View Full Version : Bad element in away support
citizenerased
08/01/2008, 11:14 AM
Lads ahead of our WC qualifiers(well about 9 months away)...im worrying about the bad element slowly creepin into the irish away games..The worst for me was in prague and cardiff, full of little toerags with no interest in football, out to cause craaap. I seen it in stuttgart aswell, only for the german police were ery tolerant there would have been more arrests id say..
My mate got his cheekbone cracked for nothing off an irish knacker in prague for nowt, other than ur man was probably off his tits on coke...
08/01/2008, 11:40 AM
Didn't think there was much hassle in Stuttgart. The footballs booted around the Schlossplatz were the only vaguely dodgy thing I remember and that was all good-natured. Did anything worse happen?
I wasn't in Prague or Cardiff.
08/01/2008, 11:51 AM
Does anyone recall a group of irish fans trying to over turn cars outside o sullivans bar in paris...
Messy stuff
08/01/2008, 11:56 AM
I can just see the headlines in the Star now.
08/01/2008, 12:11 PM
after the "trouble" caused by the daytrippers in paris i suggested here that some sort of fans liason / supervision service be set up in prominant spots at away matches like england and scotland have. the trouble creeping in has to be nipped in the bud by i very much doubt the FAI / Gardai are even remotely awake to the possible threat that there is to our great reputation
p_o_r
08/01/2008, 12:32 PM
This is something that will only build up as time goes on.
Outside O' Sullivans in Paris was a sign of thigs to come, I know it was not bad but myself and my wife had to head for cover afer a few bottles started to be thrown.
the problem is the Saturday night fighting crowd are going to the glamor away game, Italy tghis time round, and doing what they do on the streets of Castlebar or Tralee on the street of foregin cities with Irish shirts on, it will only get worst.
we can only afford to go to one away game this time round, we think 'will go to Georgia, to avoid that hassle if noting else.
DotTV
08/01/2008, 12:39 PM
Missed out on the Georgia trip last time. I was within a whisker of organising a charter flight out there with a travel agent friend of mine before it all fell through.
I remember doing a lot of research about the place for a website I ran and saw loads of stories ok kidnappings and guns etc, but by all accounts it was one of the best trips had by all in attendance.
Paris got messy outside O'Sullivans, although there was provocation from the local hoods.It's still something that hasn't been seen on Irish trips and luckily nothing similar has occurred since(to the best of my knowledge).
Given the recent violence in italy, it would be a stupid young fella who goes out there and starts throwing shapes. I remember a lot of fans were attacked by skin head gangs in Moscow.Not a nice experience.
08/01/2008, 12:49 PM
[QUOTE=p_o_r;849353]This is something that will only build up as time goes on.
Outside O' Sullivans in Paris was a sign of thigs to come, I know it was not bad but myself and my wife had to head for cover afer a few bottles started to be thrown.
i believe it was a group of algerian fella's that started with the bottle throwing. There was an irish kid id say no more than 7 or 8 with blood running down his face that i saw. These animals are nothing but scum
08/01/2008, 12:55 PM
These animals are nothing but scum
Which animals?
Didn't think there was much hassle in Stuttgart. The footballs booted around the Schlossplatz were the only vaguely dodgy thing I remember and that was all good-natured. Did anything worse happen?
I wasn't in Prague or Cardiff.
That was our football. Didnt see a bit of trouble in Stuttgart but the last thing we want is a few questionable characters heading out to Rome in a few months time. The Ultras are notorious there as it is.
[QUOTE=p_o_r;849353]This is something that will only build up as time goes on.
i believe it was a group of algerian fella's that started with the bottle throwing. There was an irish kid id say no more than 7 or 8 with blood running down his face that i saw. These animals are nothing but scum
Who threw the first bottle is not really the point, the point is that Irish ‘fans’ were willing to throw bottles into an area where other Irish fans were gathered, that is what is scary.
citizenerased
08/01/2008, 1:40 PM
outside biddy earleys on the friday night there was a few knackers throwing bottles and starting fights...a foockin knacker started on me in rimini aswell the night before the game ... dirt birds...i can feel something happeing in the next campaign, all it takes is one incident for 30 years of a good rep to crumbled....we need to have liason officers at the big games...
Sligo Hornet
08/01/2008, 1:42 PM
[QUOTE=0325422;849373]
Who threw the first bottle is not really the point, the point is that Irish ‘fans’ were willing to throw bottles into an area where other Irish fans were gathered, that is what is scary.
Wrong, the point is that Irish 'fans' were willing to throw bottles!.........that's scary:eek:
08/01/2008, 1:53 PM
I didn't notice any Irish trouble makers at all in Bratislava, Prague or Cardiff. The worst thing I probably saw was someone taking a bottle from a tray which a barmaid was carrying on her shoulder. She caught him and he gave it back. I honestly can't think of anything else other than the usual drunken shenanigans.
08/01/2008, 2:01 PM
...but the last thing we want is a few questionable characters heading out to Rome in a few months time. The Ultras are notorious there as it is.
As was seen when Man Utd fans went for them...
08/01/2008, 2:04 PM
Yeh I heard about the bouncer being threatened. I forgot about that. Thankfully these things never seem to happen when I'm around. :)
citizenerased
08/01/2008, 2:08 PM
unfortunately eirbhoy, i have witnessed alot of these incidents on away trips and they seem to be gettin worse...also in O'Neills, lads just trowing epty bottles smashing them on the ground in the middle of the floor...galls me..
08/01/2008, 2:13 PM
Probably best to stay away from Irish bars tbh. I kept away from O'Neills.
after the "trouble" caused by the daytrippers in paris i suggested here that some sort of fans liason / supervision service be set up in prominant spots at away matches like england and scotland have. the trouble creeping in has to be nipped in the bud by i very much doubt the FAI / Gardai are even remotely awake to the possible threat that there is to our great reputation
outside biddy earleys on the friday night there was a few knackers throwing bottles and starting fights...a foockin knacker started on me in rimini aswell the night before the game ... dirt birds...i can feel something happeing in the next campaign, all it takes is one incident for 30 years of a good rep to crumbled....we need to have liason officers at the big games...
The Gardai have liaison officers at all the away matches. I met one of them, who is based in Fitzgibbon Street (local station for Croker) in the Square in Prague. He was "assisting" the local police to take away the heavier footballs being kicked around in the square. He told me that they had been in Bratislava also and the other away games. I expressed to him my disquiet at the behaviour of the police in the square in Bratislava but he said that they do not interfere in local policing matter.
I don't think the FAI or the Department of Foreign Affairs let it be known that members of the Gardai travel to away matches. Perhaps this is something that the Department of Foreign Affairs could set out in their travel advice for fans travelling to away matches. In Rimini it was only after the Department of Foreign Affairs liaising with the local authorities that public transport was provided for fans travelling to San Marino (except those on the GT Buses :p); the FAI did not play any part in making these arrangements.
Liaison Officers from the FAI might be a different matter. Do the FAI give a s**t about the fans. The Dept of Foreign Affairs usually have an embassy or consulate where matches are held (they set up a temporary consulate in Rimini) and it should not be impossible for the FAI to install a representative in these places for the days around the game(s). Given all the info required about fans travelling to away matches it would be possible for the FAI to set out details of their liaison person to those receiving the tickets as well as publish it on their website. The problem may be that someone probably needs to tell them this as they probably aren't capable of putting it together themselves.
I am concerned that the element as described above has arrived on the scene particularly for the away games and sadly I fear that our reputation as being the best travelling fans might be put in jeopardy in the future, not to mention the actual safety of our fans.
08/01/2008, 3:02 PM
didnt see too much badness in Stuttgart, apart from a guy from Kerry that was kicked out of a bar for annoying a few couples
that and a few supporters singing Irelands Call, now thats shocking:eek:
08/01/2008, 3:23 PM
Stuttgart was fine considering how much alcohol was consumed and how many of us there was over there. Wasn't there one only one arrest for public disorder?
This may be a tad naive, but do ye reckon there is anyone from the fai monitoring what is said on this site?? They would pick up a good few ideas and be on top of things a bit more if they did.
Paulie
08/01/2008, 4:26 PM
I've noticed a couple of minor incidents in recent years but nothing of any real note. If there is a bit of a nasty element getting into our away support then it's as well we have a group that isn't that attractive to these kind of people. People like that won't go to Georgia, Montenegro or possibly even Bulgaria. In the unlikely event of there being any trouble it will be in either Italy or Cyprus. I would still like to think however that that despite the odd incident that we will still manage to maintain our good record across Europe. As an aside I would say that the best way to avoid trouble is, on the really big trips, to avoid the Irish pubs.
Babysis
08/01/2008, 5:39 PM
I totally agree with Citizenerased. The last campaign there was an nasty element creeping in - San Marino was one of the worst - Fans fighting with other fans, throwing things at the players, starting on fans with non irish accents and generally being agressive little scum bags.
Greenforever
08/01/2008, 6:11 PM
Previous quote
The Gardai have liaison officers at all the away matches. I met one of them, who is based in Fitzgibbon Street (local station for Croker) in the Square in Prague. He was "assisting" the local police to take away the heavier footballs being kicked around in the square. He told me that they had been in Bratislava also and the other away games. I expressed to him my disquiet at the behaviour of the police in the square in Bratislava but he said that they do not interfere in local policing matter.
I know some people think kicking balls in the air is harmless fun, this seems to have started in Paris, however if you are a local elderly person going about your daily business, or a young mother with a baby in a pram you might not agree. I also doubt if it would be tolerated in Dublin.
Previous quote
I don't think the FAI or the Department of Foreign Affairs let it be known that members of the Gardai travel to away matches. Perhaps this is something that the Department of Foreign Affairs could set out in their travel advice for fans travelling to away matches. In Rimini it was only after the Department of Foreign Affairs liaising with the local authorities that public transport was provided for fans travelling to San Marino (except those on the GT Buses :p); the FAI did not play any part in making these arrangements.
Sorry but why should the FAI organise transport from Rimini in Italy to a different country San Marino?? Anyway there was an excllent bus service linking the two places as we used it to go from our hotel in San Marino to Rimini, mind you didnt like a small section of the crowd in Rimini.
Previous Quote
Liaison Officers from the FAI might be a different matter. Do the FAI give a s**t about the fans. The Dept of Foreign Affairs usually have an embassy or consulate where matches are held (they set up a temporary consulate in Rimini) and it should not be impossible for the FAI to install a representative in these places for the days around the game(s). Given all the info required about fans travelling to away matches it would be possible for the FAI to set out details of their liaison person to those receiving the tickets as well as publish it on their website. The problem may be that someone probably needs to tell them this as they probably aren't capable of putting it together themselves.
WHY should the FAI get involved in fan travel arrangements, I've never had the need to see an FAI official in over 25 yrs of travelling to away games. What is needed is for ALL fans to take personal responsibility for their actions and that of their travelling party. I know of an incident in Tokyo where an ******* assaulted a couple of local women, the rest of his group disowned him, chucked him out of their hotel and kept his match tickets, which he hadnt yet paid for!
viagogo
08/01/2008, 7:32 PM
What really ****ed me off in Prague was when some fans decided to sit where they wanted to cause they were too ****ed to find there own seat. Led to a lot of hassle particularly when fans just started standing in front of people who were in the wrong seats. Could have led to a crush.
Also was talking to some fans lads from Birmingham and London and they said that they are getting a lot of grief from so called Irish fans cause of there accents. They all said that the Dubs were the worst.
SuperDub
08/01/2008, 9:33 PM
I travel with 3 other lads and they all have commented on the amount of muppets stoned out of their heads travelling to irish games. Rimini was pretty hairy i thought.
I dont think The FAI care about the fans. I was in Macedonia when a few locals starting throwing bricks at us at the end of the game. It was the British army on UN duty that sorted the problem out.
In Serbia when fans were been fleeced by the immigration officals both on arriving and leaving belgrade there was not a consulate or FAI official sight even though it was highlighted we may have problems before we travelled.
Georgia was a good trip last time as it was the hardcore that travelled it was a great trip "8 flights in 6 days.
Personally i have more respect for irish fans who travel from all over the UK and europe to irish games either home or away. Those who abuse these fans just shows they are uneducated fools.
This may be a tad naive, but do ye reckon there is anyone from the fai monitoring what is said on this site?? They would pick up a good few ideas and be on top of things a bit more if they did.
Not only do they monitor these forums but they also monitor
some supporters on away trips.
As for San Marino ... one poor lad had to lock himself into the
pub to avoid the hoards mocking his Schllliigo accent ;)
Sligo Hornet
09/01/2008, 7:13 AM
Not only do they monitor these forums but they also monitor
some supporters on away trips
In that case I hope they had someone on the 12.25 Bratislava to Prague Train.:eek:
They could learn how to successfully place 5 people per seat, thereby dramatically increasing the capacity of the new Lansdowne;)
In that case I hope they had someone on the 12.25 Bratislava to Prague Train.:eek:
They could learn how to successfully place 5 people per seat, thereby dramatically increasing the capacity of the new Lansdowne;)
I heard that that big red jacketed tout in Bratislava
was actually 2 FAI officials in disguise! :eek:
stiofain
09/01/2008, 10:24 AM
Also was talking to some fans lads from Birmingham and London and they said that they are getting a lot of grief from so called Irish fans cause of there accents. They all said that the Dubs were the worst.
Not had any of this at all, yet. Thats bad form.
Bondvillain
09/01/2008, 11:26 AM
10 minutes spent in the Rose & Crown in Rimini was enough.
A crowd of Filthy scumbags, monged out of their gourds on god knows what, blocked the door of the lounge with their fat stupid arzes, abusing anyone coming through who wasn't in a green jersey, greatly piffing off the locals and generally wrecking the gaff.
Anyone with a British accent (Green jersey or not) was singled out for special treatment. Which is exceptionally witty & clever in a pub named the Rose and Crown.
The wales game wasn't as bad , with only a few mutants making their presence felt in Cardiff, but there was the exception of one crowd of preteen Skangers staying in Bristol who loudly deliberated outside a pub whether to go in or not as they had heard it was "Full of Brits".
In Bristol, lads? That's MAD, eh? :rolleyes:
shaneker
09/01/2008, 11:42 AM
Correct. Some fat Celtic Jersey Dub in a bar in Bratislava gave myself and my girlfriend stick because of the English accents. I pointed out his Scottish shirt and he went back to his pint.
Its unbelievably annoying though, when we spend as much time, money and effort as anyone getting to the games, that some pr!cks still act like this. At least its still the overwhelming minority at the moment.
citizenerased
09/01/2008, 12:14 PM
That really annoys me , its only the ignorant that act in such a manner, braindead fools...I agree with what Paulie said, thank god this campaign is mostly off the beaten track destinations....
Greenforever
09/01/2008, 5:12 PM
Correct. Some fat Celtic Jersey Dub in a bar in Bratislava gave myself and my girlfriend stick because of the English accents. I pointed out his Scottish shirt and he went back to his pint.
Its unbelievably annoying though, when we spend as much time, money and effort as anyone getting to the games, that some pr!cks still act like this. At least its still the overwhelming minority at the moment.
It's just as well none of the Irish players have English accents or your Celtic loving friend might get upset :D:D:D
shaneker
09/01/2008, 6:41 PM
Its laughable really, but it can be bloody irritating. I'm Irish born so I can throw that back at them but I know hundreds of foreign-born Irish people who are just as loyal and passionate as any fan I've ever met and they shouldn't have to put up with this. Its annoying enough when English people go 'well you've lived here all your life, so you're English really' without getting it from our so-called fellow Irishmen.
Sorry. Touched a nerve.
Babysis
09/01/2008, 6:48 PM
Its becomming more and more frequent unfortunately. I seriously thought about stopping travelling to the away games when I got abuse in Stuttgart, San Marino and particularly Prague because of my accent. But I love doing the trips, so I have just taken steps to make sure Im always in a group of friends and when people start I have to walk away, its safer. The galling part is that most of them arent even bothered about the game, its just an excuse to go bevving somewhere else and cause a ruck. I hate them.
Have to admit, not been caught up in any run ins with two many eejits on trips for years, proberly due to my major swerve of the Biddy O'Ripoffs and The Shamrockyerwallet type pubs, which have and i'm sure always will be the major Amerdom magnets on trips. Last time got caught up in a near boot off was in Lisbon in 2000 with some f**kwit who was chucking beer mats in people faces, strangly I think the pub was called the Shamrock.
Have noticed a change of attitude in many Irish fans, ie the moan, moan ,moan about Bratislava and how terrible everything was, they wouldn't have lasted five minutes on the trips to Latvia and Lithuania in 93, Poland in 91, or the oasis that was Romania in 97 to mention just a few of the trips we've made pre or post fall of the Berlin wall.
Sadly nobody has had a dig at my English accent for many years now, after reading some of the posts regarding some other 2g's i'm feeling well left out and would love to meet some of these eejits again.
Greenforever
09/01/2008, 8:22 PM
Have to admit, not been caught up in any run ins with two many eejits on trips for years, proberly due to my major swerve of the Biddy O'Ripoffs and The Shamrockyerwallet type pubs, which have and i'm sure always will be the major Amerdom magnets on trips. Last time got caught up in a near boot off was in Lisbon in 2000 with some f**kwit who was chucking beer mats in people faces, strangly I think the pub was called the Shamrock.
Have noticed a change of attitude in many Irish fans, ie the moan, moan ,moan about Bratislava and how terrible everything was, they wouldn't have lasted five minutes on the trips to Latvia and Lithuania in 93, Poland in 91, or the oasis that was Romania in 97 to mention just a few of the trips we've made pre or post fall of the Berlin wall.
Sadly nobody has had a dig at my English accent for many years now, after reading some of the posts regarding some other 2g's i'm feeling well left out and would love to meet some of these eejits again.
looking forward to tbilisi then :D:D mind you it's a simple to do trip this time with bmi from heathrow, all trips are getting very easy to do, some change from one of my first trips 1981, brussells with funtrek by bus from eden quay!!!
Some stock putdowns are:
You should follow a team that just has Irish accents then.
You look old enough to have lived through a time when Ireland had a president with an English accent. Don't tell me this is the first time you've heard someone Irish with an English accent?
Did you miss the history class on emigration at school?
Warning: Might need one of those bottles from Paris instead of dialogue if the person is on the old Gianluca Vialli. :rolleyes:
Greenforever
09/01/2008, 9:08 PM
Some stock putdowns are:
You should follow a team that just has Irish accents then.
You look old enough to have lived through a time when Ireland had a president with an English accent. Don't tell me this is the first time you've heard someone Irish with an English accent?
Did you miss the history class on emigration at school?
Warning: Might need one of those bottles from Paris instead of dialogue if the person is on the old Gianluca Vialli. :rolleyes:
Or So you didnt support Ireland when managed by an Englishman, who qualified for Euro 88 thanks to a scots man goal, beat the English with a goal scored by a scots man....:D:D
shaneker
09/01/2008, 9:35 PM
'I'm wearing an Ireland shirt, whats that you're wearing?' always goes down well with the CJs.
I do like Celtic and root for them but at an Ireland game - no sir.
Babysis
10/01/2008, 8:33 AM
Put downs are all good and well, but when you have one of these scumbags up in your face screaming abuse about your accent, getting more agressive, it doesnt tend to work - we found the safest thing was just to go somewhere else. It takes a big man to pick on girls:rolleyes: You can't reason with these aggresive ignorant little gits.
When we were in The Bounty in Rimini the night befpre the game everyone was having a great time until this group of wasted idiots walked in - You could feel the atmosphere change. Everyone took their cameras and phones off the table for fear of them getting lifted by them. Bad form when your worried about your own fans robbing from you. :mad:
citizenerased
10/01/2008, 12:12 PM
yeah i remmeber that one group of knackers in the bounty alright...up to no good
Paddy Garcia
10/01/2008, 12:12 PM
I was in Macedonia when a few locals starting throwing bricks at us at the end of the game. It was the British army on UN duty
Very disappointing to read this.;)
Paddy Garcia
10/01/2008, 12:21 PM
Its becomming more and more frequent unfortunately. I seriously thought about stopping travelling to the away games when I got abuse in Stuttgart, San Marino and particularly Prague because of my accent. But I love doing the trips, so I have just taken steps to make sure Im always in a group of friends and when people start I have to walk away, its safer. The galling part is that most of them arent even bothered about the game, its just an excuse to go bevving somewhere else and cause a ruck. I hate them.
Is it really getting worse? I remember an article (Peter Carberry) about 10 years ago. Some fan from London got a severe beating in the bogs (can't remember where), for his London accent.
From what I can remember the offender was one of our brave soldiers.
Hibernian
10/01/2008, 12:24 PM
Have only been to few away games myself but I remember when we were in Slovakia we stayed in Hotel Remy and when we came back to the hotel late on the Saturday night there were these group of lads from Dublin and they were the loudest and arrogent people I have ever seen at any sports venue they were screaming, shouting abuse at anyone and everyone
But to be fair 99% of Irish fans are top drawer
Beavis
10/01/2008, 12:50 PM
....a foockin knacker started on me in rimini aswell the night before the game ...
and you recovered from that?hope the conselling wasnt too stressful.
Have you never been on a night out in Dublin or any town? This is behaviour is never acceptable, but the away trips are a portion of the population, there is always going to be some types you dont approve of, and when there's a lot of booze taken incidents will occur, thats just the reality. There has always been a couple of scuffles and other little things as far back as there was a bandwagon to jump on.
Bondvillain
10/01/2008, 1:04 PM
yeah i remmeber that one group of knackers in the bounty alright...up to no good
:mad:
Oi!
I HAD put on a little weight, but I resent being described as a group of knackers.
Babysis
10/01/2008, 1:28 PM
Im not trying to say any of this is a new thing - Speak to the likes of Sylvo and Lopez who have been doing the trips for years and they will tell you how much abuse they used to get over thier accents. All Im saying is now these "fans" seem to be getting more agressive in their approach. And its not just about accents, its also their whole attitude towards anyone who isnt in their little group or morons.
As for it happening on a night out in Dublin, true enough, but that doenst make it any better. The whole point of the going on the away trips is that its supposed to be like minded people who follow Ireland and it should be fun. We should not have to take abuse from our fellow "supporters".