View Full Version : Pre-Season Friendlies

Pages : 1 2 3 [4] 5

24/02/2008, 10:28 PM
here we go again.....it was Faz 2 years ago, then choice, then manson, now it looks as if its doherty, dont know why ye had to pick him out of a bad bunch in the first half, about 2 players played well in the first half, then he scored a cracker in the 2nd half and played much better. i think he'll be a very good addition to the side and gives us good balance in the midfield2 out of those 3 mentioned have been proven true and released by the club;). Like I said to jerry, nobody is picking on him or anything, he had a bad game and a few of us pointed that out. He didn't play much better in the 2nd half like you say imo, great goal but nothing else. He will have to improve, and I'm sure he will, surely you can admit that? Or would you be happy him playing like that the whole time[apart from the goal obviously]?

Battery Rover
25/02/2008, 10:27 AM
Sligo Rovers vs Athlone Town Saturday 1st March Time to be confirmed.

deecay
25/02/2008, 3:37 PM
Herad that alright,Carbury Fridays seems to be off

25/02/2008, 3:42 PM
Carbury Fridays seems to be off:D, told ya, that's a tenner you owe me now.

deecay
25/02/2008, 3:44 PM
I dont remember you betting me a tenner that Carbury might be off?

25/02/2008, 3:50 PM
I dont remember you betting me a tenner that Carbury might be off?I said we were playing Saturday, you said Friday. Looks like you were wrong.

deecay
25/02/2008, 3:52 PM
You said you wanted us to be playing Saturday,your just embarrsing yourself and your country now,im going to stop replying to so a childish poster

25/02/2008, 3:54 PM
You said you wanted us to be playing Saturday,your just embarrsing yourself and your country now,im going to stop replying to so a childish posterYou said we were playing this Friday, wrong. Bye then!

roversforever
26/02/2008, 7:27 AM
Cant believe your judging this lad after half a game against coolaney,90 mins against Athlone and 67 mins against Finn Harps,who by the way has scored 2 world class goals and created the penalty at Athlone.Anyway keep slagging him off and when someone comes along and takes him away from rovers.Its a joke,dont you think our players look at the website.For gods sake hes been here 5 mins.

u want to have a read of my post before you go jumping in at the deep end.what i said was im not judging him and what's your first sentence...can't believe your judging this lad"!im not judging him at all,im saying he had a poor game but im not about to start judging people yet.anybody can have a bad game,therefore he will get the benefit of the doubt and will be judged over a period of time,same as any new player!

deecay
26/02/2008, 5:09 PM
My mother works with a fella who is fairly high up with Carbury and he said that he thinks the game is still on,Rovers havent told them anything different

forza rovers
26/02/2008, 5:31 PM
what time are we playing athlone

26/02/2008, 9:16 PM
My mother works with a fella who is fairly high up with Carbury and he said that he thinks the game is still on,Rovers havent told them anything different

that saudi billionaire is it?

deecay
26/02/2008, 11:09 PM
that saudi billionaire is it?
Yep,thats him

villarover
27/02/2008, 7:07 PM
Is there any more pre season friendly planned before our first game against pats?

redtildead
27/02/2008, 7:12 PM
They played carbury tonight in the showgrounds must have been at 6oclock

By the time I found out about it the game was over

Rovers fan
27/02/2008, 7:23 PM
They played carbury tonight in the showgrounds must have been at 6oclock

By the time I found out about it the game was over

yeah i think it was on the astra turf was it?

27/02/2008, 7:24 PM
Won 5-0. Judge (x2), McLoughlin, Faz(x2). Jamie McKenzie ref and Cook came on for the last 10 mins. We only played a 60min game.

Rovers fan
27/02/2008, 7:26 PM
Won 4-0. Judge, McLoughlin, Faz(x 2). Jamie McKenzie ref and Cook came on for the last 10 mins. We only played a 60min game.

were they any good? How did the new signings play? was it on the astra turf?

27/02/2008, 7:30 PM
Won 4-0. Judge, McLoughlin, Faz(x 2). Jamie McKenzie ref and Cook came on for the last 10 mins. We only played a 60min game.

what game were you watching?

27/02/2008, 7:31 PM
were they any good? How did the new signings play? was it on the astra turf?Astro turf yeah. Boco came on for Cash(who came off injured) after about 10 mins.

Starting team was:

Brush, Foy, Peers, Ventre, Coleman, Raf, Feeney, Curran, Greene, Cash, Judge

forza rovers
27/02/2008, 7:31 PM
the same one as you were but from the other side of the pitch

27/02/2008, 7:34 PM
the same one as you were but from the other side of the pitch

no i was talkin to sligoman he said it was 4 nil when it was actaully 5 ;)

27/02/2008, 7:36 PM
no i was talkin to sligoman he said it was 4 nil when it was actaully 6 ;)5 actually;)

villarover
27/02/2008, 7:43 PM
Astro turf yeah. Boco came on for Cash(who came off injured) after about 10 mins.

Starting team was:

Brush, Foy, Peers, Ventre, Coleman, Raf, Feeney, Curran, Greene, Cash, Judge
How did Feeney get on? Is he up to that standard?

27/02/2008, 7:48 PM
How did Feeney get on? Is he up to that standard?

ya he done grand, as always he's calm on the ball....done a job anyway.
played centre mid in 1st half then moved to centre back in the 2nd.

deecay
27/02/2008, 10:10 PM
Feeney looked very good when he went to centre half for the 2nd half

Cash came off after about 28mins

28/02/2008, 8:29 AM
Athlone game confirmed
http://www.sligorovers.com/content/view/479/1/

atfconline
28/02/2008, 11:22 PM
Is Feeney still based in Dundalk?? Been terribly unfit the last two seasons, we would have loved to hold on to him otherwise.

28/02/2008, 11:25 PM
Is Feeney still based in Dundalk?? Been terribly unfit the last two seasons, we would have loved to hold on to him otherwise.No, he's left the guards afaik and is now back in Sligo.

deecay
28/02/2008, 11:25 PM
Pretty sure hes gone from there,Gerry Carr said he was unhappy there.Looks far beter than I taught he would have been after a few years of on and off football

atfconline
28/02/2008, 11:38 PM
Funnily enough, his last game for us was probably his best. Absolutely ran rings around the entire Limerick team.

forza rovers
01/03/2008, 8:46 PM
4-1 to rovers(cash,judge,feeny,cetaro)

Only1Rovers
01/03/2008, 9:15 PM
Difficult to take anything out of that game, apart from Athlone are a poor team and Boco looks quite good.

Thought Anto Murphy was great, he looked really eager and played to nice cross balls.

01/03/2008, 9:21 PM
Doherty did well tonight I thought. We really showed we can play football too, if only our pitch could hold up:(

01/03/2008, 10:48 PM
yeah doherty was very threathening down the left wing.
i thought murphy was very good aswell, solid in the air, and his long throws could be useful too. done much better tonight than he did last week. again same as last week the second half was so much better than the first, judgy wqas excellent in the second half, great finish and created a good few chance. goals we taken well, good to see steve feeney get his first goal since coming back, and nice to see Raff and cashy scoring too. i think thats cashys first goal for rovers!
some nice passing in the last third tonight and we would only look better on a good surface imo.
looking forward to friday now!

deecay
02/03/2008, 1:44 AM
As stated,Dotherty snd Anto did very well

Pre match music was great,possibally K.O.D. doing?

DonalE
02/03/2008, 8:57 AM
Was the first goal not an own goal? :confused: Thought it hit the post and went in off the keeper but was hard to see from where I was sitting.

red bellied
02/03/2008, 9:11 AM
Who were tthe centre halves last night?

02/03/2008, 9:23 AM
Almeida and McKenzie

red bellied
02/03/2008, 9:29 AM
Almeida and McKenzie

Cheers, how did they get on? Could be the weakest point of the team.

02/03/2008, 9:37 AM
I thought Almeida was good , no nonsense big strong and some good distribution

Rovers fan
02/03/2008, 11:32 AM
Was the first goal not an own goal? :confused: Thought it hit the post and went in off the keeper but was hard to see from where I was sitting.

while the keeper carried it over the line the ball was going in anyways as far as i could see.

Good result but hard to take much from that game, an extra game under their belts is a good thing and the new players looked promising. As was said I thought at times we played some nice football but our pitch will hold us back.

redtildead
02/03/2008, 12:00 PM
Was Butler even on the bench last night? I reckon the team last night will start against Pat's did he have a knock or something

DocRovers
02/03/2008, 12:02 PM
What was team & subs last nite? Judgie play all the game?

forza rovers
02/03/2008, 12:08 PM
jennings
raf mckenzie Almeida anto

dottery o'grady boco cash

judge faz

subs that came on
foy for anto
moore for cash
fenny for faz
green for dottery
ross for o'grady

clubman
02/03/2008, 12:38 PM
Pre match music was great,possibally K.O.D. doing?

Graham Monaghan take a bow!!
The Cookie song is terrific!!

02/03/2008, 12:41 PM
For those not there, this is one of the songs that was played:D

F64rTTOdpGI

red arrow
02/03/2008, 1:30 PM
good workout on a poor pitch. we tried to play football at all times. i was very impressed with mauro almeda da silva. big and strong, no nonsense approach.friday night is gonig to be very diffcult. i wuld be great if we could get a draw . we have to remain positive. if we can give good service (on the gound) to the likes of boco , faz and judge we will cause problems. the squod looks very strong and with a bit of luck we could be in for a roller coaster ride this season. hope we have good support. get the message out to all "bit o' red fans in dublin to bring the numbers out. with a vociferious support we can surprise pats. good luck to the team on friday night and paul and gerry as well.

Only1Rovers
02/03/2008, 1:33 PM
I thought Almeida was good , no nonsense big strong and some good distribution

Yea he looked capable, however defence is our weekest area i'd think.

Doherty did well tonight I thought. We really showed we can play football too, if only our pitch could hold up:(

Dont think he has a right foot. He had a number of oppertunities to turn into space when running at the Athlone right full, but ultimatly was forced into the tighter space to try and cross on his left.

Having said that, he looks like he could do a job.

Rovers fan
02/03/2008, 2:04 PM
however defence is our weekest area i'd think.

in all fairness coleman is unreal, butler looks quite good and peers is one of our best players. We are only one center half short of a good defense and almeida could be the man,we'll see. Having said that for the pats game our defense does not look great.