View Full Version : Stephen Ireland Makes Himself Available Again
Greenforever
21/02/2008, 11:31 PM
You mean, of course, it won't be forgotten by you, nor elicit any sympathy from you.
Many people have other things going on in their lives, so "the strange case of the Immature 21 year old who made a terribly embarrassing mistake and subsequently publicly apologised for it, and is now quoted as looking forward to playing under his new manager" will hopefully soon be confined to the dustbin of history for the vast majority of Ireland fans. If he doesnt play for us again, It'll be disappointing, but not apocalyptic.
However, I consider him to be somewhat gifted, & I hope he plays for us again. I hope his personal & mental issues are all in the past, and that his talent goes to play some part in taking Ireland to South Africa.
total bullsh**, he needs to apologise directly to the FAI and the fans and not though journalists who will write whatever sells papers without any reference to the truth. YES he may be sorry and want a fresh start but if so ring the FAI and tell them not some journalist, then we may just believe waht we are told. And club statements on websites are pretty pathetic aswell.
21/02/2008, 11:33 PM
Is that Kevin Doyles Dad.
21/02/2008, 11:34 PM
I think that there is a point beyond which the behaviour of a footballer will mean that we never want that footballer to be allowed to represent their country ever again.
I'm sure it is fair to say that every fan will have their own limit, and what is unacceptable to some will be acceptable to others. I'd also guess that to some extent, the limit of what fans consider acceptable will be related to the quality that the player in question brings to the team.
Ireland has made a couple of silly mistakes, and his lack of any apology hasn't impressed me. Neither has his attempt to get back in the national team squad by telling newspaper reporters he wants to play. An apology and a call to the FAI would improve his image a lot, in everybody's eyes.
That said, I'd be happy if he rejoined the team, as he seems to want to do. At least for me, he hasn't crossed any line.
irishfan86
22/02/2008, 1:47 AM
Several articles have noted his apologies. Does he have to apologize to the FAI in front of a video camera FFS?
22/02/2008, 2:08 AM
It won't be forgotten, nor win any sympathy.I'll remember that after Ireland scores for us again
When Stephen Ireland walked out, he was only thinking of himself.I'd imagine his girlfriend and the loss of his unborn child were also on his mind
Why didnt he play against Wales????Well, he wasn't called into the squad for starters
He manages the U21s and his job is to blood players and give them experience, U21 titles are worthless as are Brian Kerrs U16 and U18 trophys nice and all that they were they count for nothing in the senior game.Success at junior level leads to success at senior level. Let's not go through this argument. Again.
livehead1
22/02/2008, 2:10 AM
Just close the thread and let him get on with his career for club and country.
kingdom hoop
22/02/2008, 2:31 AM
Oh wait, wait! I haven't declared my support for Mister Ireland as yet.
I just gave the episode a moments consideration and came up with an analogy; if my friend didn't come to my birthday party and gave some made-up excuse even though he had a justifiable one then yes I'd be a little peeved initially. But if he apologised for his actions and still wanted to be my friend then I wouldn't forget the good times we had together and would happily invite him along to my next party. We're still friends; one error of judgment wouldn't change that. :)
I don't get the whole principled argument that what he did was unforgivable and is worthy of everlasting indignant condemnation. A little sad in my opinion.
Onwards and upwards!
jmurphyc
22/02/2008, 2:55 AM
As for your eye witness account, Stan is not a heavy drinker and i've never heard any of that crap from one of his biggest critics who's son is on the team... and tha'ts first hand because I was with this chap in Bratislava Prague and Cardiff among a lot others.
:D I say his eyewitness account is better than yours.
Bondvillain
22/02/2008, 10:07 AM
total bullsh**, he needs to apologise directly to the FAI and the fans and not though journalists who will write whatever sells papers without any reference to the truth. YES he may be sorry and want a fresh start but if so ring the FAI and tell them not some journalist, then we may just believe waht we are told. And club statements on websites are pretty pathetic aswell.
You are, of course, correct. Total Bullsh**. I've just re-read the forum rules and I've noticed this
Any opinion expressed that isn't identical to Greenforever's should be considered bovine excrement, and ignored
My sincere apologies for the intrusion. I'll get back to baying like a loon over something I have no personal insight into.
Hang on....
He needs to apologise directly to the FAI & fans but interviews and press releases & web blogs are not quite good enough for you?
How are we to be aware of this apology to the FAI , should it occur? Would you like Sky or Setanta to cover the meeting, or are you angling to be the Fans official representative at the summit?
He needs to apologise directly to the fans?
Would that be a series of humble door-to-door visits across the country, or perhaps a heartfelt confessional in the Centre circle at croker with a microphone at Half time during the Serbia game?
Hey, we could get the Dublin gospel choir to sing "Sinner man" , "Amazing Grace" or "I saw the light" softly in the background while he's doing it. Jeremy Kyle could host it.
We dont need a Sisyphus, constantly forced to produce apology after apology, we need a compact and coherent unit of players. The sooner Ireland is given a chance to atone, the sooner we get on with qualifying.
As I bulshi*ted earlier, I hope his mental issues are behind him, and I hope his not inconsiderable talent plays some part in us qualifying for South Africa.
22/02/2008, 11:07 AM
Is that Kevin Doyles Dad.
I'd take a stab at Andy reid's Dad.
22/02/2008, 11:22 AM
http://www.examiner.ie/irishexaminer/pages/story.aspx-qqqg=sport-qqqm=soccer-qqqa=sport-qqqid=55933-qqqx=1.asp
youngirish
22/02/2008, 11:38 AM
I'd imagine his girlfriend and the loss of his unborn child were also on his mind
Why does everyone take this as gospel coming from the man who claimed both of his grandmother's were dead before the truth came out to state otherwise. I wouldn't trust anything from Superman and that includes any statements he makes about Don Givens (even him yes) or wanting to rejoin the Ireland team.
I couldn't care personally if he never plays for us again as in the short time of his International and Youth International career he has caused more controversy than the majority of players do in their entire careers.
Pick the players who are committed and leave those who have shown otherwise back in England playing for their clubs. It should be that simple. His character indicates that he'll cause trouble again.
Saying that at a stretch I'd be willing to give him one last go but any sign of trouble or a lack of commitment and it would be better for Trap to wash his hands with him for good.
22/02/2008, 12:12 PM
He needs to apologise directly to the FAI & fans but interviews and press releases & web blogs are not quite good enough for you?
An apology in the newspaper is hardly the same thing though is it.
We dont need a Sisyphus, constantly forced to produce apology after apology
If he handled the situation maturely and correctly, there would be no need for repeated apologies.
The sooner Ireland is given a chance to atone, the sooner we get on with qualifying.
Agreed.
I think Ireland knows he has screwed up, but hopes that the newspaper apologies and revelations about his desire to represent his country will put him back in the good books, as he doesn't fancy doing a bit of grovelling to the FAI/fans.
With Givens at least, it didn't work, but hopefully Trapattoni will get a different result.
22/02/2008, 12:26 PM
Why does everyone take this as gospel coming from the man who claimed both of his grandmother's was dead before the truth came out. ... because it's the only humane thing to do.
Don't get me wrong -I agree with the thrust of your argument. It's not beyond the realm of possibility that he kept lying until he came up with a lie nobody would grill him about. If that's the case he is indeed a lowly creature and his wan is a psychobitch.
RivaldoBabb
22/02/2008, 12:52 PM
Pick the players who are committed and leave those who have shown otherwise back in England playing for their clubs. It should be that simple. His character indicates that he'll cause trouble again.
Saying that at a stretch I'd be willing to give him one last go but any sign of trouble or a lack of commitment and it would be better for Trap to wash his hands with him for good.
Yep. If we do qualify for South Africa you couldnt be 100% sure that he wouldnt spit out his dummy for whatever fictional reason and walk out on the team, like Keane did in Saipan, and we really dont need that sort of sh1te associated with the Irish team again.
I would probably be more forgiving if he was a player of the calibre of Keane, in that we couldnt do without him, but at present I dont think he is that important.
Why does everyone take this as gospel coming from the man who claimed both of his grandmother's was dead before the truth came out to state otherwise.
Yeah I certainly don't take it as gospel, if someone is capable of lying about the death of a living human being then they are certainly capable of lying about the death of a fictional one, I don't think you are the only one who doubts his story, most people are worried people will think they are a cnut if they doubt his story, as miscarriages are a touchy subject
jmurphyc
22/02/2008, 1:25 PM
Yeah I certainly don't take it as gospel, if someone is capable of lying about the death of a living human being then they are certainly capable of lying about the death of a fictional one, I don't think you are the only one who doubts his story, most people are worried people will think they are a cnut if they doubt his story, as miscarriages are a touchy subject
I do think that Ireland has been a lot of bother so far for someone who hasn't been that impressive in a green shirt and that he may be trouble in the future. Also IMO a lot more fans would have washed their hands of him if he didn't show so much potential and look like being an important player for us in future.
However, I think people are kind of overreacting to his lies about his grandmothers dying. A lot of people lie about someone in their family dying to get away with things, especially at that age. I did it so I personally can understand where he's coming from. Plus, a lot of people ignore the fact that, from what I've read about the situation, the lie was not started by him. TBH though, he has had more than one indiscretion, so I really do think this is his last chance. Any more nonsense and he should be out for good.
In regards to an apology to the fans via an FAI press conference, though it would be nice, I would personally be more than happy for him to show 100% commitment in the shirt and hopefully help to get us goals and bring us to the next world cup. That would be the most sincere apology for me.
youngirish
22/02/2008, 1:28 PM
However, I think people are kind of overreacting to his lies about his grandmothers dying. A lot of people lie about someone in their family dying to get away with things, especially at that age. I did it so I personally can understand where he's coming from.
What type of sociopaths do we attract on this site?
TBH though, he has had more than one indiscretion, so I really do think this is his last chance. Any more nonsense and he should be out for good.
In regards to an apology to the fans via an FAI press conference, though it would be nice, I would personally be more than happy for him to show 100% commitment in the shirt and hopefully help to get us goals and bring us to the next world cup. That would be the most sincere apology for me.
But I 100% agree with all the above and I'm fairly sure it won't be the last problem we have with young Ireland.
Deckydee
22/02/2008, 2:35 PM
I dont know if this has already been posted
http://www.dailymail.co.uk/pages/live/articles/sport/football.html?in_article_id=517584&in_page_id=1779&ito=newsnow
youngirish
22/02/2008, 2:42 PM
I dont know if this has already been posted
http://www.dailymail.co.uk/pages/live/articles/sport/football.html?in_article_id=517584&in_page_id=1779&ito=newsnow
Strange. Judging from his own manager's comments it doesn't appear that Sven believes that Ireland is dying to get back to play for us. Anything of the sort if Sven's comments are to be believed. Looks more like he wants to be begged to come back. More lies in the media from Ireland regarding his desire to return it appears.
Dunne called it right a few weeks ago I reckon. Ireland is more trouble that he's ever going to be worth.
Bondvillain
22/02/2008, 2:52 PM
If he handled the situation maturely and correctly, there would be no need for repeated apologies.
I know, I understand many peoples vexation with his actions during the Double header, and sadly he didn't handle the situation with any degree of maturity or correctness, and no matter how much anyone tries, worms will not be coaxed back into an open can. Me personally? I'm of the opinion that he should do whatever Trapattoni feels necessary for him to be included in the Serbia squad, and let him work from there. 'Let the apologising come from his feet', to use a Hamiltonism.
I just get the feeling that some here care little about the situation, and simply hate the chap so much that they would rather Ireland DIDNT return so they would have a pariah outside the squad to pour blame & scorn upon, instead of having him come back and be seen to add anything to the squad's potential sucess.
22/02/2008, 3:20 PM
http://www.examiner.ie/irishexaminer/pages/story.aspx-qqqg=sport-qqqm=soccer-qqqa=sport-qqqid=55933-qqqx=1.asp
Interesting that KK's view is that SI being bullied is a load of bol**ks
22/02/2008, 4:36 PM
I'd imagine his girlfriend and the loss of his unborn child were also on his mind
...which is about himself.
Well, he wasn't called into the squad for starters
Why would he be called in, when he didn't want to play?? :confused:
He was required to stay with us until after the match in Prague, which was 4 days after Bratislava. He lied to his heart's content in order to get away from the squad, because his pinky was "feeling lonely" :rolleyes: after suffering her problems. If he was suffering as badly as was indicated, then he wouldn't have been able to play any football, until he sorted his head out. But he continued to play for his club, with no ill-effects suffered, nor lies told to return early from club trips.
He abandoned ship, we lost in Prague and failed to make the EC. It'll take more than a half-baked carefully worded apology and desire to play for us, which will make people like me accept him as a valued member of our country's team again.
jmurphyc
22/02/2008, 6:25 PM
He abandoned ship, we lost in Prague and failed to make the EC. It'll take more than a half-baked carefully worded apology and desire to play for us, which will make people like me accept him as a valued member of our country's team again.
We were going to fail irrespective of whether he left the squad or not. In fact, I'd say his decision to leave probably strengthened our hopes as Staunton had no choice but to pick better players. I'm not 100% happy with him either as a lot of his behaviour after that wasn't fantastic, but he seemingly did have problems. Many other people in his position would have done the same. Would they have received the same treatment from you? He will strengthen the team by coming back and that for me is the most important thing provided he's finally put his issues behind him.
Greenforever
22/02/2008, 11:21 PM
[quote=Bondvillain;883266]You are, of course, correct. Total Bullsh**. I've just re-read the forum rules and I've noticed this
Hang on....
How are we to be aware of this apology to the FAI , should it occur? Would you like Sky or Setanta to cover the meeting, or are you angling to be the Fans official representative at the summit?
He needs to apologise directly to the fans?
Would that be a series of humble door-to-door visits across the country, or perhaps a heartfelt confessional in the Centre circle at croker with a microphone at Half time during the Serbia game?
forgive my lack of faith in what is printed in the media, a simple Im sorry, I was wrong, or anything along those lines which comes from his mouth in a recorded interview i will believe but not something printed by journalists whom i have no trust in. Statements issued and private interviews just don't do it for me
Greenforever
22/02/2008, 11:30 PM
I know, I understand many peoples vexation with his actions during the Double header, and sadly he didn't handle the situation with any degree of maturity or correctness, and no matter how much anyone tries, worms will not be coaxed back into an open can. Me personally? I'm of the opinion that he should do whatever Trapattoni feels necessary for him to be included in the Serbia squad, and let him work from there. 'Let the apologising come from his feet', to use a Hamiltonism.
I just get the feeling that some here care little about the situation, and simply hate the chap so much that they would rather Ireland DIDNT return so they would have a pariah outside the squad to pour blame & scorn upon, instead of having him come back and be seen to add anything to the squad's potential sucess.
Far from hate the chap i feel sorry for him as in 20 years time he will realise waht a foll he's been, and i've no desire to see anyone kept outside the squad but i do want a squad of players that want to play for their country.
One thing is for sure he will not pull a stunt like that on trap and get away with it... as previously said he merely needs to utter a few words in public and if he's that fragile i'm sure a letter signed by him and sent to the FAi would suffice or even an apology on his bebo page
23/02/2008, 11:52 AM
Sven promises to do what he can to get Ireland back in Republic squad: http://www.manchestereveningnews.co.uk/sport/football/manchester_city/s/1037914_sven_reveals_ireland_hopes
Scram
23/02/2008, 12:01 PM
They probably call this "class" in Cork !!! :D
http://img.dailymail.co.uk/i/pix/2008/02_03/IrelandPinkRange_468x269.jpg
greendeiseboy
23/02/2008, 12:15 PM
When i opened this thread i was fairly pleased that he was coming back of his own accord...at least that was what we were led to believe...but now we hear that sven is going to try and do his best to persuade him to come back
i'm sorry but this is a load of bull... playing for your country in anything should be a great honour and basically no one kicked him out of the squad
dont want him back now.. he should need no persuading. he was entiltled to some time out but given the fact that he's playing out of his skin for city he should have returned to us of his own will
kingdom hoop
23/02/2008, 1:38 PM
...which is about himself.
Jesus I'd hate to be going out with you. "Honey, I've just miscarried our kid, I'm distraught." Mypost; "pfff, like I give a flying fcuk, I'm off to play astro with the lads." :rolleyes:
I would accept a "if it was so important then why didn't he just tell the truth" type argument, but what you said is in my opinion, a little silly.
I would, however, discount said argument on account of Mr Éire being a little touched, and generally out of touch reality.
As exemplified here (http://img.dailymail.co.uk/i/pix/2008/02_03/IrelandPinkRange_468x269.jpg). :D
23/02/2008, 1:42 PM
Please let that be photoshop
He CANNOT seriously drive around in that.....WTF is he smoking?? I didn't think he could have anything more ridiculous than his hair"style" !
23/02/2008, 4:33 PM
No wonder the rest of the lads are taking the pi*s
Qwerty
23/02/2008, 4:52 PM
When i opened this thread i was fairly pleased that he was coming back of his own accord...at least that was what we were led to believe...but now we hear that sven is going to try and do his best to persuade him to come back
i'm sorry but this is a load of bull... playing for your country in anything should be a great honour and basically no one kicked him out of the squad
dont want him back now.. he should need no persuading. he was entiltled to some time out but given the fact that he's playing out of his skin for city he should have returned to us of his own will
He has already said he is available again so I don't know why these threads and articles continue.
jmurphyc
23/02/2008, 7:38 PM
He has already said he is available again so I don't know why these threads and articles continue.
It seemed as though he had made himself available, but now I'm not so sure. It was only a newspaper report that declared him available, whereas Sven has been talking live in press conferences about persuading him to play and hoping he'll change his mind. I don't see why there's so much drama about it at the moment though - the next game isn't until May, so he has plenty of time to tell Trapattoni he's available.
23/02/2008, 7:56 PM
Did they ever catch the people that did it?
23/02/2008, 10:49 PM
He is a poor lad who is has an illness there is no doubt about that. I think ridicule is understandable and I think sympathy is also understandable. He is a character who will will either provoke one of these two extremes in a person.
Greenforever
24/02/2008, 12:35 AM
Can you provide any proof of that, all Im aware of is journalists saying he wants to play,
24/02/2008, 9:41 AM
He is a poor lad who is has an illness there is no doubt about that. I think ridicule is understandable and I think sympathy is also understandable. He is a character who will will either provoke one of these two extremes in a person.
When you see him that motor (which appears in the NOTW today) there is a very fine line between ridicule and sympathy.
Greenforever
24/02/2008, 10:22 AM
I may be mistaken but did Ireland say that he doesn't drive in reply to Givens comments about more interested in fast cars etc??
And if so http://img.dailymail.co.uk/i/pix/2008/02_03/IrelandPinkRange_468x269.jpg
is this a windup photo just to upset the man???
24/02/2008, 11:43 AM
is this a windup photo just to upset the man???
Looks real enough. See here (http://www.dailymail.co.uk/pages/live/articles/sport/football.html?in_article_id=517584&in_page_id=1779&ico=Homepage&icl=TabModule&icc=picbox&ct=5)
24/02/2008, 12:17 PM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=EXJKkOaJW18
He does drive.
Greenforever
24/02/2008, 1:07 PM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=EXJKkOaJW18
He does drive.
That I know, but I'm sure I saw a quote from him slagging off Givens, saying he doesn't even drive, which would be another classic fib:D
24/02/2008, 7:02 PM
Rumour in cobh, its his old dolls, still doesnt make sense like, but tbf we all know what them wags are like, possibly the most stupid thng ever done to a car surprised range rover dont take it back.
24/02/2008, 8:27 PM
Rumour in cobh, its his old dolls, still doesnt make sense like, but tbf we all know what them wags are like, possibly the most stupid thng ever done to a car surprised range rover dont take it back.
The motor was supplied by a company called Overfinch (http://www.overfinch.com/) who specialise in customising Range Rovers. If you look at a good quality image of the photo you will see the 'Range Rover' lettering on the bonnet has been replaced by 'Overfinch' (in pink of course!)
In fairness, great player but after what has happened the last few months this guy does himself no favours. The guy is in serious need of some guidance. If anything you would think he would be keeping his head down and keeping a low profile for the next few months.
as_i_say
25/02/2008, 11:44 AM
the hamster is drunk at the controls of that lad's brain.
BigmanCas
25/02/2008, 2:50 PM
he never ceases to amaze me, this guy.
25/02/2008, 3:13 PM
Is that meant to read, ne never ceases to amaze me.
Biffo in exile
25/02/2008, 4:26 PM
Too much money + great football brain + no common sense = Stephen Ireland
Pink Range rover + superman underpants + skanger haircut = Off his head !!! :o
Definitely in need of some serious guidance and brain-cell transplant ....
But hope that he comes back to play for us - when he gets on that pitch, he seems to gain some IQ :D