View Full Version : Liam Miller Transfer listed
lofty9
27/02/2008, 7:11 PM
Anybody think that Keane is looking for a positive reaction from Miller? Maybe trying to give him a kick up the @rse to sort his career out?
27/02/2008, 7:14 PM
Anybody think that Keane is looking for a positive reaction from Miller? Maybe trying to give him a kick up the @rse to sort his career out?
In a word: No.
soccerc
27/02/2008, 7:24 PM
NO
It'll all come out soon enough :D
lofty9
27/02/2008, 7:27 PM
NO
Cheers, just what I was fishing for!!:D
27/02/2008, 7:36 PM
I support Cork City but Liam Miller is not only better than anyone in any particular position, he's a better talent than the entire Cork team put together.
Liar!
Well done eirebhoy.
I don't make off-the-cuff flippant remarks about players I don't see regularly so can't say whether or not he would win a place in the City midfield.
dr_peepee
27/02/2008, 8:39 PM
NO
have you heard something? Send us an oul PM there please!!!!
half_full
27/02/2008, 8:58 PM
Have to agree with the City fans, Miller wouldn't start for Cork.
The Legend
27/02/2008, 9:06 PM
O'Donovan is the very definition of Keane's transfer disasters (well him and Andy Cole). In effect he's bought loads of 1-3 million type players (most of whom he has some personal link with) and now is realising they are not up to it and are effectively worthless. .
While I agree with this, you have to also take into account he had to buy an entire team (and will have to continuously do so)... he cant buy eleven 10 million plus players and buying 1-2 of them with the other 10 being total muck isnt much use. Also, nobody worth 10 million+ wants to live up there.
28/02/2008, 8:17 AM
accursed eirebhoy and his memory! :p
I think you should, if you want to support thie below statement,
I support Cork City but Liam Miller is not only better than anyone in any particular position, he's a better talent than the entire Cork team put together.
go to a few Cork City matches. At least give them a chance before knocking them.
Over the post
28/02/2008, 8:30 AM
Looks like it was a falling out. From the Guardian
Keane loses patience with Miller's failed promise
Louise Taylor
Thursday February 28, 2008
Guardian
A recently strained relationship between Roy Keane and Liam Miller apparently reached snapping point yesterday when Sunderland's manager placed the Irish midfielder on the transfer list.
Although Miller, who was one of Keane's first signings at the Stadium of Light, travelled with the Sunderland reserve party due to face Bolton Wanderers at Leyland last night, it is understood he had exhibited a reluctance to play in that game.
The 27-year-old former Celtic and Manchester United midfielder is believed to have annoyed Keane in recent weeks by turning up late for training. Sunderland's desire to move him on may, however, be thwarted as Miller, who will not command a fee, would be eligible to join only a Championship club and as an emergency loan signing before transferring permanently in the summer.
Miller had made 21 appearances for Sunderland, including 14 starts, this season but has failed to reproduce the early promise which persuaded Sir Alex Ferguson to sign him from Celtic as a potential long-term replacement for Keane, then his captain at Old Trafford.
Instead Miller, who has been troubled by a calf strain recently, found himself spending a lengthy stint on loan at Leeds before being snapped up Keane in August 2006 and helping Sunderland win promotion to the Premier League last season. Intriguingly, Dwight Yorke, 36, is the only one of the six players recruited by Keane during his early days in charge yet to be moved on.
Sunderland refused to comment on Miller's transfer-listing last night but said the matter would be addressed by Keane this morning.
guardian.co.uk © Guardian News and Media Limited 2008
janeymac
28/02/2008, 9:57 AM
It looks like a very public wake up call for Liam Miller
http://www.sunderlandecho.com/sport/Ruthless-Keane-explains-Miller-axe.3825182.jp
.....Keane (right) explained: "We made our position clear with Liam. It's one thing that I've spoken to players about on many occasions and Liam in particular – and that's to do with time keeping.
"It's got nothing to do with talent but I've said if you want to be a top footballer you need a lot more than talent.
"And you certainly have to be in on time for training.
"Liam has been late on a regular basis and I've got to be fair to everyone at the club – to his team-mates, to the staff and to our supporters.
"If a player can't be on time, then they don't have a future at the club."
28/02/2008, 10:01 AM
ya it basically is telling him to get in gear, which is actually very fair of keane, if he is as late as is made out...
livehead1
28/02/2008, 10:33 AM
If he gets himself sorted out, on time every day, trains well, then he can save the situation
28/02/2008, 10:48 AM
Keane has a (self developed) 6th sense for sniffing out wasters.
Get to the pitch on time? I wonder is it more to do with what happens in Liam's life that has caused him to be somewhat tardy come morning time?
Wolfie
28/02/2008, 10:53 AM
(From RTE)
Miller expelled for being late
Thursday, 28 February 2008 11:16
"Sunderland boss Roy Keane has confirmed Liam Miller was transfer-listed because of poor time-keeping.
The 27-year-old Republic of Ireland international was told he could leave the club yesterday after arriving late for training on several occasions.
Keane, who once left three players behind on Wearside after they turned up late for the bus to an away match, had little hesitation in asserting his authority once again.
He said: 'The problem is Liam's time-keeping, it is as simple as that. It is nothing to do with Liam as a player or as a lad.
'I have got a lot of time for Liam, but we set a very high standard at the football club and unfortunately, Liam has not been unable to match that, so we have put him on the transfer list and we will see what happens.
'You have got to be on time for training. If a player is late once or twice, well and good; if he is late three or four times, maybe well and good.
'But when it goes beyond five, six, seven times, then you have got to draw the line. In any walk of life, you have got to be on time.
'We had an incident last year when players were late for the bus, and you move on. We cannot wait for anybody at the club.'
Miller played in the reserves' 1-0 defeat at Bolton last night on his return from a calf injury hours after being told of the decision, although it remains to be seen whether he will be included in the senior squad for Saturday's Barclays Premier League trip to Derby.
However, while his future looks bleak on Wearside, Keane has not entirely closed the door on him.
He said: 'Liam played last night and if he performs like he did last night and nobody comes in for him, then who knows?
'As long as he is under the roof, you feel, as with lots of other players, they have always got a chance.
'We have got a lot of other players who have not been involved in the first team for the last few months, but if they keep working hard, then you never know when they will get the opportunity.'
BradyIsMyHero
28/02/2008, 10:59 AM
Now Keano says he fired him because of persistently being late for training.
Gotta have discipline
28/02/2008, 11:05 AM
Keane is turning into a real drama-queen of a manager. This is something that should have been sorted within the club. Maybe Keane is taking lessons from Don Givens, who also runs to the press with every spat that happens in his squad. The press love managers who react like in such a way.
lofty9
28/02/2008, 11:23 AM
So nothing exciting in it at all?
Seems to be the kick up the @rse that Miller needs then.
back of the net
28/02/2008, 11:25 AM
what a pile of crap
he is poor player
Ceirtlis
28/02/2008, 11:57 AM
Yes I must be deluded. We all see how past Cork stars like Damien Delaney, Kevin Doyle, Shane Long, Roy O'Donovan etc have been useless.
Would you put Miller ahead of Joe Gamble as a holding player?
Would you put him ahead of George O'Callaghan as an player in the No. 10 role?
Ahead of Colin Healy as a box to box player?
Ahead of Farrelly or the very promising young Murphy as a bench warmer because if City signed him thats all he'd do. Sit on the bench.
I'm 100% honest when I say that I think Miller would not get near our starting 11
O my god you were actually serious. Words do not describe how deluded you are.
28/02/2008, 12:15 PM
I wonder if Kenyne Jones was late would he transfer list him? Not a hope. Just an excuse to get rid of someone he no longer rates.
Didn't his first spat with McCarthy take place when both were players and Keane was late for the bus??
as_i_say
28/02/2008, 12:21 PM
yeah thats right. the famous "and you call that a first touch" line to mccarthy.
all this keane stuff is getting tiresome at this stage.
28/02/2008, 12:30 PM
I think if you are a manager you are going to have double standards. I am sure if Clayton Blackmore jumped into the crowd he would not have gotten the seam treatment as Cantona. That is where the best managers shine. How to handle the big names and big players.
I would say that Keane was getting impatient with Miller and the only way to hit it home to him is to put him on the transfer list. I am sure if Miller is not late for the rest of the season, he has a chance to stay etc.
Ceirtlis
28/02/2008, 12:38 PM
I wonder if Kenyne Jones was late would he transfer list him? Not a hope. Just an excuse to get rid of someone he no longer rates.
Didn't his first spat with McCarthy take place when both were players and Keane was late for the bus??
I dont think the aim is to get rid of Miller though, more to try to get Miller into line. He is even quoted as saying;
'Liam played last night and if he performs like he did last night and nobody comes in for him, then who knows?
'As long as he is under the roof, you feel, as with lots of other players, they have always got a chance.
Im thinking that if you wanted to sell a player the last thing you would want to do is say something that is going to put a potential buyer off buying which is what Keane is surely doing by saying that Miller is persistently late. I thought Miller has done alright in this season.
Sligo Hornet
28/02/2008, 12:39 PM
Roy has his standards to keep....after all he was NEVER late as player....just ask Alfie Harland!
28/02/2008, 12:43 PM
I'm just going to start by saying I haven't seen Cork playing in in a while, but with the players they've bought I reckon they will be champions this year.
Yes I must be deluded. We all see how past Cork stars like Damien Delaney, Kevin Doyle, Shane Long, Roy O'Donovan etc have been useless.
That's 2 successes, and the jury is still out on Long and O'Donovan. Long really needs a move though.
Would you put Gamble in ahead of Miller in the Sunderland team?
Would Miller get into the current Ipswich team? O'Callaghan couldn't
Ahead of Colin Healy as a box to box player? He already did that at Celtic
Ahead of Farrelly or the very promising young Murphy as a bench warmer because if City signed him thats all he'd do. Sit on the bench.He'd have to be a better option than Farrelly, who is coming to the end of his career, while Miller is still in his prime. I haven't seen Murphy so I can't comment on him
I'm 100% honest when I say that I think Miller would not get near our starting 11I believe you think he would, I reckon if Miller was signed tomorrow by Cork, it would be a cause for rejoicing amongst the Cork City fans and Matthews would find a place for him, or drop someone to make a place for him
seanfhear
28/02/2008, 1:12 PM
[quote=OwlsFan;886910]I wonder if Kenyne Jones was late would he transfer list him? Not a hope. Just an excuse to get rid of someone he no longer rates.
very good point.Good managers learn how to deal with keeping good players on board if possible and at the same time keeping the rest of the players knowing that if necessary even the so-called superstars will be kept in line
truly great players do not expect extra special treatment
miller is just about average at the moment
livehead1
28/02/2008, 1:27 PM
:cool:
Ahead of Colin Healy as a box to box player?
Ahead of Farrelly or the very promising young Murphy as a bench warmer because if City signed him thats all he'd do. Sit on the bench.
I'm 100% honest when I say that I think Miller would not get near our starting 11
Tets has already outlined exactly why you're wrong on this subject, so i don't need to go into it too much further but I would like to say that Miller has played at a higher level than all of the former Cork players you have mentioned. Doyle, Long and O'Donovan have all had poor seasons. Only Doyle has performed at the highest level and that was for around 12 months.
Does anyone here agree with this assessment?!
Guidedbyvoices
28/02/2008, 1:31 PM
:cool:
Tets has already outlined exactly why you're wrong on this subject, so i don't need to go into it too much further but I would like to say that Miller has played at a higher level than all of the former Cork players you have mentioned. Doyle, Long and O'Donovan have all had poor seasons. Only Doyle has performed at the highest level and that was for around 12 months.
Does anyone here agree with this assessment?!
Congrats. Fully agree.Most sensible post from you in a very long time.Well done lad!!
Nipper
28/02/2008, 1:37 PM
Kevin Doyle is a far superior player to Miller.
Miller playing a couple of CL games for Celtic does not alter that fact.
Guidedbyvoices
28/02/2008, 1:49 PM
Kevin Doyle is a far superior player to Miller.
Miller playing a couple of CL games for Celtic does not alter that fact.
Is he? Don't see Doyle lighting up the football fields of Reading or any other field for that matter. Looks like he has being found out. None of them are any good Millar or Doyle C/L football or not.
Nipper
28/02/2008, 1:54 PM
Doyle isn't world class by any means, but the whole Reading team are struggling this season, which for a striker means fewer chances. Hence his low scoring rate. He would be as well to move on this summer to a team like Villa or Everton.
Guidedbyvoices
28/02/2008, 2:01 PM
Doyle isn't world class by any means, but the whole Reading team are struggling this season, which for a striker means fewer chances. Hence his low scoring rate. He would be as well to move on this summer to a team like Villa or Everton.
Good point man. Maybe its because of losing Sidwell to Chelski.Anyway i do hope that he starts to score a few goals again to get the auld confidence back. Clinty Morris is my man with Keano for the Ireland job though.
Nipper
28/02/2008, 2:04 PM
You know it makes sense.;)
Like the username by the way, big fan of GBV meself.
livehead1
28/02/2008, 2:15 PM
Congrats. Fully agree.Most sensible post from you in a very long time.Well done lad!!
I am the definition of maturity, I just enjoy arguing my corner!!!!
Seagull-4-life
28/02/2008, 2:16 PM
I'm not bothered in the slightest about Liam Miller
Guidedbyvoices
28/02/2008, 2:21 PM
I am the definition of maturity, I just enjoy arguing my corner!!!!
Again i agree and some very intelligent arguements you do have sir.;)
half_full
28/02/2008, 5:44 PM
No way is Miller as good as Gamble/Healy/O'Callaghan:eek:
Greenforever
28/02/2008, 6:07 PM
Keane's descision to transfer list Miller is a public humiliation and probably down to the fact that Miller has ignored other warnings. If Keane wanted him out he would have done so in Jan, still it just goes to show that by his actions Keane would never have tolerated his own behaviour as a player! Do as I say not as I do;)
Miller will stay on at Sunderland and play more games,Keane is just making everyone else aware of Millers attitude,same aul story some of these premiership footballers just dont appreciate what they have-I know Im late for work the odd time aswell
Diarmo
28/02/2008, 7:40 PM
Just wondering, does anyone on this forum consider Liam Miller as a potential key player for us at any time in the future? I don't, I'd rather have Garvan or Whelan in the squad.
28/02/2008, 7:50 PM
Transfer listed for being late for training more than 6 or 7 times. This just adds to my contempt for that little creep. I remember Clive Woodward saying that a squad dynamic depends on all the players being committed and positive. Just one bad attitude infects the squad like a termite. Miller's attitude typifies everything bad about the modern day (Irish) international footballer. He had/has all the talent in the world and just blew it by being a lazy git who thought it'd all come to him.
I remember Henrik Larsson saying Liam Miller can be as good as he wants to be. Well, it looks like Miller's not that bothered and I can't say I'm sorry for him.
PS: welcome back to football yap GBV. Where've you been?
Guidedbyvoices
28/02/2008, 8:08 PM
Hey man. Been detained under the lunacy act of 1923 for a year or so but raring to go now. At one stage I thought Ireland won the world cup. Hows the craic with yourself horse? See we got closed down.
28/02/2008, 8:20 PM
lads how can you be late to turn up for a 5 a side kickaround around 11ish every morning - lazy *****r?! If he was on the lash then fair enough but he couldn't have slept in :) !!!
28/02/2008, 8:21 PM
Keane under pressure is going a bit mental himself, I'd double lock all the shotguns in the chairman's office
28/02/2008, 8:28 PM
Keane under pressure is going a bit mental himself, I'd double lock all the shotguns in the chairman's office
Is Quinny a gun fanatic?:D
28/02/2008, 8:37 PM
Keane isn't endearing himself to the Sunderland fans with a decision like that. The fans up there love Miller and he has been one of there better players this year.
Ross Wallace was listed aswell and he is another the fans love and he has also played very well this year.
Wallace was their best player at the start of the season.
Miller during mid-season.
Daryl Murphy better watch himself.
28/02/2008, 8:46 PM
Is Quinny a gun fanatic?:D
Didn't Keane accuse him of being a (glory) hunting fanatic :D
finnpark
28/02/2008, 9:14 PM
Keane isn't endearing himself to the Sunderland fans with a decision like that. The fans up there love Miller and he has been one of there better players this year.
Ross Wallace was listed aswell and he is another the fans love and he has also played very well this year.
Wallace was their best player at the start of the season.
Miller during mid-season.
Daryl Murphy better watch himself.
Miller is rubbish. He will be back in Cork soon. His career in England is near an end.
soccerc
28/02/2008, 11:42 PM
Hey man. Been detained under the lunacy act of 1923 for a year or so but raring to go now. At one stage I thought Ireland won the world cup. Hows the craic with yourself horse? See we got closed down.
Now here's a blast from the past.
Are the voices still ringing loud inside yer head or is there some new fancy pharmaceutical at work?