View Full Version : Sam Allardyce

Pages : 1 2 [3] 4

Saint07
10/01/2008, 5:12 PM
Just heard on the radio that Sam's agent has contacted the fai about the job! Good to see that he's interested anyway

zenokelly
10/01/2008, 5:42 PM
Just heard on the radio that Sam's agent has contacted the fai about the job! Good to see that he's interested anyway

Well RTE has just said that Givens has declined that there has been any contact from any of Allardyce's agents.

Coltron
10/01/2008, 5:57 PM
Sam Allardyce is an excellant manager. Twenty four games at an unstable and unrealistic club should be taken in the context of his otherwise successful career. Secondly, he's a class above what's currently available. I think most agree with that.

To Givens, Houghton & Howe: Get him! And do it NOW.

livehead1
10/01/2008, 6:02 PM
A man with his track record will not stay free for long so they need to get him sussed out now. If he wants it, get him in, 1 in the hand is better than 2 in the bush

livehead1
10/01/2008, 6:06 PM
just got him at 16's on pp

HolylandsMan
10/01/2008, 6:08 PM
I think Allardyce should be approached asap although the one worry I'd have is that, if he was successfull, he might up sticks and leave at the first offer of a Premiership job. I think that's a chance we have to take though.

Greenforever
10/01/2008, 6:09 PM

And tell me is an agents job not to get his client employment, was his agent asked about any other prospective employers he was in touch with :confused:

IF he was genuinely interested i doubt if the negotiations would be that public that quick

Coltron
10/01/2008, 6:14 PM
just got him at 16's on pp

Took that too. And some of what was available on Betdaq. I'm monitoring Betfair.

I pretty sure the price will come in. I am not sure if he will get the job. Value bet in my eyes.

SeanieBoy
10/01/2008, 6:21 PM
Took that too. And some of what was available on Betdaq. I'm monitoring Betfair.

I pretty sure the price will come in. I am not sure if he will get the job. Value bet in my eyes.

Got him at 110 on Betfair back in December, would be a nice return :-)

Coltron
10/01/2008, 6:24 PM
Nice!

Fair play - that's foresight!

Just checked, your "nice return" totals 43 Euro. Actually that is probably stake now that I think of it in which case that would be a nice return.

SeanieBoy
10/01/2008, 6:35 PM
Nice!

Fair play - that's foresight!

Just checked, your "nice return" totals 43 Euro. Actually that is probably stake now that I think of it in which case that would be a nice return.

Well it was only a little 'fiver' chancer of a bet on top of the bets I put on Jol & Hodgson, still return me nearly €500!!

Noelys Guitar
10/01/2008, 6:37 PM
Giles has just been slating Big Sam on Newstalk. Called him arrogant. Said Sam's style would not suit us.

livehead1
10/01/2008, 6:50 PM
he's probably angling himself up for the job. Nothing wrong with arrogance when you can back it up with credentials, something Sam has.

DotTV
10/01/2008, 6:51 PM
From rte:

Givens denies contact with Allardyce
Thursday, 10 January 2008 18:59
Don Givens has told RTÉ Sport that no contact has been made between the FAI's three man panel and former Newcastle manager Sam Allardyce.

The FAI appointed Givens, Don Howe and Ray Houghton to help in the search for a new Irish manger and there had been speculation that the trio were in touch with Allardyce after he parted company with Newcastle yesterday.

Givens has denied being in contact with the former Newcastle boss, but revealed that he took a phonecall where he was given the phone number of Allardyce's agent and told the manager may be interested in the Republic of Ireland job.

It's been confirmed that Givens has not yet followed up on the call, so there's been no contact between the recruitment team and the Allerdyce camp.

The FAI have a policy of no comment until the process is complete, and that was their reaction this evening

Metrostars
10/01/2008, 6:52 PM
Giles has just been slating Big Sam on Newstalk. Called him arrogant. Said Sam's style would not suit us.

Big Jack had a touch of arrogance about him too. Worked out ok for us.

Noelys Guitar
10/01/2008, 6:52 PM
he's probably angling himself up for the job. Nothing wrong with arrogance when you can back it up with credentials, something Sam has.

Funnily enough Johnny did not deny the Brady/Giles story of the twosome taking over. And refused to talk about the Ireland job (other than slagging off Big Sam!). Very strange stuff.

Paddy Garcia
10/01/2008, 6:57 PM
Givens has denied being in contact with the former Newcastle boss, but revealed that he took a phonecall where he was given the phone number of Allardyce's agent and told the manager may be interested in the Republic of Ireland job.

If Givens thinks anyone is stepping out of line in this process, I think he will send them home - sharpish.

Coltron
10/01/2008, 6:57 PM
I find it difficult to understand how we can afford to talk about style in the situation we are in. We need a manager now.

Allardyce became arrogent as his unfashionable side started competing and beating the best in England. Now he has taken a kick in the trousers. That might make him a humbler person and people might find him more likable. He consistently got the best out of many players at Bolton. And Duff came out in support of him as recently as two weeks ago saying: "We really need to start performing for the manger. We owe it to him."

Appointing Allardyce should mean that we won't be hearing games against International minnows of San Marino being descibed as: "a possible bananna skin."

10/01/2008, 7:56 PM
I find it difficult to understand how we can afford to talk about style in the situation we are in. We need a manager now.

If we had players of limited technical ability I'd be very happy to see Allardyce get the job. He certainly wasn't a great fan of Martins, their top scorer. Their most creative player, Emre, has started 5 games. He favours a midfield of players like Butt, Geremi, Smith, Faye and Barton with usually just 1 real creative player.

We have the players to play football. I'm sure of that. I think we'd be a lot more succesful playing a good passing game then we would playing Allardyces style of football. For that reason I don't want Allardyce. Simple really. For some reason people think playing ugly automatically means we'll be more succesful.

Paddy Garcia
10/01/2008, 7:58 PM
If we had players of limited technical ability I'd be very happy to see Allardyce get the job.

You must be ecstatic at the prospect of him getting the job then!

JimmyP
10/01/2008, 8:44 PM

Well someone's doing a bit of nudging; wonder who that could be.
I also wonder how much of this selection process involves the three kingmakers being "pointed in the right direction"

10/01/2008, 9:02 PM
Allardyce for Ireland? Wonder what Shay Given would say about that.

10/01/2008, 9:11 PM
shay openly backed him, i would think it would be a great appointment personally.

10/01/2008, 9:19 PM
You must be ecstatic at the prospect of him getting the job then!
Yeh I'd love to see Reid, Ireland, McGeady, Keane, Duff, Garvan, etc. play to their strengths...

I seem to be repeating myself constantly in this thread. Do keep up. :)

10/01/2008, 10:40 PM
Fair play Eirebhoy I totally agree with you. An intelligent analysis of why he would not be suited to us. We do not have the players to play his game. Simple as that.

eekers
10/01/2008, 10:48 PM
could we not drop our skillful lads and play a few kerry footballers instead. im sure they'd fit well in a fat sam system

11/01/2008, 7:14 AM
Gary Doherty would be getting a call up under Sam's 'system'. Bye bye Robbie and anyone else with talent.

Noelys Guitar
11/01/2008, 7:29 AM
"Big Sam" signed some very skilful players while manager of Bolton. Players such as Anelka, Okocha, Campo, Diouf. His record at Bolton was remarkable getting them into Europe twice. If Alladyce was to be appointed manager (which I doubt very much) the first person out the door would be Givens. And Givens would know that. Plus Giles' comments on Newstalk yesterday coming from someone who is involved in the process (and also possibly a candidate) were out of order. Stating that Alladyce is arrogant because he had the gall to question his mate Eddie Gray's right to manager Leeds with no stage1/2coaching badges. People should remember that Giles did not want Charlton as manager ("surely there is an Irishman out there who could do the job"). Nor did he like McCarthy.

Sligo Hornet
11/01/2008, 7:36 AM
As a long suffering Watford fan, getting Sam Allardyce would mean me having the "Bus Man's Holiday " experience when following my national team....:(

Drumcondra 69er
11/01/2008, 8:21 AM
Gary Doherty would be getting a call up under Sam's 'system'. Bye bye Robbie and anyone else with talent.

Possibly the most stupid remark ever posted on this messageboard.

11/01/2008, 8:52 AM
could we not drop our skillful lads and play a few kerry footballers instead. im sure they'd fit well in a fat sam system

Oi! There's plenty o skill in the Kingdom! I'd fancy the gooch in the hole role.

11/01/2008, 9:00 AM
Possibly the most stupid remark ever posted on this messageboard.

Meowwwww :rolleyes:

WE DON'T HAVE THE F**KIN PLAYERS TO PLAY THE KIND OF FOOTBALL SAM EXCELS AT. CAN YOU LOT UNDERSTAND THAT?

Robbie Keane is not a target man - his talent would be wasted if we expected him to bring the ball down and wait for the rest of the team to catch up. We don't have midfielders who are over 6 foot, can win headers and chase lost causes all day long. If our players moaned about watching tapes all day under Kerr's reign wait till they get hours of in depth discussion on how to 'stop' the opposition playing.

11/01/2008, 9:00 AM
I'd fancy the gooch in the hole

I bet ye would....

I remember 3( maybe 2 ) seasons or so ago with okocha, campo, hierro and a few others that bolton scored some wonderful goals, and had a good attacking system in place. Allardyce used to pull out talented players from the most obscure places. I think he did a great job there, and to be honest with the money they had he was limited to that style ( mentioned by EB ) of play at times, to say that he stifled creativity shows how ignorant some on here are, there is no way you could be in the top 5 2 years without playing with some creativity. Sometimes I wonder about the people on here.

I think Big Sam hasn't had the chance to prove he can manage both styles of play.

Paddy Garcia
11/01/2008, 9:07 AM
"Big Sam" signed some very skilful players while manager of Bolton. Players such as Anelka, Okocha, Campo, Diouf. His record at Bolton was remarkable getting them into Europe twice. If Alladyce was to be appointed manager (which I doubt very much) the first person out the door would be Givens. And Givens would know that. Plus Giles' comments on Newstalk yesterday coming from someone who is involved in the process (and also possibly a candidate) were out of order. Stating that Alladyce is arrogant because he had the gall to question his mate Eddie Gray's right to manager Leeds with no stage1/2coaching badges. People should remember that Giles did not want Charlton as manager ("surely there is an Irishman out there who could do the job"). Nor did he like McCarthy.

I think this is an objective view. There is a tendancy for teams who don't get their own way to complain about the style of play of upstarts.

When Barton, Phelan, Leonhardsen, Perry, Cunningham, Curle and others played for Wimbledon they used to hoof the ball around, yet when they moved to another club they became cultured foorballers. Funny old world. seems some people are the same about Bolton.

Sam certainly bought skilful players, and played to the strengths of his team.

As for his judgement, I'm not sure anyone in their right mind would take a job at Newcastle working for Freddie Sheppard.

Drumcondra 69er
11/01/2008, 9:35 AM
Meowwwww :rolleyes:

WE DON'T HAVE THE F**KIN PLAYERS TO PLAY THE KIND OF FOOTBALL SAM EXCELS AT. CAN YOU LOT UNDERSTAND THAT?

Robbie Keane is not a target man - his talent would be wasted if we expected him to bring the ball down and wait for the rest of the team to catch up. We don't have midfielders who are over 6 foot, can win headers and chase lost causes all day long. If our players moaned about watching tapes all day under Kerr's reign wait till they get hours of in depth discussion on how to 'stop' the opposition playing.

Gary Speed is 5 FT 9, Jay Jay Okocha is 5 10, Stelios is 5 9, Diouf is under 6 foot, they all played and played well in Boltons midfield for a start.

No offence mate but you're talking boll0x. You're suggesting he'd wave bye bye to Robbie Keane and stick in Gary Doherty?? I'm sorry, even tounge in cheek that's a stupid post. Why was he playing Michael Owen every chance he had a Newcastle? Outside of anything else Keane is far more effective when playing with a target man in any case.

Fu(k the players if they moan, half the problem with Kerr was that he didn't have their fear or respect, I doubt that'd be the case with Allardyce.

colster
11/01/2008, 9:48 AM
I don't think Allardyce's style would suit international football. How would foreign referees take the overtly physical style that he espoused at Bolton.

11/01/2008, 9:52 AM
Exactly. It's one thing being able to bully Arsenal out of a game like they used to and kicking lumps out of United like they did under Megson recently, but they'd only have 5 players left on the pitch if international refereeing standards were applied.

By all means make Dublin a place that opponents fear going to again, but we won't be able to do it by telling Stephen Ireland to physically intimidate his opponent.

11/01/2008, 9:57 AM
I think it's more about instilling a winning mentality and pride in the shirt. IMO opinion sam is better qualified than any other prospect in this department

11/01/2008, 9:59 AM
Gary Speed is 5 FT 9, Jay Jay Okocha is 5 10, Stelios is 5 9, Diouf is under 6 foot, they all played and played well in Boltons midfield for a start.

Nolan, Campo, Hierro (all centre mids) were all over 6 ft and were the engine room of his teams. Our midgets would struggle under Big Sam. If we had big strong men like we did in the past then Big Sam would be perfect but we don't and he isn't allow to buy in players. It doesn't matter now anyway because Big Sam is not interested according to the Irish Times.

11/01/2008, 10:04 AM
I think it's more about instilling a winning mentality and pride in the shirt. If he could do that using a style that suits the personnel we have then by all means bring it on. One aspect of this debate is whether he is flexible enough to do this. I'm not really sure one way or the other. I don't think Bolton were always overly physical & if we can maximise our threat from set pieces that'd be a massive start.

I'd hope that any prospective manager could bring in the winning mentality - if he's not one of life's "winners" or "leaders" he shouldn't be considered.

11/01/2008, 10:07 AM
Nolan, Campo, Hierro (all centre mids) were all over 6 ft and were the engine room of his teams.

Regardless of whether we adopt a physical or cultured approach it's our "engine room" that's our big failing. In the absence of new players emerging, cracking this conundrum is the biggest task at hand. We can all think of slight moderations in shape and roles for the players but they guy who gets this right consistently is the guy who earns the package on offer.

11/01/2008, 10:19 AM
I can exclusively reveal that Don Givens made a written note of the conversation after he got off the phone. His version of events is:

"The conversation on the phone went: 'Hello Big Sam, it's Don Givens. Are you fit to manage Ireland?'

He said: 'To what do I owe the honour of this phone call?'

I said: 'I would like you to come over for an interview tomorrow'

He said: 'Why was I not selected in the original list of 16 candidates?'

I said: 'Big Sam, that was the choice I made.'

He said: 'I should be the number one manager for Ireland, not number 17.'

At that point I said to him: 'Big Sam, do you want to come tomorrow?'

He said 'No' and I said: 'Right Big Sam, good luck' and put the phone down.

That is all I have to say on the Sam Allardyce issue and I don't want it to become a negative force for me and Ray and the other Don. I'd prefer to talk about the managers who are looking forward to being involved."

Paddy Garcia
11/01/2008, 10:33 AM
Yeh I'd love to see Reid, Ireland, McGeady, Keane, Duff, Garvan, etc. play to their strengths...

I seem to be repeating myself constantly in this thread. Do keep up. :)

I really like all those players & have big hopes for McGeady & Garvan, so I am not going to knock them.

Objectively though 2 ply their trade in the second tier of english football, Duffer has been off form/injured etc. for about 2/3 years. Ireland has great technical ability, but he would not have got anywhere near a starting place in past Irish midfields. Keane seems at the top of his game & I can't see any reason why he could not play for Sam.

As far as great technical ability goes, how many of the big four teams in England want our "gifted" players, or indeed the big teams in Europe. A few years ago Irish players ate within the upper echelons of football, now we are scraping around for scraps.

I have not a hope of keeping up.

Drumcondra 69er
11/01/2008, 10:34 AM
Nolan, Campo, Hierro (all centre mids) were all over 6 ft and were the engine room of his teams. Our midgets would struggle under Big Sam. If we had big strong men like we did in the past then Big Sam would be perfect but we don't and he isn't allow to buy in players. It doesn't matter now anyway because Big Sam is not interested according to the Irish Times.

Carsley is 5 11, OWen Garvan of those coming through is 6 foot for example. However, I think you're wrong in suggesting that you would need a centre midfield full of 6 footers to be competitive under Allardyce, that's a very blinkered view for me. I doubt the extra inch that Noan has over Carsley would make him more effective...

As for what's in the papers, you can't believe any of that, there's been nothing but speculation if not outright lies coming from journalists and the 3 wise men themselves.

11/01/2008, 10:43 AM
I doubt the extra inch that Noan has over Carsley would make him more effective...

Throw in the inch and Nolan's non stop box to box running means he is more effective. Different players but the attributes start adding up.

I'd be very surprised if Sam was sniffing around the Irish job - he'll want another PL club after his vacation and if Redknapp heads north then Portsmouth are looking for a new manager. I might be wrong - if the FAI offer him a bundle of cash he might take it but I'd be surprised.

11/01/2008, 11:00 AM
Regardless of height, we lack presence and mobility. Steven Reid ticks the boxes for me but you can't depend on either his fitness or form.

We don't necessarily need a world-beater - I'd bite your arm off for a Jason Koumas for example. Good footballer but also an athlete. Garvan and JJ O'toole potentially fit this mould. Chris McCann is well spoken of and Gibson looks like he could become a good player.

Darren Potter looked the part in the US and in Denmark but has barely figured for Wolves this season.

Much as I'm excited by Stephen Quinn's ability he's the latest in a long line of talented Irish midgets!

11/01/2008, 12:08 PM
I can exclusively reveal that Don Givens made a written note of the conversation after he got off the phone. His version of events is:

That is all I have to say on the Sam Allardyce issue and I don't want it to become a negative force for me and Ray and the other Don. I'd prefer to talk about the managers who are looking forward to being involved."

Nice. Heard it before I think though.....:cool:

11/01/2008, 12:41 PM
I´m not at all convinced by the arguments that Allardyce is a one dimensional manager. It´s a case not proven.
Everybody on the planet outside Newcastle could see that it would take a lot of time even to replicate Bolton's achievements there.
Despite the usual absence of long term injured, Givens out for 6 weeks and regular injuries to key players like Emre, Barton in jail and with a cráp team, Newcastle were astonishingly still mid table.

He can't be properly judged on this Newcatle stint, his Bolton record is the one to scrutinise and pound for pound they were top of the league, they were well coached, defensivly sound, motivated and could vary the play. I don't know about the man himself or what the Bolton fans thought of him but he is no Joe Kinnear dupe.

DotTV
11/01/2008, 1:04 PM
For anyone who thinks our creative players wouldn't flourish under Big Sam, I have three words: Jay Jay Okocha. The most skilful player the English league has seen for years was allowed to flourish under Sam.It's a nonsense that he's a long ball man.Bolton were able to mix it up with physicality and skill.Nothing wrong with that.
My main concern was his recent failure but newcastle chop managers like lumerbjacks chop trees.

At least this time round the contenders have recent involvement in football.Allardyce, Houllier and McCarthy sound a lot better than Stan, Aldo or Kevin Moran

11/01/2008, 1:16 PM
As far as great technical ability goes, how many of the big four teams in England want our "gifted" players, or indeed the big teams in Europe. A few years ago Irish players ate within the upper echelons of football, now we are scraping around for scraps.
That's quite a few years ago now mate.

Andy Reid is the most gifted passer of a ball we've had in years and years imo.
Duff was regarded as one of our most skillful ever players and McGeady wouldn't be far off.
Stephen Ireland's range of passing is magnificent imo. With the outside of his foot (probably the toughest technique to master) I can't think of a more gifted Irish player.
There's obviously Robbie Keane who wouldn't have a problem linking up with the best players in the world.
Garvan is an excellent passer and is playing quite deep in midfield for Ipswich now, controlling their play. Probably the best football team in the division on their day.
Then there's Jamie McCarthy at Hamilton who should be breaking through in the next couple of years.
McCarthy’s advisor George Gray told the Irish Independent: “Rafa Benitez was very impressed by him. He told me that he regarded James’ technique as better than Steven Gerrard’s was at the same age." (don't ask me how Benitez would know that. Maybe they do some tests)
Glenn Whelan seems to be living up to his potential at last. He's another deep lying playmaker who controls the play.
Darron Gibson again, another playmaker. I think there's a lot more doubt over whether he'll make it than the other young players listed though.
As you know I still rate Stokes highly and he relies heavily on a good passing game to latch onto through balls.

And then, while Carsley, Hunt, Doyle and Stephen Reid would be suited to a system that focuses a lot on the stereotypical British qualities, I don't think they'd have much problems playing a more continental and intelligent style of football.

I should also mention that Richard Dunne has a pass success rate of 79% this season compared to 62% last season so he's obviously keeping it on the ground a lot more under Sven.

Maybe I'm being harsh on Allardyce considering Okocha was once the main man in his team but I'm just giving my reasons why I'd rather a manager that focused more on our passing game. Someone like Brian Kerr with Martin O'Neill or Paul Jewell's motivational skills. ;)