View Full Version : Georgie Signs
16/01/2008, 8:36 PM
Anytime he is mentioned, I will bring up his bad sides as he is a terrible professional sportsperson attitude-wise. Considering this is a thread discussing his possible return to the eircom league, I feel compelled to discuss his poor professional approach as I feel any club or fan who thinks he is worth signing needs to cop on and look at him carefully. I hope I never see him back in the eircom league and it's no surprise really that his career is circling the drain, hence why he's been frozen out at Ipswich, being turned down by the mighty Brighton and now he thinks people here are so fickle and forgetful that he can get a team here.
What is wrong with doing this? It's like your compulsion to berate the FAI at every chance or pineapple stu's devotion to supporting the eircom league sides in Europe.
If it "consumed" me, I would bring it up on every single occasion, no matter how irrelevant. I don't have a Georgie Watch thread and I don't actively look out for him in the press. Face, it's possible for people to feel strongly about things but not be obsessed with them.
You've put alot of thought into this Frank ..... its admirable. Like you said, you have your own life to live. Its good you're not obsessed.
deecay
16/01/2008, 9:08 PM
Shams are intrested from what ive heard
KianD
16/01/2008, 10:35 PM
Georgie turned down Brighton. Ask their fans what theuy think of him.
Hello.
Ego of the highest order, had gone off the boil in the last few games too.
17/01/2008, 1:49 AM
it's no surprise really that his career is circling the drain,
What?
He has a choice between probably the leagues two biggest clubs.
hence why he's been frozen out at Ipswich
The reason he's been frozen out of Ipswich Town is because he's not up to that standard.
being turned down by the mighty Brighton
God, you're really loseing this one.
You're completely wrong.
and now he thinks people here are so fickle and forgetful that he can get a team here.
Absolutely.:ball:
17/01/2008, 12:10 PM
What?
He has a choice between probably the leagues two biggest clubs.
Frank doesn't share the same option of the league as you do Risteard.
17/01/2008, 12:44 PM
and now he thinks people here are so fickle and forgetful that he can get a team here.Not all of us frank, some of us never forget.;)
17/01/2008, 12:47 PM
Not all of us frank, some of us never forget.;)
A few of his mazey runs and trickery on display and you'll forget all about it Razor ..... good times ahead ;):p
17/01/2008, 12:50 PM
A few of his mazey runs and trickery on display and you'll forget all about it Razor ..... good times ahead ;):pSome of us (http://www.iwoto.com/friendsofcorkcitypage.htm) are not so easily swayed.
17/01/2008, 12:59 PM
Some of us (http://www.iwoto.com/friendsofcorkcitypage.htm) are not so easily swayed.
Yeah but deep down, secretly ye're all glad he'll be back ;):D
Yeah but deep down, secretly ye're all glad he'll be back ;):DGlad he'll be back, yes but only cos hatred and bitterness are our thing.
Ambaiste!
19/01/2008, 9:19 PM
Rumours on ccfcforum.com that the deal is done and the King is coming home.
In the words of Estelle Costanza, ''Oh Georgie!''
Pablo Escobar
20/01/2008, 12:07 AM
Love him or hate him, you must admit, he's a character!
It'd be great to have him back, if only to p155 everyone else off! :D
20/01/2008, 10:49 AM
Rumours on ccfcforum.com that the deal is done and the King is coming home.
I'm sure the bars of Cork are delighted.
Pablo Escobar
20/01/2008, 11:08 AM
I'm sure the bars of Cork are delighted.
A few more to open I'd say
harry crumb
20/01/2008, 12:06 PM
Welcome home George!
Rob_the_cat
23/01/2008, 6:09 PM
I never understood all the Georgie bashing that went on. The guys quality and anybody would want them in their team, even if he could be a bit unpredictable.
I remember seeing him in a near deserted Dalymount one time against Dublin City. There was one moment where he was in the centre circle and must have been surrounded by 4/5 players. He just spun around and all of a sudden he was away and these lads left in his trail. He got cynically taken out of it outside the area, otherwise it could have been one of the all time great goals. Rico had to take him off that night for his own safety!
23/01/2008, 6:13 PM
Rico had to take him off that night for his own safety!
Rico had to take him off because we were 3-up against Dublin City and if you cant justify giving Ray Lally a game when you're 3-up against Dublin City, theres no hope for the kid :D
edit: Actually, shhhh that game never happened. Don't speak of it. Dublin who?
Rob_the_cat
23/01/2008, 6:20 PM
edit: Actually, shhhh that game never happened. Don't speak of it. Dublin who?
I forgot about that! Who was I supposed to go to in order to get my €15 refund for each of their games I went along to that year? Especially that horribly cold night just before Paddy's day when they beat Derry. I'll track you down Rocky!
23/01/2008, 7:12 PM
I hope Cork fans remember this is the same George who was pimping himself to every club possible before he left to go back across the water. He even pimped himself to the club he supposedly hated more than any other - Shels. Needless to say he was told, and i quote "f*ck off"
23/01/2008, 7:31 PM
I hope Cork fans remember this is the same George who was pimping himself to every club possible before he left to go back across the water.
Do ya?
Why?
23/01/2008, 7:34 PM
I hope Cork fans remember this is the same George who was pimping himself to every club possible before he left to go back across the water. He even pimped himself to the club he supposedly hated more than any other - Shels. Needless to say he was told, and i quote "f*ck off"
He's not the messiah, he's a very naughty boy.
23/01/2008, 9:11 PM
I never understood all the Georgie bashing that went on. The guys quality and anybody would want them in their team, even if he could be a bit unpredictable.
I always thought it was because he was a horrible person no? :confused:
24/01/2008, 7:20 AM
Thanks for reminding me.
In my own head I had Georgie mixed up with Mother Theresa:rolleyes:
Given the absolute hero worship of him by any of our fans that actually know/have met him then I doubt he's a horrible person.
He's probably a very likeable lad.
The Ego on the pitch on teh other hand............
Gingerh
24/01/2008, 8:12 AM
No - he is actually an extremely pleasant person when you meet him.
24/01/2008, 8:15 AM
Just got out of a Taxi driven by an employee of Boh's and he assures me that Bohs have no interest in Georgie
FACT
Gingerh
24/01/2008, 10:23 AM
Just got out of a Taxi driven by an employee of Boh's and he assures me that Bohs have no interest in Georgie
FACT
Did he by any chance need a few cushions to see out the windscreen?
Dricky
24/01/2008, 10:29 AM
FACT
A Rover's fan working for Bohs I smell a rat!!!!! :)
24/01/2008, 10:32 AM
Did he by any chance need a few cushions to see out the windscreen?
Nope, he used to be a Keeper in fact
oh to hell with it I'm sure he won't mind
Dermott O'Neill
24/01/2008, 11:16 AM
Pity Fenlon has stated he'd be interested in him then.
24/01/2008, 11:31 AM
Pity Fenlon has stated he'd be interested in him then.
He said he's always interested when players become available or some other non-committal/bog standard press release type statement
Carlin
24/01/2008, 6:55 PM
A Rover's fan working for Bohs I smell a rat!!!!! :)
Yeah, he's called our manager....
25/01/2008, 4:32 PM
Given the absolute hero worship of him by any of our fans that actually know/have met him then I doubt he's a horrible person.
He's probably a very likeable lad.
The Ego on the pitch on teh other hand............
No - he is actually an extremely pleasant person when you meet him.
Any non-Corkies able to verify this? No?
TO be clear, I am not a Georgie fan, I disagreed with his actions but I do want him back based simply on talent.
Also I have never met the lad.
Given he's from Cork Id wager most people(EL fans) that know him would also be from Cork.
25/01/2008, 9:03 PM
I do want him back based simply on talent.
This I can understand but there's a tendancy amongst certain Cork fans (not yourself) to gloss over his less desirable characteristics at times that seems needless. It is perfectly possible to admire his talent and still think he's an odious jerk.
Pablo Escobar
25/01/2008, 11:50 PM
I can.
This I can understand but there's a tendancy amongst certain Cork fans (not yourself) to gloss over his less desirable characteristics at times that seems needless. It is perfectly possible to admire his talent and still think he's an odious jerk.
But the fact being, anyone I know that has met him or knows him( a lot) thinks just the opposite.
Now on the pitch and in interviews etc sure all he's doing is trying to wind people up but if you actually see in person the absolute hero worship of lads down here who have met him you'd have to think he's a sound lad to be around.
My cousin is a prime example, George is his absolute idol and after he met him it only increased. He went to see n Ipswich game last year and George brought them to the players lounge introduced them to everyone and sent them home with his boots and shirt. And thats just the younger fellas.
Then theres the older fellas who actually hang around with him and some of the other players and also hero worship him.
That comes from more than just talent.
Do I like his attitude towards football at times, no. But knowing what I do about the effect he has on people who meet/know him then the only conclusion I can come to is that he's a sound lad
26/01/2008, 9:33 AM
Met him, have you?
26/01/2008, 2:25 PM
Met him, have you?
Sure I haven't met you either. :)
26/01/2008, 2:53 PM
Sure I haven't met you either. :)
Ever think that what people say or do to people they'll never meet is possibly just a wind-up and certainly not a reflection of them being a "horrible person" or a "complete jerk"?
26/01/2008, 2:56 PM
Ever think that what people say or do to people they'll never meet is possibly just a wind-up and certainly not a reflection of them being a "horrible person" or a "complete jerk"?
I certainly hope not otherwise several players would have a very negative portrayal of me. Ah I dunno GavinZac, maybe it's just drink-drivers I have no respect for?
http://archive.theargus.co.uk/2007/10/11/243519.html
26/01/2008, 3:11 PM
Ah I dunno GavinZac, maybe it's just drink-drivers I have no respect for?
http://archive.theargus.co.uk/2007/10/11/243519.html
Oh I agree with that, and its partially the reason I can't post on ccfcforums. However, as the saying goes "hes done his time" and supposedly matured from being a "reckless self-absorbed idiot". To call someone a horrible person because of something they did quite a while ago, apologised for, served their time for, and learned from is, to me, unfair.
As for your judgement of me, I mean at least I've insulted your home city rather than barely being aware of its existence á la Georgie ;)
26/01/2008, 3:15 PM
As for your judgement of me, I mean at least I've insulted your home city rather than barely being aware of its existence á la Georgie ;)
What judgement? :confused: :rolleyes:
26/01/2008, 3:20 PM
What judgement? :confused:
The one you declined to specify but alluded to in relation to my question regarding your considering of people you haven't met as horrible people and odious jerks.
To put things into perspective, O'Callaghan was arrested the same year as Wayne O'Donoghue.
26/01/2008, 3:23 PM
The one you declined to specify but alluded to in relation to my question regarding your considering of people you haven't met as horrible people and odious jerks.
To put things into perspective, O'Callaghan was arrested the same year as Wayne O'Donoghue.
I don't think all people I haven't met are horrible people and/or odious jerks if that helps to bandage the wound.
And to get back on topic somewhat I suspect that Boy George is coming home which should please you somewhat anyway. :)
26/01/2008, 3:39 PM
And to get back on topic somewhat I suspect that Boy George is coming home which should please you somewhat anyway. :)
Somewhat! If it could be a different player of equal ability or if George realises his place in the world, I'd be extremely happy. I do, however, fear George's "Fallout Syndrome".
Pablo Escobar
30/01/2008, 7:20 PM
Reel out the RED CARPET- He's back!!! :eek:
ramsfan
30/01/2008, 10:28 PM
so easy to wind up bring on the derby matches, :D
Pablo Escobar
30/01/2008, 10:36 PM
so easy to wind up bring on the derby matches, :D
Are ye? Georgie should have a field day so :D