View Full Version : Mayo Premier League 2008
Pages :
[
1]
theboy
25/01/2008, 10:42 AM
any word on when the leagues are starting this year?
Redkenrover
31/01/2008, 11:10 PM
any word on when the leagues are starting this year?
league proposed to start on 30th March. Starts with 5 rounds of league matches and then the divisional cups
Leveller
01/02/2008, 8:41 AM
It should be a hard fought league this season, with Westport, Glenhest, S&F and Fahy (If they find some consistency) in the mix.
I fancy S&F to go up, they were unlucky with their injuries, with their full squad they will be the team to beat.
If someone could coach PF and stop him running around like a headless chicken during games wasting his talent, they would have a great goalscorer. He needs to read the game more time his runs and work on his finishing.
Closing Time
01/02/2008, 10:48 AM
It should be a hard fought league this season, with Westport, Glenhest, S&F and Fahy (If they find some consistency) in the mix.
I fancy S&F to go up, they were unlucky with their injuries, with their full squad they will be the team to beat.
If someone could coach PF and stop him running around like a headless chicken during games wasting his talent, they would have a great goalscorer. He needs to read the game more time his runs and work on his finishing.
Dont rule out Celtic B, new management in place(TBC) and will have access to the U-20 & U-18 players this season. Still cant see past S&F should win title at a canter. The SL needs a strong S&F.
the grape vine
01/02/2008, 10:52 AM
Dont rule out Celtic B, new management in place(TBC) and will have access to the U-20 & U-18 players this season. Still cant see past S&F should win title at a canter. The SL needs a strong S&F.
ya, celtic B were very disappointing last season, but from what i heard they did have a very small squad last year. who is the new management ?? b redmond step down ??
Closing Time
01/02/2008, 10:54 AM
ya, celtic B were very disappointing last season, but from what i heard they did have a very big squad last year. who is the new management ?? b redmond step down ??
Barry stepped down but still playing. Nothing confirmed but alot of talk. You know yourself.
theboy
01/02/2008, 11:47 AM
Would have to agree, S&F have seem to have got things back on track, strong finish to the league last year and not doing so bad in the con. cup, but they need a fully fit squad and need to hold on to there main players. sayin all that you would have to see them taken the league this year.
but i can see the league been a tough one, celtic B and westport always strong.
the grape vine
04/02/2008, 1:34 PM
i see Mick Kilcourse and Kevin Ruane are the new celtic'B' management team !!
pixiehead
04/02/2008, 7:36 PM
gunner1
05/02/2008, 5:09 PM
these are a good combo,and will do well if they get the players they should
irishyop
06/02/2008, 2:44 PM
I will 2nd that there lad, strange appointment as from what I understand there was a management team assembled, trainer, new players organised, but this was overruled by the commitee, which has not impressed a number of B team players who have "history" with the new management but thats for them to sort out.
From what I saw at the C team matches last year that they can get a bit excited :D , put in big training sessions and like the phyiscal side of training :D
I also heard that a number of potentially new signings have withdrawn their decision to join the B team due to the removal of the initial managment team. Could cause unrest, could it cause players to jump ship, I doubt it but then again who knows.
I suspect that a good number of last years B team players will be dropped in favour of U21/U18 reserves / new blood, the C team could be stronger due to this.
Any word on who is in charge of the C team?
gunner1
06/02/2008, 8:25 PM
I will 2nd that there lad, strange appointment as from what I understand there was a management team assembled, trainer, new players organised, but this was overruled by the commitee, which has not impressed a number of B team players who have "history" with the new management but thats for them to sort out.
From what I saw at the C team matches last year that they can get a bit excited :D , put in big training sessions and like the phyiscal side of training :D
I also heard that a number of potentially new signings have withdrawn their decision to join the B team due to the removal of the initial managment team. Could cause unrest, could it cause players to jump ship, I doubt it but then again who knows.
I suspect that a good number of last years B team players will be dropped in favour of U21/U18 reserves / new blood, the C team could be stronger due to this.
word is noel c and a o brian.
which has not impressed a number of B team players who have "history" with the new management but thats for them to sort out.time for most of them to move down anyway,the ones that are good enough will stay.
Wait til you see, the B team will be under pressure to survive because the U-20 team will take all the good young players and the rest will go to the first team in the Super League. God only knows where this leaves the C team
irishyop
07/02/2008, 7:55 AM
[B]time for most of them to move down anyway,the ones that are good enough will stay.
A O Brien I would be suprised, Noel I did not even know was interested but why not!
Most of them, based on your obvious knowledge of the B team, give me some positions of last years B team that you think have to move down, name I am sure is a good thing, but thats up to you.
Swift the same thing is gonna happen as last year with the B team, barely scraping a team together some days due to the pre season promise of U18/U21/reserve A squad.
This in turn will fall down to the C team who had players needing to float and play 2 matches a day in order for the teams to field 11 players.
But the idea of swapping and and out players (aka Rafatation) at will as you know totally unsettles a team, I know that last year that maybe twice in the whole campaign was the same back 5 playing together, like a merry go round, expect the same again this year.
Cloggs
07/02/2008, 5:01 PM
which has not impressed a number of B team players who have "history" with the new management but thats for them to sort out.time for most of them to move down anyway,the ones that are good enough will stay.
so is a o'brien not playing with the b team this year?still a very decent player if he decides not to hang up his boots just yet.
irishyop
07/02/2008, 8:29 PM
so is a o'brien not playing with the b team this year?still a very decent player if he decides not to hang up his boots just yet.
As far as I know he fully intended in togging out but what I heard from a good source that he was paid a visit last nite with the offer (inc euros) to manager a Mayo League team. That could be a serious loss to Celtic.
Dont be surpised if he is not the last to move club after the new appointments. :ball:
Closing Time
08/02/2008, 10:15 AM
Irishyop by your post you do not understand how a club is run? The committee went to Kevin & Mick and asked them would they manage the B team after Barry stepped down. They were not approached by anyone advising that they were interested in the job. In the past the committee has been accused that they have not shown enough interest in the B & C teams and now when they have appointed a good management team IMO certain people are not happy (its always the case at this club). As far as the committee were concerned no other management team were in place. I know the club would have no problem with AOB as the A, B or C team manager, but in this case the appointment was made. AOB is a Celtic legend and I wish we had more like him. You could see that the B team missed him last year and hopefully he will be back to his best this season with the B team. I would hate to see him leave the club over this miss understanding. As for B team players having a history with this management team and for all my knowledge of the club I just cant think of any. Maybe they were C team players that moved up to the B team last year. This management will be fair and strict and will have their team fit. Their knowledge of the game is second to none and Kevin was some player and is still consider by many as the best prospect ever produced by the club but that’s another debate. I am too young to remember him playing.
As for your point of the management team getting excited IMO what is the point managing a team if you don’t show passion? I do not know what type of training you want if running is not allowed. How do you propose the B & C team get fit at the Bar counter. Come on if your not fit you do not enjoy the game and are letting your team down.
If the new players I know you are talking about were coming back to the club, they are at best C team players and that’s when there are fit. Maybe they will prove me wrong and I hope they do. The club has enough players coming through the youths not to need to sign a B team quality player. If they are serious about their football it shouldn’t matter who manages them. As an adult I can’t remember ever liking my managers and that’s the way I liked it (odd maybe). I have no problem with lads coming to the club but they should have to compete with what is at the club at present. As for the youths taking the places of lads who have played for the B team over a number of years that’s life. They did the same when they came through. Let them fight for their place or try out for the C team. I know that the B team manager were not given a fair shake when they were looking for players last season and I hope this is put right. I would love if an individual would be given the task this season to coordinate between the A, B, C, U-18 A & B, U-17 & U-16 managers so that the each team gets the best players available at the time. Easier said that done. Lets give the lads a chance.
Closing Time
08/02/2008, 10:37 AM
As far as I know he fully intended in togging out but what I heard from a good source that he was paid a visit last nite with the offer (inc euros) to manager a Mayo League team. That could be a serious loss to Celtic.
Dont be surpised if he is not the last to move club after the new appointments. :ball:
If players decide that want to move so be it. Players should not dictate who runs a team. If they want to have a say there is plenty of room at the committee table. I would hate to see AOB leave the club and I would be surprised & disappointed to see him go, Celtic through and through. As JFK said ‘It’s not what your club can do for you but what you can do for your club’ AOB has a lot to offer on and off the pitch and I would be disappointed not to see him at center back with the B team this season. Don’t go.
Irishyop are you leaving?
irishyop
08/02/2008, 10:57 AM
Irishyop by your post you do not understand how a club is run? The committee went to Kevin & Mick and asked them would they manage the B team after Barry stepped down. They were not approached by anyone advising that they were interested in the job. In the past the committee has been accused that they have not shown enough interest in the B & C teams and now when they have appointed a good management team IMO certain people are not happy (its always the case at this club). As far as the committee were concerned no other management team were in place. I know the club would have no problem with AOB as the A, B or C team manager, but in this case the appointment was made. AOB is a Celtic legend and I wish we had more like him. You could see that the B team missed him last year and hopefully he will be back to his best this season with the B team. I would hate to see him leave the club over this miss understanding. As for B team players having a history with this management team and for all my knowledge of the club I just cant think of any. Maybe they were C team players that moved up to the B team last year. This management will be fair and strict and will have their team fit. Their knowledge of the game is second to none and Kevin was some player and is still consider by many as the best prospect ever produced by the club but that’s another debate. I am too young to remember him playing.
As for your point of the management team getting excited IMO what is the point managing a team if you don’t show passion? I do not know what type of training you want if running is not allowed. How do you propose the B & C team get fit at the Bar counter. Come on if your not fit you do not enjoy the game and are letting your team down.
If the new players I know you are talking about were coming back to the club, they are at best C team players and that’s when there are fit. Maybe they will prove me wrong and I hope they do. The club has enough players coming through the youths not to need to sign a B team quality player. If they are serious about their football it shouldn’t matter who manages them. As an adult I can’t remember ever liking my managers and that’s the way I liked it (odd maybe). I have no problem with lads coming to the club but they should have to compete with what is at the club at present. As for the youths taking the places of lads who have played for the B team over a number of years that’s life. They did the same when they came through. Let them fight for their place or try out for the C team. I know that the B team manager were not given a fair shake when they were looking for players last season and I hope this is put right. I would love if an individual would be given the task this season to coordinate between the A, B, C, U-18 A & B, U-17 & U-16 managers so that the each team gets the best players available at the time. Easier said that done. Lets give the lads a chance.
CT, I am not going to get into a Castlebar Celtic debate on here as this is wider forum than a Celtic one, but to take up you up on a few points there. On the point of knowing how a club is run, that irrelevant in this case.
These are the facts, the committee was informed that a management team was available to take charge of the B team as no manager had been appointed and the pre season was approaching, B team players were contacted to check their availability, some were encouraged out of retirement, a few players were asked of their availability and friendlies were organized.
The current B team management was contacted to “clear the air” and they agreed that the lads should take the job and that Kevin & Mick would continue their stint with the C team. So everything was sorted or so it seemed.
Then the announcement was made by the committee that a new team organized by them and ignoring the request from the lads, this is what has caused the “mis-understanding”.
As for the training, no one had an issue with this last season what so ever, its great that the lads fulfilled almost 100% of training sessions. As for getting excited at matches, I use that word as a light description of what actually happened, if you were at the matches you would understand what I mean. Fitness training is a vital part of a teams success, this fitness can be achieved in the first 8 weeks of pre season and built on with running with a ball or drills, if you have been involved with coaches who use this theory you will know what I mean.
On the issue with the youths, again I totally agree with the natural progression of the underage players, but bringing players into a squad for the odd match to see what they are light unbalances teams and takes away the consistency, teams who continuously chop and change don’t have success.
On the AOB issue, chances are he will stay hopefully as the club need him, but the word is out there throughout the Mayo league that this mis-understanding has taken place, his quality and professionalism speaks for itself, he will be and is a wanted man, except by the club he has given his football career to.
As I said I am not going to start a too and fro on “I know, you know”. Just stating the facts that I know ;)
irishyop
08/02/2008, 10:59 AM
Irishyop are you leaving?
Was I ever really there LOL :D
the grape vine
08/02/2008, 1:34 PM
[QUOTE I would hate to see AOB leave the club and I would be surprised & disappointed to see him go, Celtic through and through. As JFK said ‘It’s not what your club can do for you but what you can do for your club’ AOB has a lot to offer on and off the pitch and I would be disappointed not to see him at center back with the B team this season. Don’t go.
Irishyop are you leaving?[/QUOTE]
i say he would have to but a lot of work in the pre-season training to get fully fit .
irishyop
08/02/2008, 5:21 PM
i say he would have to but a lot of work in the pre-season training to get fully fit .
Thats what pre-season is for lad, in fairness the broken leg didnt help but his positional awareness gives him a very good advantage.
To put to bed the post about him leaving, I give him a shout on the dog and bone today to see what the story was, was told that he had received a number of calls today with regards him leaving the club.
He would not admit nor deny that he was offered the Liverpool or Ireland job ;)
He did say that he is 120% behind Celtic and the lads in charge and that he hopes that this will be put to bed and that all players get up for next weeks training to get the title back from them covies ;)
As I said too no one has anything against the 2 lads in charge now and wish them the best of luck for the season.
Enough of washing the laundry in public, leave that to the Corkonians ;)
irishyop
12/02/2008, 6:38 PM
Any challenges over the weekend or any planned lads?
Who is up pre-season training? Celtic B &C up tomorrow nite for some Xmas dinner removals :) Be interesting to see any new arrivals.
Closing Time
13/02/2008, 10:08 AM
Thats what pre-season is for lad, in fairness the broken leg didnt help but his positional awareness gives him a very good advantage.
To put to bed the post about him leaving, I give him a shout on the dog and bone today to see what the story was, was told that he had received a number of calls today with regards him leaving the club.
He would not admit nor deny that he was offered the Liverpool or Ireland job ;)
He did say that he is 120% behind Celtic and the lads in charge and that he hopes that this will be put to bed and that all players get up for next weeks training to get the title back from them covies ;)
As I said too no one has anything against the 2 lads in charge now and wish them the best of luck for the season.
Enough of washing the laundry in public, leave that to the Corkonians ;)
This is great news that the lengend AOB is staying and fully behind the management of the B team. I know he never had a problem with the appiontment of the lads. Lets hope they can get more co-operation from the A team management this season. U-16's play Merville Utd in Celtic Park tonight @ 7.30 pm.
irishyop
13/02/2008, 10:16 AM
This is great news that the lengend AOB is staying and fully behind the management of the B team. I know he never had a problem with the appiontment of the lads. Lets hope they can get more co-operation from the A team management this season. U-16's play Merville Utd in Celtic Park tonight @ 7.30 pm.
Legend, Jesus give the man a big heeed there CT :D
Aye its no harm its put to bed, looks like all a storm in a teacup, as you said he did not have an issue with the lads and as I said above no one did, it was the "way" it "seeminly" happened. Its amazing how pub talk can warp and grow legs ;)
Anyway back to business, I am sure the lads and Noel C (can anyone confirm that he is defo C team manager) are looking forward to seen us sweat tonite.
Onwards and upwards, a B & C title for for Celtic this year anyone :)
the grape vine
13/02/2008, 10:38 AM
Legend, Jesus give the man a big heeed there CT :D
Aye its no harm its put to bed, looks like all a storm in a teacup, as you said he did not have an issue with the lads and as I said above no one did, it was the "way" it "seeminly" happened. Its amazing how pub talk can warp and grow legs ;)
Anyway back to business, I am sure the lads and Noel C (can anyone confirm that he is defo C team manager) are looking forward to seen us sweat tonite.
Onwards and upwards, a B & C title for for Celtic this year anyone :)
all peaceful again, so no players leaving after all !!
irishyop
13/02/2008, 10:48 AM
all peaceful again, so no players leaving after all !!
LOL, never said that, theres always 1 or 2 who may go or claim they are off, but as of yet no voluntary leavers, there cud be a few lads put to sleep after tonite but since my "factual" posts above proved to be so on the mark, I think I will leave the rumours to the grapevine ;) :D
the grape vine
13/02/2008, 11:01 AM
LOL, never said that, theres always 1 or 2 who may go or claim they are off, but as of yet no voluntary leavers, there cud be a few lads put to sleep after tonite but since my "factual" posts above proved to be so on the mark, I think I will leave the rumours to the grapevine ;) :D
no its just that you said something about players jumping ship, but it good to see that it probably wont happen now !!
irishyop
13/02/2008, 11:22 AM
no its just that you said something about players jumping ship, but it good to see that it probably wont happen now !!
Not sure about them to be honest, as I said above there were a few potentials who said they would play when approached by the, what we will call "initial managment", but if they will still join up now I dont know that or if they would even be required, up to the 2 lads.
the grape vine
14/02/2008, 1:25 PM
well how did ur first nite back training with the new management go ??
irishyop
14/02/2008, 4:06 PM
Grand, 12 lads up, a good steady session, same physical as per last season but thats what you want, might get into that size 0 soon :)
FahyForever
14/02/2008, 4:20 PM
Anyone got details on friendlies, squads, predictions etc from the Premier League or do we all have to make do with trying to work out who Castlebar Celtic fans are talking about all the time? ;)
irishyop
14/02/2008, 4:28 PM
or do we all have to make do with trying to work out who Castlebar Celtic fans are talking about all the time? ;)
You have me lost on that comment there lad!! :confused:
No friendlies on our side yet anyway.
ExCiTeD
14/02/2008, 9:04 PM
Grand, 12 lads up, a good steady session, same physical as per last season but thats what you want, might get into that size 0 soon :)
good man are you goin takin an add in the papers next week and giving details of all the drills used and naming everyone that was there.for gods sake will you use your head before you type or better still dont type at all at least not about club
irishyop
14/02/2008, 9:29 PM
good man are you goin takin an add in the papers next week and giving details of all the drills used and naming everyone that was there.for gods sake will you use your head before you type or better still dont type at all at least not about club
Right :rolleyes:
I was responding to a question posted by someone else, so dont be shooting the load, but hey your name does explain a lot.
Ps, this is called Foot.ie, its a forum where clubs are discussed or in your words, typed about. :ball: Have an excitable day.
the grape vine
15/02/2008, 8:13 AM
Don’t be getting ExCiTeD !!! he's only answering a simple question that I asked, all teams are different and any good coach-manager will know the type of training his team will need. if one team decide's to climb the REEK 4 times a week, or train on a beach all time, i dont think all the other clubs will do the same !!
the grape vine
15/02/2008, 8:15 AM
ya, this is the time of year for the hard yard's, ooohhh size 0 ..
irishyop
15/02/2008, 10:43 AM
ya, this is the time of year for the hard yard's, ooohhh size 0 ..
LOL, ya I have them 1980's Argentina "short shorts" ordered, It will be like Baywatch, "The Hoff", Castlebar Celtic style :p :D
the grape vine
15/02/2008, 10:52 AM
LOL, ya I have them 1980's Argentina "short shorts" ordered, It will be like Baywatch, "The Hoff", Castlebar Celtic style :p :D
haha!!!
FahyForever
15/02/2008, 2:52 PM
I was just trying to get lads from other teams in the division to get involved, it seems to be mostly Castlebar Celtic news and I have no idea who ye are talking about when you use initials rather than names! Not trying to be smart! Would like to hear how teams think they will get on this year. Seems pretty open again this year with most sides in with a good shout.
the grape vine
15/02/2008, 3:00 PM
I was just trying to get lads from other teams in the division to get involved, it seems to be mostly Castlebar Celtic news and I have no idea who ye are talking about when you use initials rather than names! Not trying to be smart! Would like to hear how teams think they will get on this year. Seems pretty open again this year with most sides in with a good shout.
ya it would be great if more poeple from different clubs got involved .
irishyop
15/02/2008, 3:29 PM
Ah, sorry lad, yes I know what you mean, there are a good few to turn up again yet, Swinford, Ballinrobe, Westport heads to throw in their piece.
It is very hard to call this one again, last year we were a big disappointment as were yourselves. BRobe were a suprise to me compared to how they were the season before.
Have ye any good signings or retirements there yet? I take it you are still in Milebush, any sign of a pitch for you down the line?
juan pablo
16/02/2008, 11:55 AM
To be honest and i think i speak for a few people who have visited the website in recent weeks, i am getting bored about reading up about Castlebar, Westport, Ballyheane- Managers appointed.... speculation about players..ZZZzzzzzzzz if you ask me. Yes, i know this is a Football Forum so lets talk FOOTBALL for christ sakes!!
In regards to our own Pre-Season, Training is going well, few new faces this season which is always nice to see, have nothing to lose in the Super League so no real pressure,
My money is on Fahy and possibly Swinford or S&F being promoted this season, Fahy made a late attempt to pip us to that second position and if they can start the new season the way they ended last season, they will be hard beat. Would like to see them get their own pitch though as i am sure they would agree, the astro can be tough on the ankles,knees etc. Nothing like a good old bobble for defenders to deal with. :)
Any Fixtures out yet??
the grape vine
18/02/2008, 8:10 AM
[QUOTE=juan pablo;879122]To be honest and i think i speak for a few people who have visited the website in recent weeks, i am getting bored about reading up about Castlebar, Westport, Ballyheane- Managers appointed.... speculation about players..ZZZzzzzzzzz if you ask me. Yes, i know this is a Football Forum so lets talk FOOTBALL for christ sakes!!
sure if nobody from any other club comes on and join's in,in the forum what can we do !!!
irishyop
18/02/2008, 1:25 PM
To be honest and i think i speak for a few people who have visited the website in recent weeks, i am getting bored about reading up about Castlebar, Westport, Ballyheane- Managers appointed.... speculation about players..ZZZzzzzzzzz if you ask me. Yes, i know this is a Football Forum so lets talk FOOTBALL for christ sakes!!
In regards to our own Pre-Season, Training is going well, few new faces this season which is always nice to see, have nothing to lose in the Super League so no real pressure,
My money is on Fahy and possibly Swinford or S&F being promoted this season, Fahy made a late attempt to pip us to that second position and if they can start the new season the way they ended last season, they will be hard beat. Would like to see them get their own pitch though as i am sure they would agree, the astro can be tough on the ankles,knees etc. Nothing like a good old bobble for defenders to deal with. :)
Any Fixtures out yet??
Good to see u back there JP, did ye get any interesting signings for the Super League?
FahyForever
18/02/2008, 4:58 PM
Any Fixtures out yet??
Fair play to JP, always a good man to get the ball rolling! As for the predictions, I think that you're right in saying we need a better start to last year. It's going to be a very tough season, with two decent teams coming down in Glenhest and Crossmolina and some stiff opposition elsewhere in the group, particularly from S+F and Westport. Castlebar are so unpredictable, they can be excellent one match and useless the next, depending on their squad. Lots of online activity from them anyway so presumably they have a good interest this year! Would like to hear from the two teams coming down into the division, have they similiar squads to last year? What about Kilmore and Urlaur? The momentum is often with teams going the right direction, as Claremorris proved a couple of years ago. Have they aspirations for the title?
As for ourselves, we have Stephen O Malley back from England but are still missing Darren and Justin Creaby as well as James Wright. And we have, at last, definite plans for a pitch. But it's still Milebush this year, and believe me, we hate it as much as ye do, grateful as we are for the opportunity to play somewhere. Come on lads, stick your necks out; top two? bottom two? promoted two (seen as how it's rarely the top two!!).
juan pablo
18/02/2008, 7:33 PM
Well we have no real major signing(s), their is nothing work looking at on the Bosman list so we will make do in what we have.:L:L
Numbers have improved the last 2 weeks and we are getting some of last years players back, even a few making the leap from the GAA which is nice to see.
Our under 18's are giving the manager something to look at, so expect a young team this season apart from 1 or 2 loyal and dedicated players. We are favourite's to go straight back down but i think a few years with the current squad may see us staying up in the next few years.
When does the League Kick off??
I was reading in the Galway Advertiser last week how Mayo have some of the nicest pitches in the country which is nice to read, i would say that is due to the fact that we have a Summer League, Galway League considering changing also.
irishyop
18/02/2008, 9:34 PM
Welll you cant win anything with kids JP ;) Best of luck up there in the big bad world LOL
Alright Lads,
Definately another interesting season on the horizon. I reckon the four teams joining the prem league this year are all going to pose threats in terms of challenging for the top 3-4 places, tough away trips and in the case of C'mollina & Glenhest - experience. Kilmore & Urlar have the advantage of momentum, presumably good squad morale and not alot is known about their squads.
Westport, Castlebar & S&F are the obvious choices for the top 3 places. Fahy, should they find some form early on and some consistency, are in with a shout.
This years title and promotion spots are open to all ten teams. Consistency is key. Fittness is important as is a good start and at least 11 players every sunday!!
Its also worth noting that there is only 3 leagues in Europe worth watching.. The English Premier League.. The spanish Premier league.. and The Mayo Premier League..:ball:
irishyop
19/02/2008, 1:44 PM
Alright Lads,
Definately another interesting season on the horizon. I reckon the four teams joining the prem league this year are all going to pose threats in terms of challenging for the top 3-4 places, tough away trips and in the case of C'mollina & Glenhest - experience. Kilmore & Urlar have the advantage of momentum, presumably good squad morale and not alot is known about their squads.
Westport, Castlebar & S&F are the obvious choices for the top 3 places. Fahy, should they find some form early on and some consistency, are in with a shout.
This years title and promotion spots are open to all ten teams. Consistency is key. Fittness is important as is a good start and at least 11 players every sunday!!
Its also worth noting that there is only 3 leagues in Europe worth watching.. The English Premier League.. The spanish Premier league.. and The Mayo Premier League..:ball:
Any club preferences there yourself Norm? Or do you play with any of them?