View Full Version : It's Mike Kerley

Pages : 1 [2] 3

Tis-smeee
01/01/2008, 4:08 AM
bottom line know one knows how this season is going to go till we see some short of a finalised team and until we see a few matches played at least. mike kerley might be lucky and have a great season or might be unlucky and have a bad one.....no one can call it yet.

Judging by Mike you wont have a finalised team till a week before the start of the season, no pre season or nothin

01/01/2008, 12:55 PM
Judging by Mike you wont have a finalised team till a week before the start of the season, no pre season or nothin

Could you please pi$$ off back to your own forum? You've been shown up by a fellow Waterford fan as knowing very little about Kerley's time there. We don't need the negativity here, we have plenty of our own.

Tis-smeee
01/01/2008, 2:04 PM
How have i been shown up? Im not taking the micheal either , when he was down here he only had one player signed by january and not finalising the squad generally until a week before the season, if ye want me to just say yes we only had a budget of 5k i will but i would be lieing ,Im not doing it just to wind up l37 the guy is potentially a great coach but he certainly is not a manager, btw is lovell his assistant?

Fairkop
02/01/2008, 9:44 AM
prem or first div? prem that would be religation money, a forth placed finish if its first division
had 5k plus bonus,s etc in prem......no need for those bonus,s ...no wins in 17 games.your considerable EL knowledge above would then explain how hendo won div 1st with a budget of less than 3.5k a week and a small squad and how 2 premier teams stayed up this season with budgets of 6 to 7 k.btw gael has that legend darren young been signed yet.

Unreal Madrid
02/01/2008, 3:22 PM
btw is lovell his assistant?

You mean the legend :o. I hope not

02/01/2008, 5:10 PM
hendo won div 1st with a budget of less than 3.5k a week and a small squad .

We should have given Hendo the job :eek: :rolleyes:

and how 2 premier teams stayed up this season with budgets of 6 to 7 k.

Longford being deducted 6 points would be your answer there.................

has that legend darren young been signed yet

:p

02/01/2008, 5:13 PM
How have i been shown up? Im not taking the micheal either , when he was down here he only had one player signed by january and not finalising the squad generally until a week before the season, if ye want me to just say yes we only had a budget of 5k i will but i would be lieing ,Im not doing it just to wind up l37 the guy is potentially a great coach but he certainly is not a manager, btw is lovell his assistant?

And do you honestly think he's going to be allowed to sign every spastic that walks past the ground like he was in Waterford??

His, ahem, eccentric signing policies are well known about

Tis-smeee
02/01/2008, 6:17 PM
I hope not Lim till i die, but if your manager aint allowed to sign his own players who will be doing that?

02/01/2008, 6:32 PM
I hope not Lim till i die, but if your manager aint allowed to sign his own players who will be doing that?

If he wants a player he comes to the board and lets them know before the board decide.

Which is as it should be at this level IMO.

Below in Waterford you had him signing fellas who couldn't get a game in the local Premier to play in the Eircom Premier because he was so stuck for players.

You had him bringing down Brendan Hughes and Darren Young to play Premier ball.

A large slice of the blame for that fiasco lies squarely with your own panicky board IMO, especially with regard to the local lads

03/01/2008, 9:09 AM
If he wants a player he comes to the board and lets them know before the board decide.

Which is as it should be at this level IMO. Thats just wrong. If that was the scenario a few seasons ago you would be okaying Danny Drew, Michael O'Sullivan and Kieran Judge dictating who plays for Limerick or not. And with all respect to the last two.....

A manager should live and die by his decisions. All a board should do is provide him with the best budget they can, and get on with running the club. If the manager isn't performing satisfactorily and on a par with the budget he has been given, then he goes. Pure and simple.

03/01/2008, 12:56 PM
If the general tone of this thread doesn't improve it's going to be locked.

As for Kerley's appointment I still think the jury is out on him. Great first season with a talented squad that, as I'm surprised JoeSoap hasn't reminded us, was largely assembled by NOC (O'Mahony & Sugrue aside). Second season was a disaster but I doubt Jose Mourinho would have made any more of it. The Waterford debacle was a bit of a poisoned chalice too but I wouldn't dismiss him for that either.

I think we'll be amongst the also rans this season and if we do manage a top half finish he'll have done well (barring any massive revelations in the playing staff between now and season's beginning).

03/01/2008, 1:37 PM
As for Kerley's appointment I still think the jury is out on him. Great first season with a talented squad that, as I'm surprised JoeSoap hasn't reminded us, was largely assembled by NOC (O'Mahony & Sugrue aside). :eek: I've made my opinions very clear on that over the years so I'm not going to keep on about it.

Its a new time for both Mike and the club, and a crucial time at that. I wish him all the best in what is going to be a very tough job, and think that to get through the season with a few decent results and no very embarrassing ones will be considered acceptable. The most important thing is to introduce some off the field stability and income generation. For me this season, on field activity should be the secondary concern.

Its time for the lofty ambitions and promises made to the fans and general public a year ago to start materialising.

04/01/2008, 3:35 PM
Thats just wrong. If that was the scenario a few seasons ago you would be okaying Danny Drew, Michael O'Sullivan and Kieran Judge dictating who plays for Limerick or not. And with all respect to the last two.....

A manager should live and die by his decisions. All a board should do is provide him with the best budget they can, and get on with running the club. If the manager isn't performing satisfactorily and on a par with the budget he has been given, then he goes. Pure and simple.

Of course the board should have to sanction who a manager signs before they sign them......

Unreal Madrid
05/01/2008, 11:13 PM
Darren Young has been let go by Athlone, what number do you think he will get:o

Fairkop
05/01/2008, 11:37 PM
troubled times ahead boys...i,m hearing our CEO,s management techniques have come under the FAI,s radar...its that time of year again.

L37Ultra
06/01/2008, 1:51 AM
Darren Young has been let go by Athlone, what number do you think he will get:o

The number 3 bus to Dublin Airport so he can feck off back to New Zeland :D

KevB76
06/01/2008, 10:29 AM
troubled times ahead boys...i,m hearing our CEO,s management techniques have come under the FAI,s radar...its that time of year again.

Maybe a few of us should get together and set up Limerick #38 just in case..... :D

( By the way, the apostrophe is between ; and #, just to the right of L ) :)

06/01/2008, 11:06 AM
I'd take Darren Young back, he's certainly no worse than some of what's floating around. Ditto for Ian Rossiter, handy option at right full or centre half.

Edit: I don't think I can edit anybody's posts, only move them to the rubbish forum so perhaps you could edit your own post LTID?

06/01/2008, 1:27 PM
I'd take Darren Young back, he's certainly no worse than some of what's floating around. Ditto for Ian Rossiter, handy option at right full or centre half.

Both of these guys get an unfair rap IMO.

But I wouldn't be paying Darren Young the money to which he has become accustomed ;) :p

Edit: I don't think I can edit anybody's posts, only move them to the rubbish forum so perhaps you could edit your own post LTID?

I can't edit my post

Maybe because it's so long since I posted it :confused:

Might be best if you bin it such is the outpouring of moral outrage.....

Cheers anyway man

06/01/2008, 1:27 PM

Interesting.....

Not to mention utterly predictable :o

lfc at heart
06/01/2008, 6:21 PM
good to see the offensive messages were deleted, by the way slk if I knew how to make a complaint about the remarks I would have and I was not the only person offended by it. I even done a search on how to make a complaint but I couldn't find it, those remarks should not be said on any forum.

06/01/2008, 10:37 PM

Please do tell. If my club doesnt recieve a licence i will want a head(s). Too many people have put in two much work this year the likes of Anne and Ron in the market, the org of the SC with Joe, Tom and Mick and more. Three weeks to get that licence, get the f*%king finger out! :(

07/01/2008, 10:26 AM
good to see the offensive messages were deleted, .

Was sorted out for you at my request

May your sleep never be troubled again

by the way slk if I knew how to make a complaint about the remarks I would have and I was not the only person offended by it. I even done a search on how to make a complaint but I couldn't find it, those remarks should not be said on any forum

Do you see that big massive red triangle in the top right hand corner of the posts :rolleyes:

GenerationXI
09/01/2008, 5:12 PM
Tell Mike he's no longer needed: "Newcastle United tonight parted company with manager Sam Allardyce less than eight months after he replaced Glenn Roeder." http://www.rte.ie/sport/soccer/2008/0109/newcastle.html

L37Ultra
09/01/2008, 5:43 PM
Bring Sam back :D

09/01/2008, 5:57 PM
Tell Mike he's no longer needed: "Newcastle United tonight parted company with manager Sam Allardyce less than eight months after he replaced Glenn Roeder."

Sure let them do it togeter. I'm not sure it would work anyway. Football purists like Jebus would turn their nose up at Big Sam's approach to the game! :)

10/01/2008, 9:41 AM
Sure let them do it togeter. I'm not sure it would work anyway. Football purists like Jebus would turn their nose up at Big Sam's approach to the game! :)

Goals shouldn't be allowed unless there has been at least 30 passes in the buld up. Even then it should be finished with a volley, but I'm not going to nitpick about things like that

Fairkop
14/01/2008, 12:26 PM
:eek: I've made my opinions very clear on that over the years so I'm not going to keep on about it.

Its a new time for both Mike and the club, and a crucial time at that. I wish him all the best in what is going to be a very tough job, and think that to get through the season with a few decent results and no very embarrassing ones will be considered acceptable. The most important thing is to introduce some off the field stability and income generation. For me this season, on field activity should be the secondary concern.

Its time for the lofty ambitions and promises made to the fans and general public a year ago to start materialising.

Yet again kerley has walked into a disaster zone.
Having all the badges in the world won`t save the club.
He could be back playing again himself by the looks of it with his casual attitude and alloofness.

L37Ultra
14/01/2008, 1:35 PM
Yet again kerley has walked into a disaster zone.
Having all the badges in the world won`t save the club.
He could be back playing again himself by the looks of it with his casual attitude and alloofness.

Not true. The club is in a much healthier state than it was when Kerley was managing the last time. We still have a strong squad and the club is still going in the right direction in my opinion

Fairkop
14/01/2008, 1:42 PM
Not true. The club is in a much healthier state than it was when Kerley was managing the last time. We still have a strong squad and the club is still going in the right direction in my opinion

Over €100 grand in debt, most of last years team gone, ground being reviewed by the ldmc and kerley in charge, if that`s healthy your dreaming.

14/01/2008, 2:24 PM
Over €100 grand in debt, most of last years team gone, ground being reviewed by the ldmc and kerley in charge, if that`s healthy your dreaming.

I would probably put that on a par with the last time he was here....

L37Ultra
14/01/2008, 10:57 PM

I never said it was healthy. I said it was healthier than the last time Kerley was in charge. He barely had 11 players some days, I dont think that will be the case next season as Limerick are already in the progress of completing a 22 man squad.

GenerationXI
15/01/2008, 10:27 AM
Limerick are already in the progress of completing a 22 man squad.

Elabourate. We've only had a handful of names mentioned up here so far.:confused:

barryk
15/01/2008, 10:30 AM
I never said it was healthy. I said it was healthier than the last time Kerley was in charge. He barely had 11 players some days, I dont think that will be the case next season as Limerick are already in the progress of completing a 22 man squad.

How many can you name?

15/01/2008, 11:08 AM
How many can you name?

I could name at least a dozen that were training last week whichbis pretty favourable compared with some clubs

I'm not going to bother though........

superhero
15/01/2008, 11:32 AM
Was talking to Mike at the Regional game at the weekend and he said that he will struggle to get a side together as he can't possibly go and talk to players about signing for Limerick when players are still owed money from last season..... his words not mine

L37Ultra
15/01/2008, 2:17 PM
How many can you name?

About 15 so far. Thats including the 6 U-21 players who have signed senior contracts.

barryk
15/01/2008, 2:39 PM
About 15 so far. Thats including the 6 U-21 players who have signed senior contracts.

Will you list them?
If not can you tell me if Brian Buckley is going to sign?
Ta

15/01/2008, 2:43 PM
I know KennyG and GinaG (not related) have signed up anyway, Gina (Italian striker I think) is a good find from reports I've heard, used to be top drawer, lost a bit of lustre in recent times, but can still do the business if given the chance

L37Ultra
15/01/2008, 3:01 PM
Will you list them?
If not can you tell me if Brian Buckley is going to sign?
Ta

Tommy Barrett
John Tierney
Conor Molan
Pat Purcell
Ross Cosgrave
Darren Harrington
Bobby Gregg
Peter White
Derek McCarthy
Jonaton Grant
Donie Curtin
Dave Ryan
Paul Danagher
Eddie Brazier

Well those were the players that were at training last week, so not sure if Buckley is signing. Kerley is currently looking at a few Kerry League players also. Peter McCarthy and Steven Conway were asked up for pre-season training next week to name a few

L37Ultra
15/01/2008, 3:27 PM
Heard he has left Athlone. Any one reckon he will come back to Limerick and if so, will he be a good signing. I always thought he was a great player but had a poor attitude, but beggars cant be chosers and all that..:D

superhero
15/01/2008, 3:42 PM
Heard he has left Athlone. Any one reckon he will come back to Limerick and if so, will he be a good signing. I always thought he was a great player but had a poor attitude, but beggars cant be chosers and all that..:D

I think Longford are in for him, sure the money was on with Athlone and what he will be looking for I doubt if he'll be coming back for €70 a week, also Conor Molan is going to Australia so another good player not around

KevB76
15/01/2008, 5:29 PM
Tommy Barrett
John Tierney
Conor Molan
Pat Purcell
Ross Cosgrave
Darren Harrington
Bobby Gregg
Peter White
Derek McCarthy
Jonaton Grant
Donie Curtin
Dave Ryan
Paul Danagher
Eddie Brazier

Well those were the players that were at training last week, so not sure if Buckley is signing. Kerley is currently looking at a few Kerry League players also. Peter McCarthy and Steven Conway were asked up for pre-season training next week to name a few

Delighted to see Peter White is not gone to Waterford.

Is it Dave Ryan the keeper or U21 ?

There's the nucleus of a handy team there, if a little inexperienced.

When all the dust has settled as regards the clubs financial crisis, I believe we have a pre-season friendly at home to Cobh Ramblers in mid-Feb.

15/01/2008, 5:46 PM
How does such a young club get 100 grand in debt?

L37Ultra
15/01/2008, 5:51 PM
Delighted to see Peter White is not gone to Waterford.

Is it Dave Ryan the keeper or U21 ?

There's the nucleus of a handy team there, if a little inexperienced.

When all the dust has settled as regards the clubs financial crisis, I believe we have a pre-season friendly at home to Cobh Ramblers in mid-Feb.

Ya Dave Ryan the keeper. Well thats the players that were training last week, some still may leave the club :(. Pre-season at home to Galway on Feb first before that.

starbar
15/01/2008, 6:54 PM
How does such a young club get 100 grand in debt?

i think the club was very badly run .paying big money when there not enough cash comeing in to meet ends,the results are there to be seen,shame because they actually done well on the field last year,

gaidin
16/01/2008, 8:13 AM
Ya Dave Ryan the keeper. Well thats the players that were training last week, some still may leave the club :(. Pre-season at home to Galway on Feb first before that.

Dave Ryan the U21 outfield player was trainging as well so unless both were there your information night be a little wrong and all those players you mentioned are not signed to the club YET!

KevB76
16/01/2008, 12:09 PM
all those players you mentioned are not signed to the club YET!

Are you sure about that ?
One of those players said he had signed up for 2008 as far back as November, I havent heard anything to the contrary from him since.

I can understand a lot of the players are not signed up, but to say none of them are - not sure about that :confused:

16/01/2008, 12:19 PM
think he meant not all those players are signed yet not that none of them have signed.

KevB76
16/01/2008, 12:21 PM
think he meant not all those players are signed yet not that none of them have signed.

Oh, OK.

All this rumour and counter-rumour must be getting to me :D