View Full Version : 2008 attendances
was told between 500-600 at the bray-galway match.
879 official attendance at the Wexford Waterford game last night
Sweet. I said 900, and I may or may not have been including the teams. :D
Good game too, bit of everything in there.
20/07/2008, 5:06 AM
LOL at Cosmo and Dodge bagging Derrys away attendances when their own home attendances are PURE nags :D
What part of the following do you not understand?
'(, its nothing to be ashamed of in EL context as all EL clubs are the exact same, just stating that derry are no different.)'
SMorgan
20/07/2008, 9:09 AM
Great news for me too!
All we have to do now is get promoted.. ;)
People keeping referring to the fact that Dundalk, if prmoted, will be forced to play on Friday's or Saturday's. Could anybody show me in the FAI rulebook how the club can be forced to move away from its favoured Thursday evening slot?
20/07/2008, 11:57 AM
Around 3000 in Sligo for that shambolic "performance" about 600 angry Harps fans. If we get 600 of a crowd for our home game next week we'll be lucky. :mad:
red bellied
20/07/2008, 12:39 PM
Around 3000 in Sligo for that shambolic "performance" about 600 angry Harps fans. If we get 600 of a crowd for our home game next week we'll be lucky. :mad:
I say just over 2000 with 400 Harps.
Rovers Maniac
20/07/2008, 12:52 PM
yes agree i would have said 2,200 approx, Harps had a great crowd down for it.
monutdfc
21/07/2008, 8:43 AM
MUFC v Limerick - I'd say 100 at best (including my daughter making her KCP debut).
21/07/2008, 9:35 AM
was told between 500-600 at the bray-galway match.On Saturday, Tom was giving out yards about the Bray attendance being announced as 800. Make of that what you will.
jinxy lilywhite
21/07/2008, 11:50 AM
People keeping referring to the fact that Dundalk, if prmoted, will be forced to play on Friday's or Saturday's. Could anybody show me in the FAI rulebook how the club can be forced to move away from its favoured Thursday evening slot?
Yeah I'd love to see that too. FFS do people not know how little there is to do in Dundalk on a Thursday night.
21/07/2008, 12:27 PM
About 300 at UCD-Cobh on Saturday; will try get hold of the official figure. More than I was expecting after the FAI screwed us over with the kick off. :rolleyes:
Edit - 270 official.
WindmillWarrior
21/07/2008, 1:11 PM
around 1,400 at Drogs v Cork
21/07/2008, 1:17 PM
I say just over 2000 with 400 Harps.
Thats fair enough, ye would know your ground better than me.
How much does the blue stand hold?
Rovers Maniac
21/07/2008, 1:19 PM
Thats fair enough, ye would know your ground better than me.
How much does the blue stand hold?
About 800 i think Sam
jinxy lilywhite
21/07/2008, 1:19 PM
Hi Guys,
I must say I do find these attendence figures startling and really I don't know whether to cry for the horrific state that our domestic game is in, or mourn for the death of the game.
Can anyone tell me if any club can at this moment in time get at least 5% of its locality to attend its home games?
Rovers Maniac
21/07/2008, 1:23 PM
Hi Guys,
I must say I do find these attendence figures startling and really I don't know whether to cry for the horrific state that our domestic game is in, or mourn for the death of the game.
Can anyone tell me if any club can at this moment in time get at least 5% of its locality to attend its home games?
If you take these figures and take the population of Sligo town we get approx nearly 12%.
Harps get well over 60% of theres
red bellied
21/07/2008, 1:46 PM
If you take these figures and take the population of Sligo town we get approx nearly 12%.
Harps get well over 60% of theres
Including the county population that works out at about 3% based on the seasons average so far.
21/07/2008, 1:57 PM
About 300 at UCD-Cobh on Saturday; will try get hold of the official figure. More than I was expecting after the FAI screwed us over with the kick off. :rolleyes:
Why was the KO time changed?
21/07/2008, 1:58 PM
It was a reciprocal arrangement after Cobh changed their home game against us as it clashed with our annual fundraising dinner.
Of course, the FAI had been told about the dinner before the fixtures came out, were asked to give us a Friday game that week and they said yep, no problems. Fixtures come out, and they've put us down on the Saturday. Idiots.
Battery Rover
21/07/2008, 2:55 PM
Athlone Town vs Kildare County Official attendance 236.
It seems to be the more we promote the club through papers, radio, posters, kids free tickets and the more matches we win the lower the attendances have got.
Although Saturday we had to compete against Westmeath playing in both hurling and football. I don't think First Division games should be played on a Friday night but the way things are going it might be the only way forward.
dublinwanderer
21/07/2008, 4:13 PM
On Saturday, Tom was giving out yards about the Bray attendance being announced as 800. Make of that what you will.
yep, about 800 is about right, with about 20 galway fans...
and i know friendlies dont count but accordinging to rte 5000 at the leeds game and our own website says 5500.... great crowd hopefully some might come back soon....
Green&whitearmy
21/07/2008, 5:51 PM
i know its a bit late but i was talking to someone ivolved in the club and was told that the attendance for the bohs match was about 1800. There was probably 1000-1100 bohs and what ever else was bray, about 800. There was alot more then the 1200 stated on this before.
21/07/2008, 9:15 PM
believe we had an attendance of 300 people at our match fri nite.. the worse thing is that the majority of people that are goin are season ticket holders...
21/07/2008, 9:24 PM
. Could anybody show me in the FAI rulebook...
...that'll be the crumpled bits of paper and alcohol-soaked beer mats loosely held together with chewing gum and ancient ketchup somewhere at the back of John Delaney's desk drawer? :confused:
oldyouth
21/07/2008, 9:39 PM
Hi Guys,
I don't think you can ask for 5% of the locality to go to games on a regular basis in any area. For example, although there is a population of 2.25m people in the Greater Manchester region, the majority of Man Utd. attendees come from Malaysia & Inis Boffin, so 5% is unachieveable. I think there is a core support in each County that needs to be expanded and it is up to each club to work on it
Saint_Charlie
21/07/2008, 10:03 PM
Biggest crowd of the season for Pats at Richmond tonight i'd wager. I'm no good at the guesstimates so i'll let someone else but the Rovers fans turned out in force. Fair play.
smasher
22/07/2008, 8:20 AM
Let Carrick apply for the A League and see what crowds they get on a regular basis.
Lets wake up and smell the coffee here. The top 4 LOI clubs lose over 3million euro last season and you lot think everythings rosy in the garden. How sad! That is what has the league in the state its in. We need some forward thinking and I dont think we are going to get it here. We have people trying to justify pitifully small crowds at top league clashes while at the same time denigrating a junior league club showing the way. Instead of criticising, people must get their heads out of the sand and try to learn how to improve and not wallow in blissful ignorance while the citadel crumbles all around them.
Enough said on the matter unless someone has something constructive to say.
22/07/2008, 8:35 AM
Lets wake up and smell the coffee here. The top 4 LOI clubs lose over 3million euro last season and you lot think everythings rosy in the garden.you'll find the clubs lost nothing - if they cost their investors money, thats quite ok actually; generally investors are there to invest. Now if you're comparing Carrick in the A league to challenging for the premier division title, you obviously haven't seen the A league.
How sad! That is what has the league in the state its in. We need some forward thinking and I dont think we are going to get it here. We have people trying to justify pitifully small crowds at top league clashesshow me one? there isn't an ELoI fan alive who isn't aware the crowds are terrible.
while at the same time denigrating a junior league club showing the way.Showing the way? What? the way to where? The pub after the game?
Instead of criticising, people must get their heads out of the sand and try to learn how to improve and not wallow in blissful ignorance while the citadel crumbles all around them.I'm almost certain nobody has criticised Carrick and the only person who has criticised someone in this conversation is... you.
Enough said on the matter unless someone has something constructive to say.I don't think I'll bother thanks, wasted on small minds.
smasher
22/07/2008, 9:09 AM
See what I mean!
smasher
22/07/2008, 9:13 AM
See what I mean there's barely enough to fill a decent size pub after a LOI game anyway, if you exclude all the kids!
22/07/2008, 9:13 AM
See what I mean!
No, enlighten us, because you haven't made a single salient point yet.
smasher
22/07/2008, 9:22 AM
Yes. Get rid of half the Dublin teams. Confine league to ten teams- regionally situated . Galway, Cork, Waterford , Limerick, Donegal, Louth, Sligo, Dublin(2) and possibly one more in Midlands/east area and more importantly ' stop ignoring the elephant in the sitting room'!
22/07/2008, 9:45 AM
Yes. Get rid of half the Dublin teams. Confine league to ten teams- regionally situated . Galway, Cork, Waterford , Limerick, Donegal, Louth, Sligo, Dublin(2) and possibly one more in Midlands/east area and more importantly stop ignoring' the elephant in the sitting room'!
I like that idea. Then UCD can do to the eL what we've already done to GAA club football.
I just love how people can accuse us of delusion while ignoring the economic realities of population distribution.
I also love how the solution to all of our problems is to yet again promote Galway for no reason.
smasher
22/07/2008, 10:01 AM
Obviously, raising the bar for those mired in years of LOI stagnation will not be that easy!
smasher
22/07/2008, 10:05 AM
I like that idea. Then UCD can do to the eL what we've already done to GAA club football.
I just love how people can accuse us of delusion while ignoring the economic realities of population distribution.
I also love how the solution to all of our problems is to yet again promote Galway for no reason.
In case you had not noticed Galway Utd is a Premier division club. To where have they been promoted?
By default not on the pitch
HarpoJoyce
22/07/2008, 10:18 AM
It's like revealing the secrets of The Church of Scientology, after each 'Earthly' promotion an adherent receives a DVD....... at a commercial competetive price of course.
Patrick Dunne
22/07/2008, 12:20 PM
I thought that this was an attendance thread ?
22/07/2008, 1:07 PM
Attendances, scientology, whatever floats your boat.
Though on that topic - smasher, if you want to continue the "debate" regarding Carrick, can you start a new thread and not clog this one up? Thanks.
smasher
22/07/2008, 1:58 PM
Partly guessed that the guidance given would not be appreciated but the fact that it hits the nail on the head, such an outcome is not unexpected.
22/07/2008, 3:56 PM
Partly guessed that the guidance given would not be appreciated but the fact that it hits the nail on the head, such an outcome is not unexpected.
Thanks for your "guidence," champ. Glad you came along and sorted the whole mess out. I can't believe how blind we've all been; it's like someone's come along and thrown the blinding, searing light of truth on the LOI.
I, and indeed we, as a forum, truly appreciate your help.
You're right, smasher is for sure the saviour of Irish football.
We'd better watch someone doesn't nail him to a tree.
22/07/2008, 4:05 PM
Give it a break smasher, alright?
You're right, smasher is for sure the saviour of Irish football.
We'd better watch someone doesn't nail him to a tree.
LeixlipRed
22/07/2008, 4:59 PM
Any word on last nights attendance?
Saint_Charlie
23/07/2008, 8:43 PM
Pat's - 1,952 (1,910; 1,342; 1,599; 1,882) (missing Bray and Harps)
Estimates in but official figures missing -
Pat's v Bohs
Official figures for these three and the Rovers game the other night are:
v Bray: 1,483
V Harps:1,427
V Bohs:2,580
V Rovers:3,050
Source is a hand out my da got at a Patrons meeting at the club tonight. :ball:
24/07/2008, 5:29 PM
Cheers for that.
Update after last weekend. Clubs who give official figures are in bold.
PREMIER DIVISION
Bohs - 2,298 (2007 - 1,924; 2006 - 1,463; 2005 - 1,976; 2004 - 2,340) (missing Sligo)
Bray - 1,400 (1,200; 1,027; 1,550; 818 FD)
Cobh - 1,303 (681 FD; 368 FD; 403 FD; 240 FD) (missing Pat's)
Cork - 3,454 (2,897; 2,941; 3,644; 4,033)
Derry - 3,435 (2,614; 3,229; 2,698; 1,672)
Drogheda - 1,800 (1,919; 1,751; 1,682; 1,554)
Harps - 1,869 (1,164 FD; 428 FD; 1,347; 1,106 FD)
Galway - 1,292 (2,199; 1,148 FD; 566 FD; 571 FD)
Pat's - 2,021 (1,910; 1,342; 1,599; 1,882)
Rovers - 1,777 (1,715; 1,089 FD; 1,539; 1,349)
Sligo - 2,000 (1,448; 1,806; 1,794 FD; 781 FD)
UCD - 573 (663; 546; 653; 306 FD)
FIRST DIVISION
Athlone - 408 (670; 421; 316; 291)
Dundalk - 1,239 (1,406; 1,078; 474; 591)
Kildare - 171 (243; 265; 186; 298)
Limerick - 483 (670; 364; 669; 188)
Longford - 563 (885 PD; 681 PD; 1,004 PD; 1,131 PD) (missing Waterford and Wexford)
Monaghan - 163 (292; 204; 183; 182)
Shels - 1,010 (888; 1,690 PD; 1,949 PD; 2,158 PD)
Sporting Fingal - 744 (N/A) (missing Kildare and Waterford)
Waterford - 764 (1,181 PD; 915 PD; 1,513 PD; 1,753 PD)
Wexford - 912 (810)
Premier Division average - 1,913 (1,687; 1,535; 1,759; 1,853)
First Division average - 643 (722; 570; 520; 512)
Overall average - 1,338 (1,235; 1,070; 1,195; 1,218)
FD is an average crowd in the First Division; PD is an average crowd in the Premier Division. I've only put that in where the attendances was when the club was in a different one to their current division.
24/07/2008, 6:09 PM
Cobh - 1,303 (681 FD; 368 FD; 403 FD; 240 FD) (missing Pat's)
PM luka he knows all our official attendence's.
soylent green
25/07/2008, 10:46 PM
1061 at Rovers v Rovers tonight.
LeixlipRed
25/07/2008, 10:58 PM
I'd guess 350 at Station Road tonight.