View Full Version : Mayo Premier League 2008

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 [16] 17 18 19 20

Cloggs
21/07/2008, 1:35 PM
final is next sunday at 3pm, yea it looks like we will have a fairly good team out id say, hopefully we can make a good game of it, s+f strong favourites but wel see what happens

heard a few of our lads had holidays booked for next weekend?could be wrong though.also heard that s and f have a few lads with holidays booked aswell as thet thought that the final would be played yesterday.maybe robben 11 could confirm?that being said i think that if we have aq full team and get stuck into them from the off we could do it.what happened to us yesterday?was at my wedding for the weekend so obviously couldn't make the game.how was it that we only had 12 players?feck it it sure i could nearly have gotten a game!!:D

Kilmore Fan
21/07/2008, 1:49 PM
oh dont worry my friend its not a sore spot for me at all, was just finding it hard to see where you were coming from with "we could have taken them".

your right if fahy have a full squad they can put it up to s&f, so should be a good one. what kinda run do kilmore have? last 4 games, how do ye think it'll go?

We have 3 at home, 1 away! We are remaining hopeful. It's incredibly tight. League game Predictions are hard to make. It seems to be going every way. It's a crazy league when a team that finishes in sixth place could go up to the superleague! It's also unfair on those third from bottom if they go down. It's looking like that might be Erris or Bangor! They also have each other left to play, so that should be good! Bangor have done well this season but Erris's experience may pull them through. If they go down their b team can't go up (currently on top) and that would be a double blow. I believe whoever gets the play off spot could take either team on the day!

FahyForever
22/07/2008, 10:17 AM
We have 3 at home, 1 away! We are remaining hopeful. It's incredibly tight. League game Predictions are hard to make. It seems to be going every way. It's a crazy league when a team that finishes in sixth place could go up to the superleague! It's also unfair on those third from bottom if they go down. It's looking like that might be Erris or Bangor! They also have each other left to play, so that should be good! Bangor have done well this season but Erris's experience may pull them through. If they go down their b team can't go up (currently on top) and that would be a double blow. I believe whoever gets the play off spot could take either team on the day!

The last four games make interesting reading in terms of the second promotion spot and the play-off position. It really could go all manner of ways. Swinford have arguably the handiest run-in, whilst we have three away games against tough opposition.

Fahy; Swinford (a) Celtic B (a) Manulla B (h) Westport B (a)

Urlaur; S+F (a) Glenhest (h) Kilmore (a) Swinford (h)

Swinford Fahy (h) Westport B (a) Cross (h) Urlaur (a)

Cross; Glenhest (a) Kilmore (h) Swinford (a) Celtic B (h)

Kilmore; Westport B (h) Cross (a) Urlaur (h) S+F (h)

We need seven points to be safe of the second spot. The third place is totally up in the air. Anyone sticking their necks out?

GoodFootball
22/07/2008, 10:32 AM
If we dont go into the super league, its our own fault. Only having 12 players available to go down to Kilmore on Sunday...

When we have a full squad we are capable of putting it up to anyone, hopefully we can prove that this weekend in Milebush.

GoodFootball
22/07/2008, 10:35 AM
The last four games make interesting reading in terms of the second promotion spot and the play-off position. It really could go all manner of ways. Swinford have arguably the handiest run-in, whilst we have three away games against tough opposition.

We need seven points to be safe of the second spot. The third place is totally up in the air. Anyone sticking their necks out?

Fahy 2nd promotion spot and Urlar to playoff with Erris

theboy
24/07/2008, 8:58 AM
So lads how do ye think the final will go this weekend??

Bandit
24/07/2008, 3:41 PM
Sorry Fahy boys but i can see S&F throwing this away..From the games i saw this year S&F are too strong in all the key positions all over the field..If Fahy play the way they usually do with one man up front and Gary G feeding off him constantly, S&F will run the show,but if they use their wide men more they will have a chance....From 1-11 S&F are too strong even the subs they have would walk onto any other premier team..On the other hand Fahy have some of the hardest working players you will see on show......Should be a good one but if Fitz,Johnny j,Gerry g,Reape and Gary Byrne play to their potential i cant see the cup going anywhere else....

GoodFootball
24/07/2008, 4:18 PM
Sorry Fahy boys but i can see S&F throwing this away..From the games i saw this year S&F are too strong in all the key positions all over the field..If Fahy play the way they usually do with one man up front and Gary G feeding off him constantly, S&F will run the show,but if they use their wide men more they will have a chance....From 1-11 S&F are too strong even the subs they have would walk onto any other premier team..On the other hand Fahy have some of the hardest working players you will see on show......Should be a good one but if Fitz,Johnny j,Gerry g,Reape and Gary Byrne play to their potential i cant see the cup going anywhere else....

We play 2 up front, Gary plays in centre midfield, hense the dropping deep :)

I see your point, we will work hard, who knows we might come away with a surprise win...wont be from lack of trying!!

nevjo
24/07/2008, 5:02 PM
hi all, new to this! just looking at some comments from before and to be honest kilmore arnt up to premier league level at all. ye'll be right at home in the 1st division. snf united for the league and cup, ballina town for chadwicks cup??

Bandit
24/07/2008, 8:49 PM

Swinford for promotion,,,Fahy to lose 3 out of four:):) and finish third.....

FahyForever
26/07/2008, 12:42 PM
Well gents... last chance saloon for predictions on the divisional cup final. I´m going to let the heart rule the head and say Fahy to win in normal time, one nil, inspired by a man-of-the match performance from Gary Goggins and a colossal game from Joe Keane. I heard Trappatoni has pencilled in the match on his diary to have a look at Keane to try to find a partner for Richard Dunne. Anyone hear that?

Kilmore Fan
27/07/2008, 7:44 AM
Firstly welcome to the forum Nevjo, good to get some more on here. Secondly, chill. All I was saying is that ye are not unbeatable. I see Celtic are the only one who've done so so far. I'm betting they had some a team players there like when we played them in C'bar. Super subs! How was your game against them? They played some excellent footie in C'bar, they weren't so good when they came to us.Ye have a few very good players alright, are ye hoping for some Mayo call ups? Good luck in the final! Had planned on going but unfortunately can't, so i'll have to read the write ups here!

ExCiTeD
27/07/2008, 6:11 PM
Firstly welcome to the forum Nevjo, good to get some more on here. Secondly, chill. All I was saying is that ye are not unbeatable. I see Celtic are the only one who've done so so far. I'm betting they had some a team players there like when we played them in C'bar. Super subs! How was your game against them? They played some excellent footie in C'bar, they weren't so good when they came to us.Ye have a few very good players alright, are ye hoping for some Mayo call ups? Good luck in the final! Had planned on going but unfortunately can't, so i'll have to read the write ups here!
before you make statements like that kilmore fan have your facts right the celtic b squad was assembled at the start of the season and remained together until gavin dykes left the club it was mostly made up of underage lads coming through the ranks. when we played ye in c/bar thats the team that beat ye. when dykes left our squad was broken up by the new manager which he is entitled to do. we lost between 5 and 7 seven players to the first team depending on injuries. when we played s&f we were missing 5 of our starting elven as indeed we were when we beat ye in kilmore. the b team has not in any game this season played a team players so have your facts right or at least know the players and dont make stupid incorrect comments like that

ExCiTeD
27/07/2008, 6:32 PM
well done s&f today fantastic performance from start to finish best team in our division and an impending double thats well deserved thought yer captain lead by example today and capped a great performance with a superb goal. congrats to all concerned

Kilmore Fan
28/07/2008, 7:38 AM
my apologies if ive upset you excited. I did also say that you are the most team that has impressed me this year. Ye played some of the best footie i've seen this year the day we played ye in c'bar. It must be a sickner to not be able to be promoted? if you don't use a team players and you are two different teams then you should be allowed up? What's your views on the way it's done?

Kilmore Fan
28/07/2008, 7:41 AM
Congrats S&F! the icing on the cake to a near perfect season! Hard luck Fahy, I guess eyes must be on the second promotion spot now?

r.rover
28/07/2008, 11:01 AM
Congrats S&F! the icing on the cake to a near perfect season! Hard luck Fahy, I guess eyes must be on the second promotion spot now?
well played s+f yesterday, they beat us off the pitch, we can have no complaints, best of luck to them they seem like a very dedicated bunch and deserve everything they get...

FahyForever
28/07/2008, 11:06 AM
well played s+f yesterday, they beat us off the pitch, we can have no complaints, best of luck to them they seem like a very dedicated bunch and deserve everything they get...

I second that, S+F were really good yesterday, well organised, fit and dedicated. They made some great chances for their goals. Fahy were unlucky to miss a few good chances in the first half but were outplayed totally in the second. I think S+F will be in the top four of the Super League next year and I also fancy them to beat Ballina in the Cup semi final. Well done to them anyway...

theboy
28/07/2008, 11:53 AM
well done s&f today fantastic performance from start to finish best team in our division and an impending double thats well deserved thought yer captain lead by example today and capped a great performance with a superb goal. congrats to all concerned

Yes well done to s&f, they played some great stuff yesterday, kept the ball well and moved it when they needed to, s&f's captain alan mcdonnell had a stormer, ran all day and your right led by example as every captain should, he took his goal very well at a very important time, john jordan and paul fitz also scoring great goals, gerry gaughan had a great game in the middle of the park beside alan mcdonnell. s&f with out a doubt deserved this and everything they get this year. i hope next year they push alot of teams in the super league and i think they will. s&f should be looking to have a few players in the mayo squad this year and on the team of the year in the premier divison. congrats s&f..

nevjo
28/07/2008, 1:46 PM
cheers kilmore fan! snf played very well, have to say fair play to fahy, they kept going to the final whistle! alan mac, man of the match completely deserved it, craig reape and cos massive at the back too. lookin forwar to the break now!:D

ExCiTeD
28/07/2008, 5:33 PM
my apologies if ive upset you excited. I did also say that you are the most team that has impressed me this year. Ye played some of the best footie i've seen this year the day we played ye in c'bar. It must be a sickner to not be able to be promoted? if you don't use a team players and you are two different teams then you should be allowed up? What's your views on the way it's done?
apology accepted bud its just one of those things that really bugs me. the new management of the b team this year made a point of trying to integrate the best youth in the club to the junior ranks and thankfully some have already progressed to a team which is great for all concerned. i think its crazy a 'b' team cannot get promoted provided it marshalled right by the authorities which lets face it will not happen so i guess its just a pill we have to swollow. best of luck in the run in

robben 11
28/07/2008, 11:40 PM

this debate has been around 4 ages i was at celtic b 2005 won league with probably the best players and player ( ****** ) aidrain o'brien about a true leader on and off the pitch, a player who would walk onto any super league team at the time but stayed 4 his values for the club and its aims at getting promoted, but it will never ever materialise into a proper structure where 2 teams compete with a panel of seperate players from 1 club....! his recognition has been very discretly recognised in Mayo League football and i think a player like him should get his just deserve'ds.... A1 ..........

robben 11
29/07/2008, 1:02 PM

Great Cup-Final on Sunday, fair play to Fahy who were all very gracious in defeat, capain gary goggins said some nice words after the match and it ment a lot to the straide & foxford team hearing what he had to say.
We scored at crucial times, we got the early goal and settled, and then got another in the beginning of second half which pretty much killed the game off, great to see some silverwear back home again...

hardcore
29/07/2008, 5:46 PM
I second that, S+F were really good yesterday, well organised, fit and dedicated. They made some great chances for their goals. Fahy were unlucky to miss a few good chances in the first half but were outplayed totally in the second. I think S+F will be in the top four of the Super League next year and I also fancy them to beat Ballina in the Cup semi final. Well done to them anyway...

Yeah, s+f seem to be going well. What happened to turn them around from the poor season they had last year?
i thought they were in relegation trouble in that division last year late on?
I may be wrong

hardcore
29/07/2008, 6:02 PM
this debate has been around 4 ages i was at celtic b 2005 won league with probably the best players and player ( ****** ) aidrain o'brien about a true leader on and off the pitch, a player who would walk onto any super league team at the time but stayed 4 his values for the club and its aims at getting promoted, but it will never ever materialise into a proper structure where 2 teams compete with a panel of seperate players from 1 club....! his recognition has been very discretly recognised in Mayo League football and i think a player like him should get his just deserve'ds.... A1 ..........

This debate is just a reflection on how strong a club is. Interesting to note that the 3 B teams in the division are also the only clubs to have C teams in the Mayo league. bigger clubs are getting bigger, Bteams better than most other teams in the league. look at what happened to Achill and Ballyglass. Ballyglass now cant field a B team and theyre in Div 1! your right with that guy- good example, but theres not too many lads like him sticking to their clubs principles.
you might see more lads from other clubs joining b teams in that division, rather than playing with first teams in div 2.
That division is turning into a joke for promotion! Suppose its not swinford or fahys fault that big clubs like westport, celtic, and manulla have good B teams, but what will happen if erris B or ballina B go up?
7th or 8th placed team in a promotion playoff!

send them all up to the top division! 2 westports and celtics. great craic!:)

hardcore
29/07/2008, 6:06 PM

double done and dusted. any takers for the Treble? Will they take ballina?

theboy
30/07/2008, 9:01 AM
Yeah, s+f seem to be going well. What happened to turn them around from the poor season they had last year?
i thought they were in relegation trouble in that division last year late on?
I may be wrong

they got hit hard with injuries, alan mc (ligaments) john jordan(broke a bone in his hand) paul fitz( broke a bone in his foot) gerry gaughan( left the club for a while) all these were gone at the same time.

they got in a good manager, he held on to all the above players who could have left and they stuck together, other clubs and players could learn from them.. well done s&f.

nevjo
30/07/2008, 7:04 PM
we got a few new players too, craig reape has been unreal this year, ash atkinson too, seany walsh from ballyheane is playin very well too, we should give ballina a good game, aiden flately has done a brilliant job, wats the story with league? who can go up or down does anyone know?

Norm
03/08/2008, 12:57 AM
A belated congratulations to S&F in the divisional cup final. Missed it due to holidays. I Reckon ye are more then capable of going places in the Mayo Cup this year and are definately looking good for next year.

theboy
03/08/2008, 2:00 PM
A belated congratulations to S&F in the divisional cup final. Missed it due to holidays. I Reckon ye are more then capable of going places in the Mayo Cup this year and are definately looking good for next year.

Yes agree with you fully, they look capable to doing well in the mayo cup and next year, but next year will be a big step up for them, tough games week in week out. but only time will tell for s&f.

Cloggs
04/08/2008, 3:20 AM

hear hear.i'm the same as norm and am still away in the u.s.fair play to s and f with their win the cup final last week.they're a very good side and are all decent lads to boot.best of luck to them in the cup against ballina and next year in the super league.

GoodFootball
06/08/2008, 9:45 AM
hear hear.i'm the same as norm and am still away in the u.s.fair play to s and f with their win the cup final last week.they're a very good side and are all decent lads to boot.best of luck to them in the cup against ballina and next year in the super league.

We fought hard but were beaten by a better side, simple as that. Fair play S&F!

We have 4 games left now and must take 7 pts from them to go super league, if we can do that i'll be happy with the season! In all fairness, Fahy has the smallest area probably in the Mayo League and to get to the super league is an achievement equal to the likes of Westport winning super leagues.

FahyForever
06/08/2008, 10:29 AM
We fought hard but were beaten by a better side, simple as that. Fair play S&F!

We have 4 games left now and must take 7 pts from them to go super league, if we can do that i'll be happy with the season! In all fairness, Fahy has the smallest area probably in the Mayo League and to get to the super league is an achievement equal to the likes of Westport winning super leagues.

We don't actually HAVE to take seven points to get up, seven would guarantee us promotion. As far as I know. We could do it on less if Urlaur and others lose points. It's a tough one to call, Fahy have some hard matches in the run-in. Swinford could have a say in matters if they take all their points, which is conceivable enough. The Swinford-Fahy match could be crucial.

mayo-man
06/08/2008, 2:51 PM
We don't actually HAVE to take seven points to get up, seven would guarantee us promotion. As far as I know. We could do it on less if Urlaur and others lose points. It's a tough one to call, Fahy have some hard matches in the run-in. Swinford could have a say in matters if they take all their points, which is conceivable enough. The Swinford-Fahy match could be crucial.

FahyForever i think ye deserve the second stop. Game's we could only draw ye have won. Our goal scoring has been a problem. Thats not saying were throwing in the towel just yet. But i don't think you will drop enough points for us to catch ye.

nevjo
06/08/2008, 4:47 PM
FahyForever i think ye deserve the second stop. Game's we could only draw ye have won. Our goal scoring has been a problem. Thats not saying were throwing in the towel just yet. But i don't think you will drop enough points for us to catch ye.
what club are you from mayo-man? fahy do deserve to go up, they do a lot better than the likes of claremorris or ballinrobe, if snf and fahy go up they will stay up. wat do ya think?:cool:

Cloggs
06/08/2008, 7:20 PM
what club are you from mayo-man? fahy do deserve to go up, they do a lot better than the likes of claremorris or ballinrobe, if snf and fahy go up they will stay up. wat do ya think?:cool:

i would like to think that we could stay up if we get the chance but it'd be very difficult.we're starting to get on now too so we'd want to get up this year and see how we can get on.we have a good squad when all are fit and if we get promoted it'll be a very good season for us

mayo-man
07/08/2008, 7:28 AM

I'm a Swinford man Nevjo, how about yourself? I'm not to sure about Fahy staying up if they get there, it seems to be really tough and once a team thats used to winning most of there games for the last couple of years gets into a relegation battle(which will probably happen) its very hard to keep players positive and to put any sort of run together.

GoodFootball
11/08/2008, 12:48 PM

Good point, to be sure we need 7 so thats the aim...anything could happen though.

The big one like you said is the game this weekend against Swinford, if they win blows it wide open and if we win they cant get auto promotion so will be a cracker.

Any fixture predictions for the weekend, who else is playing who?

11/08/2008, 2:49 PM
304016-96438 Code for Mayo Junior Soccer League http://fantasy.premierleague.com

FahyForever
13/08/2008, 10:28 AM
Good point, to be sure we need 7 so thats the aim...anything could happen though.

The big one like you said is the game this weekend against Swinford, if they win blows it wide open and if we win they cant get auto promotion so will be a cracker.

Any fixture predictions for the weekend, who else is playing who?

Glenhest Rovers v Crossmolina
Swinford Fahy v Rovers
Castlebar Celtic B v Manulla B
Straide & Foxford v Urlaur United
Kilmore v Westport United B

I think the whole damn shooting match will be done and dusted this weekend with Fahy beating Swinford. Elsewhere, Celtic over Manulla, S+F obviously, Glenhest to surprise Cross and Kilmore over Westport b.

theboy
13/08/2008, 11:30 AM
League table for Welcome Inn Hotel Premier Division
Team P Pts

Straide & Foxford 14 39
Castlebar Celtic B 13 28
Fahy Rovers 14 22
Westport United B 14 20
Urlaur United 14 18
Manulla B 13 17
Swinford 14 16
Crossmolina 14 15
Kilmore 14 15
Glenhest Rovers 14 9

your right its make or break for alot of teams this weekend. but still 3 games to go after this weekend..

GoodFootball
13/08/2008, 12:55 PM
Glenhest Rovers v Crossmolina
Swinford Fahy v Rovers
Castlebar Celtic B v Manulla B
Straide & Foxford v Urlaur United
Kilmore v Westport United B

I think the whole damn shooting match will be done and dusted this weekend with Fahy beating Swinford. Elsewhere, Celtic over Manulla, S+F obviously, Glenhest to surprise Cross and Kilmore over Westport b.

Glenhest Rovers v Crossmolina (DRAW)
Swinford v Fahy Rovers (AWAY)
Castlebar Celtic B v Manulla B (DRAW)
Straide & Foxford v Urlaur United (HOME)
Kilmore v Westport United B (AWAY)

Hope ur right!

I say watch out Celtic B, we're coming after 2nd spot :D

r.rover
13/08/2008, 2:27 PM
Glenhest Rovers v Crossmolina (DRAW)
Swinford v Fahy Rovers (AWAY)
Castlebar Celtic B v Manulla B (DRAW)
Straide & Foxford v Urlaur United (HOME)
Kilmore v Westport United B (AWAY)

Hope ur right!

I say watch out Celtic B, we're coming after 2nd spot :D

swinford v fahy away
celtic v manulla home
s+f v urlar home
kilmore v wport away

iv a feelin celtic b are safe enough in 2nd! us v swinford should be a good game, if we win its lookin very good, if we lose its a battle all the ways

nevjo
14/08/2008, 6:49 AM
swinford v fahy away
celtic v manulla home
s+f v urlar home
kilmore v wport away

iv a feelin celtic b are safe enough in 2nd! us v swinford should be a good game, if we win its lookin very good, if we lose its a battle all the ways
swinford v fahy draw
celtic v manulla away
s+f v urlar home
kilmore v wport away

pool 7
14/08/2008, 9:12 AM
swinford v fahy home
celtic v manulla draw
s+f v urlar home
kilmore v wport draw

pool 7
14/08/2008, 9:14 AM
How come this weekend games are now on sunday.they were down for sat eve .

mayo-man
14/08/2008, 12:17 PM
swinford v fahy home
celtic v manulla home
s+f v urlar home
kilmore v wport away

GoodFootball
14/08/2008, 4:18 PM
i would like to think that we could stay up if we get the chance but it'd be very difficult.we're starting to get on now too so we'd want to get up this year and see how we can get on.we have a good squad when all are fit and if we get promoted it'll be a very good season for us

We aint "pushing on"...

Starting Eleven in age: 29, 19, 26, 29, 32, 32, 24, 23, 26, 25, 28

Average age is 26 and a half CLOGGS ;) Players peak at 27 :D

pool 7
15/08/2008, 3:02 PM
Any one know what players are pushing for the golden boot in the prem.Also the prem team of 2008 will be a quality team!!!!

Kilmore Fan
17/08/2008, 12:32 PM
Glenhest Rovers v Crossmolina (away)
Swinford v Fahy Rovers (away)
Castlebar Celtic B v Manulla B (home)
Straide & Foxford v Urlaur United (home)
Kilmore v Westport United B (home)