View Full Version : Stephen Ireland Makes Himself Available Again

Pages : 1 [2] 3 4 5

Greenforever
18/02/2008, 10:56 AM
He lost his kid and has apparently been bullied by other Irish team members. It's not a matter of him having a could care less attitude, it's about him being mentally volatile at the moment and not wanting to be taken out of his comfort zone. Sounds like he's the victim of unprofessional management by the old staff, and not team management, man management.

If Ireland really was a lazy so-so he'd do what Andy O Brien has been doing for the past year, pulling out of every squad with a minor "injury" then playing for his club days later, not having the balls to admit the truth that he really just doesn't give a damn about Ireland. Instead he's been open and honest about what has happened to him, he's retaliated to Givens, spoken countless times with Sven and Dunne and accepted an FAI reward. He's far more in the loop of the Irish setup than some players who have actually been ON the squad.

Then explain why he wouldnt play for Kerr?

He made himself unavailable full stop.

18/02/2008, 11:01 AM
We need him, he wants to play. He gets called up. End of. How many class MF do we have in reserve to replace him?!

I just hope he doesn't pull any more stunts but I'm sure Trap and Sven will work on that and ensure it won't happen.

Greenforever
18/02/2008, 11:04 AM
I know that Dunne probably has the best interests of his national team at heart (I personally suspect he does at all times) , but to be honest, I'd much rather have Stephen Ireland's opinon on the Stephen Ireland situation than Stephen Hunt's or Richard Dunne's.

Let Ireland openly present himself for selection and appraisal at the next given opportunity. Hopefully, he'll make his case with a substantial performance in the shirt. Should he not, and should there need to be a press Q&A with him after his next appearance (or , god forbid, a press post mortem on his non-appearance), then so be it. Then we'll find out.

Simple question would you believe waht you were told by

A Richard Dunne
B Stephen Hunt
C Stephen Ireland

On track records I would say definitely A probably B and definitely no to C

lionelhutz
18/02/2008, 11:08 AM
I'm very happy he is back. A proven midfield goalscorer is priceless and Ireland is putting in top performances against the best teams in the premiership.

He's scored 2 goals for City this season. I don't know where people get the idea he is a Gerrard/Lampard style midfielder. He is a very talented player with great control and passing but he is not a midfield goalscorer

Deckydee
18/02/2008, 11:43 AM
We really need this guy, excellent

RivaldoBabb
18/02/2008, 11:47 AM
In my opinion he's too slow with no bite. Very overrated irrespective of him playing for high flying city. I wouldn't let him back into the team. Stick him on the bench where he belongs at present and see whether he goes home again after a few games if he doesn't get into the starting 11 (as with the Kerr incident).

Spot on, VERY overrated! Not strong enough for center midfield nor quick enough to play wide. Perhaps if he puts on a few kilos over the next few years (perhaps not as many as A Reid though...) he might be a decent center midfielder but he is only a player with potential at this point.

Wangball
18/02/2008, 12:35 PM
I think a line should be drawn uder this whole situation, he wasn't available for selection & no he is, end of story.

The few games he's played show that he's got a big part to play in the future of our National Team so get him back on board and focus on the future rather than whats happened in the past

On another note Hunt needs to learn to keep his mouth shut, he seems to have an opinion on everything and really isn't shy about sharing it, he's a walking soundbyte & an average player at best

Oink
18/02/2008, 12:59 PM
I think some people need to get a grip, the kids 21 years of age, he didn't handle the situation in a mature way.... it happens, good managers don't teach young players lessons by exiling them. To succeed, you've got to fail.

If Ireland gives 100% when he puts on the Irish jersey then he's more than welcome to have one.

As far as him being overrated... everyone's intitle to their opinion.... but you're talking through your hole. He's by far and away our most talented midfielder, i've watched most of city's games this season and he has been pivotal for them in a lot of games. He has a great first touch, excellent vision, is good in front of goal, good ball control, decent pace and most importantly brings wingers into the game... which is exactly what we are missing. If only Hamann was Irish too..

Here's Irelands stats for city this season:

Player Stats

Barclays Premier League

Player
Apps 22
Starts 21
Sub 1
Minutes played 1755

Attempts
Goals 2
Shots on target 9
Shots off target 17
Shooting accuracy 35%
Mins per goal scored 877

General play
Assists 23
Passes 719
Passing accuracy 73%
Crosses 36

Defensive
Tackles 64
Blocks 7
Clearances 22

Discipline
Offsides 5
Yellow cards 1
Red cards 1

Wolfie
18/02/2008, 1:13 PM
I'd imagine that Trapp (possibly partly prompted by Brady) has indentified Ireland's passing ability and tidy distribution as attributes he'll want in his team - particularly as they are a scarce commodity from our current crop.

Without pre-empting our future style of play - its suggested we could become a trademark Trapp team with a defensive style of play. We'll need a midfield that can retain the ball and use it with some invention.

I'd give the lad a last chance. He's got some making up to do and where better than Georgia Away?

Morbo
18/02/2008, 1:22 PM
Not sure he is worth the hassle and I'm far from convinced he is going to stick around this time, time will tell I guess, I'm confident Trap will know who to deal with these type of players

lionelhutz
18/02/2008, 1:23 PM
I think some people need to get a grip, the kids 21 years of age, he didn't handle the situation in a mature way.... it happens, good managers don't teach young players lessons by exiling them. To succeed, you've got to fail.

If Ireland gives 100% when he puts on the Irish jersey then he's more than welcome to have one.

As far as him being overrated... everyone's intitle to their opinion.... but you're talking through your hole. He's by far and away our most talented midfielder, i've watched most of city's games this season and he has been pivotal for them in a lot of games. He has a great first touch, excellent vision, is good in front of goal, good ball control, decent pace and most importantly brings wingers into the game... which is exactly what we are missing. If only Hamann was Irish too..

He doesn't score many goals and disappears from alot of games. Granted, he hit a hot streak of scoring for us in the last campaign and he does seem to have a good football brain but he is definitely not an imposing midfielder that takes control of a game when it gets tough. I think that is what we need

Oink
18/02/2008, 1:43 PM
He doesn't score many goals and disappears from alot of games. Granted, he hit a hot streak of scoring for us in the last campaign and he does seem to have a good football brain but he is definitely not an imposing midfielder that takes control of a game when it gets tough. I think that is what we need

As far as drifting in and out of games you have to take into account that he's only 21, he has come on a lot in the last 2 seasons and will continue to improve if played. The fact that he has made the 2nd most appearances in midfield (1 behind Hamann) proves how much city rate him.... they see him play every week by the way.

Yes we need an imposing defensive midfielder.. so? We need a good left back as well? Ireland fills the role of a good creative attacking midfielder which we also need.

BigmanCas
18/02/2008, 1:45 PM
delighted to hear steve is interested in playing again he will in my eyes be a player trappatoni will build his team around

Oh my god. Are you drunk at this time on a Monday? His performances hitherto in a green jersey suggest he will not even be in Trapps First 11. He is a lazy so and so. He has talent but I would not go building a team around somebody so mentally and physically frail!!!!! We'll build a team around Mc Geady.

youngirish
18/02/2008, 1:47 PM
As far as him being overrated... everyone's intitle to their opinion.... but you're talking through your hole. He's by far and away our most talented midfielder, i've watched most of city's games this season and he has been pivotal for them in a lot of games. He has a great first touch, excellent vision, is good in front of goal, good ball control, decent pace and most importantly brings wingers into the game... which is exactly what we are missing.

Oink you posted this by mistake in the Stephen Ireland section. I presume you meant it for the Andy Reid forum as there's no way anyone could claim Stephen Ireland has decent pace(???), is our most talented midfielder (that's Reid by a distance) and is good in front of goal (I believe he has 3 goals in 67 appearances for city, hardly Frank Lampard form).

jmurphyc
18/02/2008, 1:48 PM
Yes we need an imposing defensive midfielder.. so? We need a good left back as well? Ireland fills the role of a good creative attacking midfielder which we also need.

Ireland cannot play in a 2 man central midfield at the moment and may never be able to. He's too much of a liability. He's a player with bags of potential, but only in a 3 man midfield. He is nowhere near the level of Andy Reid yet in my opinion.

18/02/2008, 1:48 PM
He doesn't score many goals and disappears from alot of games.
Those disappearing acts still usually consist of simple passes. He averages as many passes a game as Elano for example. I just can't get away from the Seedorf comparison. A player that has gone his whole career keeping things simple but many fans don't appreciate what he brings.

youngirish
18/02/2008, 1:50 PM
Those disappearing acts still usually consist of simple passes. He averages as many passes a game as Elano for example. I just can't get away from the Seedorf comparison. A player that has gone his whole career keeping things simple but many fans don't appreciate what he brings.
Can't see it myself eirebhoy. Seedorf put his foot in and scored a few goals also from my recollection. Stephen Ireland does neither. He's more flash in his passing though.

jmurphyc
18/02/2008, 1:52 PM
He's an excellent passer, but I'm more worried about his defensive frailty and physique. By playing him, other players have to do a lot more work around him as he has dreadful concentration.

lionelhutz
18/02/2008, 2:02 PM
As far as drifting in and out of games you have to take into account that he's only 21, he has come on a lot in the last 2 seasons and will continue to improve if played. The fact that he has made the 2nd most appearances in midfield (1 behind Hamann) proves how much city rate him.... they see him play every week by the way.

I've no doubt he's an excellent talent. However, I feel the only role he could excel in for Ireland is off the striker(s) with 2 midfielders behind him. And I think Duff/McGeady/Keane could play this role as well, if not better, than him. Therefore I don't think he's a necessity in our team. Useful OK, but not a necessity

And i didn't mean a defensive midfielder is a necessity - i meant imposing, crafty and intelligent as well as doing his defensive duties. Stephen Reid could be this player. Lee Carsley couldn't - he's way too limited

18/02/2008, 2:29 PM
Oink you posted this by mistake in the Stephen Ireland section. I presume you meant it for the Andy Reid forum as there's no way anyone could claim Stephen Ireland has decent pace(???), is our most talented midfielder (that's Reid by a distance) and is good in front of goal (I believe he has 3 goals in 67 appearances for city, hardly Frank Lampard form).

Stephen Ireland has 4 goals in 5 games for the Republic, that's a better goals per game ratio than most international strikers. As for Lampard, compare and contrast his form for England with his form for Chelsea. Personally, I think he's actually a fairly limited player, but he plays in a system at his club that uses his talents to the maximum, while limiting his failings. If he didn't have Makelele behind him he'd be a massive liability. Same goes for City with Ireland and Hamann though.

jmurphyc
18/02/2008, 3:16 PM
Stephen Ireland has 4 goals in 5 games for the Republic, that's a better goals per game ratio than most international strikers.

But his goals have so far masked a lot of his inadequacies. I haven't seen too much of him this season, but hopefully he'll join us as a much better player than he was when he last played for us thanks to Sven. I still don't feel he's entirely ready, but he's a welcome addition to the squad.

18/02/2008, 3:43 PM
Yeah I don't think anybody here could argue that he should be playing in a central midfield of two as we would get cup open time and time again like we did in Cyprus and less so in Slovakia. He is much better as a third central midfielder or at a stretch as a wide player who cuts in but this would not be ideal. What he does bring for us or did anyway was a knack of scoring vital goals. For this reason he needs to be on the bench at least. However he would not always make the starting 11 and would never make it if we are playing a 4 4 2.

Manc Irish Wolf
18/02/2008, 4:51 PM
4 goals in 5, great at ghosting into the box and has got an eye for a defence splitting pass. Massively regarded at City and while he's crazy as a box of frogs (aren't we all), he is definitely in for a shout under trappatoni, especially as Carsley is perfect for the defensive role in a 3/5 man midfield behind him. Good to have him back. He's quality and with a bit of luck will come through.

backstothewall
18/02/2008, 8:19 PM
Perhaps it is wise to post his explanation at the time

"I wish to explain the circumstances surrounding my departure from the Republic of Ireland international squad following the Euro 2008 qualifier against Slovakia in Bratislava last Saturday," Ireland said.

"When the game ended our manager Stephen Staunton took me outside the dressing room into the corridor, along with the Ireland team doctor.

"He told me that they had taken a call from my girlfriend, Jessica, and she said my grandmother had died. I was deeply shocked because I believed it was my maternal grandmother who had brought me up from when I was five.

"The manager went back into the dressing room to get my phone and when I got it I immediately rang my girlfriend to get more details. My girlfriend was distraught and explained that she had just suffered a miscarriage.

"Jessica said she was very lonely and wanted me to come home. She said she thought they might let me home quicker if they thought my grandmother had died.

"When I finished the call I told the manager and doctor that my grandmother had died and because we were very close I wanted to go home immediately. The manager said that was no problem and he would get the FAI to sort it out.

"The FAI hired a private jet to get me home and I flew out of Bratislava the following morning. Before I left I told the FAI media officer that the name of my grandmother was Patricia Tallon.

"Early on Monday morning I got a phone call from Stephen Staunton telling me that the FAI had discovered my grandmother in Cork was not dead.

"He wanted to know what was going on and I told him that there had been a mistake and it had been my father's mother. I told him her name was Brenda Kitchener, that she lived in London."

"Jessica and I were still very upset over the miscarriage so we flew home to Ireland for a few days.

"On Thursday, I got a phone call from Manchester City stating that the FAI had discovered that my grandmother, Brenda Kitchener, was also alive. I decided at that stage that I must tell truth and admit I had told lies.

"I realise now that it was a massive mistake on my part to tell the FAI and Manchester City that my grandmothers had died and I deeply regret it."

Ireland continued: "The miscarriage that Jessica suffered last Saturday has caused both of us a lot of heartache and had caused us both to panic.

"It was wrong and I sincerely apologise, particularly as I caused a lot of problems for many people. I would like to apologise to my grandmothers and all my family for any distress I have caused them.

"Ireland manager Stephen Staunton, my Ireland team-mates, the backroom staff and the FAI also deserve my profound apologies. I truly appreciate that the extraordinary lengths they went to put my welfare first and ensure I got home from Slovakia as quickly as possible.

"I am also sorry for causing Manchester City any embarrassment and apologise to the supporters of both Manchester City and Ireland for misleading them and the media.

"I love playing for my country and am grateful for the understanding Mr Staunton and the FAI have shown to me since I told them the truth.

"I have learnt a valuable lesson from this mess and hope those I have hurt by my actions will forgive me."

If people actually took the time to read what he had to say at the time they would see it is a very reasonable explanation and contrite apology for the mistake he made. none of the facts of this staement have been disputed by anyone in the Ireland set up as far as i am aware, even those with long held grievances against Stephen Ireland

A miscarriage is a very difficult time in anyones life. He quite rightly wanted to be with his partner to support her. If he had told the truth he would have been allowed to go home, but he was young and naive and made a mistake (that wasn't initiated by him). The attitude of some 'fans' will only make it harder for the next footballer to be unfortunate enough to have this befall him while on international duty.

This is something i have experienced, and it leaves you in no fit state for football, work, or anything else. That he made a mistake in those circumstances should be understandable to anyone, particularly anyone who has children.

Welcome back Stephen

18/02/2008, 9:47 PM
Because his girlfriend had a miscarriage and he panicked

Whether he panicked or not is not the issue here. He lied about his reasons for doing so, twice. The nature of the lies were disgraceful. If he had told the truth initially, he would still have gone home, and the fans would have accepted it a lot more. This was not a one-off occurrence, he refused to play for us for 5 games.

They didn't contact him either, and chose to deal with it through the media.
There's been one statement, plenty of time for apologies when he's actually in a press conference

The FAI is a football association, not a counselling service. It's up to Stephen Ireland to sort his problems out, neither the FAI nor his club are under any obligation to do so. He walked out on his country, so he needs to contact the FAI and apologise for his behaviour to them and to us, before setting foot in the squad, never mind a press conference again.

Sorry, but miscarriage or not, he must be made an example of. Otherwise, what's to stop another player to use similiar reasons in order to boycott the team for 5 months? Allowing him back in, sends out the message that his behaviour can, and will be tolerated in future. That only spells bad news for our team. :mad:

18/02/2008, 10:04 PM
Otherwise, what's to stop another player to use similiar reasons in order to boycott the team for 5 months?
I think the main point here is why in the name of jaysus would they want to? I'm guessing Ireland didn't come back immediately because quite frankly he was embarrassed to.

irishfan86
18/02/2008, 10:31 PM
I think this was a messy, embarrassing situation for Stephen, and he has admitted to his mistakes.

He has asked for forgiveness, as that article indicates, and I see no reason to "make an example" out of him- as Eirebhoy has indicated, the embarrassment is punishment enough.

Let's get behind him and give him a second chance.

We've all ****ed up and been given second chances, just because he's a footballer doesn't mean we should expect him to live a model life free of human mistakes.

backstothewall
18/02/2008, 10:32 PM
He walked out on his country, so he needs to contact the FAI and apologise for his behaviour to them and to us, before setting foot in the squad, never mind a press conference again.

What part of...

"It was wrong and I sincerely apologise, particularly as I caused a lot of problems for many people. I would like to apologize to my grandmothers and all my family for any distress I have caused them.

"Ireland manager Stephen Staunton, my Ireland team-mates, the backroom staff and the FAI also deserve my profound apologies. I truly appreciate that the extraordinary lengths they went to put my welfare first and ensure I got home from Slovakia as quickly as possible.

"I am also sorry for causing Manchester City any embarrassment and apologise to the supporters of both Manchester City and Ireland for misleading them and the media.

...do you not understand??

Short of knocking every door in Ireland, asking if there are any football fans in the house, going down on his knees and begging forgiveness what more can he say??

He made a mistake. There were exceptional mitigating circumstances. He apologized sincerely. He was left embarrassed and didn't fell ready to make the next squad and wasn't chosen after that. Now he is ready again. great news

I'm not usually one for quoting the bible, but let he who is without sin cast the first stone.

18/02/2008, 11:28 PM
Well said backtowallsall.
He's back. He's apologised. Let's all just get on with our lives.

RivaldoBabb
18/02/2008, 11:29 PM
He's by far and away our most talented midfielder, i've watched most of city's games this season and he has been pivotal for them in a lot of games. He has a great first touch, excellent vision, is good in front of goal, good ball control, decent pace and most importantly brings wingers into the game... which is exactly what we are missing. If only Hamann was Irish too..

I think you need to take off your blue coloured spectacles.

I have also watched a lot of man city games, including the manchester derby recently when I thought he was rubbish first half and slightly better second half but some of the people on this forum were getting a bit overexcited about him afterwards.

You have hit on some good points there, he has an excellent first touch, but he plays first time passes ALL the time, and gives the ball away too much for my liking, not what you need at international football. He doesnt dominate a game yet either, he wont hold onto a ball to commit a player before passing and when he is in an advanced attacking position he rushes everything, he looks scared and probably is because he isnt strong enough yet. And you are right if only Hamman and Martin Petrov were Irish, they would also make Ireland look better at International football like they do at man city.

He might develop into a good player and because we dont have many center midfielders to choose from then he has to be in our squads but not a first choice starter. A Reid is much better option as our midfield creator.

18/02/2008, 11:34 PM
I think you need to take off your blue coloured spectacles.

I have also watched a lot of man city games, including the manchester derby recently when I thought he was rubbish first half and slightly better second half but some of the people on this forum were getting a bit overexcited about him afterwards.

It wasn't just the people on this forum, manchestereveningnews.co.uk had him second behind Dunne in the MOTM poll
from the player ratings for that game: http://www.manchestereveningnews.co.uk/sport/football/manchester_city/s/1035961_united_v_city_player_ratings

IRELAND: Gave the ball away cheaply at times but was involved in first goal and made some wonderful off the ball runs that confused the Reds defence 8

4tothefloor
19/02/2008, 12:25 AM
Thats very considerate of him isnt it? 'Yeh, i think ill bother playing for Ireland again as they have a good manager, Sven says I should'

The more I hear from him the more I dislike him, where is his passion for the Irish jersey and commitment to the cause, he should want to play for Ireland regardless of who the manager is or how the team is doing.

He can come back, and sit on the bench because he is not good enough to get in midfield ahead of McGeady, A Reid, S Reid, Duff
Well firstly in Ireland's defense, the Staunton era was a comical disaster. I've been told that Staunton tried to take a 'one of the lads' approach during his reign in order to win the players over and create team spirit. Unfortunately this approach apparently backfired on him with the Stephen Ireland incident and the banter Ireland was on the receiving end of regarding his hair transplant. Thus the reason why Ireland refused to even meet Staunton when he travelled to Manchester to coax him back, and thus why Ireland had no interest in ever playing for Staunton again. The set up was a joke, with Staunton thinking he was still a player and apparently partaking heavily in the banter and the squads social scene. Initially I thought myself that Ireland needed a kick up the hole, but the stories i've heard since have changed my view. I've also been told eye witness account stories regarding the squads booze ups, including Staunton, in Malahide before big games, from mates who live and socialise in Malahide nonetheless. Easy to see why we didn't qualify :rolleyes:

It's no surprise to me that Ireland is now willing to make himself available again now that Staunton is out and a new more professional regime in.

As for Givens, lets hope he's an early casualty in the Trappatoni era

Finally, Ireland is better than all of that midfield with the possible exception of Duff. On current and recent seasons form, Ireland is better than all of them. If you think otherwise, I'm afraid you're deluded. Extremely deluded.

19/02/2008, 7:34 AM
Sven didn't though. ;)

RogerMilla
19/02/2008, 8:17 AM
welcome back steven ireland , all is forgiven , just dont do it again , ya young eejit ya

lionelhutz
19/02/2008, 9:06 AM
Whether he panicked or not is not the issue here. He lied about his reasons for doing so, twice. The nature of the lies were disgraceful. If he had told the truth initially, he would still have gone home, and the fans would have accepted it a lot more. This was not a one-off occurrence, he refused to play for us for 5 games.

The FAI is a football association, not a counselling service. It's up to Stephen Ireland to sort his problems out, neither the FAI nor his club are under any obligation to do so. He walked out on his country, so he needs to contact the FAI and apologise for his behaviour to them and to us, before setting foot in the squad, never mind a press conference again.

Sorry, but miscarriage or not, he must be made an example of. Otherwise, what's to stop another player to use similiar reasons in order to boycott the team for 5 months? Allowing him back in, sends out the message that his behaviour can, and will be tolerated in future. That only spells bad news for our team. :mad:

You're a bundle of joy aren't you??

The man made a mistake in a very sad situation. He dealt with the matter in the wrong way but he did lose his child. Do people forget this??

If anything, people should sympathise with him rather than making bitter comments like above. This incident should be forgotten

youngirish
19/02/2008, 10:24 AM
Finally, Ireland is better than all of that midfield with the possible exception of Duff. On current and recent seasons form, Ireland is better than all of them. If you think otherwise, I'm afraid you're deluded. Extremely deluded.
On current form most people would agree that McGeady is also better if we're talking about club level. On recent seasons form A Reid (last season in the premiership with Charlton) was far better than Ireland imo until he got injured. Ireland was very hit and miss last year.

jmurphyc
19/02/2008, 10:29 AM
On current form most people would agree that McGeady is also better if we're talking about club level. On recent seasons form A Reid (last season in the premiership with Charlton) was far better than Ireland imo until he got injured. Ireland was very hit and miss last year.

But he has upped his game this year because of better management and Hamann is being used properly this year so it frees Ireland up. I haven't watched a great deal of Man City this year but it seems as though Ireland will have a few excellent games and people will be raving about him, and then you won't hear too much about him for another month. I'm just making an assumption, but could it be due to inconsistency or has he been decent in most of the games he's played in?

BigmanCas
19/02/2008, 10:31 AM
Your deluded. The guys work rate is very poor and his attitude stinks. S Ireland is NOT as good as Duff, Mc Geady and A Reid - not on current form - not ever!!!!!!! Waken up!!! Watch him against Slovakia last September and come back to me.

BigmanCas
19/02/2008, 10:32 AM
Sorry The Above Message Was Suppose To Reply To 4tothefloors remarks And not Youngirish

jmurphyc
19/02/2008, 10:36 AM
Your deluded. The guys work rate is very poor and his attitude stinks. S Ireland is NOT as good as Duff, Mc Geady and A Reid - not on current form - not ever!!!!!!! Waken up!!! Watch him against Slovakia last September and come back to me.

I've watched him against Slovakia more than once and whilst he was extremely poor in that game despite the goal, it was mainly due to him being played out of position (in central midfield) and his poor positioning. I assume that Eriksson is helping him to improve his positioning and tactical awareness and this will inevitably make him a better player. He's still relatively young and these skills generally come with experience. He has enough raw talents to make me believe he will become an excellent player in the future if he applies himself and continues to play under good managers.

19/02/2008, 11:01 AM
I can't understand people getting this worked up arguing that an Irish player isn't good enough. Fair enough if it was the other way around.

BigmanCas
19/02/2008, 11:05 AM
I've watched him against Slovakia more than once and whilst he was extremely poor in that game despite the goal, it was mainly due to him being played out of position (in central midfield) and his poor positioning. I assume that Eriksson is helping him to improve his positioning and tactical awareness and this will inevitably make him a better player. He's still relatively young and these skills generally come with experience. He has enough raw talents to make me believe he will become an excellent player in the future if he applies himself and continues to play under good managers.
I forgot about his performance against Cyprus.... He was the reason why Cyprus beat us by 3 goals - no protection whatsoever in front of the back 4 - Kilbane had no help at all -everything coming down the central channel. where do you play him? wide on the right?? (meaning you are going to have to sacrafice either Mc Geady or Duff) I don't think he deserves a place in the team. Look at the tread relating to Trapps 11 - and most have S Ireland playing behind the centre forward? I don't buy into to him not yet, not until his work rate improves and his attitude changes - which I suspect might never happen - though I hope it does for his own sake.

jmurphyc
19/02/2008, 11:12 AM
Ireland played in the hole behind the striker against Slovakia at home and was switched to there when it was obvious he was ineffective on the right. He played very well on both occasions, and any other time he's played for us it has been in a different position as far as I'm aware, and he's played poorly. Given the right line up he could be a very useful option for us in the next qualifying campaign.

RivaldoBabb
19/02/2008, 11:16 AM
I can't understand people getting this worked up arguing that an Irish player isn't good enough. Fair enough if it was the other way around.

He certainly polarises opinion doesnt he?

Look, i hope he turns out to be as good as some people think he is but at the moment but I dont trust him, I think he has to earn trust back from Irish fans by keeping his mouth closed, put his head down and impress the new manager, not spit out his dummy if he doesnt get in the first team and turn up for the tough away games in Tbilisi and Sofia, not just the glamour game in Rome.

BigmanCas
19/02/2008, 11:24 AM
He certainly polarises opinion doesnt he?

Look, i hope he turns out to be as good as some people think he is but at the moment but I dont trust him, I think he has to earn trust back from Irish fans by keeping his mouth closed, put his head down and impress the new manager, not spit out his dummy if he doesnt get in the first team and turn up for the tough away games in Tbilisi and Sofia, not just the glamour game in Rome.
What will happen if Trapp doesn't start him???? He will not take to kindly to sitting on the bench IMO. Remember the episode with Kerr in Cork. I think he is an accident waiting to happen. There is always going to be issues with this young fella. I am sorry but that is how I feel - plus his performances have never been up to scratch. So when you add the two together - what do you get???

19/02/2008, 11:58 AM
What will happen if Trapp doesn't start him???? He will not take to kindly to sitting on the bench IMO. Remember the episode with Kerr in Cork.
Staunton didn't start him in his first game either, didn't affect him then did it?

backstothewall
19/02/2008, 6:31 PM
What will happen if Trapp doesn't start him???? He will not take to kindly to sitting on the bench IMO. Remember the episode with Kerr in Cork.

Again lads i have to defend him. I wouldn't like to be judged against every mistake i made when i was 17.

as a player i think he is likely to be far more likely to get a game at home than away. I can see him being a luxury we can't afford in Montenegro or Georgia, but at Croker or the new LR he will hopefully be able to get space and time on the ball which will allow him to be at his mst effective

21/02/2008, 6:48 PM
If anything, people should sympathise with him rather than making bitter comments like above. This incident should be forgotten

It won't be forgotten, nor win any sympathy. When Roy Keane walked out, he did so for reasons connected with the team. When Stephen Ireland walked out, he was only thinking of himself. If it screwed us in Prague, (which it did) sod it. :mad:

When Mick McCarthy lost his father when we were playing, he didn't lie to the FAI and go home, he stayed to manage the team. When Robbie Keane lost his father, he was back next match. Stephen Ireland lied in a grotesque fashion, and ignored us for a further 5 months. He walked out on Kerr, he walked out on Stan, Trap will no doubt be next.

There's nothing to prevent him doing so again, as long as enough say, "Ah sure, he'll always be welcome back". :rolleyes::mad:

Bondvillain
21/02/2008, 9:15 PM
It won't be forgotten, nor win any sympathy.

You mean, of course, it won't be forgotten by you, nor elicit any sympathy from you.

Many people have other things going on in their lives, so "the strange case of the Immature 21 year old who made a terribly embarrassing mistake and subsequently publicly apologised for it, and is now quoted as looking forward to playing under his new manager" will hopefully soon be confined to the dustbin of history for the vast majority of Ireland fans. If he doesnt play for us again, It'll be disappointing, but not apocalyptic.

However, I consider him to be somewhat gifted, & I hope he plays for us again. I hope his personal & mental issues are all in the past, and that his talent goes to play some part in taking Ireland to South Africa.

Greenforever
21/02/2008, 11:27 PM
Well firstly in Ireland's defense, the Staunton era was a comical disaster. I've been told that Staunton tried to take a 'one of the lads' approach during his reign in order to win the players over and create team spirit. Unfortunately this approach apparently backfired on him with the Stephen Ireland incident and the banter Ireland was on the receiving end of regarding his hair transplant. Thus the reason why Ireland refused to even meet Staunton when he travelled to Manchester to coax him back, and thus why Ireland had no interest in ever playing for Staunton again. The set up was a joke, with Staunton thinking he was still a player and apparently partaking heavily in the banter and the squads social scene. Initially I thought myself that Ireland needed a kick up the hole, but the stories i've heard since have changed my view. I've also been told eye witness account stories regarding the squads booze ups, including Staunton, in Malahide before big games, from mates who live and socialise in Malahide nonetheless. Easy to see why we didn't qualify :rolleyes:

It's no surprise to me that Ireland is now willing to make himself available again now that Staunton is out and a new more professional regime in.

As for Givens, lets hope he's an early casualty in the Trappatoni era

well Im deluded then, Why didnt Ireland play under Kerr????

Why didnt he play against Wales????

As for your eye witness account, Stan is not a heavy drinker and i've never heard any of that crap from one of his biggest critics who's son is on the team... and tha'ts first hand because I was with this chap in Bratislava Prague and Cardiff among a lot others.

BTW I also admit Stan was a failure but certain players let him down and lastly what has Don Givens ever done wrong to you. He manages the U21s and his job is to blood players and give them experience, U21 titles are worthless as are Brian Kerrs U16 and U18 trophys nice and all that they were they count for nothing in the senior game.