View Full Version : Drimnagh Stabbings

Billsthoughts
29/02/2008, 1:19 PM
Is there a thread already open on this?
Have to say this is one of the most disgusting things to happen in memory. What is wrong with these little scumbags? What goes through the head of a young lad when he decides to stab 2 people in the head with a screwdriver. who sits around and eggs him on? Hanging too good for the lot of them and their parents too. Its about time soemthing was done about the scumbag element in this country.

29/02/2008, 1:22 PM
Yeah its is hard to get into the mindset of these guys, life is very cheap to these guys. Something very barbaric about it.

anto1208
29/02/2008, 2:12 PM
The story so far is the polish guys where going into the off license some very young girls asked them to get them drink they wouldn’t so they started to threaten the polish guys who laughed it off and walked away. The girls went up to this scumbags house who left the house armed with a screw driver came up behind them and attacked them stabbing them 6 or 7 times in the head.

The thing is this scum bag is probably thinking he is the big man now. Residence of this area have been on all week saying they have been looking for something to be done about this gang but guards politicians etc would do nothing.

There is no point in the guards doing anything how many times have you seen a guy with 60 or 100 convictions get 6 months for some horrific attack.
60 convictions are just the ones he got caught doing and they could bring him to court for. you can double it for the amount they couldn’t charge him with and treble it for the ones he got away with. The amount of garda time gone into securing those convictions.

After my house was broken into they caught the guy and the cops called me in to give a statement they said that when it would get to court the free Lawyer your man would have would ask for statements and they would have to put it off for a day , the cops would spend a few days collecting the statements go back into court and he would just plead guilty !!! just to waste a day. Now if it takes the cops a few days to get a case ready to take to court and go to court for a simple junkie burglar imagine the work load that goes into taking one of these little dirt bags to court in a serious case.

The laws need to be changed but they never will be its just the sound bite for this week that has taken over from the coke sound bite of last week , it’s the thing to be seen saying none of the politicians will actually do anything.

DIFChick
29/02/2008, 2:37 PM
I don't know what to make of all of this. I've always been treated decent by all irish folk be it south side or north side of this lovely city. I felt awful yesterday of hearing the news about the second man passing away.

I'm still feeling anger, sadness and depression because when things like these happen it makes me think less of Dublin :(And I love this city!

My heart goes out to the family and friends of the two polish men...

ps. I say do the crime, then ye sure as hell better do the time.

DIFChick
29/02/2008, 2:54 PM
I meant to add two links to blogs I read every now and then: Twenty Major and One For The Road have entries regarding the murders in Drimnagh.

http://twentymajor.net/2008/02/28/on-scum/

http://oneftroad.wordpress.com/2008/02/27/please-excuse-my-language-while-i-go-off-on-a-rant-against-scumbags/

Hey, don't take this as me promoting vigilantism or anything like that. I just enjoy reading something else beside the usual stuff that is in the Indo, Herald etc.

29/02/2008, 3:09 PM
Better policing solves this problem to an extent, have more visual Gardai in the areas that need it most. Sadly the Gardai are the most inept shower of wasters I've ever seen or heard about, seriously I can't think of a police force that are as ineffective as our lot.

As for scumbags who do things like this, well I never thought I'd say this but capital punishment should be looked into. People have such a disregard for the value of other peoples lives these days that only the threat of taking their own might impact on them. We need to have stricter laws on juveniles too, every little 14 year old knows they can terrorise whoever they please and get away scot free.

Honestly though, all jokes aside, I don't think I've ever encountered filth like I see in Dublin city centre on a daily basis. I was talking about this with an Aussie who was nearing the end of his trip around the world and he brought up the point that out of all the scum he has seen and encountered in his trip there seems to be something extra to the Dublin scum. Personally I can't stand even standing beside them, they are so filthy, look so diseased and talk in the most horrible accent I've ever encountered. I remember when I was living in the Coombe two years ago too, and I know a lot of junkies are up around that area due to the clinic, but there just seemed to be a more dangerous look in their eyes then the scum I've encountered in Cork, Limerick, London etc. A more desperate, I'll kill you for a fiver, sort of air about them. Normally I'd talk about trying to intigrate people like this back into society, but I really don't see any hope for people like that

29/02/2008, 3:23 PM
Better policing solves this problem to an extent, have more visual Gardai in the areas that need it most. Sadly the Gardai are the most inept shower of wasters I've ever seen or heard about, seriously I can't think of a police force that are as ineffective as our lot.

As for scumbags who do things like this, well I never thought I'd say this but capital punishment should be looked into. People have such a disregard for the value of other peoples lives these days that only the threat of taking their own might impact on them. We need to have stricter laws on juveniles too, every little 14 year old knows they can terrorise whoever they please and get away scot free.

Honestly though, all jokes aside, I don't think I've ever encountered filth like I see in Dublin city centre on a daily basis. I was talking about this with an Aussie who was nearing the end of his trip around the world and he brought up the point that out of all the scum he has seen and encountered in his trip there seems to be something extra to the Dublin scum. Personally I can't stand even standing beside them, they are so filthy, look so diseased and talk in the most horrible accent I've ever encountered. I remember when I was living in the Coombe two years ago too, and I know a lot of junkies are up around that area due to the clinic, but there just seemed to be a more dangerous look in their eyes then the scum I've encountered in Cork, Limerick, London etc. A more desperate, I'll kill you for a fiver, sort of air about them. Normally I'd talk about trying to intigrate people like this back into society, but I really don't see any hope for people like that

I agree with you there Jebus. I seen a lot of Junkies in Barcelona when I was there and a few around Boston but there is something alot more sinister about the Dublin variety. and don't even get me started on the women junkies

Billsthoughts
29/02/2008, 3:27 PM

While I agree with most of what else ya say I take issue at the above. Very easy to take cheap shots at the guards. What are they supposed to do? They are arresting these scum and the court system is putting them back on the streets.

29/02/2008, 3:30 PM
I agree with you there Jebus. I seen a lot of Junkies in Barcelona when I was there and a few around Boston but there is something alot more sinister about the Dublin variety. and don't even get me started on the women junkies

When I was in New York I used to be down around Washington Square park a lot and saw and talked to quite a few junkies and I only ever felt pity for them, genuinely feel nothing but disgust for the Dublin variety

29/02/2008, 3:31 PM
When I was in New York I used to be down around Washington Square park a lot and saw and talked to quite a few junkies and I only ever felt pity for them, genuinely feel nothing but disgust for the Dublin variety
Ditto, the ones I seen in Barca and Beantown were pitiful creatures

inexile
29/02/2008, 3:36 PM

how can you say the Gardai are an inept shower of wasters?? examples please, taking into account how under resourced, under staffed they are and how frustrating it must be when they do their job to a t, arrest someone for a crime, bring them to court and the judge puts down some derisory punishment

29/02/2008, 3:44 PM
how can you say the Gardai are an inept shower of wasters?? examples please, taking into account how under resourced, under staffed they are and how frustrating it must be when they do their job to a t, arrest someone for a crime, bring them to court and the judge puts down some derisory punishment

The biggest issue i have with Policing in this country is the shear size of the Traffic Corp. such a waste of resources that are already stretched to the limit
policing bus lanes and covert speed traps on dual carriageways at 6:30am on a Saturday morning with little or no traffic on the roads (N3 at castleknock and the N4 at the Spa hotel are just two that I've seen) is hardly the best use of limited Gardai and should be privatised IMO

29/02/2008, 3:48 PM
While I agree with most of what else ya say I take issue at the above. Very easy to take cheap shots at the guards. What are they supposed to do? They are arresting these scum and the court system is putting them back on the streets.

Its not just with this lot that the Gardai fall down on, the majority of people have examples of how inept they are. My own one was when I was 16 and I came home to find my family's house robbed. I was phoning the gaurds when my neighbour came over to me and said I had just missed them, that she saw them jumping over the back wall and had already called the gaurds, told them where they were running towards (Cal's Park in Limerick) and had been told that a squad car was on the way.

So and hour and a half past when two fat ****ing detectives rolled up and apologised for taking so long, they had been on lunch (this was 11 in the morning). So ****bag one went in, looked around, took a pile of my CDs which may or may not have been knocked by the robbers, and they left. That was the last my family heard about it in an official sense, but it took me 9 ****ing months to get my CDs back off them as they were constantly shipped off to other garda stations. I also have stories of gardai racially abusing my friend (he's Irish, but that didn't stop them), just not bothering to do anything and even telling my friend they weren't going to do anything (in a situation where they clearly could have done something), and even threatening to arrest my friend for complaining about them not doing anything.

My most recent garda mishap was on Patricks St. in Cork a few saturdays ago when myself and two friends saw a crowd gathered around a man outside McDonalds on the Grand Parade, the man had been slashed in the back of the head by some guy (the gaurds actually caught him). We could see blood flowing from the back of this man's head, he was of Indian descent, but his face had turned ghostly white, and it was obvious he was in a bad way. My friend Paul, who has first aid experience, asked one of the gaurds to put pressure on the back of the mans head to stem the flow of blood, and what did he get for this? He was told 'stand the **** back or else he'll be arrested too'. A few minutes past with the morons in yellow looking around aimlessly when my friend approached again and again asked them to put pressure on the wound until the ambulance arrived. At this the same gaurd got in his face and said 'didn't I tell you to **** off', before glowering at my friend as he walked away.

So I'm sorry if you or some family and friends are gardai, but I genuinely have nothing but contempt for each and everyone of them

29/02/2008, 3:56 PM
So I'm sorry if you or some family and friends are gardai, but I genuinely have nothing but contempt for each and everyone of them

My cousin is a rookie guard and he'd be the first to agree with you
the one's who've been on the force for years are in a comfort zone much like all civil servants

29/02/2008, 4:21 PM
That clown Lenihan has just been on the radio using this incident as further fodder in his determination to restrict the availability of alcohol and increase it's off sale price. Nothing to do with him and his party being largely bankrolled by the publicans of course.

anto1208
29/02/2008, 4:30 PM
I worked in a off licence in one of the rougher areas of limerick so we costantly had to call the cops. One day we where getting our daily robbing from the same scum bag i caught him and held him in the shop the cops where rang and after half an hour of fighting with this guy getting a can across the head a few attempted head butts i said screw this and just threw him out the door. The cops arrived a day later !!!!!!! What good is that ,we gave them the video and i was the one that got warned for being too rough with him. All they did to him was go up to the house told him dont go near that shop again . Half an hour later he came down and kicked in the front window because we ratted him out !!

When the guys you are scrapping with every day start getting locked up for having AK47's its time to move job.

Docboy
29/02/2008, 5:30 PM
Lads scum are scum, I really don't think our own are any worse than any other major cities. The main difference being that in those other places they've all been shipped off to the suburbs, the sort of places we don't tend to see when we visit.

That said I experienced an awful feeling of deep pity and a certain shame on hearing the second lad had died aswell. How horrible that the two poor victims had to encounter something so despicable and incomprehensible in my own town. God love their families. R.I.P.

anto1208
01/03/2008, 12:39 AM
Im getting feb up with people blamming the drink or the drugs or some other reason they are just scum bags drink doesnt make a normal person a dirt ball after a few pints.

The joe duffy show has a bee in its bonet about below cost booze in supermarkets now so its only a matter of time before the goverment ban that.
As if people never got drunk in pubs before :rolleyes:

01/03/2008, 1:17 AM
My cousin is a rookie guard and he'd be the first to agree with you
the one's who've been on the force for years are in a comfort zone much like all civil servants

ahh nothing like a good old generalisation not backed up with facts. All Civil Servants you say, do you include teachers or nurses in that too or is it just strictly civil servants who work in the Government Depts. Does that also cover the professional grads too or is it just people in the admin grades. Come on be specific and use examples of where all civil servants are in the comfort zone.

01/03/2008, 3:18 AM

"each and everyone of them"

Jebus, you can't condemn a large group of people, the vast, vast majority of whom you've never met, based on the action of a select few you've seen in action. You can't say they are representative of the rest.

Your statement would only make sense if all Gardai were following the same credo, or had the same belief, and the belief itself was the problem (your statement would be fine regarding members of the Nazi party, for example, as the main tenet itself was abhorrent). But this is not the case with the Gardai. There is no shocking common belief to allow you make such a generalisation.

Billsthoughts
01/03/2008, 8:19 AM

no I am not a guard but like you say I do have a lot of freinds who are. like myself or yourself they are just ordinary people doing a job. they have good and bad days like ourselves. like any workplace you have commited people and you have wasters. the day my brother got sick a neighbour who was a guard resucitated him meaning we had an extra few days with him. it would have been under very difficult circumstances he did this. another one organised a garda escort for the hearse without being asked. other examples i dont really want to go into. Im sure like teachers or nurses they go into the job all wide eyed and planning to make a real differance. a few months in a world where kids are stabbing men in the head with screwdrivers soon brings out the cynic in even the most idealistic.

Greenforever
01/03/2008, 10:06 AM
Firstly my deepest sympathies to all the relatives and friends of the deceased.

To those slagging off the Gardai, the vast majority of them do as good a job as they can with the very limited resources they have. It has to be soul destroying for them to know that after bringing a scumbag to court, he gets probation or a suspended sentence and is back on the streets before the Garda even gets the associted paperwork done in his station and back out to real policing.

What has really p***** me off is Berties comments expressing his shock etc at the incident. I don't think there are too many people shocked by what has happened, disgusted yes, because that is what everybody should be, but to say shocked is to give the impression they didn't believe something like this could happen in this country when we all know there is a generation of out of control scumbags doing what they like with no regard for human life, not even their own.

As regards the Chinesese (could be different nationality) guy inClare Hall, he should get a medal, while possibly not the cleverest thing to do, whos to know if he hadnt attacked them his kid could easily have ended up dead.

01/03/2008, 1:08 PM
As regards the Chinesese (could be different nationality) guy inClare Hall, he should get a medal, while possibly not the cleverest thing to do, whos to know if he hadnt attacked them his kid could easily have ended up dead.

The tabs, like their UK parent publications, absolutley delight in "Have-a-Go-Hero" stories. I'm just glad he didn't get seriously hurt. When confronted by armed chavscum it's generally best to just give them whatever gets them out of your face. I know that involves swallowing pride but there's simply no percentage in altercating with people who are far more pre-disposed to using lethal force than the average Joe.

Similarily the two Polish lads probably wouldn't have had the experience in reading a situation, in dealing with local chavs, to just keep walking. That's the most important thing in those incidents ...getting yourself off "the X" as it were and out of the situation.

Greenforever
01/03/2008, 2:19 PM
The tabs, like their UK parent publications, absolutley delight in "Have-a-Go-Hero" stories. I'm just glad he didn't get seriously hurt. When confronted by armed chavscum it's generally best to just give them whatever gets them out of your face. I know that involves swallowing pride but there's simply no percentage in altercating with people who are far more pre-disposed to using lethal force than the average Joe.

Similarily the two Polish lads probably wouldn't have had the experience in reading a situation, in dealing with local chavs, to just keep walking. That's the most important thing in those incidents ...getting yourself off "the X" as it were and out of the situation.

I would agree, but noone knows how they will react until in the situation, and even if in this case he had given them the money or whatever there is no guarantee they would not have stabbed the kid. Any one convicted of holding knife to a kids throat should get life without parole.

01/03/2008, 4:15 PM
"each and everyone of them"

Jebus, you can't condemn a large group of people, the vast, vast majority of whom you've never met, based on the action of a select few you've seen in action. You can't say they are representative of the rest.

I'll let ye know I have friends and relatives who are cops before I continue on here.

Anyway I say I have contempt for each and every one of them because each and every one of them allow this half hearted approach to policing to continue. I haven't heard of many gaurds coming out against the bully boy tactics of their fellow Gardai, I haven't heard of many gaurds pulling their fellow officers up on their racist abuse of some of our minority groups, and I haven't heard of any gaurds coming out and saying that they need to do better in all areas (which they do). What I do get from my friends and relatives in the force is the same tired excuses I've just heard here about 'little resources in the face of criminals', which is just passing the buck for a bunch of lazy ****ers to sponge off their job at the expense of our safety.

If the Gardai feel they are under-resourced then bring it to full media attention, it's not like people wouldn't back them for more manpower. If they don't like getting involved in certain areas (fights etc.) then DON'T DO THE ****ING JOB. I wouldn't want to get involved among a gang fighting each other on O'Connell St on Sat, and so I have never considered becoming a gaurd, if some of these wasters don't want to do likewise then I suggest they do what I did and not go for the job. I can only assume, that like my friends who joined, they joined up for the decent pay and pension that goes with the job, and are trying to blag their way through their work.

Back on the under-resourced point, who ever accepts that for people doing a bad job? If your insurance company were taking a year to sort out your claim because of lack of manpower wouldn't you raise hell with them? If you called for a fire brigade to come to your home, and they showed up 5 hours later after your house had been ravaged you'd do likewise wouldn't you? Why do the spongers in the Gardai Siochana always get left off with their pitiful excuses? Irish people being Irish is the answer

01/03/2008, 4:16 PM
Just on the point of the lds who've done the deed. They aren't junkies

Scumbags certainly. Junkies, no...

Greenforever
01/03/2008, 4:32 PM
I'll let ye know I have friends and relatives who are cops before I continue on here.

Anyway I say I have contempt for each and every one of them because each and every one of them allow this half hearted approach to policing to continue. I haven't heard of many gaurds coming out against the bully boy tactics of their fellow Gardai, I haven't heard of many gaurds pulling their fellow officers up on their racist abuse of some of our minority groups, and I haven't heard of any gaurds coming out and saying that they need to do better in all areas (which they do). What I do get from my friends and relatives in the force is the same tired excuses I've just heard here about 'little resources in the face of criminals', which is just passing the buck for a bunch of lazy ****ers to sponge off their job at the expense of our safety.

If the Gardai feel they are under-resourced then bring it to full media attention, it's not like people wouldn't back them for more manpower. If they don't like getting involved in certain areas (fights etc.) then DON'T DO THE ****ING JOB. I wouldn't want to get involved among a gang fighting each other on O'Connell St on Sat, and so I have never considered becoming a gaurd, if some of these wasters don't want to do likewise then I suggest they do what I did and not go for the job. I can only assume, that like my friends who joined, they joined up for the decent pay and pension that goes with the job, and are trying to blag their way through their work.

Back on the under-resourced point, who ever accepts that for people doing a bad job? If your insurance company were taking a year to sort out your claim because of lack of manpower wouldn't you raise hell with them? If you called for a fire brigade to come to your home, and they showed up 5 hours later after your house had been ravaged you'd do likewise wouldn't you? Why do the spongers in the Gardai Siochana always get left off with their pitiful excuses? Irish people being Irish is the answer

With a post like that you have a serious attitude problem. I've many friends in the Gardai and would not accuse them of being spongers. They work very long hours and are regularly risking their life to protect us. Not all members of the force are perfect but the majority are.

Your insurance company, you choose and they are a commercial operation profit driven so to compare them to the Gardai is childish.

The ratio of fire officers per call out is much lower than the ratio of Gardai to call out, so any complaints relay them to your local government TD.

To give you an idea of how few Gardai we have, if every member of the Gardai to include trainess as well were put on road traffic duty at the same time and were spaced equally all over the country there would be 8km between each and every Garda. Now as they have to operate 24/7and also have holidays etc if all Gardai on shift at one time were on our roads they each would be 32km apart. (figures supplied by Garda Managemnt)

The Gardai are not perfect no more than the FAi or any other body but the vast majority do the job to the best of their ability with the limited resources they have at their disposal.

Billsthoughts
01/03/2008, 4:32 PM

I quite possibly could be wrong...but are there not restrictions what the gardai can an cant say in the media and what not? As I said open to contradicition.

dont think there are many gardai afraid to get involved in situations like above. Pay is not great in comparison to private sector. lots of overtime but then thats time used up. Am not saying all them are brilliant. but you seem to think every member of the gardai should be some sort of uber perfect citizen. human beings arent like that. you dont have to look too far round here to see what kinda person a little bit of power turns emotionally underdeveloped individuals into.

03/03/2008, 7:48 AM
There's no doubt that the use of the gardai resources is a major issue. A lot of it is resistance from the representative associations who are keeping their members in cushy jobs, but the Government recruitment embargo/ reduction policy. Clerical, Office and a lot of the Desk Duties should be done by civil Servants not by cops. Everytime there is an issue or statement from them we are reminded on this - what's the need for Press Officer to be a cop who could/should be on the street not dealing with the media?

However, I would have a certain about of jebsus problems with the cops. I've been at enough Dublin Derbies to realise that there's a lot of incompentent cops in this city/ country. My sister in law woke hearing something in the night, opened the bedroom door and heard someone in the house - she phoned 999. 10 minutes later got a telephone call back to check she was alright! She was in the house with an intruder and their reaction wasn't to rush there, it was to wait a while and phone back :rolleyes:

The only way to deal with kids hanging around is constant police patrols to make it so they don't feel comfortable hanging around. Even CCTV in these areas (monitered and by civilians). Policing from a patrol car is nonsense.

03/03/2008, 9:44 AM
ahh nothing like a good old generalisation not backed up with facts. All Civil Servants you say, do you include teachers or nurses in that too or is it just strictly civil servants who work in the Government Depts. Does that also cover the professional grads too or is it just people in the admin grades. Come on be specific and use examples of where all civil servants are in the comfort zone.

When I said all civil servants were in a comfort zone I meant ALL as/in they have a Job for life if they want it and a good pension at the end. I didn't mean to suggest that they are all lazy bathstuds at all just that for those who want to be lazy and get away with it, the civil service seems to be the place you can do it

Billsthoughts
03/03/2008, 9:50 AM
He doesnt see the irony in spending all day on foot.ie and then defending himself against accusations of being lazy:rolleyes:

Have to say customer service levels in government agencies seems to have improved a lot. I would put them ahead of most private organisations I have dealt with lately.

03/03/2008, 10:28 AM
He doesnt see the irony in spending all day on foot.ie and then defending himself against accusations of being lazy:rolleyes:

Have to say customer service levels in government agencies seems to have improved a lot. I would put them ahead of most private organisations I have dealt with lately.

The thing is I am not a civil servant so that point does not make sense.

03/03/2008, 12:31 PM
Just on the point of the lds who've done the deed. They aren't junkies

Scumbags certainly. Junkies, no...

There's nothing you can do about them. They come from a Pats area, Richer is only 10 minutes walk away from the incident spot, and they think nothing about throwing stones at passing Luas trams, banging on the tram windows at the stops, taking rides on the windscreen wipers, etc, etc, all the latest attempt for a "laugh". :o

ASBO's are the only weapon the state has against them, but in the year since they were introduced, none have been issued. One of the reasons why being the reaction. "Look Deco, look at me ASBO :D"

03/03/2008, 7:01 PM
There's nothing you can do about them. They come from a Pats area, Richer is only 10 minutes walk away from the incident spot, and they think nothing about throwing stones at passing Luas trams, banging on the tram windows at the stops, taking rides on the windscreen wipers, etc, etc, all the latest attempt for a "laugh". :o
Think your tone is a bit out of place on a thread about two lads who were murdered

03/03/2008, 10:42 PM
One thing I want to know is was this attack racially motivated or otherwise?

A lot of the media attention focuses on the fact that the two dead were Polish.

04/03/2008, 5:13 PM
Think your tone is a bit out of place on a thread about two lads who were murdered

The point being that attacking people with screwdrivers wouldn't be OB to them.

04/03/2008, 5:27 PM
It is too easy to make excuses for these murderers. To suggest them some from socially disadvantaged area is an insult to the majority of normal people from that area.

They serve no purpose & most likely cannot be reformed. There is a point where imprisonment has to be punishment. Locking them up in jail just costs money so how about chain-gangs of hardened criminals & get them to clean the roads or something? Would be interesting to know how effective programmes like that in other countries.

04/03/2008, 9:10 PM
Moderator: Any chance this thread could be kept on topic? Feel free to start another thread on the Gardai if you like

05/03/2008, 6:15 PM

I agree with a good few of your points here.
This story has depressed me no end. What kind of scumbags are walking the streets, and their parents are no better.
Funny how this story has been reported. Took ages for it to appear on the news on TV. And now it has turned into a "ireland is really good-feelegood story", ie irish people sending money and attending memorials. My ar se, we have to realise in ireland that yes we have racist scumbags and we are not as great a nation as we think.

The Guards are doing a hard job, but i feel many couldnt be bothered.
And why i Dublin such a **** hole, god even in the city centre you can meet all sorts of "characters"

But dont worry we will get moral leadership from our esteemed leaders!!

05/03/2008, 10:55 PM
The point being that attacking people with screwdrivers wouldn't be OB to them.

The point being you can't say that just because somebody is from an area, they're liable to murder somebody with a screwdriver, never mind try to score poxy points about football support

06/03/2008, 6:34 AM
What about Death Row Dodge? ;)

rebs23
14/03/2008, 12:29 PM
One thing I want to know is was this attack racially motivated or otherwise?

A lot of the media attention focuses on the fact that the two dead were Polish.

Doubt it was racially motivated but it looks as if there was some element of racism in the attack. Would it have been so savage if they were Irish lads? I doubt it. It will be interesting to hear what was said during the attack in any court case that arises.

14/03/2008, 12:31 PM
Doubt it was racially motivated but it looks as if there was some element of racism in the attack. Would it have been so savage if they were Irish lads? I doubt it. It will be interesting to hear what was said during the attack in any court case that arises.

I disagree with that to be honest. I don't think (from what I've read) that there was any racial motivation in this attack, it really just looks like scumbags being scumbags. Could be wrong obviously, but I really hope the media doesn't focus on the fact that the two deceased aren't from Ireland unless they have proof it was racially motivated

14/03/2008, 12:51 PM
I disagree with that to be honest. I don't think (from what I've read) that there was any racial motivation in this attack, it really just looks like scumbags being scumbags. Could be wrong obviously, but I really hope the media doesn't focus on the fact that the two deceased aren't from Ireland unless they have proof it was racially motivated

Would agree with this. No doubt a few racist taunts thrown during the attack, but they weren't attacked for being polish.

14/03/2008, 1:17 PM
I think the question is that if the 2 people who refused to buy booze had been Irish lads, would they have been attacked the same way?

It's not racism, I agree, but might be a valid question.

14/03/2008, 1:24 PM
I think the question is that if the 2 people who refused to buy booze had been Irish lads, would they have been attacked the same way?
a lot may depend on how the answer was given. But I take your point

15/03/2008, 8:17 AM
16 year old to appear in court this morning in relation to the death of one of the two Polish lads.

EDIT: 17 year old charged this morning with the murder of one of the victims.

15/03/2008, 6:25 PM
Will they be tried as adults? Even as adults would get more than 5 or 6 years?

16/03/2008, 9:23 AM

According to the news report the accused can't be named as he is a "minor". Tends to indicate he'll be tried as one.

16/03/2008, 6:53 PM

If they are tried and convicted of murder as an adult then a life sentence is mandatory. (How long they actually serve is another thing of course.)