View Full Version : O'Donoghue apology was "a stunt", says Robert's father

Ringo
17/01/2008, 12:15 PM
In a newspaper interview today, Mark Holohan described Mr O'Donoghue's statement as "a stunt" and said he had "some neck on him apologising like that".

http://www.breakingnews.ie/ireland/mheyeyidcwoj

It did seem very pre-prepared. Even the language used. I think what Wayne O’Donoghue did after the death of Robert makes it impossible to have any sympathy for him.

17/01/2008, 12:18 PM
He's a Sod of the highest order and should still be inside for a long time to come for what he did and the coolness with which he covered it up.

17/01/2008, 12:19 PM
Wow, he's pre-prepared statement was actually pre-prepared, that is breaking news!!

citizenerased
17/01/2008, 12:30 PM
it was an acidental death, getting a young lad ina headlock, it went wrong, he panicked and did the wrong thing(the worst thing he could have done, but it just went too far).

It wasnt cold blooded murder, he has expressed deep regret and served his time, i think its time to let him get on with his life..

17/01/2008, 12:31 PM
it was an acidental death, getting a young lad ina headlock, it went wrong, he panicked and did the wrong thing(the worst thing he could have done, but it just went too far).

It wasnt cold blooded murder, he has expressed deep regret and served his time, i think its time to let him get on with his life..

I'm not going to get into this all over again, but I think it was a lot more than an accidental death, and Robert's mother would also have this view if her impact statement is anything to go by

17/01/2008, 12:33 PM
My opinion may be seen as cold and overly liberal by a lot of people on here, but the way I see it is; we have a justice system in this country, Wayne O'Donoghue was tried and sentenced by this system, he served his time and has expressed nothing but remorse. He chose to face the media and apologise for his actions, when it is widely accepted that he could have left the country and been given a new identity, never to be heard of again. His crime is one that most will struggle to comprehend, particularly his attempts to cover it up, but, we are not judge or jury and we accept their ruling. Would another 10 years in prison have made any difference to the family of Robert Holohan? I very much doubt it. O'Donoghue will live with the guilt and pain that his actions have caused, he will most likely be a pariah, at best, if he chooses to remain in Ireland. His family has also suffered and are dealing with the fall out from his actions. Maybe they will gain some comfort from his release.
It's a desperately sad story, but the rumour, innuendo and speculation around the case has been nothing short of criminal at times. People need to accept that the case has ended, a sentence was handed down and served, and now we need to move on. I couldn't speculate as to how I'd feel if Robert was a member of my family, it's possible that I'd feel differently, but that's my view on the case at present.

17/01/2008, 12:35 PM
If the law was followed strictly his mother could've been jailed for contempt of court for that victim impact statement.

The whole thing is a sad situation, not helped by the Irish press who seem to be doing their best to emulate their British counterparts.

Torn-Ado
17/01/2008, 12:43 PM
I agree with the posts by Citizenerased and Passinginterest. Good to read some level headed comments on the issue.

17/01/2008, 12:45 PM
Agreed Justice was served, however its the justice system in this country that I have more issue with than WOD. Sentances handed down are IMO By and Large too lenient.

Wolfie
17/01/2008, 12:47 PM
My opinion may be seen as cold and overly liberal by a lot of people on here, but the way I see it is; we have a justice system in this country, Wayne O'Donoghue was tried and sentenced by this system, he served his time and has expressed nothing but remorse. He chose to face the media and apologise for his actions, when it is widely accepted that he could have left the country and been given a new identity, never to be heard of again. His crime is one that most will struggle to comprehend, particularly his attempts to cover it up, but, we are not judge or jury and we accept their ruling. Would another 10 years in prison have made any difference to the family of Robert Holohan? I very much doubt it. O'Donoghue will live with the guilt and pain that his actions have caused, he will most likely be a pariah, at best, if he chooses to remain in Ireland. His family has also suffered and are dealing with the fall out from his actions. Maybe they will gain some comfort from his release.
It's a desperately sad story, but the rumour, innuendo and speculation around the case has been nothing short of criminal at times. People need to accept that the case has ended, a sentence was handed down and served, and now we need to move on. I couldn't speculate as to how I'd feel if Robert was a member of my family, it's possible that I'd feel differently, but that's my view on the case at present.

A crucial point is that there certainly appears to have been no pre-meditation or intent to kill. It was a tragic series of events that leaves O'Donoghue with blood on his hands and Robert Holohan's life cut tragically short.

I think O'Donoghue's statement should be taken at face value. In a case of accidental death, which I believe it was, it is fitting and right that he express his remorse and be allowed to do so.

Certain elements have their mind made up in relation to O'Donoghue and whether he made a statement or not would not make a blind bit of difference in relation to their view.

There is no definitive right or wrong in this situation and comments from certain quarters have been unhelpful and uncharitable to put it mildly.

anto1208
17/01/2008, 1:29 PM
I was quite annoyed this week there was two big cases this week the mother who murdered her 16 year old daughter in cold blood and the release of a young man that was involved in a terrible accident.

The media has at every chance referred to WOD as "child killer" and hinted at some peado aspect to it. While having nothing but sympathy for this woman that committed premeditated cold blooded murder where she drowned her daughter a horrible death she is a psychologist so would know exactly how to pretend to be insane the expert witness was her friend. All I heard was this poor woman hopefully she will be well again some day to return home. She should never be left out she should be locked up she is a serious danger to others.

One guy from the sun was on the radio saying that they will hunt WOD down to try and get an interview no matter where he goes and will take pictures of him once he steps onto public property as its in the public interest. So he had to make at least one statement to the media. It had to be carefully prepared as if he tried to make an off the cuff statement he could have said something wrong that the press would take and twist very quickly.

There was no question what so ever that any kind of sexual activity took place there was no sperm on his body this report was completely discredited not that there wasn’t enough evidence it means there was no evidence.

Roberts mother has lots of questions but should really start looking at herself she asked what her son was doing in his room at 7 in the morning ? yes misses what was your son doing? why where you not supervising your child ? There are many more questions about her parenting that I cant go into here.

I feel so sorry for this guy his whole life is ruined he will never get over this he will never get a job or be left forget this by mindless idiots that think they have a right to abuse him.
While his actions after the fact where stupid no one here can honestly say how they would react as they have never killed anyone. He has served his time that’s the way the justice system works in this country and that should be it he should be left alone from now on.

17/01/2008, 1:34 PM
Wow, he's pre-prepared statement was actually pre-prepared, that is breaking news!!I think the point being made was probably more that it seems - to me at least - to have been pre-prepared by someone else. It would have come across as more believable if it used less...careful and flowery language and more natural language. It read like a press release, carefully drafted by someone else in conjunction with a solicitor. Now maybe that's not true, but that's the thought I had when I listened to it on the radio.

On an administrative note, I don't want to see any tabloidesque - that's "like something from the Star", if you're a Star reader - crap on this thread please. So far the comments have been pretty mature, but the likes of BGRs comment - no surprise there - is below the level I'd like to see here. There have been flaws with the way this was handled certainly - although I'd argue that the Gardaí are more at fault than anyone else - but from a legal POV the man was tried and jailed, and that's that.

17/01/2008, 1:36 PM
Little to add to what Passinginterest said which about covers it.

Listening to the radio on my way into work this morning I had to listen to unhinged, sanctimonious **** being spouted by a clown from one of the "Irish" redtops about how he and his paper were "firmly on the Holohans side" (there's sides in this now apparently) how Roberts parents got a life sentence but O'Donoghue didn't (stating the obvious) ...and then the despicable toe rag said this ...

"if any pictures emerge of Wayne O'Donoghue having a pint in his local or meeting his girlfriend we'd certainly be interested in them"

...and all I could think of was never tiring of punching his greedy fcuking face in. That this gob****e could come on our national airwaves and, over the grave of a little boy, tout for business so he can sell his vulgar muck is just beyond all.

noby
17/01/2008, 1:38 PM
It read like a press release, carefully drafted by someone else in conjunction with a solicitor. Now maybe that's not true, but that's the thought I had when I listened to it on the radio.

Perhaps that was the aim. The media weren't going to let him go without saying something (there were about 40 waiting for him), so give them what they want without actually giving them anything.

17/01/2008, 1:42 PM
Perhaps, but I think it would have played better if it had been more natural. You'd probably have less of the pathetic wailing and gnashing of teeth from the media today anyway.

Ringo
17/01/2008, 1:48 PM
I think the point being made was probably more that ['that' instead of 'than' edited by adam] it seems - to me at least - to have been pre-prepared by someone else. It would have come across as more believable if it used less...careful and flowery language and more natural language. It read like a press release, carefully drafted by someone else in conjunction with a solicitor. Now maybe that's not true, but that's the thought I had when I listened to it on the radio.

That was what i felt about the statement. He never looked up once. He just read in an unemotional way. I've no doubt he regrets what he did on the day & yes he's served the sentence given to him. However no one other than him really knows what happened. Lets be honest, his actions after the death of Robert were cold and calculating.

Dricky
17/01/2008, 1:54 PM
If we live in a society then we must live by the rules of said society. Therefore the courts are there to pass judgement, if we don't want to go down that route and make our own law or take it into our own hands you might get personal satisfaction but then you must expect society to use their rule to judge you.

It is a sad affair but it has shown the human failing of all individuals involved, that isn't a judgement it is an observation on the fault us humans have, each and every single one of us. I would hate to have been involved in any way shape or form with this case. The death of anyone is a life changing event for the people who love them.

anto1208
17/01/2008, 1:59 PM
That was what i felt about the statement. He never looked up once. He just read in an unemotional way. I've no doubt he regrets what he did on the day & yes he's served the sentence given to him. However no one other than him really knows what happened. Lets be honest, his actions after the death of Robert were cold and calculating.

He had to read it like that he couldnt laugh or the press would crucify him he couldnt cry coz the press would crucify him ( crocidile tears or saying he put on a preformance for the camera's). He is in a no win situation no matter what he does he will get slated for it. Imagine now if he is in public and dare smiles that picture will be all over the front pages with "smug child killer laughing it up" headlines.

And his actions after where not cold and calculating they where sloppy and rushed the cold a calculating killers dont get caught they certainly don't give themselves up.

17/01/2008, 2:17 PM
Lets be honest, his actions after the death of Robert were cold and calculating. :confused: his actions after the death were a perfect example of panic and fear. Cold and calculated is not dumping the body in a black bag and then trying to act normal before cracking.

What annoys me is that while this guy has served his sentence, admitted guilt and apologised, we're still talking about this guy 4 years later while drug peddlers, gun runners and get half the bile and bare-faced threats he has received. FFS even drunk drivers are more "guilty" than this guy, whether they've hit someone or not.

As for Mrs Holohan and her VIS, while I can imagine her mental state, she should not have been allowed to sully the defendants name with conjecture and speculation that she didn't understand. I fear her ill-informed words, and the related ill-informed opinions of thugs around the country, will be the death of O'Donoghue some day; while real rapists and molesters are walking free at the moment.

17/01/2008, 2:24 PM
:confused: his actions after the death were a perfect example of panic and fear. Cold and calculated is not dumping the body in a black bag and then trying to act normal before cracking.

What annoys me is that while this guy has served his sentence, admitted guilt and apologised, we're still talking about this guy 4 years later while drug peddlers, gun runners and get half the bile and bare-faced threats he has received. FFS even drunk drivers are more "guilty" than this guy, whether they've hit someone or not.

As for Mrs Holohan and her VIS, while I can imagine her mental state, she should not have been allowed to sully the defendants name with conjecture and speculation that she didn't understand. I fear her ill-informed words, and the related ill-informed opinions of thugs around the country, will be the death of O'Donoghue some day; while real rapists and molesters are walking free at the moment.

Gavin.....I....I....agree! Whats going on??

Seriously, he has been punished according to the law, he seems to have shown genuine remorse. The issue of whether the statement was "cold" or not is not so important, I'd say that his lawyer recommended a scripted statement so there would be no pitfalls of any kind.

17/01/2008, 3:11 PM
I think the point being made was probably more than it seems - to me at least - to have been pre-prepared by someone else. It would have come across as more believable if it used less...careful and flowery language and more natural language. It read like a press release, carefully drafted by someone else in conjunction with a solicitor. Now maybe that's not true, but that's the thought I had when I listened to it on the radio.

But isn't that always the way when a high profile prisioner is released? His lawyers draft a quick message of sorrow for he/she to read, they do so and then get on with adjusting back into society? Don't see why it should be pointed out in this case, and not in the case of others.

Plus I too surprisingly agree with GazinZac 100% :eek:

17/01/2008, 3:21 PM
But isn't that always the way when a high profile prisioner is released? His lawyers draft a quick message of sorrow for he/she to read, they do so and then get on with adjusting back into society? Don't see why it should be pointed out in this case, and not in the case of others.

I Agree the the media are making the whole thing into a circus, whilst as I've said earlier I don't think he should be out so soon, the fact is he is out and should be allowed to get on with his life in private. I reckon he would be better to leave the country, not because I think some thug will get to him(which may well be the case) but rather because he will not be able to build a real life for himself here now. for instance would many people give him a Job given that it would probably bring negative publicity to the company if the red top rags got hold of it.

17/01/2008, 3:42 PM
O'Donoghue made a terrible mistake & compounded this by not owning up to it. He was sentences according to the laws of the land however lenient that would appear.

The media have sunk to a new low in this matter as there is no story here & continued coverage serves no one least alone the victims family. It is like they are looking for vigilante's action.

17/01/2008, 4:10 PM
What really peeves me is that there is blame to be had here - outside of the direct issue, I mean - and the media have skipped past that to the easy headline. If they had any real concern about the failings in this case, every media outlet would have a proper investigative journalist looking into the real failings, telling the country about them and suggesting how things can be changed to stop them happening again.

Of course that's not an option, because there isn't a talented investigative journalist in the country. Not one.

17/01/2008, 4:24 PM
What really peeves me is that there is blame to be had here - outside of the direct issue, I mean - and the media have skipped past that to the easy headline. If they had any real concern about the failings in this case, every media outlet would have a proper investigative journalist looking into the real failings, telling the country about them . . . . . . . . .

I suppose you could make an exception of this criticism to the Prime Time expose of the scientist, Jonathan Whittaker and his backtracking..

Ringo
18/01/2008, 6:43 AM
He had to read it like that he couldnt laugh or the press would crucify him he couldnt cry coz the press would crucify him ( crocidile tears or saying he put on a preformance for the camera's). He is in a no win situation no matter what he does he will get slated for it. Imagine now if he is in public and dare smiles that picture will be all over the front pages with "smug child killer laughing it up" headlines.

And his actions after where not cold and calculating they where sloppy and rushed the cold a calculating killers dont get caught they certainly don't give themselves up.

Row

O'Donoghue (23) has insisted the 11-year-old accidentally died when placed in a head-lock after a row about going to a fast food restaurant spiralled out of control.

However, he dumped Robert's body at Inch Strand where it lay undiscovered for nine days and he even took part in the massive search effort for Robert on six different days.

The engineering student did not indicate to search officials where the body was and admitted his involvement in the killing some 24 hours after Robert's funeral.

The Holohans so trusted and liked O'Donoghue that they were going to ask him to say a Prayer of the Faithful at Robert's funeral Mass.

During his trial, it emerged that O'Donoghue had been regarded by little Robert as the older brother he never had.

http://www.independent.ie/national-news/apology-nothing-but-a-publicity-stunt-says-roberts-furious-dad-1268443.html

Sounds cold and calculating to me

18/01/2008, 8:29 AM
Does anybody think he deliberately killed the boy?

If so, then his actions afterwards would definitely be cold and calculated. But I think they also look like panicked actions.

What crime was he convicted of?

anto1208
18/01/2008, 8:40 AM
Row

O'Donoghue (23) has insisted the 11-year-old accidentally died when placed in a head-lock after a row about going to a fast food restaurant spiralled out of control.

However, he dumped Robert's body at Inch Strand where it lay undiscovered for nine days and he even took part in the massive search effort for Robert on six different days.

The engineering student did not indicate to search officials where the body was and admitted his involvement in the killing some 24 hours after Robert's funeral.

The Holohans so trusted and liked O'Donoghue that they were going to ask him to say a Prayer of the Faithful at Robert's funeral Mass.

During his trial, it emerged that O'Donoghue had been regarded by little Robert as the older brother he never had.

http://www.independent.ie/national-news/apology-nothing-but-a-publicity-stunt-says-roberts-furious-dad-1268443.html

Sounds cold and calculating to me

So what should you get for obstructing justice ? i think 4 years is enough locking him up for life wont bring him back his death wasnt his fault.

When you look at that rugby player that left a night club p*ssed up got into his 4x4 to drive to dublin for a munster match the next day slammed into the back of a parked car killing the poor kid inside. Now that death was totally his fault yet the DPP are nt going to even take him to court !! He wont serve a minute in jail for killing that kid.

18/01/2008, 8:46 AM
When you look at that rugby player that left a night club p*ssed up got into his 4x4 to drive to dublin for a munster match the next day slammed into the back of a parked car killing the poor kid inside. Now that death was totally his fault yet the DPP are nt going to even take him to court !! He wont serve a minute in jail for killing that kid.link?

18/01/2008, 8:51 AM
If so, then his actions afterwards would definitely be cold and calculated. But I think they also look like panicked actions.
If you deliberately kill someone, (assuming you don't do it in a flash of rage) you'd have a better plan for what to do with the body, than dragging it into a bathroom, stuffing it into a black bag, driving 5 minutes away, then dumping the bag. As the success the IRA had for years shows, if you premeditate a murder, you can hide the body for good. If it had been premeditated, WOD would've put the body somewhere safe and gone with his life, or had a sudden urge to emigrate.

He pleaded guilty to manslaughter

18/01/2008, 8:51 AM

Manslaughter. which is why I think 3 years is a bit of a joke

18/01/2008, 9:56 AM
I'll need to Google this to be sure, but I'm sure I read somewhere recently that the maximum sentence for manslaughter is 10 years

With the judge deciding, out of ten, how "on purpose"/close to murder it is?

18/01/2008, 9:59 AM

Possibly. I'm not sure.

Ringo
18/01/2008, 11:04 AM

According to Justice Carney this was "on the level of horse play". Hate to see what he would have done to the kid , if it was any more than horseplay.

18/01/2008, 11:19 AM
Sentencing discussion split to new thread here (http://foot.ie/showthread.php?t=81233)

KevB76
18/01/2008, 6:47 PM
his death wasnt his fault.
Yes it was, albeit unintentional.

Now that death was totally his fault yet the DPP are nt going to even take him to court !! He wont serve a minute in jail for killing that kid.

I hadn't heard that, can you provide a link or let me know where you found the story please.

18/01/2008, 6:55 PM
Yes it was, albeit unintentional.

I hadn't heard that, can you provide a link or let me know where you found the story please.

Its in the sentencing thread that was split. Link is above

KevB76
18/01/2008, 6:56 PM
Its in the sentencing thread that was split. Link is above

Thanks

19/01/2008, 10:53 AM
According to Justice Carney this was "on the level of horse play". Hate to see what he would have done to the kid , if it was any more than horseplay.
Ever been punched in the trachea? Ever been knocked out by a choke hold? Both can easily lead to death. People don't realise that you don't have to give someone a savage beating to kill them.

Ringo
19/01/2008, 4:04 PM
Ever been punched in the trachea? Ever been knocked out by a choke hold? .

punch to the trachea, sounds like horseplay:rolleyes:

19/01/2008, 6:02 PM
punch to the trachea, sounds like horseplay:rolleyes:Would you like me to simplify it? I know "trachea" is awful academic sounding but if you think that 2 kids having a bit of a scuffle and one of them impacts the other's throat sounds awfully suspicious, I'd imagine you've had a very sheltered childhood.

Besides, the second question was the relevant one.

19/01/2008, 7:16 PM
As the saying goes "Don't hate the player, hate the game". He got the sentance that the charge warrented, he done his time and now he is a free man again. If you feel he should have done more time blame the justice system or the prosecution in the trial.

19/01/2008, 7:19 PM

Great post and it sums up exactly how i feel about the case too. I was delighted to hear that Wayne O'Donohue is taking the papers who printed those horrible lies against him to court in a libel case.

By the way, was he not convicted of involuntary manslaughter?

Unreal Madrid
19/01/2008, 11:45 PM
So what should you get for obstructing justice ? i think 4 years is enough locking him up for life wont bring him back his death wasnt his fault.

When you look at that rugby player that left a night club p*ssed up got into his 4x4 to drive to dublin for a munster match the next day slammed into the back of a parked car killing the poor kid inside. Now that death was totally his fault yet the DPP are nt going to even take him to court !! He wont serve a minute in jail for killing that kid.

Front of this weeks Limerick Leader. About 2 years ago, a father, his son and a friend from Bruff were driving to Belfast to pick up a new car early on a Sunday morning. Around 5 in the morning outside Nenagh they came accross some cattle on the main Dublin to Limerick road. The father and friend got out to get them back into the field while the son (i think he was 16) slept in the car which was pulled in on the hard shoulder.

Former munster and Shannon player, Eddie Halvey may or may not have been in a popular nightclub in Limerick until the early hours before he decided to drive to Dublin to beat the traffic for the big match on Sunday (again, I think it was Munster V Lenister in European cup on the Sunday) Just after Nenagh, he drove his 4 x 4 into the back of the car on the hard shoulder, killing the boy.

This week, the boys family have been told that Halvey will face a drink drive charge (he was arrested and charged after being well over the limit at the sceene) but a charge of dangerous driving has being dropped.

From my reading of this, Halvey will be charged as if he was stopped at the village corner just after leaving the pub. The fact he killed someone that was not even on the main road, well that's just hard luck. This is the law gone mad. I suppose that the case was looked at fairly. I also think there is no way :rolleyes: that Halveys sporting connections or pull has anything to do with him getting off :mad: with what looked like an open and shut case. And you wonder why we have a high number of road deaths with s h i t like this going on.

Ringo
20/01/2008, 12:37 PM
Does anybody think he deliberately killed the boy?

MR JUSTICE CARNEY: After the death, the cover-up was appalling. There can be no excusing what was done. There can be no mitigating of what was done. The cover-up caused incredible grief and distress to the Holohan family. It permitted of the body being mutilated by animals, it tied up the emergency services of the State over a protracted period and caused the people of Ireland as a whole to join in the Holohans' grief.

http://216.239.59.104/search?q=cache:kjMC1goHlDsJ:www.courts.ie/Courts.ie/Library3.nsf/0/EDA4BB5A0EC77A37802571000054C53A%3FOpenDocument+wa yne+o%27donoghue&hl=en&ct=clnk&cd=1&gl=ie

He really should have been charged in relation to his actions after the killing.

Thunderblaster
20/01/2008, 12:39 PM
I bought the book on the Robert Holohan case last night and it is one helluva great read. Most of you should know the book. "Afraid of the Dark".

20/01/2008, 3:54 PM
He really should have been charged in relation to his actions after the killing.
Charged with what, exactly? If he was charged with obstruction of justice after giving himself in and pleading guilty, it would throw obstruction of justice to the dogs and you'd never have such a confession again.

Why do so many people care more about what happened afterwards? When he was dead, he was dead. A dead body is no more representative of the person that once gave it life than the room they lived in or the clothes they wore.

Ringo
20/01/2008, 4:24 PM
Why do so many people care more about what happened afterwards? When he was dead, he was dead. A dead body is no more representative of the person that once gave it life than the room they lived in or the clothes they wore.

After the death, the cover-up was appalling. There can be no excusing what was done. There can be no mitigating of what was done. The cover-up caused incredible grief and distress to the Holohan family. It permitted of the body being mutilated by animals, it tied up the emergency services of the State over a protracted period and caused the people of Ireland as a whole to join in the Holohans' grief. It cannot be dismissed as being due to panic, by reason of the calculation and deliberation involved.

If it was my child. Think that sums it up.

20/01/2008, 4:34 PM
If it was my child. Think that sums it up.

Charged with what?

Ringo
20/01/2008, 8:42 PM
Charged with what?

Perverting the cause of justice, wasting police time, I’m sure there are a few more things. I find it so hard to believe that you could be so cold as to say that the boys’ body was nothing less than a suit of clothes. What his parents went through, hoping that he was still alive. He gave them false hope. he gave himself up, after the funeral, when the Guards were closing in on him. I accept he’s served his time, but when you read Justice Carneys judgement, he deliberately gave him a short sentence, because he didn't want his sentence to be over turned.