View Full Version : 2008 attendances

Pages : 1 2 3 4 [5] 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38

21/03/2008, 10:52 PM
Roughly the same size crowd as the Cobh game for us tonight, id say 2000.

21/03/2008, 11:24 PM
Cork-Derry: 4,223

Its great how the attendances are now annonced over the PA during the second half. Does this now happen at every ground?

21/03/2008, 11:34 PM
Its great how the attendances are now annonced over the PA during the second half. Does this now happen at every ground?
Doesn't happen at UCD.

twowheelsonly
21/03/2008, 11:36 PM

Doubt it. As far as I know Cork City are the only ones with full scanning of all tickets. This allows us up to the minute updating of figures. Counting stubs can be a painfully slow exercise....
Galway, I believe, scan their season tickets only, but using RF as against our Bar-code system.

22/03/2008, 12:43 AM
Cork-Derry: 4,223

I had estimated 4000 while at the game so maybe estimates no so bad last season.

22/03/2008, 8:49 AM
didnt hear anything on the PA at Richmond but talking to one pats official he reckoned 1,800 which is a poor crowd for the unbeateb league leaders on a good friday about 100 galway fans.

oldyouth
22/03/2008, 9:52 AM
1,100 at Youths V Kildare. Probably a good few casuals because of Good Friday but then again, others would have been put off by the bad weather we had here all day. Regret to advise that the standard of play at times won't have converted many of the casuals

Buller
22/03/2008, 10:31 AM
1,600 approx. at Rovers v Bray

22/03/2008, 10:40 AM
2700 at showgrounds for bohs game

sonofstan
22/03/2008, 10:44 AM
1,100 at Youths V Kildare. Probably a good few casuals

The Yoof have casuals now ?! - don't let the Herd -ild know

22/03/2008, 10:48 AM
1,100 at Youths V Kildare. Probably a good few casuals because of Good Friday but then again, others would have been put off by the bad weather we had here all day. Regret to advise that the standard of play at times won't have converted many of the casuals

Casuals ?!? You mean you've got Schooligans at Youths already....! :eek:

22/03/2008, 10:49 AM
The Yoof have casuals now ?! - don't let the Herd -ild know

Scary that we both said that at same time......

We've never been seen in the same room together at the same time, you know....

22/03/2008, 10:53 AM
Neither of whom, of course, are in the Second Division.

And even if they were, taking out 13500 and 8500 would not reduce a 24-team average frmo 7800 to 5500.

What division are you talking about then ?!?

The only "2nd division" is League 2, as above. Unless you're insisting on referring to an out-dated naming system, which will just confuse everyone.

Buller
22/03/2008, 10:54 AM

Not suprised... Look at their name! :rolleyes:

sonofstan
22/03/2008, 10:55 AM
Scary that we both said that at same time......

Pretty much a toe poke from 2 yards that one - much like Sligo's last night

22/03/2008, 11:18 AM
Not suprised... Look at their name! :rolleyes:

What - Wexford....?!? :confused:

forza rovers
22/03/2008, 12:20 PM
2700 at showgrounds for bohs gameis that the offical attendance?i would have said about 3000

Rovers fan
22/03/2008, 12:26 PM
is that the offical attendance?i would have said about 3000

you said 3500 last week when there was only 1800 there

forza rovers
22/03/2008, 12:28 PM
the red stand was packed and the blue stand was nearly full.

22/03/2008, 1:03 PM
If you listened close enough you could hear the sound of a bubble burst in Morton Stadium last night.

No more than 350 at Sporting Fingal v Limerick 37

Of which about 80 to 90 were Limerick fans and at least 100 were the dreaded "Schooligans"

EDIT: Official Attendance given on the Fingal forum at 478

Thought there was less myself but in fairness they probably know their ground a lot better than I do.

Also, a bit OT but are there any other grounds in the league where the stewards ask to search your pockets?!?! :eek:

LeixlipRed
22/03/2008, 2:17 PM
Of which about 80 to 90 were Limerick fans and at least 100 were the dreaded "Schooligans"

Is this an exaggeration or what? 100 schooligans??

22/03/2008, 2:38 PM
Also, a bit OT but are there any other grounds in the league where the stewards ask to search your pockets?!?! :eek:

Maybe they were checking to see if you had change of E20?

22/03/2008, 2:42 PM
I thought only gardaí were allowed to search people and that stewards could only search people's belongings (bags etc)?

22/03/2008, 4:57 PM
Is this an exaggeration or what? 100 schooligans??

If anything I'm underestimating.

An absolute throng of them behind the goals

I thought only gardaí were allowed to search people

Which is precisely what I told the steward. (Well what I actually said was shag off but he got the idea)

22/03/2008, 5:25 PM

Actually, sadly enough I came across this (http://www.bebo.com/Profile.jsp?MemberId=4811844954) on Bebo yesterday. Truly sad individuals. I think a few of the members joined without reading what their, shall we say 'mission statement' is, especially considering one of them is a player :eek:

22/03/2008, 6:21 PM
Roughly the same size crowd as the Cobh game for us tonight, id say 2000.
Yeah, sounds about right. I see Harps had the official Cobh crowd in the programme last night, so presumably we'll get the official UCD one in due course.

in fairness they probably know their ground a lot better than I do.

The Star gave something like 1257 for Wexford v Kildare, which I assume was an official figure?

Leejo
22/03/2008, 6:39 PM

Skooligans my hole!

There's a big differance between skooligans and just general teenagers hanging around and messing at matches.

Were they actually fighting, throwing stuff at players, doing anything for you to brand them "skooligans"?

boris
23/03/2008, 12:27 AM
[quote=Lim till i die;903128]If you listened close enough you could hear the sound of a bubble burst in Morton Stadium last night.

No more than 350 at Sporting Fingal v Limerick 37

EDIT: Official Attendance given on the Fingal forum at 478

Thought there was less myself but in fairness they probably know their ground a lot better than I do."

lim

if there was 80-90 limerick fans there then ye were very quite too. and u reakon u were 1/4 of the attendence!!!!!. i would say equal number of limerick fans and so called "schooligan" maybe 30/40 at a stretch. 430 is not too bad for a team trying to build a fan base. remember some predictions at the launch of the club were around 100!!!

HarpoJoyce
23/03/2008, 3:05 AM
if there was 80-90 limerick fans !!........

Don't worry boris, contorted nonsense like the stuff some of the above posts will happen regular to the newbies. Just play your own game. Anyway, there are no "behind the goals" at the Billy Morton Stadium,..it's Curva Sud i Nord.

23/03/2008, 8:46 AM
Yeah, sounds about right. I see Harps had the official Cobh crowd in the programme last night, so presumably we'll get the official UCD one in due course.

Probably get it on tuesday or wednesday

Keen2win
23/03/2008, 11:28 AM
About 950 at the Longford v Dundalk game.

23/03/2008, 5:34 PM
Were they actually fighting, throwing stuff at players, doing anything for you to brand them "skooligans"?

Was being sarcastic sonny.

I happen to think the "Schooligan" threat is exaggerated to hilarious degrees.

What they were was a big shower of pubescent types with no interest in the game.

About as threatening as the vegetable soup that was on sale though.

80-90 limerick fans there then ye were very quite too.

Quite what??

If you mean quiet than yes I'd agree with you but would put it down to a combination of the weather, the uncovered terrace and the football.

i would say equal number of limerick fans and so called "schooligan" maybe 30/40 at a stretch.

And I would say that you are either a liar or have trouble counting once you run out of digits.

mrtndvn
23/03/2008, 5:53 PM
Actually, sadly enough I came across this (http://www.bebo.com/Profile.jsp?MemberId=4811844954) on Bebo yesterday. Truly sad individuals. I think a few of the members joined without reading what their, shall we say 'mission statement' is, especially considering one of them is a player :eek:

Thank you for your recent report of abuse regarding the Bebo member with the username 'wexfordyouthscasuals'.

We have investigated this report and taken any measures deemed necessary. Unfortunately we can not discuss details regarding each case but we can assure you that we take all reports seriously.

Thank you again for bringing this member and issue to our attention.

Kindest regards

Bebo Customer Service

Just letting people know

oldyouth
23/03/2008, 6:16 PM
Hi Lads,

I posted the original comment regarding a few 'casuals' at the Youths game on Friday. I've since been away for a few days.

Sorry, I'm not up to date with the lingo and meant the word in the sense of casual or infrequent visitors and nothing else. I have seen every Youths game from last season and this one so far and have never seen any trouble of any kind.

I'm not in to Bebo and similar sites. Can you tell me what is contained in the link? It doesn't seem to work now

LeixlipRed
23/03/2008, 6:26 PM
They deleted the page obviously

oldyouth
23/03/2008, 6:32 PM
Probably deleted alright, I'm just looking to know what the general gist of the problem was and the connection to The Youths

23/03/2008, 6:50 PM
Probably deleted alright, I'm just looking to know what the general gist of the problem was and the connection to The Youths

Basically a couple of 14 year olds decided to start a bebo page to recruit 'casuals' the gist of the site was that Shelbourne and the like have groups of young lads following them just for the fights so why shouldn't Wexford Youths. They posted on the supporters club bebo page asking people to join, that's where I saw it. I reported myself and it appears to have been deleted now. It was pathetic.

oldyouth
23/03/2008, 8:05 PM
Thanks Passinginterest and well done. we don't need that rubbish

24/03/2008, 2:24 PM

Pats started doing this at every game a couple of seasons ago but have now stopped even putting them on the website for some reason:confused:

Battery Rover
25/03/2008, 11:37 AM
Athlone Town vs Waterford 571 hardy souls attended on what was a freezing cold windy night. About 50 or so from Waterford

WindmillWarrior
25/03/2008, 12:32 PM
1,700 or so at Drogs v Cobh

Mr_T
25/03/2008, 1:00 PM

Harps V UCD, official attendance 1771.

TG

25/03/2008, 7:45 PM
Update after week three. Clubs who give official figures are in bold. 1345 was given in The Star for Wexford v Kildare, which sounds official (the only other non-"00" crowd they had was 4223 for Cork-Derry, which is correct)

PREMIER DIVISION
Bohs - 4,000 (2007 - 1,924; 2006 - 1,463; 2005 - 1,976; 2004 - 2,340) (awaiting official figure)
Bray - 1,050 (1,200; 1,027; 1,550; 818 FD)
Cobh - 900 (681 FD; 368 FD; 403 FD; 240 FD)
Cork - 4,507 (2,897; 2,941; 3,644; 4,033)
Derry - 6,870 (2,614; 3,229; 2,698; 1,672)
Drogheda - 2,100 (1,919; 1,751; 1,682; 1,554)
Harps - 1,866 (1,164 FD; 428 FD; 1,347; 1,106 FD)
Galway - 2,193 (2,199; 1,148 FD; 566 FD; 571 FD)
Pat's - --- (1,910; 1,342; 1,599; 1,882) (missing Galway and Sligo)
Rovers - 1,660 (1,715; 1,089 FD; 1,539; 1,349)
Sligo - 2,600 (1,448; 1,806; 1,794 FD; 781 FD)
UCD - 622 (663; 546; 653; 306 FD)

FIRST DIVISION
Athlone - 571 (670; 421; 316; 291)
Dundalk - 1,200 (1,406; 1,078; 474; 591)
Kildare - 429 (243; 265; 186; 298)
Limerick - 555 (670; 364; 669; 188)
Longford - 825 (885 PD; 681 PD; 1,004 PD; 1,131 PD)
Monaghan - 100 (292; 204; 183; 182) (missing Shels)
Shels - 1,606 (888; 1,690 PD; 1,949 PD; 2,158 PD)
Sporting Fingal - 856 (N/A)
Waterford - 760 (1,181 PD; 915 PD; 1,513 PD; 1,753 PD)
Wexford - 1,586 (810)

Premier Division average - 2,471 (1,687; 1,535; 1,759; 1,853)
First Division average - 904 (722; 570; 520; 512)

Overall average - 1,769 (1,235; 1,070; 1,195; 1,218)

FD is an average crowd in the First Division; PD is an average crowd in the Premier Division. I've only put that in where the attendances was when the club was in a different one to their current division.

Recent games missing -

St Pat's v Galway
Monaghan v Shels

25/03/2008, 9:10 PM
Solid numbers so far. Derry obviously boosted by possibly once off bumper?

Too early for LOI press release "attendances up 50%" ? ;)

What has happened Pats? They used to previously give official numbers? :confused:

kingdomkerry
25/03/2008, 10:10 PM
Cant believe Pats and especially Rovers have such low averages

Buller
25/03/2008, 11:04 PM
Cant believe Pats and especially Rovers have such low averages

We've been homeless and not picking up a great deal of new fans for the past 20 years... Tolka park is also very hard to get to from the southside... 2 buses in most cases on a friday night...

kingdomkerry
25/03/2008, 11:25 PM
So why not play in the southside this year? Would of got supporter numbers up ahead of the move to Tallaght. Was the rent too high in places like the RDS, Donneybrook etc?

25/03/2008, 11:31 PM
So why not play in the southside this year? Would of got supporter numbers up ahead of the move to Tallaght. Was the rent too high in places like the RDS, Donneybrook etc?
Rovers had a deal in place to play in Donnybrook. Everything was nearly sorted when the story broke to the Sindo, then the plug was pulled in the deal.

twowheelsonly
26/03/2008, 12:14 AM
I would imagine that Cobhs' average will take a good jump next week:)

26/03/2008, 12:35 AM
Solid numbers so far. Derry obviously boosted by possibly once off bumper?

Well we have Harps at home twice this year, so the biggest derby in the league certainly won't be a "once off" in our figures this season....