View Full Version : Pre-Season Friendlies

Pages : 1 [2] 3 4 5

14/02/2008, 4:57 PM
yeah cook said in an interview he wants to have a look at some players on monday night so its on as far as we're concerned.
theres a few of us going up, myself, sligoman, rovers1, rory h, donal e, deecay maybe and a few more?

14/02/2008, 5:30 PM
youll know me,Sligoman and Donal anyway....the only ones sober...
youll also know feo....he'll be a total mess

:P

DonalE
14/02/2008, 5:55 PM
I'm the quiet one

14/02/2008, 6:42 PM
There'll be a song or two no doubt

cmak-88
14/02/2008, 6:44 PM
how ye all gettin up? wouldn mind goin.

14/02/2008, 6:54 PM
i'll go if there's a spare seat... lads?

deecay
14/02/2008, 7:03 PM
Deecays duel personalities are going

14/02/2008, 7:10 PM
The debut of Boco could draw a crowd:D

forza rovers
14/02/2008, 7:10 PM
is it 7.45 the game is on monday

14/02/2008, 7:59 PM
brewer ask sligoman he might have a spare seat i think ;)

14/02/2008, 11:03 PM
brewer ask sligoman he might have a spare seat i think ;)Afraid not, my car is full. Ask your brother, sure theirs only 2 of ye going in that car so you'd have 3 spare for anyone interested yeah?

15/02/2008, 5:00 PM
my dog ate the back seat unfortunatly

clubman
15/02/2008, 6:32 PM
my dog ate the back seat unfortunatly

The more room the merrier ;-)

17/02/2008, 12:31 AM
Harps game is on same day as Cookie's 41st birthday...a birthday greeting will have to be sang:).

17/02/2008, 11:29 AM
http://www.oceanfm.ie/onair/sligoleitrimsport.php?articleid=000002019

This Friday night we take on Finn Harps
in a friendly game in the Showgrounds at 8pm(10euro for adults 5euro for
children and O.A.P.s)

does anyone know if it's definitely 8 bells?

17/02/2008, 11:35 AM
Well it's been advertised for 8pm ever since it was announced so I'd say so.

forza rovers
17/02/2008, 6:13 PM
does any one know if boco is playing against athlone on monday?

clubman
17/02/2008, 8:08 PM
does any one know if boco is playing against athlone on monday?

I know but if I say you'll either say I'm negative, complaining, stupid or all three.
So to save that embarrassment I'll just say .............

Rovers fan
17/02/2008, 8:44 PM
lads dont even bother replying

17/02/2008, 8:52 PM
I know but if I say you'll either say I'm negative, complaining, stupid or all three.
So to save that embarrassment I'll just say .............

go on you flirt tell us!!!

atfconline
17/02/2008, 10:56 PM
For anyone travelling to the game tomorrow night:

Approaching Athlone on the Roscommon Road (N61), join the Dual Carriageway at Ganly Roundabout, bound for Dublin. Leave Dual Carriageway two exits later (No.4). Turn right on leaving Dual Carriageway. Take first exit off Athlone RSC Roundabout (100 yards). Continue on this road until you see Athlone Town Stadium on your right.

Google Maps (http://maps.google.com/maps?q=http://bbs.keyhole.com/ubb/download.php%3FNumber%3D851163&om=1&ie=UTF8&z=13&ll=53.420582,-7.908783&spn=0.05207,0.160675)

deecay
17/02/2008, 11:07 PM
Whats the weather like there,heavy fog and -5 promised

DonalE
18/02/2008, 4:08 PM
Heard from 2 Athlone players on Saturday that we're playing them in another friendly in 2 weeks time. The rematch is in Sligo but not sure what day yet

Rovers fan
18/02/2008, 5:46 PM
Heard from 2 Athlone players on Saturday that we're playing them in another friendly in 2 weeks time. The rematch is in Sligo but not sure what day yet

hopefully is not another feckin friday like the harps game.

redtildead
18/02/2008, 6:30 PM
hopefully is not another feckin friday like the harps game.
Whats wrong with Friday?

Rovers fan
18/02/2008, 6:36 PM
Whats wrong with Friday?

training. I'll either fake injury(every other excuse has been used up) or else i'll only make the 2nd half. I'm trying to save an excuse for pats away!!

redtildead
18/02/2008, 6:39 PM
training. I'll either fake injury(every other excuse has been used up) or else i'll only make the 2nd half. I'm trying to save an excuse for pats away!!

Or else tell the gaelic manager you prefer Rovers:D

forza rovers
18/02/2008, 6:40 PM
training. I'll either fake injury(every other excuse has been used up) or else i'll only make the 2nd half. I'm trying to save an excuse for pats away!! skip traning come to the game:D

south sligo red
18/02/2008, 7:23 PM
Does anyone know if there has been any developments in lissywollen so far?

Only1Rovers
18/02/2008, 8:46 PM
Does anyone know if there has been any developments in lissywollen so far?

Dunno, its all very quite, surley someone has sent someone a text?

redtildead
18/02/2008, 8:51 PM
Finished 1-1. Rovers went 1 nil down. Boco equalised with a penalty. All I know so far

south sligo red
18/02/2008, 9:01 PM
Cheers. Was goin insane not knowing! Result is a bit disappointing though.

Only1Rovers
18/02/2008, 9:03 PM
Doesn't sound very exciting. At least Boco got off the mark.

red arrow
18/02/2008, 9:31 PM
was not at the game but rang friend who was at it . boco did not play to long and 5 athlone players booked. thats all i got. dont be to dissapointed friendlies have no bearing on real competition and it will take a bit of time for players to gel. exciting times ahead

Rovers fan
18/02/2008, 9:45 PM
sure remember monaghan last year and we still started the season well

redtildead
18/02/2008, 10:37 PM
Cheers. Was goin insane not knowing! Result is a bit disappointing though.

Wouldnt read into it too much though. Apart from Coolaney its the first game back and its all about gettin players games and fitness at this stage. Better performances will follow...hopefully:p

18/02/2008, 11:56 PM
Jennings
Butler
McKenzie
Mauro Almeida
Cretaro
Murphy(Cash)
Moore
O'Grady
Doherty
Faz
Judge(Boco)

Cook said before hand that their was not much point in starting Coleman, Peers and Ventre as they're suspended for the first game, they did travel though. Also said again about Boco being a good signing and that we'll really like him. Athlone were fairly physical, tackles flying in early on, O'Grady and Levi Tierney(playing for Athlone) had a couple of 'incidents' with each other. Not too exciting of a game but still a good run out. Athlone had ex-Rovers players Jason McCartney, Jim Sheridan, Rossi, Jinks, David O'Dowd and Levi Tierney in their team. Levine scored their goal with a header.

About 25-30 Rovers fans there.

deecay
19/02/2008, 12:00 AM
Good night,the flare,Boco and Section O's leader Martinho were highlights.Coldest night ever

deecay
19/02/2008, 12:11 AM
Also heard we are playing Carbury the 29th,friday before Pats

19/02/2008, 12:12 AM
wasnt the best of games we didnt play great until the last 20/25 minutes, we passed the ball around well in that spell, i liked Boco he looked to get on the ball alot and never gave it away, result isnt the most important thing either, moore looked good also.
also thought almeida was decent, no nonsense defender by the looks of things

redtildead
19/02/2008, 7:25 AM
Why was Levi playing for Athlone?
Dd he sign last week

19/02/2008, 10:45 AM
Any more word on the return leg in the Showgrounds?

DRDoc
19/02/2008, 11:38 AM
Levi hasnt signed yet - but he hopes too as he reckons he needs to get some games in at this stage

DonalE
19/02/2008, 12:22 PM
Any more word on the return leg in the Showgrounds?

Nothing yet, thought i'd have heard something last night but no.

19/02/2008, 2:12 PM
heard we might be playing carbury friday week.

deecay
19/02/2008, 3:33 PM
heard we might be playing carbury friday week.
Whered ya hear the Feo? Try 6 posts up:mad:

19/02/2008, 3:54 PM
goodman...never saw that

forza rovers
19/02/2008, 4:22 PM
Athlone had ex-Rovers players Jason McCartney, Jim Sheridan, Rossi, Jinks, David O'Dowd and Levi Tierney in their team.he plays for us:confused:and ciarn kelly also played for us

DonalE
19/02/2008, 4:26 PM
Must say I was impressed with O'Dowd last night

Boo_Boy
19/02/2008, 4:43 PM
he plays for us:confused:and ciarn kelly also played for us he was sub keeper to o'hara when we won the league

all players in the list played for us!

thats why sligo man said 'ex-rovers'

and i dont know what you on talking about ciaran kelly playing for us in 05'.:eek:

if i remember correctly it was alvin rouse who was out sub keeper,kelly played back around 02' but left to join Derry City.