View Full Version : Head to head: Trap versus Venables

Pages : 1 [2] 3

mrtndvn
04/02/2008, 3:01 PM
Just to add, if it was my club Derry City that had the choice of the two, I'd pick Trap everytime as he would then have the chance on the training ground to make the players play the way he wanted them to.

He won't get this with Ireland tho.

04/02/2008, 3:03 PM
his age? unfinished business on the international stage? all hypothetical of course...I think people querying the motives or commitment of either candidate can point to unfinished business. Each is loaded at this stage, I reckon they both have a feeling that getting qualification with Ireland would fill the last real gap in the CV.

Just a thought: let's assume we won't win the group. We'll have to win a play off against who by definition will be a good team. Who'd you like in charge of a tight 2 legged affair? For me I think it'd be the Italian.

dr_peepee
04/02/2008, 3:16 PM
Maybe he wants his last hurrah to be sticking one over on his compatriots and then say "Shad upiya face" when they boo him!!

Let's make him an offer he can't refuse!!!!!!

Carrigaline
04/02/2008, 3:29 PM
I think your mistaking the tactically intelligent defensive Italian football with the 100% pure guts and effort of British defensive football. :) Keane, McGeady and another wouldn't be required to track back much at all. He plays counter attacking football so you can't have all the players back defending. Doyle probably wouldn't make Trap's team, he likes the 4-2-3-1 system.
No, I remember watching Italy in 2002. The full-backs rarely ventured beyond the half-way line. Wingers tracked back and the centre of the pitch was packed. Also, Italy had Christian Vieri back then, who was absolutely lethal at set-peices. We have no big fella who can win headers and crosses.

Like someone already stated, this might be the sort of game you could play during a play-off or in the knockout stages. If we play like that during the group stages, I can definitely see us dropping points all over the gaff.

04/02/2008, 3:31 PM
No, I remember watching Italy in 2002. The full-backs rarely ventured beyond the half-way line. Wingers tracked back and the centre of the pitch was packed. Also, Italy had Christian Vieri back then, who was absolutely lethal at set-peices. We have no big fella who can win headers and crosses.

Like someone already stated, this might be the sort of game you could play during a play-off or in the knockout stages. If we play like that during the group stages, I can definitely see us dropping points all over the gaff.

was that the game that Toshack was the manager with his translator Mouinhio :)

Paulie
04/02/2008, 3:34 PM
I really think that anybody that wants Venables over Trappatoni is genuinely nuts. Trappatoni is by no means guaranteed success but his record is exceptional and it's not as though the man who we believe is his main rival for the job has a CV that even comes close to his.

Carrigaline
04/02/2008, 3:35 PM
was that the game that Toshack was the manager with his translator Mouinhio :)
Who is this Mouinhio person that you speak of? I thought we were talking about football here.

dr_peepee
04/02/2008, 3:36 PM

I know nothing of his style to be perfectly honesy. But you can't have such a varied cv with success in so many countries without being a versatile manager. You can't base the mans whole footballing ethos on a couple of games in 2002.

Plus Given the full backs we're stuck with now, it's probbly just as well they're not allowed past the half way line :)

04/02/2008, 3:37 PM
He is a player who plays for Portugal in Pro Ev football for copyright reasons they are not allowed to use the full name.

04/02/2008, 3:38 PM
He is a player who plays for Portugal in Pro Ev football for copyright reasons they are not allowed to use the full name.

:D Like Roy Keen and Ronaldonho?

Morbo
04/02/2008, 3:44 PM
I really think that anybody that wants Venables over Trappatoni is genuinely nuts. Trappatoni is by no means guaranteed success but his record is exceptional and it's not as though the man who we believe is his main rival for the job has a CV that even comes close to his.

Agreed, to me its an absolute no brainer, screw what manager the players want, how many of the Arsenal team in 96 would have said they wanted Wenger before he was appointed?

Carrigaline
04/02/2008, 3:44 PM
I'd rather someone else.

The FAI dropped the ball when they let the likes of Hodgson, Troussier and Adriaanse slip through their fingers.

If you ask me, the best man for the job is Guus Hiddink. He will be available from June, would likely take the Irish job, and has a superb record. I'd even be willing to let Givens get his grubby mits on the job until he was available to take over.

04/02/2008, 3:46 PM
I'd rather someone else.

The FAI dropped the ball when they let the likes of Hodgson, Troussier and Adriaanse slip through their fingers.

If you ask me, the best man for the job is Guus Hiddink. He will be available from June, would likely take the Irish job, and has a superb record. I'd even be willing to let Givens get his grubby mits on the job until he was available to take over.

You cannot seriously rate Troussier and Adriaanse higher than Trappatoni? Troussier has done nothing in football.

And Hiddink costs too much.

04/02/2008, 3:57 PM
I'd rather someone else.

sorry but you are clearly deluded. Givens is on a fotune and is not in the budget for Ireland however he is a good manager but Trappatoni is as good.

Troussier and Adrianese and Hodgson are not fit to lace Trappatonis boots and I rate Hodgson very hightly.

Ireland4ever
04/02/2008, 4:09 PM
I think traps C.V. demans a big wage. Hes said to be on 4 million with Red Bull, why would be come to Ireland for 1 million which I think I heard we are offering?

Theres absolutely no chance he's on 4 million with red bull. The off the ball lads brought out a great stat that only two managers in serie a are on over 1million. No a f*ckin chance he's on 4 million to manage in Austria

Paulie
04/02/2008, 4:20 PM

Again, when you look at Trappatoni's record, these guys fade into insignificance. We're not just talking about someone whose record is good, it's exceptional. You say that you would rather Hiddink on account of his record but dismiss Trappatoni despite his. It makes no sense.

04/02/2008, 4:22 PM
He's been playing counter attacking football for as long as I remember, at every team he's been with.

btw, Hiddink is contracted until 2010.

04/02/2008, 4:26 PM
Having a bit of a nightmare today Carrigaline.

04/02/2008, 4:39 PM
Theres absolutely no chance he's on 4 million with red bull. The off the ball lads brought out a great stat that only two managers in serie a are on over 1million.
They probably looked at this table (http://www.mcalcio.com/20-manager-salaries-of-serie-a-roberto-mancini-reigns-supreme/) and didn't cop on that there are 5 managers in Serie A earning over a million.

1. Roberto Mancini (Inter) €5 million
2. Carlo Ancelotti (Milan) €4.5 million
3. Luciano Spalletti (Roma) €2 million
4. Cesare Prandelli (Fiorentina) €1.5 million
5. Claudio Ranieri (Juventus) €1.5 million
6. Walter Novellino (Torino) €1 million

Carrigaline
04/02/2008, 4:53 PM
Having a bit of a nightmare today Carrigaline.
Not really. It's simply a case that anyone who casts any doubt on Trapattoni is abused by the Trapa fanboi's.

It's academic anyway, I don't seriously believe the FAI will appoint Trapattoni. If he does somehow get the job, and can lead us to qualification, I will happily say that I was wrong.

Paulie
04/02/2008, 4:57 PM
Not really. It's simply a case that anyone who casts any doubt on Trapattoni is abused by the Trapa fanboi's.

It's more to do with the reasons and alternatives you provide. Constructive criticism is a positive thing but suggesting managers whose records are nowhere near as good as Trappatonis only serves to lose you credibility.

04/02/2008, 4:58 PM

It's academic anyway, I don't seriously believe the FAI will appoint Trapattoni. If he does somehow get the job, and can lead us to qualification, I will happily say that I was wrong.

Not at all but you are getting your facts wrong left right and centre. As I said if you are going to have a go at Trappatoni I think his possible inability to communicate with our players is the only problem that I would see.

To criticise his record is just madness.

Jicked
04/02/2008, 5:02 PM
Indeed, I can't understand how anyone could criticise Trap's record, simply because he failed to reach a semi final or better with Italy in his two attempts. And imagine people having reservations over playing a slightly more defensive game, when we've had to watch the rubbish we've played for the last two years.

Carrigaline
04/02/2008, 5:08 PM
To criticise his record is just madness.
Why?

He had two cracks of the whip at international football and failed. The Italian team he managed had the likes of del Piero, Totti, Vieri and Inzaghi; these guys were some of the best in the world back in early 2000.

eekers
04/02/2008, 5:13 PM
why does trapattoni want the job?

he's has unfinished business left at international level - as noted his international record isnt great
he wants to beat italy twice and stuff it in the faces of a few of his detractors back home
the money isnt bad
he's getting on and its less hours than his current jobthe he-cant-speak-english thing:
Can Capello? Could Otto Rehhagel speak greek when he started at the greek job? etc. I cant see this being too much of a problem to be honest.

Jicked
04/02/2008, 5:18 PM
Why?

He had two cracks of the whip at international football and failed. The Italian team he managed had the likes of del Piero, Totti, Vieri and Inzaghi; these guys were some of the best in the world back in early 2000.

By failed you mean they lost two knock out games. It's not like they were say, drawing with Cyrpus, or I don't know, not beating Iran in a qualifier. Would you turn down Sven Goran Eriksson because England failed in the tournaments he managed in - by losing on penalties and to eventual winners Brazil. That doesn't undo the fact Eriksson is a top drawer manager, though I'd put Trapattoni in a bracket above him.

del_carroll
04/02/2008, 5:21 PM
For those who believe Trap to be the answer to all our prayers I thought I'd make a couple of points.

1. Funny someone called Stuttgart88 is calling for Trappatoni to do a stint as manager. He was here in Stuttgart for a year and a half, a period in VFB's history distinctive for its unbelievably tedious football and Stuttgart's descent into mid-table mediocrity. It was simply terrible stuff to watch; made intolerable by the fact that it was not successful either.

2. The pace his teams played at was not high enough even for the Bundeslega's level; therefore I would seriously doubt that a panel of Premiership players would be able to adjust their style of play enough to ensure halfway coherent strategy and tactics. At 67, and given his personality it is unlikely he will undergo a sea change in his mentality either.

3. Teams managed:
AC Milan
Juventus
Inter Milan
FC Bayern Munich
Cagliari
Fiorentina
Italy
SL Benfica
VfB Stuttgart
Red Bull Salzburg

I'm sorry but this represents for me a clear long term pattern of decline. Red Bull Salzburg are in his charge at the moment, but have massive spending power in comparison to their minnow rivals. The last Scudetto Trap won was in 1989. That's 20 years ago!

4. He was a complete flop with Italy at International level.

5. He has shown to adjust very poorly to managing a team outside of Italy. His command of the German language while he was with Bayern is still the stuff of legends here. While at Stuttgart he never talked to the press directly, but always via an interpreter or a spokesman. (Though I'm not ruling out that possiblity that his interview technique is better that Stan's)

So everyone will herald him at the start but, I guarantee you after 3 games and no goals people will be screaming in agony at the utter agony of watching his teams play. And then we'll have to pay him off big style.

Anybody but Trap per favore.

shanman2
04/02/2008, 5:27 PM
Why?

Man your off your head!! He was knocked out of the world cup 2002 with Italy, in very suspicious circumstances you may recall. He has no less than 18 major trophies. Inter, Juventus and Bayern does a CV or will a CV for the Republic of Ireland soccer team managers post ever be as strong???

04/02/2008, 5:51 PM
Trap all the way. Cant see it hasppening though, bit too good to be true.

Carrigaline
04/02/2008, 5:59 PM
He was here in Stuttgart for a year and a half, a period in VFB's history distinctive for its unbelievably tedious football and Stuttgart's descent into mid-table mediocrity.
You must be one of these people who don't understand the sophisticated Italian genius of his defensive plays. :p

viagogo
04/02/2008, 6:49 PM
Is anyone worried about Traps age? I admit that he is a far better candidate than El Tel but we dont want another Bobby Robson situation. Also I know Trapatoni has a great record but recently I dont think its as good.

Delbertt
04/02/2008, 7:19 PM
Traps only reaching his peak them Italians live well into there 90s,remeber that add on telly about the butter;)

Wangball
04/02/2008, 7:22 PM
Just read an article on the BBC website saying that Salzburg expect the Trapmeister to stay on until his contract expires at the end of this season, and he apparently has assured them that this is his intention, although this doesn't rule him out of the Ireland job I don't really think that suits us, it wouldn't be right for his 1st game in charge to be the Georgia match in September he'd need a settling in period & some friendlies to hone his squad selection (in an ideal world he would of been appointed 2 months ago) and to begin moulding the teams style of play...this aside if we have to wait until September for the new manager that means we'd have to put up with that egotistical, pig ignorant excuse of a manager for 2/3 more friendlies....I'd sooner take Venables or Brady on their own right now that put up with his media grand standing

here's the article I referred to -

http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport2/hi/football/internationals/7227106.stm

DeNiro
04/02/2008, 7:36 PM
I think Trap's the man. He'll instill a culture that Irish football will never have experienced before. If you ask me I think that is what some players are afraid of and are mooting retirement. The old Mickey Mouse culture of beering on a Sunday or whenever they could before an international will evaporate very quickly with Trappatoni on board. Put Brady in the mix, with his Arsenal background, and it's a gonner for sure.

The players are overstating the communication idea. Half of them can't even communicate properly so why are they citing it as a problem with Trappatoni. Anyway Brady will be there. He speaks Italian, so problem solved. I think they want Venables because he's a Jack the lad and the players want this maverick culture. It's sort of like Jol and Ramos at Spurs. The bellies and shoddy performances dissapeared when Ramos had bedded in.

It's hard to know what's going to happen. If players want to retire, so be it. I hope it's Trappatoni, but still expect Venables:rolleyes:. There has to be another twist in this for sure. If Coppell was sacked tomorrow, would he come into it?

04/02/2008, 7:46 PM
Just read an article on the BBC website saying that Salzburg expect the Trapmeister to stay on until his contract expires at the end of this season, and he apparently has assured them that this is his intention, although this doesn't rule him out of the Ireland job I don't really think that suits us, it wouldn't be right for his 1st game in charge to be the Georgia match in September he'd need a settling in period & some friendlies to hone his squad selection (in an ideal world he would of been appointed 2 months ago) and to begin moulding the teams style of play...this aside if we have to wait until September for the new manager that means we'd have to put up with that egotistical, pig ignorant excuse of a manager for 2/3 more friendlies....I'd sooner take Venables or Brady on their own right now that put up with his media grand standing

here's the article I referred to -

http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport2/hi/football/internationals/7227106.stm

He can manage us against Serbia in May and Norway in August so please tell me how his first game would be against Georgia. Also we could also organise more than 1 friendly in May and June before Euro 2008 with the teams who have qualified. So not sure what your point is now.

Newryrep
04/02/2008, 7:46 PM
If players want to retire, so be it. I hope it's Trappatoni, but still expect Venables:rolleyes:. There has to be another twist in this for sure. If Coppell was sacked tomorrow, would he come into it?

I think the players retiring is just bull. What are they afraid off success ? We should be biting Trapatoni's hand off, his CV speaks volumes and the fact that it iwas in different countries show's he must be able to adapt himself. The players really have to have a reality check. If cant be arsed to play for your country then close the door on your way out. It is not a chore. It seems for many that success is being mid table in the Premiership who cares if you dont win anything or go to any international tournaments

04/02/2008, 7:52 PM
Funny someone called Stuttgart88 is calling for Trappatoni to do a stint as manager.
It may surprise you but I don't actually support Stuttgart.

Interesting comments though, few of us here have any close up experience of Trap, just what we know about him from afar.

I thought I had made a decent summary case why he may or may not be good as manager,and also how any support was qualified.

I'd prefer (or have preferred) Coppell, Hodgson, Houllier or Jol over either of them. My fear over Trap is that he'd just be too alien for what our players know but if they take to him then maybe we can collect a few ugly wins away from home for a change. My fear over Venables is that while the players will enjoy his tenure I'm not sure he has a plan that can see us successful in the banana skin games in our group.

Who knows? Now that my preferred candidates are out of the way, I'd be happy with either, but I admit that seeing my childhood hero Liam Brady involved would excite me.

04/02/2008, 7:58 PM
I really cant see much of a flaw in the Trap and Brady and Gentilli management team.

05/02/2008, 1:25 AM
It really is a straight-forward choice between:

The "Ha-ha-ha, pis-up" dentist chair :D manager, or a multi-title winning radical.

I will go for Trappattoni. He will join after the Austrian season finishes, and have some English by then. It won't be just knife-wielding maniacs in Tblisi that Zinedine Kilbane will be worrying about, if that's the case. :D

Bondvillain
05/02/2008, 1:33 AM
It really is a straight-forward choice between:

The "Ha-ha-ha, pis-up" dentist chair :D manager, or a multi-title winning radical.

Oh it so isn't.

05/02/2008, 7:40 AM
We're very weak defensively, even more so now following recent retirements. We need a coach that has clearly demonstrated his strengths in this area of the game and Trap fits the bill.

We also need somebody that can organise the side both on and off the field. There needs to be a clear break in the current culture surrounding the squad and a radical reassessment to how things are done would be very beneficial IMO. Stan brought a "holiday-style, Mick Bryne" atmosphere to the international set-up and the first thing the new manager needs to do is get rid of this. I don't believe that TV has the required motivation to meet the job description in this regard. Trap can, however, I believe change our mindset to how things are done and this is what we need.

I just get the feeling that TV would be here to coach team, take his paycheck and nothing more. Trap, on the other hand, would bring about a change in culture and a firm sense of direction.

If Trap is appointed we should allow him to dictate how he wants things done. None of this forcing Brady on him and I doubt he'd accept the job if this was the case.

del_carroll
05/02/2008, 7:59 AM
2002 world cup
In Group G, Croatia, and Ecuador (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Ecuador_national_football_team) all beat each other once. But the Italians' draw against group winners Mexico (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Mexico_national_football_team), while the other two lost to the North Americans, gave the three-time World Cup champions second place in the group.

Followed by a scraped win against the aussies courtesy of a questionable penalty, followed by a loss against the Koreans....no matter what excuses are raised here it's still a tournament exit against South Korea, who were easily dispatched in the semis by a very ordinary German side.

Euro 2004
Main article: UEFA Euro 2004 - Group C (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/UEFA_Euro_2004_-_Group_C)
TeamPts PldWDLGFGAGD
Sweden (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Sweden_national_football_team) 5312083+5
Denmark (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Denmark_national_football_team) 5312042+2
Italy (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Italy_national_football_team) 5312032+1
Bulgaria (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Bulgaria_national_football_team) 0300319−8

This man's achievements are all a long long time ago; you could argue he has done nothing anywhere since 1989.

05/02/2008, 8:14 AM
2002 world cup
In Group G, Croatia, and Ecuador (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Ecuador_national_football_team) all beat each other once. But the Italians' draw against group winners Mexico (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Mexico_national_football_team), while the other two lost to the North Americans, gave the three-time World Cup champions second place in the group.

Followed by a scraped win against the aussies courtesy of a questionable penalty, followed by a loss against the Koreans....no matter what excuses are raised here it's still a tournament exit against South Korea, who were easily dispatched in the semis by a very ordinary German side.

Euro 2004
Main article: UEFA Euro 2004 - Group C (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/UEFA_Euro_2004_-_Group_C)
TeamPts PldWDLGFGAGD
Bulgaria (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Bulgaria_national_football_team) 0300319−8

This man's achievements are all a long long time ago; you could argue he has done nothing anywhere since 1989.

When was the last time Trap was out of a job?? What does this tell us? ;)

Ireland4ever
05/02/2008, 8:20 AM
2002 world cup

Euro 2004
TeamPts PldWDLGFGAGD

Jack charlton won one game in nine at the world cup and he's a legend here, stats can be misleading. Honesetly what do yee guys want, i guarantee if alex ferguson were mooted people would pick faults with him. As norn iron would say 'were not brazil were ireland'....to attract a manager of the calibre and record of trappatoni would be fantastic. Considering we had to live off the scraps in the past this would be an amazing capture......

dr_peepee
05/02/2008, 8:28 AM
2002 world cup

Euro 2004
TeamPts PldWDLGFGAGD

You can't really though!!

Right, so it's clear you don't want Trapp... Is Venables a better option? Who do you think we can realistically appoint?

05/02/2008, 8:31 AM
2002 world cup

That was 2006, not 2002. In 2002, the defeat to Korea was in the second round, not the q-Final.

2002 world cup
you could argue he has done nothing anywhere since 1989.
You could argue that, but you'd be wrong. Since 1989, he has qualified a national team for 2 successive tournaments, the 2002 World Cup and 2004 European Championships. I'd say most Irish fans would be thrilled were he to repeat that achievement with Ireland.

Ireland4ever
05/02/2008, 8:32 AM
2002 world cup

Euro 2004
TeamPts PldWDLGFGAGD

Looking at his record rational people couldnt/wouldnt argue that, but hey when has anyone on this forum been accused of being rational!

05/02/2008, 8:49 AM
have you noticed how many new posters we are getting on here, the main objective being to dismiss Trapattoni's track record? Do they work for (or friends of) Fanning and other El Tel supporters?!

05/02/2008, 9:04 AM
have you noticed how many new posters we are getting on here, the main objective being to dismiss Trapattoni's track record? Do they work for (or friends of) Fanning and other El Tel supporters?!

A conspiracy theory. I like it :D

del_carroll
05/02/2008, 9:12 AM
I want to dismiss Trapattoni's record, becasue I live in Stuttgart, am a VFB and Ireland fan, and I don't want to see him as manager of the Irish national team...As an aside I had a log-in here ages ago but it was removed, because I'm normally just a reader, no time for posting....

I'd like to have an argument based on facts and, as I have had first hand with Trapattoni than most (anyone?) on this board, I thought I'd offer my tuppence worth....you don't have to read it if your afraid of being manipulated by El Tel's fifth column :D

So; what has Trap done since 1989?

NTW Qualifying a football super power for a tournament doesn't count...neither does winning the austrian league with a shedload of cash.

Ask Grojkaer and Tomasson about him:
At the beginning of February 2006, Grønkjær and Tomasson openly criticised Trapattoni as "lacking the will to attack and win." The criticism came after 12 drawn games out of 20, and although Trapattoni wanted to assert his authority and benched both players in the next game, he himself was fired the very next day, on 9 February 2006"

This is not the man to nurture our current generation of exciting young players...and if he comes it will also spell the end of Duff and Keane who promised so much in 2002.

Would you not ask yourself why he has been only able to find work in the austrian league; it's not right to name-drop clubs he's been involved with and conclude that, well, he must be good.

If you don't know his name, and your were told we were getting the manager of Salzburg as international coach; would you be happy?

The fact is that he is there, because he does not have what is takes to manage at the top level any more...