He's a Sod of the highest order and should still be inside for a long time to come for what he did and the coolness with which he covered it up.
http://www.breakingnews.ie/ireland/mheyeyidcwojIn a newspaper interview today, Mark Holohan described Mr O'Donoghue's statement as "a stunt" and said he had "some neck on him apologising like that".
It did seem very pre-prepared. Even the language used. I think what Wayne O’Donoghue did after the death of Robert makes it impossible to have any sympathy for him.
He's a Sod of the highest order and should still be inside for a long time to come for what he did and the coolness with which he covered it up.
Last edited by Block G Raptor; 17/01/2008 at 12:23 PM.
Wow, he's pre-prepared statement was actually pre-prepared, that is breaking news!!
it was an acidental death, getting a young lad ina headlock, it went wrong, he panicked and did the wrong thing(the worst thing he could have done, but it just went too far).
It wasnt cold blooded murder, he has expressed deep regret and served his time, i think its time to let him get on with his life..
'How can I hate women, my Mums one!!!' Chris Finch
My opinion may be seen as cold and overly liberal by a lot of people on here, but the way I see it is; we have a justice system in this country, Wayne O'Donoghue was tried and sentenced by this system, he served his time and has expressed nothing but remorse. He chose to face the media and apologise for his actions, when it is widely accepted that he could have left the country and been given a new identity, never to be heard of again. His crime is one that most will struggle to comprehend, particularly his attempts to cover it up, but, we are not judge or jury and we accept their ruling. Would another 10 years in prison have made any difference to the family of Robert Holohan? I very much doubt it. O'Donoghue will live with the guilt and pain that his actions have caused, he will most likely be a pariah, at best, if he chooses to remain in Ireland. His family has also suffered and are dealing with the fall out from his actions. Maybe they will gain some comfort from his release.
It's a desperately sad story, but the rumour, innuendo and speculation around the case has been nothing short of criminal at times. People need to accept that the case has ended, a sentence was handed down and served, and now we need to move on. I couldn't speculate as to how I'd feel if Robert was a member of my family, it's possible that I'd feel differently, but that's my view on the case at present.
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Tallaght Stadium Regular
If the law was followed strictly his mother could've been jailed for contempt of court for that victim impact statement.
The whole thing is a sad situation, not helped by the Irish press who seem to be doing their best to emulate their British counterparts.
I agree with the posts by Citizenerased and Passinginterest. Good to read some level headed comments on the issue.
I think I should the parachute, because I'm great.
In fact, I think I should get both parachutes, in case one doesn't work.
Agreed Justice was served, however its the justice system in this country that I have more issue with than WOD. Sentances handed down are IMO By and Large too lenient.
A crucial point is that there certainly appears to have been no pre-meditation or intent to kill. It was a tragic series of events that leaves O'Donoghue with blood on his hands and Robert Holohan's life cut tragically short.
I think O'Donoghue's statement should be taken at face value. In a case of accidental death, which I believe it was, it is fitting and right that he express his remorse and be allowed to do so.
Certain elements have their mind made up in relation to O'Donoghue and whether he made a statement or not would not make a blind bit of difference in relation to their view.
There is no definitive right or wrong in this situation and comments from certain quarters have been unhelpful and uncharitable to put it mildly.
Quoting years at random since 1975
I was quite annoyed this week there was two big cases this week the mother who murdered her 16 year old daughter in cold blood and the release of a young man that was involved in a terrible accident.
The media has at every chance referred to WOD as "child killer" and hinted at some peado aspect to it. While having nothing but sympathy for this woman that committed premeditated cold blooded murder where she drowned her daughter a horrible death she is a psychologist so would know exactly how to pretend to be insane the expert witness was her friend. All I heard was this poor woman hopefully she will be well again some day to return home. She should never be left out she should be locked up she is a serious danger to others.
One guy from the sun was on the radio saying that they will hunt WOD down to try and get an interview no matter where he goes and will take pictures of him once he steps onto public property as its in the public interest. So he had to make at least one statement to the media. It had to be carefully prepared as if he tried to make an off the cuff statement he could have said something wrong that the press would take and twist very quickly.
There was no question what so ever that any kind of sexual activity took place there was no sperm on his body this report was completely discredited not that there wasn’t enough evidence it means there was no evidence.
Roberts mother has lots of questions but should really start looking at herself she asked what her son was doing in his room at 7 in the morning ? yes misses what was your son doing? why where you not supervising your child ? There are many more questions about her parenting that I cant go into here.
I feel so sorry for this guy his whole life is ruined he will never get over this he will never get a job or be left forget this by mindless idiots that think they have a right to abuse him.
While his actions after the fact where stupid no one here can honestly say how they would react as they have never killed anyone. He has served his time that’s the way the justice system works in this country and that should be it he should be left alone from now on.
I think the point being made was probably more that it seems - to me at least - to have been pre-prepared by someone else. It would have come across as more believable if it used less...careful and flowery language and more natural language. It read like a press release, carefully drafted by someone else in conjunction with a solicitor. Now maybe that's not true, but that's the thought I had when I listened to it on the radio.
On an administrative note, I don't want to see any tabloidesque - that's "like something from the Star", if you're a Star reader - crap on this thread please. So far the comments have been pretty mature, but the likes of BGRs comment - no surprise there - is below the level I'd like to see here. There have been flaws with the way this was handled certainly - although I'd argue that the Gardaí are more at fault than anyone else - but from a legal POV the man was tried and jailed, and that's that.
Last edited by dahamsta; 17/01/2008 at 4:07 PM.
Little to add to what Passinginterest said which about covers it.
Listening to the radio on my way into work this morning I had to listen to unhinged, sanctimonious **** being spouted by a clown from one of the "Irish" redtops about how he and his paper were "firmly on the Holohans side" (there's sides in this now apparently) how Roberts parents got a life sentence but O'Donoghue didn't (stating the obvious) ...and then the despicable toe rag said this ...
"if any pictures emerge of Wayne O'Donoghue having a pint in his local or meeting his girlfriend we'd certainly be interested in them"
...and all I could think of was never tiring of punching his greedy fcuking face in. That this gob****e could come on our national airwaves and, over the grave of a little boy, tout for business so he can sell his vulgar muck is just beyond all.
" I wish to God that someone would be able to block out the voices in my head for five minutes, the voices that scream, over and over again: "Why do they come to me to die?"
Perhaps, but I think it would have played better if it had been more natural. You'd probably have less of the pathetic wailing and gnashing of teeth from the media today anyway.
That was what i felt about the statement. He never looked up once. He just read in an unemotional way. I've no doubt he regrets what he did on the day & yes he's served the sentence given to him. However no one other than him really knows what happened. Lets be honest, his actions after the death of Robert were cold and calculating.
Last edited by dahamsta; 17/01/2008 at 4:07 PM.
If we live in a society then we must live by the rules of said society. Therefore the courts are there to pass judgement, if we don't want to go down that route and make our own law or take it into our own hands you might get personal satisfaction but then you must expect society to use their rule to judge you.
It is a sad affair but it has shown the human failing of all individuals involved, that isn't a judgement it is an observation on the fault us humans have, each and every single one of us. I would hate to have been involved in any way shape or form with this case. The death of anyone is a life changing event for the people who love them.
It's only just begun...............
If the last 21 years were class, here's looking forward to the next 21 years. It is our time
He had to read it like that he couldnt laugh or the press would crucify him he couldnt cry coz the press would crucify him ( crocidile tears or saying he put on a preformance for the camera's). He is in a no win situation no matter what he does he will get slated for it. Imagine now if he is in public and dare smiles that picture will be all over the front pages with "smug child killer laughing it up" headlines.
And his actions after where not cold and calculating they where sloppy and rushed the cold a calculating killers dont get caught they certainly don't give themselves up.
his actions after the death were a perfect example of panic and fear. Cold and calculated is not dumping the body in a black bag and then trying to act normal before cracking.
What annoys me is that while this guy has served his sentence, admitted guilt and apologised, we're still talking about this guy 4 years later while drug peddlers, gun runners and get half the bile and bare-faced threats he has received. FFS even drunk drivers are more "guilty" than this guy, whether they've hit someone or not.
As for Mrs Holohan and her VIS, while I can imagine her mental state, she should not have been allowed to sully the defendants name with conjecture and speculation that she didn't understand. I fear her ill-informed words, and the related ill-informed opinions of thugs around the country, will be the death of O'Donoghue some day; while real rapists and molesters are walking free at the moment.
Your Chairperson,
Gavin
Membership Advisory Board
"Ex Bardus , Vicis"
Gavin.....I....I....agree! Whats going on??
Seriously, he has been punished according to the law, he seems to have shown genuine remorse. The issue of whether the statement was "cold" or not is not so important, I'd say that his lawyer recommended a scripted statement so there would be no pitfalls of any kind.