View Full Version : Is Ger Finnan gone?

Pages : 1 [2]

11/01/2008, 11:29 PM
dont think the leader could have done any more or less at the moment.our...former ceo was quite clearly in fantasy land this season,the club is on its knees and debts owed are huge,probably in the region of 75 to 100 k.its hard to know what the rest of the supposed junta were doing while all this was going on,i thought we had a ...finiancial controller etc.....lets get DREW back i say....

Limerick soccer will always need a DD €€€€ IMO as for that unionist rag, facts please not speculation, who the **** is the editor John O'Shaughnessy? "i heard a man whos son was at a manchester united game who overheard etc etc" I love the part where they sum up by saying that there are rumours and that there writing a story or finishing it based on rumours. ive heard about debts but dont think there that big fairkop

Treaty Gooner
11/01/2008, 11:58 PM
Limerick soccer will always need a DD €€€€ IMO as for that unionist rag, facts please not speculation, who the **** is the editor John O'Shaughnessy? "i heard a man whos son was at a manchester united game who overheard etc etc" I love the part where they sum up by saying that there are rumours and that there writing a story or finishing it based on rumours. ive heard about debts but dont think there that big fairkop

so if not that big, then what kind of trouble are we in gael? seeing as you seem to be the one with the inside information?

12/01/2008, 9:48 AM
how has an exagerrated 50k gone to 75-100k?

why ask for Drew back when the FAI would rather appoint the IFA to monitor them than allow him take charge of an EL club again?

**** stirring?

12/01/2008, 12:31 PM
so if not that big, then what kind of trouble are we in gael? seeing as you seem to be the one with the inside information?

ha, nice one, tell you what pm me and ill tell you everything :rolleyes: now the leader on the other hand have someone it would appear on the inside as you say but their information/speculation/second guessing from the bottom of a pint glass in the white house is waffle. That is why some posters on here who know far far more then me can rubbish all that unionist rag has had to offer...very little as it would be.

barryk
12/01/2008, 2:40 PM
ha, nice one, tell you what pm me and ill tell you everything :rolleyes: now the leader on the other hand have someone it would appear on the inside as you say but their information/speculation/second guessing from the bottom of a pint glass in the white house is waffle. That is why some posters on here who know far far more then me can rubbish all that unionist rag has had to offer...very little as it would be.

Hi Gael,
I know you dislike the leader but can you tell me what they printed that you think was incorrect.
Will you admit you were wrong when the truth is out?
As for your Unionist jibe- get over it - remember the Good Friday agreement.
ps John O'Shaughnessy is gone from Leader and now does work for the Limerick Post

12/01/2008, 5:48 PM
Hi Gael,
I know you dislike the leader

not true i have many good things to say about the leader and have friends working in there

but can you tell me what they printed that you think was incorrect.

ill politely dicline your offer there Barry as some people on here think what i have is gospel ill let far more intelligent beings on here do that for you.

Will you admit you were wrong when the truth is out?

i will indeed admit i was wrong should i be if and when the full facts come out but as to your so far "facts"= speculation/waffle/crap its like print 20 or so sentences one maybe correct and then say you/the leader was right? dont think so

As for your Unionist jibe- get over it - remember the Good Friday agreement.
ps John O'Shaughnessy is gone from Leader and now does work for the Limerick Post

im well aware of both those actual facts but i chose to bide my time on the first and as for O'Shaughnessy, lets just say the leaders "journalism" is very O'Shaughnessyish!

Treaty Gooner
12/01/2008, 6:11 PM
Well lads, gotta say it's not easy to live in hope with most of ye around...

Fairkop
12/01/2008, 8:11 PM

howya gael,i am now revising that figure to well over 100k given what i know today.as for rumour spilling think you will find from previous history my comments are never far off the mark,must say in this case with a lot of sadness at the mess that has been made of L37.HOPEFULLY the knight in shining armour ...ka the fai...will save the day.

L37Ultra
12/01/2008, 9:14 PM
Well lads, gotta say it's not easy to live in hope with most of ye around...

Welcome to reality!!:)

13/01/2008, 1:53 AM
howya gael,i am now revising that figure to well over 100k given what i know today.as for rumour spilling think you will find from previous history my comments are never far off the mark,must say in this case with a lot of sadness at the mess that has been made of L37.HOPEFULLY the knight in shining armour ...ka the fai...will save the day.

thats fair comment FK as you obviously know more about this then i do. But what i do know is, there are some good people comming to the fore again in the club and they will have the club in the 1st division this comming season. The usual suspects as it were.

Halfback
13/01/2008, 7:43 AM
thats fair comment FK as you obviously know more about this then i do. But what i do know is, there are some good people comming to the fore again in the club and they will have the club in the 1st division this comming season. The usual suspects as it were.

Thats good to hear Gael that their are good people coming to the fore. But what Ive heard from LDMC is that L37 wont be given the use of Jackman Park over all the monies that they are owed and that the clubs will vote on this. If this is true is there any back up plan for an alternative ground to use.:confused:

13/01/2008, 11:55 AM
Thats good to hear Gael that their are good people coming to the fore. But what Ive heard from LDMC is that L37 wont be given the use of Jackman Park over all the monies that they are owed and that the clubs will vote on this. If this is true is there any back up plan for an alternative ground to use.:confused:

Lot of stuff in there halfback that i know nothing about maybe ur LDMC source can fill u in better then i. But yes good people are very much involved and progress the club to great things.

13/01/2008, 12:32 PM
But what Ive heard from LDMC is that L37 wont be given the use of Jackman Park over all the monies that they are owed and that the clubs will vote on this.

If the clubs vote to shut L37 down they are stupid.

Damn It, We're doomed :eek: :eek: :rolleyes:

13/01/2008, 12:44 PM
seeing as you seem to be the one with the inside information?

*Drumroll*

I can now reveal in full the clubs financial situation:

The figured owed is infact 1.785 million Euro

986,328 Euro of this debt is money owed on Jaffa cakes and coffee which are handed out to the board members at the dozens of meetings which are held weekly simply to try and provide the Limerick Leader with gossip

Ger Finnin has not infact resigned.

Rather he has travelled to Parma in a top secret attempt to save the much vaunted Errea Cup.

This plan will see Limerick 37 play Parma 12 times in 7 days at various famous landmarks around the world in an attempt to raise the funds.

I can also give you a sneak preview of the Limerick Leaders next report on the current troubles at the the club:

Rumour would have it that Limerick once had a great side, rumoured to be playing in the Markets Field. It has been whispered around town that this was followed by a rumoured move to Hogan Park which sources tell me is rumoured to be in the Rathbane area. Rumours of a rumoured relegation to the First Division were confirmed by a fella outside the office (possibly in the White House).
It is now rumoured that the senior soccer side have been involved in rumoured first division matches at Jackman Park, which sources would have me believe is located on Careys Road.
However in recent times whispers of rumours of rumoured financial trouble have alledgedly cropped up around town, or so the rumour goes

L37Ultra
13/01/2008, 10:23 PM
*Drumroll*

986,328 Euro of this debt is money owed on Jaffa cakes and coffee which are handed out to the board members at the dozens of meetings which are held weekly simply to try and provide the Limerick Leader with gossip

Rather he has travelled to Parma in a top secret attempt to save the much vaunted Errea Cup.

This plan will see Limerick 37 play Parma 12 times in 7 days at various famous landmarks around the world in an attempt to raise the funds.

I can also give you a sneak preview of the Limerick Leaders next report on the current troubles at the the club:

Classic!!:D:D

13/01/2008, 11:57 PM
Rumour would have it that Limerick once had a great side, rumoured to be playing in the Markets Field. It has been whispered around town that this was followed by a rumoured move to Hogan Park which sources tell me is rumoured to be in the Rathbane area. Rumours of a rumoured relegation to the First Division were confirmed by a fella outside the office (possibly in the White House).
It is now rumoured that the senior soccer side have been involved in rumoured first division matches at Jackman Park, which sources would have me believe is located on Careys Road.
However in recent times whispers of rumours of rumoured financial trouble have alledgedly cropped up around town, or so the rumour goes

POTM
Id coopyright that if i were you, could be lead story on one of their editions sometime this week :rolleyes:

GenerationXI
14/01/2008, 7:59 AM
*Drumroll*

The expert was in our midst all along...he's clearly an L37 spy sent here to test our devotion to the club! Hold the presses, if this becomes even remotely viable it'll certainly make the front page...[GenerationXI imagines the rag with the words 'our very own 007' in giant print smeared on its coverpage and a small child believing every word - presuming, of course, that nobody else would]

:cool:

Fairkop
14/01/2008, 12:18 PM

POTM
Id coopyright that if i were you, could be lead story on one of their editions sometime this week :rolleyes:

You just don`t understand how everyone else gets information before it reaches you.
It must annoy you with your involvement in the club being so anonymous.

Treaty Gooner
14/01/2008, 12:37 PM
You just don`t understand how everyone else gets information before it reaches you.

POTM....

Denis The Red
14/01/2008, 12:39 PM
Slightly confused here. Are you lot on about GER Finnan or Steve Finnan?
If it's former then I'll ask did anyone read his interview with Donn O'Sullivan in the Limerick Post before Christmas? He promised european football for Limerick within 5 years. He also said Celtic could come over for a pre-season friendly. Sorry if I don't find this amusing. First they sack McGhee even though he did an ok job in his first season, then the financial rumours where we might not even have loi football in the region and now this. So can anyone enlighten me as to what's going on?

14/01/2008, 2:22 PM
Slightly confused here. Are you lot on about GER Finnan or Steve Finnan?

I was talking about Albert Finnan :confused:

Denis The Red
14/01/2008, 3:27 PM
I was talking about Albert Finnan :confused:
Yeah I heard Albert was a decent centre half in his day

14/01/2008, 3:50 PM
Yeah I heard Albert was a decent centre half in his day Left full...played his best LOI football with Limerick as a left back.

14/01/2008, 4:15 PM
Am I the only one who thinks that the attacks on the local rag are a little bit of a smokescreen to the real issues here? :confused:

GenerationXI
14/01/2008, 6:57 PM
Am I the only one who thinks that the attacks on the local rag are a little bit of a smokescreen to the real issues here? :confused:

This is how we cope SLK. . . please we've lost everything else. . . :( also, that Albert Finnan quip was the single best comment I've read thus far. Also, it's not like you to defend rags of any kind...if this was the independent we were ragging on you'd be making an effigy. ;)

There are obviously serious issues at hand however, but with a startling lack of information and an overhwelming desire to kick and scream about something...well this is what one gets.

the dazzler
14/01/2008, 7:09 PM
Ya but whos opinion counts for more, Arbeloa's or the Dazzler's. I think we all know the answer to that one. :D

as i said hes gone caught with hes fingers in the cookie jar:D

14/01/2008, 7:38 PM

ehhh yea thats right! :rolleyes: if anyone knows anything about the club lads let me know please please please :cool:

the hoops
14/01/2008, 9:19 PM
ehhh yea thats right! :rolleyes: if anyone knows anything about the club lads let me know please please please :cool:

the fai were down with lim37 wensday+friday what was the outcome?

15/01/2008, 11:06 AM

I very much doubt it :rolleyes:

I've just two things to say about the Leader and I'm going to leave it at that as today is going to be my last on foot for awhile (I've decided there's a few things in my life need to take precedence over arguing the toss with you lot)

Anyway:

1. It's common knowledge that Ger finnin was hospitalised last week and remains fairly, shall we say highly strung, for want of a better term. Now is it really good journalism to be picking through the circumstances around his resignation at this juncture?? Time and a place and all that

2. Why would a company in grave financial difficulty (As Limerick apparently are if the Leader is to be believed) make known the exact details of said difficulties at what would doubtless be a delicate juncture in any efforts to sort them out?? Why is the Leader still pushing it then??

barryk
15/01/2008, 11:25 AM
I very much doubt it :rolleyes:

2. Why would a company in grave financial difficulty (As Limerick apparently are if the Leader is to be believed) make known the exact details of said difficulties at what would doubtless be a delicate juncture in any efforts to sort them out?? Why is the Leader still pushing it then??

Because Limerick 37 is not the plaything of the supporters club.
There are shareholders and vested interests in LDMC with monies owing etc.
It would be amiss of the paper not to look for answers.
You have to stop thinking that the press looking for an answer equates to gutter journalism.
Since the new sports editor took over last season he has been nothing but kind to the L37 agreeing to print only the official line and unlike his predecessors he can be seen at games.

15/01/2008, 11:34 AM

What in the name of God are you wittering on about here??

D'uh.

If anything is going on behind the scenes, they are not going to get them. It's not in anyones interest for them to get them. That is all.

Treaty Gooner
15/01/2008, 11:52 AM
What in the name of God are you wittering on about here??

D'uh.

If anything is going on behind the scenes, they are not going to get them. It's not in anyones interest for them to get them. That is all.

Just because you don't agree with the response to your post doesn't make it incorrect...

From what I can see, the supporters club does good work, but this doesn't give them a divine right to dismiss any other contributions to the discussion as 'wittering on'. I agree with Barryk. I hope the club sorts itself out and I'll be supporting it by getting to as many games as I can next season. I think Limerick needs senior soccer, and none of its problems are going to be solved with barstool philosophy and 'told you so' mentalities. When people like Kerley, or a rep. of the LDMC come out and make a statement, I'll believe it. Until then, the majority of the waffle on this site is nothing but an entertaining distraction.

Denis The Red
15/01/2008, 2:35 PM
Just because you don't agree with the response to your post doesn't make it incorrect...

From what I can see, the supporters club does good work, but this doesn't give them a divine right to dismiss any other contributions to the discussion as 'wittering on'. I agree with Barryk. I hope the club sorts itself out and I'll be supporting it by getting to as many games as I can next season. I think Limerick needs senior soccer, and none of its problems are going to be solved with barstool philosophy and 'told you so' mentalities. When people like Kerley, or a rep. of the LDMC come out and make a statement, I'll believe it. Until then, the majority of the waffle on this site is nothing but an entertaining distraction.

Here, here

15/01/2008, 2:40 PM
Here, here

Odd how many people have signed up to add their support to the blow ins in recent weeks :confused:

Just because you don't agree with the response to your post doesn't make it incorrect....

Whats the point of having an opinion if you don't think it's correct?

barryk
15/01/2008, 3:30 PM
[QUOTE=jebus;854275]Odd how many people have signed up to add their support to the blow ins in recent weeks:QUOTE]

Calling possible new fans blow ins is the type of attitude that scares people away from the supporters club

Maybe you should set up a new thread with all your friends and ye can all agree how good things are.

L37Ultra
15/01/2008, 3:37 PM
[quote=jebus;854275]Odd how many people have signed up to add their support to the blow ins in recent weeks:QUOTE]

Calling possible new fans blow ins is the type of attitude that scares people away from the supporters club

What has jebus' comment got to do with the Supporters Club. Foot.ie isnt just for the SC:confused:

Treaty Gooner
15/01/2008, 4:10 PM
Whats the point of having an opinion if you don't think it's correct?

Again, just because YOU THINK it's correct, doesn't make it correct. Nor does it make what someone else may think incorrect, or make that person a fool for thinking it.

eg:

The Leader's sh*t
No it's not
Yes it is
No it's not

etc

Maybe it is, maybe it isn't, you're entitled to your opinion, as is everyone else.

KevB76
15/01/2008, 5:52 PM

What you on about :confused:

There hasnt been anyone posting here expressly on behalf of the Supporters Club. I think you will find the people in the SC who post here have their own individual opinions on matters, sometimes in agreement with each other, more often not.

Or maybe I didnt get the SC memo with the official position, being a blow-in and all ;)

I imagine the shareholders and vested interests would prefer to have things dealt with in more private and professional behind-the-scenes manner than seeking important answers to their business affairs in the local paper !

Denis The Red
16/01/2008, 8:14 AM
[quote=jebus;854275]Odd how many people have signed up to add their support to the blow ins in recent weeks :confused:

I'm sorry, I didn't know I had to have your permission to post an opinion.
Now that I am here though, I think I'll stick around.
Are ya scared.:eek:
I was agreeing with the Gooner that we need some concrete information from the club rather than idle chit-chat about what's going on with the new season just around the corner.

16/01/2008, 10:01 AM
Again, just because YOU THINK it's correct, doesn't make it correct. Nor does it make what someone else may think incorrect, or make that person a fool for thinking it.

A person obviously thinks their opinion is the correct one, hence someone who doesn't share that opinion would be incorrect and a fool in said person's eyes.

If you disagree with that you're a fool

I'm sorry, I didn't know I had to have your permission to post an opinion.
Now that I am here though, I think I'll stick around.
Are ya scared.:eek:

Of course I am, I honestly find people with multiple internet personalitys fear inducing

Treaty Gooner
16/01/2008, 12:15 PM
A person obviously thinks their opinion is the correct one, hence someone who doesn't share that opinion would be incorrect and a fool in said person's eyes.

If you disagree with that you're a fool

Seeing as we all have differing opinions, doesn't it make everyone who thinks (a) fools in the eyes of everybody who thinks (b) and vice versa?

So we're all fools, and we're all equally foolish.

Which brings us back to my point, that we're entitled to our opinions, each neither any more, nor any less foolish than another.

If you like, I could type in a larger font size and use smaller words.

Fool.

16/01/2008, 12:23 PM
Equally we could say that fools aren't entitled to express their opinion in public, which brings about the scorn LtiD and others visit on various people's crowns, and hence we should all just shut up. No?

16/01/2008, 12:31 PM
we should all just shut up. No?

yes thanks.

Treaty Gooner
16/01/2008, 12:41 PM
Equally we could say that fools aren't entitled to express their opinion in public, which brings about the scorn LtiD and others visit on various people's crowns, and hence we should all just shut up. No?

Aren't entitled to express their opinion? Wasn't that the argument earlier in the forum...

You seem defensive jebus, one could assume you feel threatened by new contributors...

It's ok though, nothing to fear.

19/01/2008, 6:31 PM
I'm locking this thread on the grounds that it's complete nonsense by now. In conclusion Ger 'Spoof' Finnan is no longer involved with the club.