View Full Version : Song for Trappatoni

Pages : 1 2 [3] 4

20/02/2008, 8:00 PM
Yeah and smart comments from you on an internet forum really get the crowd going. I know one thing for sure that Croke Park is not a morgue due to myself as I sing non stop through most games there and would sing constantly at the away games and will do so in Norway and Georgia and Montenegro this year.

blobbyblob
20/02/2008, 9:20 PM
I think we should sing some Mozart and some opera songs as he is an opera buff and loves his classical music.

Loving it - If we cant be the best anymore we should make a stab at the most cultured. :D

This would be a great tune when they teams are coming out on the pitch. Go mental. Wehoooooo!!!!!:cool:

http://youtube.com/watch?v=WvDedo8r1Fk

boovidge
20/02/2008, 10:39 PM
Its a laugh alright. Ninja Turtles? No wonder Croke Park is like a morgue.

How about you make a suggestion on how to change that then :rolleyes:

Bondvillain
21/02/2008, 1:38 AM
I know one thing for sure that Croke Park is not a morgue due to myself as I sing non stop through most games there and would sing constantly at the away games and will do so in Norway and Georgia and Montenegro this year.

When we fly to Norway, I want you to have my parachute. Just in case yours doesnt work in the event of a crash.

21/02/2008, 8:58 AM
When we fly to Norway, I want you to have my parachute. Just in case yours doesnt work in the event of a crash.

Sorry you have lost me there.

citizenerased
21/02/2008, 10:59 AM
i think he is trying to say sarcastically what a saint you are Neill..

Gavinzac, if you dont agreee with our sing songs **** off to another thread

mackannovic
21/02/2008, 11:05 AM
I4E...thats crap...and Paul, we aint the same person. in fact I4E is a creep, you will see him at all the ireland matches with the big creep head on him!

Here, here. I4E ye Creepasaurus!

21/02/2008, 5:06 PM
i think he is trying to say sarcastically what a saint you are Neill..

Gavinzac, if you dont agreee with our sing songs **** off to another thread

Ok that was lost on me. Not a saint at all, just good craic going to the games and singing the songs in support of the team.

Scram
21/02/2008, 5:11 PM
To An Póc ar Builé
-------------------------------------------

As I set out for Lansdowne Road
With colours on to join a meithil,
Who should I meet but the Trapper Tony
And he roarin' mad, in ferocious mettle.

CHORUS: Aill-il-lu puill-il-iu - Aill-il-lu ta an Trap ar buile
Aill-il-lu puill-il-iu - Aill-il-lu ta an Trap ar buile

He chased me up the Long Mile Road
He beggin' for, new players needed
To play in green was all required
And on his back I jumped unheeded.

He ventured through the cheering crowd
Not blinkin once, no pressure showing
"For Africa" he said we're bound
A nations confidence was growing.

We stood up proud, the anthems playin'
No Forza team could dream suppress us,
Our hearts on sleezes he now commanded
The Trap sent forth the Green Colossus .

The day grew on, our lead grew wider,
The Irish crowd sang clear and louder,
The Trappers job, had made him hero
And from above Delaney prouder.

Excellente...but I'd rather as a chorus just

Aill-il-lu puill-il-iu..EE-yoh-vann-ee-Trap-a-toni

22/02/2008, 9:30 AM
i really think that paok song would be cool to get going, but i can only imagine the stares i would get when standing up in the lower centre cusack singing that.....and trying to get others to join in. it really annoys me, i end up looking like a flute, but they are the real flutes.

22/02/2008, 9:31 AM
http://ie.youtube.com/watch?v=vqo_rqMc8NA

i know that was there 50th anniversary thing, but can ye imagine the FAI board members up singing like that....:D

Id love to hear that at croker.

22/02/2008, 9:33 AM
i really think that paok song would be cool to get going, but i can only imagine the stares i would get when standing up in the lower centre cusack singing that.....and trying to get others to join in. it really annoys me, i end up looking like a flute, but they are the real flutes.

Could the FAI designate a section as a "singing" section? We've done that at club level several times. I guess they'd only have to do it once officially for people to get the idea.

22/02/2008, 9:38 AM
ask pineapple stu about that one...

22/02/2008, 10:45 AM
Could the FAI designate a section as a "singing" section? We've done that at club level several times. I guess they'd only have to do it once officially for people to get the idea.

Yeah this is a long battle that has been fought and has been mentioned in the match programmes at games and talked about here for ages. Pineapple Stu is the man who knos most about it on this board and will be able to fill you in on it. Its a disgrace that the FAI never went about and done it.

I think the crowd in the Canal End do seem to be a lot better than the rest of the ground though. I sat at the Germany game in the Hogan and it was depressing with people in their Saturday night clubbing gear and just no interest in what was going on the pitch etc.

blobbyblob
22/02/2008, 10:57 AM

Already there. Its in the Canal End(Davin). Just not much to sing about recently. The Welsh and Slovakia games were the loudest.

an_ceannaire
22/02/2008, 11:12 AM
lets face it lads, Irish fans, at leasr Irish international fans arent really the chanting type. It will end up with just Gio Gio Gio as opposed to Keano Keano Keano
so SICK of Ole Ole Ole and the fookin fields!!!!:mad: !!
we really do suck when it comes to chants! Youll never beat the Irish! Who put the ball in the english net......Christ on a bike!!!

He's Grey, He's Old, He's worth his weight in Gold.....Giiiooo---Giiooo----

He;s grey, he's old, he out for Mehmet Scholl----Giioo Giioooo

fergalr
22/02/2008, 12:26 PM
ce sera sera
whatever will be will be
our gaffer's from italy
ce sera sera

Sligo Hornet
22/02/2008, 12:41 PM
lets face it lads, Irish fans, at leasr Irish international fans arent really the chanting type. It will end up with just Gio Gio Gio as opposed to Keano Keano Keano
we really do suck when it comes to chants! Youll never beat the Irish! Who put the ball in the english net......Christ on a bike!!!

He's Grey, He's Old, He's worth his weight in Gold.....Giiiooo---Giiooo----

He;s grey, he's old, he out for Mehmet Scholl----Giioo Giioooo

..QED;)

Mayo_Bhoy
23/02/2008, 12:14 PM

The only way to get the Irish crowd going is to have simple catchy chants. Some of the songs suggested in this thread are ridiculous. FFS most fans dont even sing The Fields and everyone knows that. BTW what is wrong with this song anyway?? The simpler the better.

23/02/2008, 12:22 PM
Most people are followers but if you can get a chant going at an away game say Norway away in August or the game in London it can catch on and the more it is repeated the more it can then be used at Croke Park etc.

Saint Tom
24/02/2008, 2:28 PM
how about something to the tune of Gilbert O'Sullivan's "Matrimony"?! :eek:

25/02/2008, 9:43 AM
The thread title got me wondering, with all the people linked to the job, I'm surprised no-one adapted the Beautiful South's 'Song for Whoever'.

He took this job from you, Veneables, Allardyce, Troussier,
Gilesey and Arie Haan too...........etc.

Wolfie
26/02/2008, 1:09 PM
To the air of Bananarama's "Hey Hey Goodbye"

Giovanni
Giovanni
Hey Hey Hey
Trapatonni!!

Ozymandias
26/02/2008, 1:46 PM
What about an irish tune ....Oro sé do Bheatha bhaile is real easy and would be a rousing chant...would love to here this and it would be ours not taken from other fans..just a thought

Óró, sé do bheatha 'bhaile! Óró, sé do bheatha 'bhaile!

Óró, sé do bheatha 'bhaile! Anois ar theachtTrappattoni.

Translation is

Óró, you are welcome home! Óró, you are welcome home!

Oro, you are welcome home! Now that Trap is coming.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6JmUYF7kHro

27/02/2008, 9:19 AM
why is sinead oconnor dancing round like an eskimo in that video?!

cruachans with shane mcgowan is a way better version.

I agree ozy though id love to hear something like oro se do bheata bhaile.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8fNJSUSY4Ig

Ozymandias
27/02/2008, 9:23 AM
why is sinead oconnor dancing round like an eskimo in that video?!

cruachans with shane mcgowan is a way better version.

I agree ozy though id love to hear something like oro se do bheata bhaile.

sinead o connor was the only link i had..i agree that cruachans is better..just wanted to give people who didn't know the song a feel for how easy a tune it is and how it could just build and build as a chant

blobbyblob
28/02/2008, 9:30 AM
How about a nice flare display like this

http://youtube.com/watch?v=gaatViCewRY

galwayhoop
28/02/2008, 10:56 AM
To the PAOK chant

http://ie.youtube.com/watch?v=vqo_rqMc8NA

A song about how Trapattoni got the job and what he may do over the next few months.

The Beginning - (the complete version)

Oooooooooooooh Giovanni
Trapattoni
Super Capoooooooooooooo

Dancing, laughing, singing to South Africa we go
Even if you tell the boys to play ca'naccio

Oooooooooooooh Giovanni
Trapattoni
Super Capoooooooooooooo

Fans were apprehensive with the process from the go
The last thing we suspected was a man from Milano

Oooooooooooooh Giovanni
Trapattoni
Super Capoooooooooooooo

El Tel was the favourite even though we all said no
-You've forgotten more than he will ever really know

Oooooooooooooh Giovanni
Trapattoni
Super Capoooooooooooooo

Rumours of your in-ter-est were leaked to some journo
Gentile, Brady and yourself to form a new combo

Oooooooooooooh Giovanni
Trapattoni
Super Capoooooooooooooo

Postponement made us think you were a another gambling stunt
Your lawyers were just making sure you weren't being paid in Punt

Oooooooooooooh Giovanni
Trapattoni
Super Capoooooooooooooo

Givens, Howe and Houghton constituted the trio
They took so long we could have been in waiting for Godot

Oooooooooooooh Giovanni
Trapattoni
Super Capoooooooooooooo

All the other candidates were nothing but so-so
The trio went to Austria to find a real hero

Oooooooooooooh Giovanni
Trapattoni
Super Capoooooooooooooo

You may have had an offer from Chievo Calcio
You turned them down to work with our own Kevin Kilbano

Oooooooooooooh Giovanni
Trapattoni
Super Capoooooooooooooo

News came through from Salzburg that you would give give us a go
The clouds were finally clearing 'long with Saipan's dark shadow

Oooooooooooooh Giovanni
Trapattoni
Super Capoooooooooooooo

Denis phoned Delaney with an offer of some dough
A few were not too happy and it angered the Indo

Oooooooooooooh Giovanni
Trapattoni
Super Capoooooooooooooo

Seeking to avenge the past to Ireland you have come
Your failure with the Azzuri was 'bout the only one

Oooooooooooooh Giovanni
Trapattoni
Super Capoooooooooooooo

Weekends you will travel from your home in Milano
-Don't forget we have a bhoy who's scoring for Glasgow

Oooooooooooooh Giovanni
Trapattoni
Super Capoooooooooooooo

Croke Park is our answer to Italia's San Siro
Better than that bowl in Rome, the home of Lazio

Oooooooooooooh Giovanni
Trapattoni
Super Capoooooooooooooo

Problems you encounter will not ever make you low
We're glad you have such finesse and a super strong ego

Oooooooooooooh Giovanni
Trapattoni
Super Capoooooooooooooo

Saw you on the youtube shouting WAS ERLAUBEN STRUNZ
Our team could use that kind of passion in the coming months

Oooooooooooooh Giovanni
Trapattoni
Super Capoooooooooooooo

Inspiration, Perspiration, key words as you know
-In no time at all you'll build a team of Roy Keanos

Oooooooooooooh Giovanni
Trapattoni
Super Capoooooooooooooo

Defensive coordination and from that the attack will flow
-That's the way you did it when you won the Scudetto

Oooooooooooooh Giovanni
Trapattoni
Super Capoooooooooooooo

Don't forget the backroom staff because you never know
-Any serious injury doubts just give Marco a go

Oooooooooooooh Tardelli
On the telly
Super Scream-oooooooooo

La Repubblica may say that you are far too old
-When we win one nil in Rome you'll get your chance to scold

Oooooooooooooh Giovanni
Trapattoni
Super Capoooooooooooooo

Dancing, laughing, singing to South Africa we go
Even if you tell the boys to play ca'naccio

I applaud your effort here but the reason that the PAOKara (PAOK), Artur Boruc (Celtic) and Champione (Liverpool) songs are so popular is that the complete version consists of 4 LINES!!!

This is probably because a ramdom supporter is willing and able to learn 4 lines therefore it becomes catchy, any longer and it is far too much effort and only the chorus gets sung.

A 4 line song can be sung over and over and over again building up momentum as it goes.

A PAOKara style song is a good option but it has to be limited to one version universally (or close to a lot of people) agreeing.

Why not post all PAOKara style versions and let us have a vote and then move on together????

Greenforever
28/02/2008, 5:10 PM
Gio Trap,
Gio Trap,
Gio Trap,
Gio Trapattoni

Simple, catchy?

Collyontour
02/03/2008, 3:37 PM
What about an irish tune ....Oro sé do Bheatha bhaile is real easy and would be a rousing chant...would love to here this and it would be ours not taken from other fans..just a thought

Óró, sé do bheatha 'bhaile! Óró, sé do bheatha 'bhaile!

Óró, sé do bheatha 'bhaile! Anois ar theachtTrappattoni.

Translation is

Óró, you are welcome home! Óró, you are welcome home!

Oro, you are welcome home! Now that Trap is coming.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6JmUYF7kHro

It would be brilliant to hear that sang at the games

Saint Tom
02/03/2008, 4:46 PM
It would be brilliant to hear that sang at the games

agree one hundred per cent, words are very easy to sing plus its something uniquely irish

02/03/2008, 5:34 PM
Yeah great song the one from the Wind that Shakes the Barley would make the hair on the back of your neck stand.

03/03/2008, 8:24 AM
ya, agreed so someone do something there about it...

neil: i used to live with 2 of the fellas singing that in the film, over here in london. One of the lads thought it was going to be his big break but i haven't seen him in anything since.

03/03/2008, 9:25 AM
Welll I will sing it in Norway no problem. I think the away trips are always going to be the places where these things start.

Ozymandias
03/03/2008, 11:12 AM
Yeah great song the one from the Wind that Shakes the Barley would make the hair on the back of your neck stand.

http://ie.youtube.com/watch?v=v9x6fG3QrBE

there ya go

maybe if the mods put up a list of suggestions..get people to vote and go with one for the time being..if that catches on go to the second choice and then bring that on as well

03/03/2008, 11:18 AM
i like this version, fast forward to 4:17....

really fast and quick version:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=RpO5nbN1DD8

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LNQMRwOJw1w&feature=related

Ozymandias
03/03/2008, 12:00 PM
agreed earlier that cruachan with shane mcgowan is the best version

04/03/2008, 2:59 PM
Óró, sé do bheatha 'bhaile! will sound like the Drunken Sailor to the uninitiated so we could end up a laughing stock

antrimgreen
04/03/2008, 3:53 PM
This is probably balls, but once you sing it to yourself a load of times you may think it works, if not tell me to go f**k!! Not a liverpool fan but the song they sing rafa rafa etc...

i was thinking......

G I, G I O, G I, G I O G I, G I O
Giovanni Trappatoni

Short and sweet, i like it.

05/03/2008, 9:15 AM
Is that the to the tune of La Bamba

05/03/2008, 9:29 AM
Is that the to the tune of La Bamba

No Thats the other one. this one goes rafa..raphael rafa...rapahel Rafa Raphael ....Raphael benitez

05/03/2008, 9:30 AM
Oh yeah thats the Rain Song by Led Zeppelin :)

Ozymandias
05/03/2008, 10:42 AM
Óró, sé do bheatha 'bhaile! will sound like the Drunken Sailor to the uninitiated so we could end up a laughing stock

no I think we will be ok on that one

Wolfie
05/03/2008, 12:56 PM
No Thats the other one. this one goes rafa..raphael rafa...rapahel Rafa Raphael ....Raphael benitez

So shoudn't our version be:

gio....gio trapp....gio.....gio trapp...gio...gio trapp......Gio Trappatoni? :confused:

galwayhoop
05/03/2008, 2:34 PM
no wonder we never have any songs to sing with the crap offerings on here for the last 150 posts or so....

antrimgreen
05/03/2008, 3:21 PM
Go ahead then Shane Galwayhoop McGowan, fill your boots be our saviour!

27/03/2008, 1:25 PM
I do think if we win away from home we should sing to the tune of the Kaiser Chiefs Song.

"Oh my God I can't believe it we've never won away from home before"

I know the Leeds fans do sing it but I like a mix and match of 100 per cent Irish song but I would not be that precious that every song must be our own tune and lyrics.

Greenforever
27/03/2008, 1:40 PM
I do think if we win away from home we should sing to the tune of the Kaiser Chiefs Song.

I know the Leeds fans do sing it but I like a mix and match of 100 per cent Irish song but I would not be that precious that every song must be our own tune and lyrics.

Well we won in Denmark and we won in Holland, Robbie Keane scoring in both....oh s*** forgot they were friendlies:D

As regards a Leeds song, I dont give a monkeys who's song it is if it motivates the team, and thats why i wish we would start singing YNWA before during and after all games because love it or hate it it certainly gets behind the team

Junior
28/03/2008, 2:39 PM

I like that, unfortunately we couldnt sing it until the full time whisle had blown!!!!!

31/03/2008, 12:03 AM
Or hopefully sing it for a few days between the Georgia and Montenegro matches. :)