View Full Version : Spotlight

Pages : 1 [2] 3 4

30/01/2008, 7:05 PM
And, great to see two kids on Derry City's books off on tour with the Northern Ireland Under 18 squad next week.
Good luck to them.
What was the IFA's excuse for not phoning up Derry all those years?
they couldn't get through as the FAI were always on the line?:D

30/01/2008, 7:36 PM
Wells just showed himself up as a fool who either didnt know very mcuh about the subject, or didnt want to talk about it in real, definitive, FACTUAL terms, which was supposedly the point of the programme.
You might have grasped that that point was demonstrated perfectly on the program. It's not a failure of the program, quite the opposite actually.

The programme asked him the questions, he was unable to answer.
He could not explain the FIFA status quo position or admit to his failure to interpret the very simple wording on FIFA annex rule 901.
Instead he tried to fob off that FIFA made a mysterious decision, the details of which might be revealed when the minutes are published.
More mysterious than the secret of Fatima.
What morons could swallow that tripe.

Wells doesn´t know his arsé from his elbow when it comes to understanding FIFA rules of eligibility. Yet he purported to lead the OWC fans in a campaign based on his ignorance to persuade FIFA to use a rule of eligibility which doesn´t apply.
The OWC followed Well's lead blindly and we had to witness more emotional rubbish written on this subject from legal illiterates than was ever written about Stan.
And we are not talking about a Lisbon treaty type legal document.

The FAI have consistantly kept off the airwaves on this matter so this program was no different. While Wells turned it into a self rightuos public crusade.
Footballers have a choice, some will choose the OWC some will choose the Republic.

shantykelly
30/01/2008, 7:56 PM
And if you represent the Irish Football Association, playing for Northern Ireland in Belfast, in an Emerald Green shirt with a Celtic Cross on it, what does that make you? Greek? :confused:

As Felix Healey - himself clearly happy enough to play for NI put it - this whole issue of eligibility has become politicised, which is never a good thing for any sport in any context.

Gerry Armstrong is living proof (as well as a Living Legend!) that it is possible for someone to play Gaelic Football at Croke Park, then International Soccer for NI at Windsor Park, without either making him more or less "Irish" or more or less "British" - in the end, he can be whatever he wants to be.

Quite simply, there are two Irish Football Associations and therefore two Irish International Football Teams on this island, each equally valid as the other.

And I believe that if you are born within the juridiction of one, you should represent them but if born within the jurisdiction of the other, that is who you should represent (unless you have valid connections such as parent/grandparent/residence with both, in which case you may choose).

although not in football, i actuallhave represented northern ireland in sport,at an amateur level, on the international stage. i'm still irish.

i agree that whilst northern ireland exists, the ifa has every right to exist. i do not dispute this fact, and would actually like to see football in the north not only surviving, but prospering. i'm a great believer in all things local.

however, what i do take issue with is this idea that if you are born in northern ireland, you HAVE to play for it's international side. each player should be allowed to make their own choice in the matter. the ifa currently does suffer from a certain reputation, some of it real, but most of it imagined, and i accept that a lot of folks are working damn hard to change that. however, they still have a lot of ground to cover, especially in places like derry. there exists a special history there.

kingdomkerry
30/01/2008, 9:40 PM
And, great to see two kids on Derry City's books off on tour with the Northern Ireland Under 18 squad next week.

I agree. Brilliant. Players now have the right to choose. Thats all most of us on foot.ie argued for!

kingdomkerry
30/01/2008, 9:47 PM
And, you're the wise guy who would "love to see" an All Ireland team, but don't think any Northern Ireland players are good enough to be in it.

Brilliant.:D

I think George McCartney and now that Traitor finnan is retired aron hughes would make an AI team. If i think other players are'nt good enough thats my opinion. And i dont think im too far off the mark

30/01/2008, 10:02 PM
Do you know what the word traitor means. I was not happy with Finnans decision but he is not a traitor.

rovers77
30/01/2008, 11:09 PM
Do you know what the word traitor means. I was not happy with Finnans decision but he is not a traitor.

Yeah, I seen Finnan being called a traitor somwhere else too and I thought I missed someting, I just didn't get it. He is definetly not a traitor.

boovidge
30/01/2008, 11:43 PM
yeah it's not like he declared for England or anything!

The programme is available on BBC iplayer if anyone wants to see it (not sure people in ROI can use it though?)

30/01/2008, 11:54 PM
y

The programme is available on BBC iplayer if anyone wants to see it (not sure people in ROI can use it though?)

Surely Fifa shoudl intervene in this, it should be my right to watch BBC IPlayer as part of the Good Friday agreement. If the RTE Guide is available in Northern Ireland we should have BBC I player. :)

boovidge
30/01/2008, 11:57 PM
hahaha! :D

Not Brazil
31/01/2008, 9:02 AM
I think George McCartney and now that Traitor finnan is retired aron hughes would make an AI team. If i think other players are'nt good enough thats my opinion. And i dont think im too far off the mark

Of course, we all have an opinion - that's the lifeblood of discussion.

You will understand tho, that as a Northern Ireland fan, I have absolutely no desire to support a team consisting of two players from Northern Ireland, when I can watch a team entirely consisting of players representing Northern Ireland.

citizenerased
31/01/2008, 10:01 AM
the whole program was full of holes and biased from an NI point of view...

They didnt highlight enough the sectarian abuse cathoics indure at windsor park, my mate who is from Tyrone(and catholic) went to windsor a good few times before to an NI game and said it was one of the scariest things ever, he said the sectarianist abuse was ridiclous..Players like Chris Baird, Aarron Hughes, Neil Lennon, Damien Johnson..even the beloved David Healy was gettin abuse(during his drought period)....'Up to our necks in Fenian blood sung throughout'...why would you expect these palyers to declare for ye....

Your fans giving abuse to people coming out of a catholic church after mass aswell(this happened to a friend of mine in belfast)..disgraceful..

Then comparing the situation with quatar poaching players from brazil...laughable to say the least...NI have no argument..get over it and move on, because Gibson wont be the last player we poach..

Even when they were filming outside the FAI headquaters in abbotstown, thye showed the ****ttiest part of the building in the background.

And as for the all ireland 11, the only players i would take would be chris baird and johnny evans..no one else..healy wouldnt start a head of Doyle!

Not Brazil
31/01/2008, 10:20 AM
They didnt highlight enough the sectarian abuse cathoics indure at windsor park, my mate who is from Tyrone(and catholic) went to windsor a good few times before to an NI game and said it was one of the scariest things ever, he said the sectarianist abuse was ridiclous..Players like Chris Baird, Aarron Hughes, Neil Lennon, Damien Johnson..even the beloved David Healy was gettin abuse(during his drought period)....'Up to our necks in Fenian blood sung throughout'...why would you expect these palyers to declare for ye....

When was the last time your "mate" attended a Northern Ireland match?

Are you telling us that all the players you mention received "sectarianist abuse"?

31/01/2008, 10:28 AM
I've a few Northern Ireland mates who are chuffed that their team has been reclaimed from the bigots. Watching their games on TV they regularly focused the cameras on the crowd and all I could see was a bunch of regular lads in their shirts enjoying the games. I'm sure there's still an unpalatable section in their support but then again I'm becoming increasingly bemused at some of the current ROI fans. Nobody's perfect.

lopez
31/01/2008, 10:37 AM
The most interesting bit was the players saying repeatedly that 'they were never asked' to play by the IFA.. ergo they were asked by the FAI? Kinda flys in the face of the rubbish about not poaching our players doesnt it?

See to be honest, the one thing that has annoyed me more about this than anything else is this - for ages we have tried to take the religion out of our team.. it was a milstone around it and it has taken ages, and some dedicated people, to get rid of it.... then the FAI come up and start religiously segragating gthe kids again? WTF is that about? And none of you down there can't say it hasn't happened, but you come up here and see what it has done. Thanks.
What a load of tosh that the FAI are picking players on their religion. You could agree if the players' names were along the lines of Paddy McGinnty, that they thought, he's Catholic, let's give him a buzz. But Darren Gibson? Sorry am I missing something but can someone point out how the FAI would have deduced that he was Catholic from that.

Anyway, what do you want? Unionist players opting aswell? :D:D:rolleyes:

And, great to see two kids on Derry City's books off on tour with the Northern Ireland Under 18 squad next week.I would have thought that should be normality if the two teams on Ireland were sectarianism/politics free. After all, don't see many northern Gaelic football players/supporters opting for Kerry, even though they are clearly a far better side. Maybe when you remove all the unionist paraphernalia from NI games then you'll probably find no one opting for a side that does not represent their geographical entity.

Of course, we all have an opinion - that's the lifeblood of discussion.

You will understand tho, that as a Northern Ireland fan, I have absolutely no desire to support a team consisting of two players from Northern Ireland, when I can watch a team entirely consisting of players representing Northern Ireland.But not necessarily one that are exclusively either born or have some an ancestral connection with NI.

citizenerased
31/01/2008, 10:37 AM
When was the last time your "mate" attended a Northern Ireland match?

Are you telling us that all the players you mention received "sectarianist abuse"?

He attended games during the Sammy McILroy era and start of Sanchez era..that was around 02 , 03 ,04, 05 i think..he feared for his safety if his religious persuasian became evident!!

Yes Iam telling you that, they recieved sectarian abuse at one stage or another..maybe it was at a time when the bigotry was worse!! Why can you dismiss these claims? Im sure your pure as the driven snow...

We all have our bad ones..but to say that the biggotry has been completely eradicated is quite laughable to be honest..

cheifo
31/01/2008, 10:44 AM
I've a few Northern Ireland mates who are chuffed that their team has been reclaimed from the bigots. Watching their games on TV they regularly focused the cameras on the crowd and all I could see was a bunch of regular lads in their shirts enjoying the games. I'm sure there's still an unpalatable section in their support but then again I'm becoming increasingly bemused at some of the current ROI fans. Nobody's perfect.

Oh my God!, a sensible post on this subject.

31/01/2008, 10:55 AM
Oh my God!, a sensible post on this subject.

Indeed Chiefo -and it needed acknowledging by someone on "our side". These days, and for some years now, NI's support has been an absolute credit to everyone involved. Claims otherwise make up just a portion of some of the self-satisfied guff I'm reading on this thread from some in our ranks.:o

Frankly I think there's a proportionally bigger gob****e element in our support these days.

Not Brazil
31/01/2008, 10:56 AM
He attended games during the Sammy McILroy era and start of Sanchez era..that was around 02 , 03 ,04, 05 i think..he feared for his safety if his religious persuasian became evident!!

Yes Iam telling you that, they recieved sectarian abuse at one stage or another..maybe it was at a time when the bigotry was worse!! Why can you dismiss these claims? Im sure your pure as the driven snow...

We all have our bad ones..but to say that the biggotry has been completely eradicated is quite laughable to be honest..

Having attended all Northern Ireland games at Windsor Park during the period mentioned, I can categorically state that "Up To Our Necks In Fenian Blood" has NEVER been chanted "throughout" a match (or, indeed, at all) during that period.

All of those games have been covered by television and radio - if you can produce any evidence whatsoever to the contrary, please post it.

If you cannot, I castigate your "mate" as a liar.

I have attended games during that period with Northern Ireland fans who choose to say their prayers in Catholic Churches, and none of them have ever feared for their safety.

During that period I have never heard a word of "sectarianist abuse" directed at any of the players that you mention. Neil Lennon's last home game for Northern Ireland was in 2001 - you should check out his view on the atmosphere at Northern Ireland matches nowadays.

Messrs Baird, Johnson, Hughes and Healy are all Northern Ireland heros.

I would be particularly surprised if you can back up any claims of "sectarianist abuse" directed at Messrs Healy and Hughes - they both hail from the Unionist community in Northern Ireland.

I neither deny that sectarianism was a major problem at our games, or claim that it has been "completely eradicated".

I do claim, without fear of contradiction, that things have improved dramatically since 2001.

And, you are absolutely correct, we all have "our bad ones" - including the Republic Of Ireland.

Not Brazil
31/01/2008, 11:03 AM
Maybe when you remove all the unionist paraphernalia from NI games then you'll probably find no one opting for a side that does not represent their geographical entity.

But not necessarily one that are exclusively either born or have some an ancestral connection with NI.

As I have stated many times, I have no objection to players from Northern Ireland opting to play for the Republic Of Ireland - as is permissible under the FIFA statutes.

I have no doubt that if all the "unionist paraphernalia" was removed (whatever that is, bearing in mind that Northern Ireland is an integral part of the United Kingdom, and exists because of the Union) that some younger players will continue to elect to play for the Republic Of Ireland - good luck to them.

I support those players, of whatever background, who pull on the Northern Ireland jersey and do it proud.

PS. There's only one Maik Taylor.;)

citizenerased
31/01/2008, 11:18 AM
I would be particularly surprised if you can back up any claims of "sectarianist abuse" directed at Messrs Healy and Hughes - they both hail from the Unionist community in Northern Ireland.

Your wrong there fella Hughes played gaelic football with cookstown and his cousin went to school with my 'mate'(as you like to exclaim it). He is very much from a nationalist background. As with David Healy you are wrong also about that, he has no affiliations to any loyalist persuasions..his dad is a catholic...he emphasised this when after the game in which you beat spain at windsor the crowd threw union jacks and NI flags with the red hand on them..and he refused to be drapped in either..get your facts right, dont presume anything..

I understand things are changing gradually with NI fans, but you cannot ignore the elements that still exist..

Not Brazil
31/01/2008, 11:23 AM
Your wrong there fella Hughes played gaelic football with cookstown and his cousin went to school with my 'mate'(as you like to exclaim it). He is very much from a nationalist background. As with David Healy you are wrong also about that, he has no affiliations to any loyalist persuasions..his dad is a catholic...he emphasised this when after the game in which you beat spain at windsor the crowd threw union jacks and NI flags with the red hand on them..and he refused to be drapped in either..get your facts right, dont presume anything..

Absolute lies, my friend.

Laughable, in fact.

I know Healy's father personally, and Hughes school don't play GAA.

If you wish to continue with your lies, I'll show you the pictures of Healy adorning the flag of his beloved Northern Ireland after games.

Do yourself a favour, and stop making things up.

It only shows you up to be a desperate bigot.

31/01/2008, 11:27 AM
It only shows you up to be a desperate bigot.

Right, because having differing facts on whether a lad played GAA logically means you discriminate by religion.

Clown.

Not Brazil
31/01/2008, 11:36 AM
Right, because having differing facts on whether a lad played GAA logically means you discriminate by religion.

Clown.

I think it was our learned friend, citizenerased, who claimed that Aaron Hughes is "very much from a nationalist background".:D

I couldn't give to flying ones where any player says his prayers - but I do know that Arron Hughes is most definately not from "a nationalist background".

As for the stuff about Healy - absolutely priceless jackanory material.

Healy, and all of his family, are proud Northern Ireland patriots.:cool:

PS. How can you have differing facts? A fact is a fact.

Gather round
31/01/2008, 11:38 AM
I think NB knowing Clifford Healy personally was more of a clincher, Gavin ;)

31/01/2008, 11:42 AM
I think NB knowing Clifford Healy personally was more of a clincher, Gavin ;)When did I dispute that? Being wrong about a fact doesn't make one a bigot.

I think it was our learned friend, citizenerased, who claimed that Aaron Hughes is "very much from a nationalist background".:D

I couldn't give to flying ones where any player says his prayers - but I do know that Arron Hughes is most definately not from "a nationalist background".

As for the stuff about Healy - absolutely priceless jackanory material.
Healy, and all of his family, are proud Northern Ireland patriots.:cool:

PS. How can you have differing facts? A fact is a fact.You didn't answer my question. Who cares if you're right? Your pathetic bleating of the word "Bigot!" is what I object to and it seems to be a favourite tactic amongst NI posters on here. I was once called a bigot because I pointed out that amongst the general public, Linfield have a lingering bad image down here. I object to that! I treat all religions with equal contempt.

Not Brazil
31/01/2008, 11:46 AM
You didn't answer my question. Who cares if you're right? Your pathetic bleating of the word "Bigot!" is what I object to and it seems to be a favourite tactic amongst NI posters on here. I was once called a bigot because I pointed out that amongst the general public, Linfield have a lingering bad image down here. I object to that! I treat all religions with equal contempt.

I think that telling lies in order to demonise is a form of bigotry.

Do you dispute that?:eek:

cheifo
31/01/2008, 11:48 AM
Apparantly Andy Townsends dad use to to get his body spray painted green white and orange and would march through his town singing a nation once again every second day.

Not Brazil
31/01/2008, 11:49 AM
Apparantly Andy Townsends dad use to to get his body spray painted green white and orange and would march through his town singing a nation once again every second day.

Very good.:D

Not Brazil
31/01/2008, 11:53 AM
NI flags with the red hand on them..and he refused to be drapped in

Ahhhh - the dreaded "Red Hand" of the loyalist O'Neill clan, as features on the badge of the Tyrone GAA team - whom, presumably, your "mate" supports.:D:D:D

EalingGreen
31/01/2008, 12:22 PM
CitizenErased is entitled to his opinion, just like anyone else. But when he seeks to back them up with assertions of "fact", which are palpably and demonstrably wrong, then his credibility is in tatters.

Aaron Hughes is from a Unionist background, his school did not play GAA, indeed he started out playing Boys Brigade football.

Neither is David Healy from a Nationalist background, nor is his father RC.

That said, none of the three has ever done or said anthing politically or religiously contentious in their life - at least as far as I've ever seen.

I strongly suspect CitizenErased has fallen into the old bigot's trap of judging people by their name. Pathetic.

P.S. David Healy's father is called "Clifford"; Aaron Hughes's former NI teammate Michael Hughes (no relation) is a Catholic from Larne and Chris Baird is a former GAA player from Rasharkin. Oh, and I'm told that Sammy Clingan is from Nationalist West Belfast. Names, eh?

livehead1
31/01/2008, 12:28 PM
A friend of mine has an autograph from Clingan and its signed Sammy Clingan 32

livehead1
31/01/2008, 12:34 PM
bearing in mind that Northern Ireland is an integral part of the United Kingdom

Ha, who are you trying to kid exactly? Integral? It has provided damn all to the economy over the last 30 years and has been an onerous burden on successive British governments.

Gather round
31/01/2008, 12:34 PM
Ah, schooldays.

At mine, Not Brazil led the Fianna Fail cumann as well as the football team and the Acient order of Hibernians. He'd have been in the first XV and coxless four too, but we weren't allowed to play those Br*t*sh sports. Ealing Green was captain of camogie.

Not Brazil
31/01/2008, 12:44 PM
A friend of mine has an autograph from Clingan and its signed Sammy Clingan 32

As long as he keeps putting in more sterling performances for Northern Ireland, as has been his trait of late, I don't give two hoots how he signs his autographs.

Not Brazil
31/01/2008, 12:44 PM
Ha, who are you trying to kid exactly? Integral? It has provided damn all to the economy over the last 30 years and has been an onerous burden on successive British governments.

Aye - but it's still integral.:D

The United Kingdom of Great Britain & Northern Ireland.

lopez
31/01/2008, 12:48 PM
...I have no doubt that if all the "unionist paraphernalia" was removed (whatever that is, bearing in mind that Northern Ireland is an integral part of the United Kingdom, and exists because of the Union) that some younger players will continue to elect to play for the Republic Of Ireland - good luck to them...
It removes the nationality angle to them declaring.

...PS. There's only one Maik Taylor.I'll take the shame. :D

CitizenErased is entitled to his opinion, just like anyone else. But when he seeks to back them up with assertions of "fact", which are palpably and demonstrably wrong, then his credibility is in tatters....
Pot calling the kettle black here.

I strongly suspect CitizenErased has fallen into the old bigot's trap of judging people by their name. Pathetic...No sh*te Sherlock. Yeah we've already covered this subject, and it sort of shoots down the notion that the FAI cold call any NI footballer with a fenian sounding surname too. :rolleyes:

Too much of the 'B' word being thrown around here. CitizenErased: it's spelt with just one 'g', BTW.

Ireland4ever
31/01/2008, 12:49 PM
Why do NI fans post on a Rep of Ireland forum? I would have absolutely no interest in posting on any other international teams forum.

EalingGreen
31/01/2008, 12:50 PM
Ah, schooldays.
Ealing Green was captain of camogie.

I'd never have played if I'd known that was what it was. They told me it was Netball...;)

Not Brazil
31/01/2008, 12:52 PM
Why do NI fans post on a Rep of Ireland forum? I would have absolutely no interest in posting on any other international teams forum.

The topic of the Spotlight programme, to which this thread used to pertain, is of mutual interest.

EalingGreen
31/01/2008, 12:53 PM

Hmmm, now let me see. We have a programme about the NI football team and NI players, broadcast by BBC NI, discussing whether NI-born players should also be eligible to represent the ROI team.

Why would NI fans want to debate this with ROI fans? :rolleyes:

Beats me....

Ireland4ever
31/01/2008, 12:58 PM
The topic of the Spotlight programme, to which this thread used to pertain, is of mutual interest.

Hmmm, now let me see. We have a programme about the NI football team and NI players, broadcast by BBC NI, discussing whether NI-born players should also be eligible to represent the ROI team.

Why would NI fans want to debate this with ROI fans? :rolleyes:

Beats me....

With over 1300 posts between you guys im pretty sure this is not the only topic that yee contribute too. :rolleyes:
I've absolutely no problem with anyone posting on this site, i just cant see the attraction for non ROI/EL fans.

Not Brazil
31/01/2008, 1:07 PM
With over 1300 posts between you guys im pretty sure this is not the only topic that yee contribute too. :rolleyes:
I've absolutely no problem with anyone posting on this site, i just cant see the attraction for non ROI/EL fans.

In general, I find this to be an excellent fans site.

It has an IL section which is obviously of interest to me, and a very good Eircom League section too - I am a big fan of the cross border Setanta Cup, and am broadly supportive of the establishment of an All Ireland "Premier" League.

In addition, there have been various debates about the eligibility issue, which is of mutual interest.

Given that many posters here would be supportive of "All Ireland" initiatives, I'm surprised that you're surprised that someone from Northern Ireland would wish to contribute to the forum.

I glad you have no problem with myself, or anyone else from Northern Ireland, posting here.

It's good to talk.;)

Gather round
31/01/2008, 1:15 PM
I am a big fan of the cross border Setanta Cup

Aye, concentrate on that until 5pm on Saturday please ;)

31/01/2008, 1:20 PM
I watched the show with my flatmate from Lisburn. He is a Northern Ireland fan and agreed that the FAI should be allowed call up players from Northern Ireland due to the GFA. I don't agree with the FAI asking only players from one community in Northern Ireland. Asking young players from Derry and not from Lisburn to play for the ROI shows sectarianism on the part of the FAI in my opinion. Obviously, a lot of players from Lisburn aren't going to choose to play, but they should be asked. The same goes for the IFA, they should ensure that players from Derry are asked to play for Northern Ireland and not give the FAI a chance to make the players minds up for them. What struck me most from the show was that players want to be given an opportunity and whoever asks them first might be the most successful.

Not Brazil
31/01/2008, 1:22 PM
I am a big fan of the cross border Setanta Cup

Aye, concentrate on that until 5pm on Saturday please ;)

No probs - if we win on Saturday, we secure our place in it next year.;):)

EalingGreen
31/01/2008, 1:45 PM

Speaking only for myself, I first browsed, then started posting because it is a well-run site which covers subjects which are of particular interest and/or relevance to me.

I don't expect you to check it out, but my posting history reveals these to be topics from the Eircom Section (where it impinges upon NI football, such as the Setanta, or proposed AIL), the Irish League section (obviously) and the Ireland section, where it deals with something obviously relevant such as the Eligibility issue, or something of particular interest, such as players like Robbie Keane (I'm a Spurs fan, so get to see him play regularly).

You might even take it as a compliment that non-ROI fans are interested enough to contribute here, just as I like to see ROI fans* contribute to OWC.

* - Well maybe not that Lionel Ritchie one, stirrer that he is...;)

31/01/2008, 1:48 PM
I think that telling lies in order to demonise is a form of bigotry.

Do you dispute that?:eek:

big·ot·ry /ˈbɪgətri/
–noun, plural -ries.
1. stubborn and complete intolerance of any creed, belief, or opinion that differs from one's own.

Being incorrect, or indeed telling a lie to win an argument, is not bigotry. However, while we're on the topic of bigotry, why exactly would mistaking Aaron Hughes for a catholic "demonise" him?

EalingGreen
31/01/2008, 1:59 PM
Being incorrect, or indeed telling a lie to win an argument, is not bigotry.

In itself, no, Gavin, but telling lies or making stuff up in order to win is often evidence of bigoted motives, especially when the lies are of a propagandist and offensive nature, such as CE's nonsense about the "Billy Boys" etc.

Frankly, as an NI fan, I'm so sick of being tarnished by this sectarian label that I feel compelled to question the motives of people who post this sort of crap about me and my fellow fans.

And when those detractors are of the "my mate was at school with/heard down the pub/saw it on TV" variety, I instantly smell a rat.

Hibernian
31/01/2008, 2:06 PM
The most interesting bit was the players saying repeatedly that 'they were never asked' to play by the IFA.. ergo they were asked by the FAI? Kinda flys in the face of the rubbish about not poaching our players doesnt it?

See to be honest, the one thing that has annoyed me more about this than anything else is this - for ages we have tried to take the religion out of our team.. it was a milstone around it and it has taken ages, and some dedicated people, to get rid of it.... then the FAI come up and start religiously segragating gthe kids again? WTF is that about? And none of you down there can't say it hasn't happened, but you come up here and see what it has done. Thanks.

Am try telling Neil Lennon that the religion is gone.

wake up lad its there and will be for while I see fans in the north burning a tricolour I think its ye who dont want them we welcome them