View Full Version : Bad element in away support

Pages : 1 [2]

lopez
10/01/2008, 2:06 PM
Is it really getting worse? I remember an article (Peter Carberry) about 10 years ago. Some fan from London got a severe beating in the bogs (can't remember where), for his London accent.

From what I can remember the offender was one of our brave soldiers.I was the fan that got the beating that night, although I wouldn't say it was severe (hospitalised, broken bones etc. And I still got to the game) and I think the fact that it was as bad as it was that I wouldn't let the bloke go and I carried on the fight. PC's version was slightly sanitised as his agenda was to carry the message of the 2Gs being harassed over their accent (which was true and had been going on for years). Without going into too many details, I was a. p*ssed (too p*ssed to be of any use in fact) and b. I wasn't putting up with any sh*t about my accent and 'why was I here?'. OK I came off worse, but so what? I'm still going to Ireland games and I've yet to meet the other bloke since. BTW, the scrap was in Cardiff, and it didn't stop me going back.

Sis, this is a minor hazard of following Ireland. The truth is that for every w*nker, there are 100s if not 1000s that would not give you that grief. Had me or Sylvo been there, then this bloke would not have got away with it. If you recognise him again while with us, we will gladly 'have a chat' about accents. I don't think the hassle over the accent has got worse - I think its got better IMO. Faroes was somewhere where not one person commented on it, but then the daytripping eejits weren't there. However, there is a growing number of reports of t*ssers going to games, who couldn't care what accent you had. Ireland has got worse for this in the past 25 years. It's no surprise the supporters have been affected. Or maybe I'm getting old.

lopez
10/01/2008, 2:21 PM
Very disappointing to read this.;)
There is IMO a myth about the British soldiers at the game. Irish soldiers on UN duty in the area had been lumped in with the British and - rightly or wrongly - had some form of freindship built (which in view of the era was remarkable). I was talking to a soldier from Cork before the game and he said that they had ground rules - no politics - and they would often bring over mates to their mess (for drinks) as it seemed to be a more peacefull night out for the Brits than their own mess.

At the game, the British Army had MP - just in case their own soldiers, who had been invited as guests by the Irish, got out of hand (None of the invited British servicemen were in uniform, for obvious reasons). MP are not soldiers, they are military police. The British Army had no juristdiction in Macedonia, just Kosovo. No British soldier in his right mind would risk a court martial sorting out crowd trouble at a football game, although he's well within his rights to protect himself.

At the end of the game, these MPs were getting abuse from a couple of Irish fans I know (again they are Military police and had armbands saying so). It nearly kicked off with another Irish fan from Belfast who thought that this sort of thing should be left to the Falls road in August. That was the most dissapointing thing about this, as the MP thought this was all very funny.

10/01/2008, 3:03 PM
I tell you what some the dubs don't come out out of this at all well from what I have read on here. Some of my group often hear the odd culchie comment or "I don't think they will serve spuds in there lads" outside a restaurant - heard that one in Stuttgart.

Paddy Garcia
10/01/2008, 3:26 PM
I was the fan that got the beating that night, although I wouldn't say it was severe (hospitalised, broken bones etc. And I still got to the game) and I think the fact that it was as bad as it was that I wouldn't let the bloke go and I carried on the fight. PC's version was slightly sanitised as his agenda was to carry the message of the 2Gs being harassed over their accent (which was true and had been going on for years). Without going into too many details, I was a. p*ssed (too p*ssed to be of any use in fact) and b. I wasn't putting up with any sh*t about my accent and 'why was I here?'. OK I came off worse, but so what? I'm still going to Ireland games and I've yet to meet the other bloke since. BTW, the scrap was in Cardiff, and it didn't stop me going back.

LOL

Well I'm delighted that you are still around and attending games. I remember discussing that article at the time. Some would have been put off for life. Bad enough getting a beating from your opponents!

Moreover I'm glad he did not win & you are still attending Irish games.

PS Hey- it's a small world.
PPS Sounds severe enough to me!

sylvo
10/01/2008, 7:28 PM
looking forward to tbilisi then :D:D mind you it's a simple to do trip this time with bmi from heathrow, all trips are getting very easy to do, some change from one of my first trips 1981, brussells with funtrek by bus from eden quay!!!

That game with that B**t**d ref, I FEEL THE ANGER STILL. that must have been one desperate trip home after that. Have to say used to enjoy the old boat trips back to Ireland for the home games, party used to start at Euston station in London and carry on to the boat out of Holyhead, into the first early house we would find, and then after the game back to London. Tiblisi I think will be a swerve, but would like to do it.

SUB of the day
10/01/2008, 8:02 PM
First trip was Berne, 1985 ft 0 0.Worst violence I have seen in all the trips since.Granted, five Rangers fans bedecked in union jacks and colours taunting the 1,500 Paddies at an ROI V Swiss game was asking for trouble, but the kicking those boys took on the stadium terraces was unreal.Union flags burning on the fencing, blood everywhere.......don't think we're anywhere near that, at the moment.

lopez
10/01/2008, 10:12 PM
LOL

Well I'm delighted that you are still around and attending games. I remember discussing that article at the time. Some would have been put off for life. Bad enough getting a beating from your opponents!

Moreover I'm glad he did not win & you are still attending Irish games.

PS Hey- it's a small world.
PPS Sounds severe enough to me!Well obviously I can't come home from every game with two black eyes, but I think that you sometimes have to live with things.

... Have to say used to enjoy the old boat trips back to Ireland for the home games, party used to start at Euston station in London and carry on to the boat out of Holyhead, into the first early house we would find, and then after the game back to London...You missed the drugfest of the Swiss friendly of '92. If you saw the crew I went with you'd never get on a tube train again in your life. I had four cans of the Bob Marley aftershave and with Millwall Andy's party pack I woke up entering Dun Laoghaire. I apparently walked through Holyhead with a spliff. Then one of our crew dropped two Es and decided to go and visit his relatives in Derry after the game. I was in carnage the day after at work.

First trip was Berne, 1985 ft 0 0.Worst violence I have seen in all the trips since.Granted, five Rangers fans bedecked in union jacks and colours taunting the 1,500 Paddies at an ROI V Swiss game was asking for trouble, but the kicking those boys took on the stadium terraces was unreal.Union flags burning on the fencing, blood everywhere.......don't think we're anywhere near that, at the moment.I know Im sounding like Forest Gump here, but I was in the thick of that event aswell. ;)

citizenerased
10/01/2008, 10:53 PM
and you recovered from that?hope the conselling wasnt too stressful.

Have you never been on a night out in Dublin or any town? This is behaviour is never acceptable, but the away trips are a portion of the population, there is always going to be some types you dont approve of, and when there's a lot of booze taken incidents will occur, thats just the reality. There has always been a couple of scuffles and other little things as far back as there was a bandwagon to jump on.

Yeah butthead..i go out in dublin the whole time...but people are supposed to be preserving the good name of the irish abroad...personally i dont really mind gettin started, well used to it, just wouldnt like italians seeing irish fans batterin the head off each other in the middle of rimini...that sight doesnt really leave a positive impression, especailly when we try so hard to distinguish ourselves from english fans

Bluechip
15/01/2008, 3:57 PM
I agree with you, keep a good name otherwise we are just lumped in with the English. It should be something the rest of the fans should try to nip in the bud. I told some lads to cop on in the Bar/Restaurant beside the ground in Bratislava for trying to pull their own pints they soon stopped- ok i could have had an argument with them.

ruben_sosa
23/01/2008, 4:07 PM
Lads ahead of our WC qualifiers(well about 9 months away)...im worrying about the bad element slowly creepin into the irish away games..The worst for me was in prague and cardiff, full of little toerags with no interest in football, out to cause craaap. I seen it in stuttgart aswell, only for the german police were ery tolerant there would have been more arrests id say..

My mate got his cheekbone cracked for nothing off an irish knacker in prague for nowt, other than ur man was probably off his tits on coke...

a lot of this will go away because tens of thousands of these toerags making easy money off the construction industry are now losing their jobs as the slowdown hits.

lopez
23/01/2008, 4:23 PM
a lot of this will go away because tens of thousands of these toerags making easy money off the construction industry are now losing their jobs as the slowdown hits.Have you never heard of emigration? There's an olympic park to be built here within the next four years. Loadsa work if that's there line.

I think the Georgia and Montenegro games will keep them away. No cheap flights, no cheap hotels, nobody from Man U, Liverpool or Celtic in the opposing sides (probably wrong, but I couldn't give a f*ck about the Premiership or the SPL).

boovidge
23/01/2008, 4:25 PM
no lopez the polish guys will do it. :D

Ireland4ever
23/01/2008, 4:48 PM
a lot of this will go away because tens of thousands of these toerags making easy money off the construction industry are now losing their jobs as the slowdown hits.

Wind up?

23/01/2008, 5:08 PM
I think the Georgia and Montenegro games will keep them away. No cheap flights, no cheap hotels, nobody from Man U, Liverpool or Celtic in the opposing sides (probably wrong, but I couldn't give a f*ck about the Premiership or the SPL).Agreed. As I think you or Sylvo said the Faroes was a knuckle dragger-free zone as it was an expensive and difficult place to get to and these lads just want somewhere close to go and mess around for the weekend.

To echo whats been said earlier, particularly after Paris and to a lesser extent Stuttgart, as well as having other commitments, I'm picking and choosing my trips a bit more and am more likely to go to the out of the way ones.

Not sure much else can be done about it, it simply reflects the fact that there a lot more coked up mongs on the streets of Ireland these days.

SuperDub
23/01/2008, 9:46 PM
Not sure much else can be done about it, it simply reflects the fact that there a lot more coked up mongs on the streets of Ireland these days.

Exactly even my father who travels with me has noticed the amount of muppets who are stoned out of their mind at irish away games and its taking from the enjoyment of the older supporters

keenanboy
27/01/2008, 12:36 PM
I travel to quite a few away games and have to agree with the sentiment here. Games have never been so easily within the reach of the fan in terms of affordability etc. young bucks with more cash than sense and a craving for the glamour trip with their mates are definitely lowering the tone of what were normally good natured events. Lads with Celtic jerseys (nothing against Celtic lads but not at an Irish game, sorry!) who have probably never been to Scotland never mind Parkhead, probably with a bag of snow up their nose are damaging our repuation as good supporters.

As a Dublin GAA supporter this kills me to say it but these guys are the same fellas who occupy parts of Hill 16 and boo minute silences and throw beer cans at Gardai. That hurts me to say but I can see trouble creeping steadily into Dublin GAA at a similar rate as to the National soccer team. Very worrying altogether.

the only suggestion I would have is that measures such as the ones used in the UK should be brought in. Individuals with a history of hooliganism/trouble were made to surrender their passports prior to the World Cup as far as I remember.

lopez
28/01/2008, 9:18 AM
...the only suggestion I would have is that measures such as the ones used in the UK should be brought in. Individuals with a history of hooliganism/trouble were made to surrender their passports prior to the World Cup as far as I remember.Nothing has happened on the scale of what the scum get upto, even in these days when they are supposed to be so reformed. What we have is low level anti-social behaviour where no one gets even to have quiet word in the ear by the local fuzz (continental police this is usually a truncheon round the head) let alone knicked, which is the very least that needs to be done to take away a passport for the period around games.

I do agree that someone with any criminal offence for football violence should have limits on their freedom to travel, but how many arrests are made for football in Ireland? What about those for hooliganism in other countries (especially 2G in Britain)?

Junior
29/01/2008, 7:57 AM
. Lads with Celtic jerseys (nothing against Celtic lads but not at an Irish game, sorry!) who have probably never been to Scotland never mind Parkhead, probably with a bag of snow up their nose are damaging our repuation as good supporters.

A topic thats been done to death but imo the bad element that are sneaking in to our away support are equalled by the clowns who think there is some kind of uniform you have to wear to support Ireland.

The reality is, the eejit, with half a ton of marching powder up his nose is equally likely to be wearing an Irish jersey, a GAA jersey, a lovely burberry number or indeed a celtic jersey. Whilst the other lot will be sat in the opposite corner in their leprechaun outfits shakeing their heads. At that point, Ill be, why the **** did I even come in to 'Biddy O'Reilly Begorras Oirish' pub!

What happened to the days when you just travelled by hook or by crook, toothbrush in one pocket and passport in the other and had the craic.........its just no like the good old days anymore.....

keenanboy
30/01/2008, 7:10 PM
You're right Junior, sorry but didn't mean to come across as sniping the Celtic lads, of course they could be wearing anything.

sylvo
30/01/2008, 9:41 PM
A topic thats been done to death but imo the bad element that are sneaking in to our away support are equalled by the clowns who think there is some kind of uniform you have to wear to support Ireland.

The reality is, the eejit, with half a ton of marching powder up his nose is equally likely to be wearing an Irish jersey, a GAA jersey, a lovely burberry number or indeed a celtic jersey. Whilst the other lot will be sat in the opposite corner in their leprechaun outfits shakeing their heads. A

What happened to the days when you just travelled by hook or by crook, toothbrush in one pocket and passport in the other and had the craic.........its just no like the good old days anymore.....

Some of the ones in the Leprechaun outfits manage to p1ss me off. Now I have nothing against classic movies like ''Darby O'Gill and the little people'' or ''Leprechaun 1'', or even ''Leprechaun in da hood'' starring a Leprechaun and Ice T, each of those movies were all time classics, but the behaviour of some of these so called little people has managed to p1ss off a fair few people, like the leprechaun in San Marino who just went around trying to get off with any female fan he would see and wouldn't take **** off for an answer. Also the the ones in Japan who while doing their silly little Leprechaun dance managed to knock over anyone around them, Including some young Japanese kids after the Saudi Arabia game.

As for the fashion police, YER SPOT ON, I seem to remember Celtic tops being an item worn at games for many years, not just lately cause a few coked up tiger cubs have turned up on the away scene. I may wear my green away one next week NR with a nice stone Island jacket, finishing off my new look with a nice burburry cap, I urge yer good self to do the same.

Ireland4ever
31/01/2008, 12:54 PM
Whatever about lads wearing celtic jerseys, i remember in slovakia a day before the match, there were a group of lads wearing liverpool/united jerseys. That just baffles me, lads wearing English club jerseys on an ireland trip.

lopez
31/01/2008, 1:20 PM
Whatever about lads wearing celtic jerseys, i remember in slovakia a day before the match, there were a group of lads wearing liverpool/united jerseys. That just baffles me, lads wearing English club jerseys on an ireland trip.Maybe if they were Plymouth Argyle or Yeovil Town I'd understand.

meathkeeno
04/02/2008, 10:58 AM
Whatever about lads wearing celtic jerseys, i remember in slovakia a day before the match, there were a group of lads wearing liverpool/united jerseys. That just baffles me, lads wearing English club jerseys on an ireland trip.

Agreed!! :confused:

Colie
04/02/2008, 5:09 PM
As a Dublin GAA supporter this kills me to say it but these guys are the same fellas who occupy parts of Hill 16 and boo minute silences and throw beer cans at Gardai. That hurts me to say but I can see trouble creeping steadily into Dublin GAA at a similar rate as to the National soccer team.Too true. Me & the bro have given up on the Hill as a result. As one lads put it on the Hill last year; "Hill 16 is haircuts only".

Whatever about lads wearing celtic jerseys, i remember in slovakia a day before the match, there were a group of lads wearing liverpool/united jerseys. That just baffles me, lads wearing English club jerseys on an ireland trip.Too right. This one really gets me.

boovidge
04/02/2008, 8:16 PM
Too true. Me & the bro have given up on the Hill as a result. As one lads put it on the Hill last year; "Hill 16 is haircuts only".

Aw man you're kidding? I was on the hill for a GAA All Ireland Semi a few years ago and there was a great atmosphere! :(

05/02/2008, 12:59 AM

Whereas Scottish club jerseys make more sense? :confused:

citizenerased
05/02/2008, 11:09 AM
well Gavinzac,,the club was founded for the irish emigrant community by an irishman, so there is a slight difference..:confused::rolleyes:

05/02/2008, 11:13 AM
well Gavinzac,,the club was founded for the irish emigrant community by an irishman, so there is a slight difference..:confused::rolleyes:
Ah right so, I heard they had some bother with UEFA recently, are they petitioning UEFA to be let into the Irish league so?

Junior
05/02/2008, 11:34 AM
Ah right so, I heard they had some bother with UEFA recently, are they petitioning UEFA to be let into the Irish league so?

What bother with Uefa? the awards that the support have received form Uefa/Fifa you mean?.....dont turn this in to a pathetic Scottish club/Irish club debate - done to death and not relevant to this discussion.