2008, 9:46 PM
What an absolute *****. Does **** all for four months with us, plays ****ing ****e, then goes off and does that. ******.
On a similar note, apparently Ryan McCann who did nothing for us last season, scored a screamer from 70 yards for Queen of the South today......
alabama rover
08/03/2008, 10:56 PM
He flicked on in injury time for that header that ended up on the roof of the net. I enjoyed the match, my first ever LoI match. I've got the whole thing recorded on my computer if anyone wants highlights.
First ever LOI match? Where have you been? I'd love to get my hands on highlights if you can post them!
Thanks
08/03/2008, 11:19 PM
First ever LOI match? Where have you been? I'd love to get my hands on highlights if you can post them!
highlights and live gsmes will be avilable from the rte webite all week apparently
soccerc
08/03/2008, 11:24 PM
Thanks
Worm is a late teen fan of Irish football domiciled all his life in the US.
He was hoping his parents would allow him travel to Ireland for the first "soccer" game in Croke Park but it didn't happen.
Well done Worm on seeing your first LOI game, now all you need to is get here for a live one!
hoops1
08/03/2008, 11:54 PM
cant find it on there site can you post the link
deecay
09/03/2008, 12:32 AM
Great night in Flancare,didnt think Fingal were that bad.Didnt know that was Hynes who chipped Kelly,what a goal.Well done to the 8-10 Fingal fans who stood and sang the game,even at 5-1
09/03/2008, 12:36 AM
Great stuff from the Town tonight, entertaining football, such a contrast from the UCD game, our last friendly. Fingal were a joke however, not a shred of discipline about their display.
LeixlipRed
09/03/2008, 12:44 AM
Well done to the 8-10 Fingal fans who stood and sang the game,even at 5-1
Ffs, what were they singing? Are you sure they aren't just Dublin City fans who've been stuck in the jacks at Flancare for 2 seasons?
09/03/2008, 1:02 AM
I was quite surprised they had any fans. I wonder if they were connected to the players or officials.
deecay
09/03/2008, 2:15 AM
Their vocal support came in 2 cars,a wee bit of abuseing going back and forth in the car park after with some young Town fans
Did Harps use pyro last night,I know they had planned to do a ''display''
Blue-Army
09/03/2008, 2:35 AM
Did yiz see the Ronnie Drew thing on ret th’other week , it had a had a big audience, but what a load of rubbish – the song I mean, don’t get me wrong, Ronnie will always be the greatest – up there with Pavarotti and some of them other fat blokes as far as I’m concerned, the ragman’s ball, easy and slow, the twangman, etc etc,… but the new song !!. … it was like askin’ phil coulter to write a song for the rugby crowd – bad idea !...ok , I know Bono and the U2s is very busy people, I mean, haven’t they made poverty history and got the third world debt cancelled and stuff, but couldn’t they get Pete or Wally to write something decent. And Wally has a great musical and pool-playing pedigree, takin’ on all-comers in the Widda’s or Barney Mac’s until he reaches beverage fatigue. Hasn’t he kept us well entertained over the years with ‘Under the Clock’, ‘ The Boyne Fishermen’ and ‘Pitcher Hill ( we love you still)’. I well remember the time and us below in Barney Mac’s and McDermott sez ‘Fancy a wee tune’ (he’s Scottish, y’know) and after about 3 hours we ran outa bread and there was no more coming from any direction and McDermot sez ‘ The Irishman in me wants another drink but the Scoitsman in me does nae want to pay for it !. And Brian sez ‘right lads that’s your lot ‘ and there we were out in the street with the instruments , three sheets to the wind and it only half three in the afternoon !........ and Wally says, ‘lets go to the Widda’s to shoot some pool’ and we thought …… where does he get these brilliant ideas ????
http://droghedaunited.ie/scripts/result.asp?FixtureID=906
:confused::confused::confused:
tallaghtfornia
09/03/2008, 10:33 AM
Rovers were brilliant both on and off the park last night, looked very solid, if the drogs had got the ball down a bit they might have got somewhere, great start to the season and the atmosphere (in the rovers end anyway) was top notch from start to finish!
Buller
09/03/2008, 11:24 AM
This is just embarressing
It really is... Who the hell writes that?!
The prelude of the line-ups just shows the professionalism from the very start.
Shamrock Rovers - Murphy, O'Brine, Flynn,Maguire,Ferguson,O'Connor,McGill,Rice,Murphy ,Doyle,Purcell,Coleman
A combination of spelling players names wrong, having the wrong starting line up and apparently having 12 players on the pitch just does it for me...
Top notch stuff!
Philly
09/03/2008, 2:19 PM
Actually pathetic. They should be docked points for that sort of rubbish.
theworm2345
09/03/2008, 3:14 PM
A combination of spelling players names wrong, having the wrong starting line up and apparently having 12 players on the pitch just does it for me...
Top notch stuff!
Right, Purcell didn't start and Baker did (amongst others) :confused:
09/03/2008, 5:46 PM
From the restart we dominated and despite creating quite a few chances the River defence stood firm and I really don't want to talk about this anymore
Aimless long punts into no man's land doesn't count as domination, but desperation. :rolleyes:
With terms like the "River" defence, I really don't walk to hear from that admin anymore.