View Full Version : Confirmed Transfers!

Sonic
27/01/2008, 12:31 PM
Iarfhlaith Davoren-Galway
Damien Rushe-Athlone
Neil Gallagher- Dundalk
Noel McAllister

www.ltfc.ie

Anyone know anything about any of these players!!??

The Lilywhites
27/01/2008, 1:56 PM
Neil Gallagher- Dundalk

http://www.dundalkfc.com/1stteam/Gallagher.html

27/01/2008, 3:31 PM
Noel McAllister is a forward from Belfast apparently. Used to play with Institute I believe. Don't know anything else about him. There should be more signed during the week

27/01/2008, 4:15 PM
Neil Gallagher- Dundalk

Good riddance. Abandoned us one day to go play Gaelic.

Rocky77
27/01/2008, 4:17 PM
The website says that Shay and Chucky have re-signed. Is it to be interpretted that that's it as far as last year's squad -- Reilly, Sparky, Sean Kelly, Lynch, Wexler (for what the latter two are worth) -- is concerned?

27/01/2008, 4:31 PM
Sean Kelly is back training with us alright. Needs to get fitter though if he's going to be staying on. I presume the other lads aren't coming back, I don't know for sure.

RockofGibraltar
27/01/2008, 5:35 PM
Noel McAllister

http://www.finaghyunitedfc.co.uk/squad.html

he is featured in the squad of this team..scored 25 goals in 19 appearences for them so far this season..sounds promising..but then again that league he was playing in looks to be a pure joke

RockofGibraltar
27/01/2008, 5:40 PM
looks like we will be signing ronan frawley aswell

http://www.westmeathindependent.ie/story.asp?stID=1406

27/01/2008, 5:59 PM
http://www.iol.ie/~eganwd/atfc/thebackpage/archive07.htm

information about Iarfhlaith Davoren

27/01/2008, 6:13 PM

he is featured in the squad of this team..scored 25 goals in 19 appearences for them so far this season..sounds promising..but then again that league he was playing in looks to be a pure joke

also signing a player nick named "stoner" is asking for trouble:D

27/01/2008, 6:15 PM
Is it to be interpretted that that's it as far as last year's squad -- Wexler (for what the latter two are worth) -- is concerned?
I presume the other lads aren't coming back, I don't know for sure.The end of an era:(

Sean Kelly to be the new cult hero:)

Rocky77
27/01/2008, 6:17 PM
The end of an era:(

You spelled error wrong..

29/01/2008, 11:49 AM
Didn't feel this warranted a new thread so I'll stick it in here. Aaron's thoughts on transfer policy:

http://www.eleven-a-side.com/eircomleague/irish_soccer_detail.asp?newsid=30808

29/01/2008, 8:47 PM
dont know if i would agree on that personally myself but I suppose all we can do is trust the great man himself.. we may tap into a hidden potential support aka stevie gavin nine years ago...

29/01/2008, 8:52 PM
We'll see, no harm in giving it a go anyhow.

Sonic
30/01/2008, 9:56 AM
I heard we are signing a couple of players tonight. Shane Harte who played with Waterford last year is one of them!

30/01/2008, 11:13 AM
Yeah there's training tonight, I think some more are to sign alright, Alan Lynch from Bohs was one of them who was to finalise things tonight I believe.

30/01/2008, 11:16 AM
Heard a rumour today that a McCarthy lad was to sign but he had interest now from Sunderland....obviously the latter would win out, but anyone know who he is? Or if its even true?

30/01/2008, 11:21 AM
Guy from Athlone? Brian McCarthy?

Battery Rover
30/01/2008, 11:26 AM
He has had interest from Aston Villa and Portsmouth. He is linked with Bohs as well. He is the best young defender in League of Ireland

Thing is here would you be able to afford the compensation fee that we would be entitled to.

No stories going around Athlone with regards to this as far as I know

30/01/2008, 11:30 AM
Was he on pro forms for two seasons?. Was he ever not paid for three consecutive weeks? because if he wasn't all your rights go out the window as we found to our cost with Paisley. Doesnt matter if you were paid it later either. Harsh but that's the way it is. Could be just rumours anyway

Battery Rover
30/01/2008, 11:35 AM
Pro forms for 3 seasons now and we would still be entitled to compensation but not a transfer fee as he is only 20

Battery Rover
30/01/2008, 11:36 AM
Anyways I think the Athlone defender you are going to sign this evening is Ronan Frawley as he has come out in the press and stated that

30/01/2008, 1:03 PM
Probably irrelevant as I dont see us spending money on a compensation fee for anyone. Other priorities for any chunks of money that come in as ye know yourselves!

30/01/2008, 1:04 PM
Was he on pro forms for two seasons?. Was he ever not paid for three consecutive weeks? because if he wasn't all your rights go out the window as we found to our cost with Paisley. Doesnt matter if you were paid it later either. Harsh but that's the way it is. Could be just rumours anyway
Yeah think thats him, just heard it in passing this morning

30/01/2008, 7:17 PM
Yeah there's training tonight, I think some more are to sign alright, Alan Lynch from Bohs was one of them who was to finalise things tonight I believe.

I just popped into the ground just now on the way in to go on the internet. There was 18-20 people training. I get the impression that Vinny will concentrate solely on coaching from observing him on the sidelines. Dessie Cawley seems to have a very important role as well this coming season.

Heard there was some player training with us tonight that was to be picked up in newbridge co galway and back! the only players I knew there were Shay,Daire and Sean Kelly.

Suppose we will all know what sort of shape they will be in over the next few wks!

31/01/2008, 12:52 AM
Des Cawley is a coach this year I believe. Dunno what Vincent's plans are regarding playing but he's loving being back here, that much is obvious! You would definitely recognise one player if ya saw him up close or to be more specific you'd know whose brother he was. Former Town cup winner's younger brother!.Enfield based ;) John McNicholas is training with us too, former Town player.

31/01/2008, 7:41 AM
John McNicholas is training with us too, former Town player.

He must be doing some amount of training cos he rumoured to be up with us
aswell!

If only they could straighten his back he'd be about 7 foot tall :eek:

Rocky77
31/01/2008, 9:32 AM
Former Town cup winner's younger brother!.Enfield based ;)

Will we be chanting 'Barrett for Ireland' again?

31/01/2008, 11:45 AM
Well McNicholas has been at our last three training sessions, was talking to him last night. He definitely seems keen to play for us. Didn't have too many fond memories of Kilkenny!

Oh and Rocky you're correct, Barrett Jnr. is training with us. Didnt catch his first name, think he's also a striker.

Rocky77
31/01/2008, 11:52 AM
Well he did score against Cork in the Cup last season which, unfortunately, is more than we managed.

Barrett Jnr doesn't need a name of his own. Let's just close our eyes and pretend he's Shane. What could possibly go wrong?

Rocky77
31/01/2008, 2:37 PM
Sparky's signed for Shels according to a thread in the main forum.

31/01/2008, 2:45 PM
Meh..not that bothered really. Didn't really get much out of him last year, he's just seeing out his career at this stage.

Rocky77
31/01/2008, 2:47 PM
I would agree. He was injured too often and always behind everyone else in terms on fitness.

That's Shels gauranteed a Cup final mind you...

31/01/2008, 3:36 PM
He has been seeing out his career for a few seasons now :)

31/01/2008, 7:21 PM
interesting news about john mcnicholas training with us. shanes younger brother is he called dean by any chance?

31/01/2008, 7:49 PM
Don't know Marty, I just know he's definitely a Barrett!

31/01/2008, 7:59 PM
think shane barretts brother played at kildare county last season...

http://www.kildarecountyfc.com/first-team/index.asp

31/01/2008, 8:04 PM
Yeah that looks to be him alright. He's done well in training seemingly.

The Longford!
31/01/2008, 8:47 PM
Darragh Hanaphy on that Kildare County list as well. Is Paul Kelly still around?

What about sean kelly? I thought he'd still be under contract as we only signed him last summer?

31/01/2008, 8:55 PM
Paul Kelly was made an offer seemingly, but he doesnt seem to be training at the moment. Maybe he's sticking with GAA I dont know. Sean Kelly isn't under contract but is back training with us. I'd say he may well be signed again. Needs to get fitter though.

Nipper
31/01/2008, 9:19 PM
YOU need to get fitter, Longfordian.

- SK;)

31/01/2008, 11:20 PM
:eek: How dare you you old fart..I'm not looking for a contract with the Town! :D

Biffo in exile
01/02/2008, 8:01 PM

McAllister performed very well at last weekends trials - a speedy striker with nimble feet and a good all-round game. Excellent vision and a good strike on him.

I saw him a couple of times a few years ago when he was a Norn Iron international at U-16 or U-18 (can't remember ...) and he had great potential. Went to England for trials, but never made it there. Lost his way a bit since then, but appears to now be back better than ever. Seems to have matured a lot, as you would expect he's 20 now, and he could be a hidden gem in this side ...

Will be interesting to see how he performs in the friendly on Tues night ..

02/02/2008, 11:26 AM
Interesting..I heard he's come very highly recommended by some of Aaron's contacts in the North. Haven't seen him at all but those who were at ast weekend's training were impressed. Hopefully he'll turn out to be a star!

Tallanted
02/02/2008, 11:33 AM
Apparently he was at gillingham last year. All the talk of him is positive so hopefully we will have unearthed a goalscorer with him

18/02/2008, 9:28 PM
more new signings

www.ltfc.ie

I assume the majority of the lads are from the under 21s.

19/02/2008, 3:00 PM
Yeah they're all from last year's under 21s apart from Brian Kelly as far as I know.

Sniffer
19/02/2008, 3:13 PM
Anyone know what positions these fellas play in? And are they signed for thew 1st team squad or the 21's?

19/02/2008, 6:47 PM
I'm not sure on their positions, I think Hussey is a midfielder from recollection. They're signed to be part of the first team squad I would say, but I'm sure those eligible for the under 20s will play with them also.