View Full Version : Katy French

Pages : 1 2 [3]

citizenerased
11/12/2007, 10:21 AM
in fairness if you expected much else you were gravely naive, what makes her death from coke any more hard hitting that the boys in waterford...

11/12/2007, 10:31 AM
The fact that she is a public in your face person? Its no difference to the families but like it or not "celebrities" sell things. In this case Katy is selling the "don't do coke" message.

11/12/2007, 11:04 AM
How the hell is she selling the 'Don't Do Coke' message?

Look kids I mixed coke with heroin and now I'm dead, next time cut out the heroin and make sure your dealer isn't a complete plank or else you'll end up like me, dead.

She took drugs, she went overboard, she paid the unfortunate price. Any of us who do take, or have taken, coke, ecstacy, ketamine, what have you, know the score when it comes to over-doing it, it's not a tragedy simply because it happend to a pretty, rich Dublin girl. If it happened to me two weeks ago the small column in the paper would have probably called me a Limerick junkie, because it happened to her she's suddenly Ireland's Diana? Odd that I remember everyone I know calling her an annoyance before she got carried away at a party.

11/12/2007, 11:11 AM
Am not saying she personally is selling that message coz being dead its kinda hard to do, but they are now using her as a poster campaign for the anti drugs message and tbh bringing it to a very base level, if I can use her mistake to keep my kids away from drugs I will.

And the 2 lads from Waterford got a lot of coverage too so your whole "junkie from Limerick" agrument doesn't stand up sir.

11/12/2007, 11:18 AM
Am not saying she personally is selling that message coz being dead its kinda hard to do, but they are now using her as a poster campaign for the anti drugs message and tbh bringing it to a very base level, if I can use her mistake to keep my kids away from drugs I will.

And the 2 lads from Waterford got a lot of coverage too so your whole "junkie from Limerick" agrument doesn't stand up sir.

They only got that much coverage because it was the same week Katy French died, otherwise they would have dropped off the papers fairly lively. Not to mention they were relegated to the sidelines in every paper. Plus the papers would have called them junkies if it wasn't the same week she died, they always look down their noses at ordinary drug users and decry them as filth. Katy French however is a lost flower or some crap like that? Absolute ********

If the media really wanted to make a difference they would out every drug taker in their circle, from ****** ****** to *** *****(not sure if either do take drugs, just using their names) and show how big the problem is. They also wouldn't have promoted Katy French's lifestyle as being ideal when they knew it wasn't, unless of course they all take drugs as well and don't see a problem with it :eek:

inexile
11/12/2007, 11:26 AM
in fairness jebus the incident with the 2 lads in waterford got a lot of coverage initially when they were brought to hospital, the reason why their deaths didnt get as much coverage is because their story had been in the news for a week or so and the katy french incident came to light, they didnt receive the same amout of coverage as they were not 'famous' but they got quite a bit.

and magicme what are you gonna tell your kids? "once upon a time there was a beautiful girl, she had fame and money and the adulation of idiots, she took cocaine and didnt live happily ever after"

11/12/2007, 11:28 AM

Magicme, if you'd like to inocculate your kids against the prefered method of Coke/powdered substance abuse you could do worse than copy my Mams tactic of inadvertently exposing me to every cold, flu, bug, germ available as young as possible leading to adenoidectomy and tonsilectomy.

I couldn't snort if I wanted to ...and believe me, as a younder idiot I tried to a couple of times (speed) and bled like a pig within seconds. It was like the feckin Somme ...with me stopping a canon round with my face.

11/12/2007, 11:32 AM
and magicme what are you gonna tell your kids? "once upon a time there was a beautiful girl, she had fame and money and the adulation of idiots, she took cocaine and didnt live happily ever after"

I dont have to. They have watched the news and we have discussed the lads in Waterford and Katy. I happened to comment that she was a beautiful, intelligent young woman and my eldest son said "she cant have been that intelligent if she took drugs". I wanted to leap to her defence but I stayed stum as if he can think that only an idiot does drugs that is all the better.

anto1208
11/12/2007, 11:44 AM

Would it not make more sense to propoerly educate them on what drugs do , how to react if you find yourself in trouble ( spiked ) rather than using a person that over did it and died as an example. What possible advice from that situation could you use ? dont stay up for 3 days partying on coke pills vodka red bull and speed balls. Actually teach them how to take drugs responsibly. ( i know how crazy that sounds)

Problem is using things like that to scare kids out of doing drugs back fires because people lump in all drugs they say cannabis will do xyz to you then kids smoke a joint and what happens they have a good time , then they think hey we got lied to i wonder what else they lied about ill try pills , and they have a good time and again think we got lied to again lets have some coke and again they have a good time. then they get it into there heads that drugs are safe ( which they certainly arent ) and start looking for bigger highs stronger stuff mixing drugs etc that how they get into trouble.

Chances are your kids will come in contact with drugs they may not take them but they will be around them they will be tempted they may find themselves in trouble , goverment figures show 51% of people under 25 have tried some drug .using that figure if you have 2 kids at least one will chance it.

I know i wont want my kids to get a criminal record , long lastign health problems or even die from missusing drugs ill be teaching them the facts not scare mongering.Or teaching them to be condesending little *ssholes that look down there nose at people that take drugs.

Humans have used drugs from thousands of years the body can hadle it if used properly the problem is the force explosion of potency of drugs that the war on drugs has pushed.

citizenerased
11/12/2007, 12:17 PM
They only got that much coverage because it was the same week Katy French died, otherwise they would have dropped off the papers fairly lively. Not to mention they were relegated to the sidelines in every paper. Plus the papers would have called them junkies if it wasn't the same week she died, they always look down their noses at ordinary drug users and decry them as filth. Katy French however is a lost flower or some crap like that? Absolute ********

If the media really wanted to make a difference they would out every drug taker in their circle, from ****** ****** to *** ***** (not sure if either do take drugs, just using their names) and show how big the problem is. They also wouldn't have promoted Katy French's lifestyle as being ideal when they knew it wasn't, unless of course they all take drugs as well and don't see a problem with it :eek:

I agree Jebus 100%,
not sure if Dahamsta will be happy with libelist comments though :)

11/12/2007, 12:19 PM
I agree Jebus 100%,
not sure if Dahamsta will be happy with libelist comments though :)

Next time I'll call them ****** G and R ****** :p

Actually a question for the right on brigade here that think drug takers are some form of scum. What would you do if you found out your brother/sister/son/daughter/mother/father/partner had taken, or is taken drugs? Would your opinion of them be less than it is now?

11/12/2007, 2:39 PM
The fact that she is a public in your face person? Its no difference to the families but like it or not "celebrities" sell things. In this case Katy is selling the "don't do coke" message.
Didnt she try that message a couple of weeks before she died?

11 pages taken up in some newspapers today about her and her funeral, glorifying a girl who was known for her looks. Its not a career, its a job you can hold while you look beautiful and young.

If it was Joe Soap down the road, how quick are people to point the finger and call them junkies. Her case has been glorified, Michael Healy Ray even referring to her as "Our Diana". Come off it. You have the ability to say no, no matter what circle you are associated with. I have great sympathy for her family, they're the ones left to pick up the pieces and go through the hurt and pain this has caused, just like the families in Waterford and else where.

11/12/2007, 2:40 PM
...Her case has been glorified, Michael Healy Ray even referring to her as "Our Diana"...
Someone actually said that? And not in a sarcastic way? :eek:

11/12/2007, 2:42 PM
It was Michael Healy Ray and had been a headline on one or more of the tabloids

DaveyCakes
11/12/2007, 3:10 PM
If she was Ireland's Princess Di, why didn't we have a day off work for her funeral?

placid casual
11/12/2007, 3:14 PM
I would compare her more to that vacuous wench sophie anderton than diana spencer/windsor/al fayed ?

11/12/2007, 4:32 PM
who gives a schesser about diana, seriouslly.

11/12/2007, 4:33 PM
who gives a schesser about diana, seriouslly.

Same type of person who gives a schesser about Katy French I suppose

11/12/2007, 5:03 PM
Next time I'll call them Glenda G and R Darcy :p

Actually a question for the right on brigade here that think drug takers are some form of scum. What would you do if you found out your brother/sister/son/daughter/mother/father/partner had taken, or is taken drugs? Would your opinion of them be less than it is now?

So are you saying I'm "right on brigade" coz I dont want my kids to do drugs, that I dont agree with drug taking? Get over yourself. When you have kids you will understand.

As for the thinking less of people coz of drugs thing thats bull. You love the person but not what they are doing. My marriage was pretty much ruined by drugs so I know what the impact of them can be. Not in all cases obviously but potentially.

Anyway this is all off the point. Another young lad has died needlessly this week.

Not once have I ever called anyone, never mind a drug user, scum.

11/12/2007, 5:38 PM
If it was Joe Soap down the road, how quick are people to point the finger and call them junkies. Moi??;)

11/12/2007, 5:42 PM
If it was Joe Soap down the road, how quick are people to point the finger and call them junkies..

10 posts? :p

11/12/2007, 8:03 PM
I know i wont want my kids to get a criminal record , long lastign health problems or even die from missusing drugs ill be teaching them the facts not scare mongering.Or teaching them to be condesending little *ssholes that look down there nose at people that take drugs.

how exactly can you teach someone about drugs though, if ye dont have any knowledge of the drugs ;) :p

anto1208
11/12/2007, 10:43 PM
how exactly can you teach someone about drugs though, if ye dont have any knowledge of the drugs ;) :p

I know poo tastes like poo even though ive never tasted it ;)

12/12/2007, 11:11 AM
So are you saying I'm "right on brigade" coz I dont want my kids to do drugs, that I dont agree with drug taking? Get over yourself. When you have kids you will understand.

As for the thinking less of people coz of drugs thing thats bull. You love the person but not what they are doing. My marriage was pretty much ruined by drugs so I know what the impact of them can be. Not in all cases obviously but potentially.

Anyway this is all off the point. Another young lad has died needlessly this week.

Not once have I ever called anyone, never mind a drug user, scum.

Never said you did, a few on here have alluded to it though and that question was directed at them

kingdom hoop
12/12/2007, 1:44 PM
What would you do if you found out your brother/sister/son/daughter/mother/father/partner had taken, or is taking drugs?

I think I'd roll up a big fat joint, drive out to Banna Beach, go for a short stroll along the shore. Then I'd go lie on one of the dunes, spark the spliff, let it have its effects, marvel at the beauty of the sea the beach the mountains, and have a good old chat with them. Chill there for an hour or so before making our way back towards the car. Also, I'd try to make sure we go on a day that the ice-cream man was there so that we could have some ice-cream before hitting the road.

What would you do? :)

12/12/2007, 2:19 PM
I think I'd roll up a big fat joint, drive out to Banna Beach, go for a short stroll along the shore. Then I'd go lie on one of the dunes, spark the spliff, let it have its effects, marvel at the beauty of the sea the beach the mountains, and have a good old chat with them. Chill there for an hour or so before making our way back towards the car. Also, I'd try to make sure we go on a day that the ice-cream man was there so that we could have some ice-cream before hitting the road.

I'd ask them if they had any to sell, there's an awful shortage around here at the moment :D

Sligo Hornet
12/12/2007, 2:26 PM

More or less the same.......except I don't smoke and can't abide ice cream!

Tony_Montana
12/12/2007, 2:34 PM
She was beautiful RIP

kingdom hoop
12/12/2007, 3:15 PM
More or less the same.......except I don't smoke and can't abide ice cream!

I like what you did there! :) Who needs drugs when you've beautiful scenery.* Certainly can put a different perspective on life. Kind of a Luddite philosophy, who needs all this modern society, and its pressures, rubbish.

By the way, how in the name of Haagen Dazs do you not like ice-cream?

* Saying that, the two always compliment each other spectacularly. The proverbial 'woah, man' :o :)

12/12/2007, 7:02 PM
It was Michael Healy Ray and had been a headline on one or more of the tabloids

Michael Healy Rae is barely human, I wouldn't take too much notice.

Also isn't it a bit offensive to compare someone to Diana??

Although I can definitely see the similarities..........

12/12/2007, 7:11 PM

Both talked nonsense and people wished they would take a walk across that minefield?
Or is there something else?

12/12/2007, 7:13 PM
Both talked nonsense and people wished they would take a walk across that minefield?
Or is there something else?

There's several other things but if I mentioned them the moral outrage on here would devour us all ;) :)

12/12/2007, 7:17 PM
There's several other things but if I mentioned them the moral outrage on here would devour us all ;) :)

Yeah I forget sometimes how loved she was, better keep my mouth shut I guess

kingdom hoop
13/12/2007, 12:27 AM
Michael Healy Rae is barely human

In that he works the land so isn't as evolved as a city boy?

Or the fact that he promotes a sense of togetherness and community spirit that belies the modern rat race, more reminiscent of primeval hunter-gatherer conviviality?

Or neither, you think you are barely human yourself so want to think you have some company to help you climb the evolutionary ladder.

Just generally curious. Thanks. :)

citizenerased
13/12/2007, 9:29 AM
KH (no offence intended) but do you use similar vocab ina non cyber envronment in kerry without getting a slap!

anto1208
13/12/2007, 10:18 AM

Killed by speed ??

citizenerased
13/12/2007, 10:59 AM
lol...bit early for them jokes but good one,

13/12/2007, 5:09 PM
In that he works the land so isn't as evolved as a city boy?

Or the fact that he promotes a sense of togetherness and community spirit that belies the modern rat race, more reminiscent of primeval hunter-gatherer conviviality?

Of course not.

It's because he is in fact, a penguin.

Or neither, you think you are barely human yourself so want to think you have some company to help you climb the evolutionary ladder.

Oh no wait you're right this is the real reason :rolleyes:

13/12/2007, 5:28 PM
You'd have to be some ****king sap to be taken in by Michael Healy-Rae's good old boy shtick.

kingdom hoop
13/12/2007, 6:47 PM
Oh no wait you're right this is the real reason

No worse an explanation than saying he's a penguin. :rolleyes:

Sheridan, yes he's a bit of cute hoor (he's much cuter than his dad by all accounts) but what exactly makes one a sap to be taken in by him? Is he going to let me down if I vote for him? I don't think he would, so how would I be a sap then? Maybe my cynicismeter needs some oil but I find him to be pretty refreshing, genuinely funny, and a decent person. Yes he plays to the crowd (what aspiring politician doesn't), but it's not like he does it in a smarmy way. I actually think what you see on the outside is pretty much what he's like. I think anyway. What do you see different?

KH (no offence intended) but do you use similar vocab ina non cyber envronment in kerry without getting a slap!

You tryin'a say Kerry people are ignorant? :p

Seriously though, no slaps for my vocab. I'm always aware of who my audience is, and obviously whether they're likely to slap me or not for being a hair bombastic! Generally though, like most people I'd imagine, my fingers tend to be more articulate than my mouth so it's not as much of a problem as it might be. Mind you, I have gotten some abuse (not the friendly banter kind) for having a pretty nondescript, "well spoken", accent alright. I was a townie you see! But that's just from petty small minded people so one tends to just ignore it.

13/12/2007, 8:34 PM

Sheridan, yes he's a bit of cute hoor (he's much cuter than his dad by all accounts) but what exactly makes one a sap to be taken in by him? Is he going to let me down if I vote for him? I don't think he would, so how would I be a sap then? Maybe my cynicismeter needs some oil but I find him to be pretty refreshing, genuinely funny, and a decent person. Yes he plays to the crowd (what aspiring politician doesn't), but it's not like he does it in a smarmy way. I actually think what you see on the outside is pretty much what he's like. I think anyway. What do you see different?
I think he's a smarmy cnut who talks out the side of his mouth, is highly, HIGHLY ambiguous about drink driving, drink drivers and the perils connected to either and is generally a bit of a creep.

Whenever someone (say one of our northern cousins over on their board) tries to tell me northerners and southerners are both homogenous, ethnically seperate groups I think of the Healy-Raes of this island and am reminded that there is huge cultural difference throughout all corners of this island, it's provinces and even counties. I know because this guy is from 60-70 miles down the N20-something from me and frankly he and I might as well be on seperate planets. Now there's a pleasant fcukin thought.

13/12/2007, 8:48 PM

You were getting all precious over what was obviously a flippant remark so I gave you a stupid answer to what were several stupid questions.

Get Over It.

As for my true feelings well they would be very, very, close to this:

I think he's a smarmy cnut who talks out the side of his mouth, is highly, HIGHLY ambiguous about drink driving, drink drivers and the perils connected to either and is generally a bit of a creep.

Whenever someone (say one of our northern cousins over on their board) tries to tell me northerners and southerners are both homogenous, ethnically seperate groups I think of the Healy-Raes of this island and am reminded that there is huge cultural difference throughout all corners of this island, it's provinces and even counties. I know because this guy is from 60-70 miles down the N20-something from me and frankly he and I might as well be on seperate planets. Now there's a pleasant fcukin thought.

kingdom hoop
13/12/2007, 11:18 PM
I think he's a smarmy cnut

I dunno, that's not how I took him up. Matter of opinion I guess, but on his TV appearances over the past few months I thought he came across as unquestionably genuine with good human values. It could all be an elaborate charade of course, but I don't think so. Though to be honest I tend to presume someone is good-natured firstly and then let them show that they aren't. I'm a bit gullible that way, but I think it's a better philosophy to have than the opposite! (by the way I'm not trying to imply that you're a miserable git :p)

On the drink driving, I agree with you. Some of his comments have been pretty slippery. I think I remember them as something like 'drink driving is terrible, but it's fine if you're under the limit'. Something like that anyway. I wouldn't really single him out for that though, as he is very much caught between a rock and a hard place. He's a vintner himself so would've been under political pressure from his cohorts in that area, then trying to appease people like you and I, and all the while having rural sustainability (or his own business like) on his mind. Not exactly easy, and I think I would've said much the same in his position.

Of course his name in this context arose in light of his comparison between Diana and Katy French. Quite clearly delusional in that case. He did spend a couple of day with Katy on that Celebrities Go Wild thing so maybe he is better qualified than most to comment on French. Not sure if he met Diana though!

14/12/2007, 1:22 PM
To drag this back on topic (and regretably to probably offend 90% of the board) I'm sick to the back teeth of reading about the 'tragic model'. A drug overdose (and I know it's not official yet blah, blah, blah) is sad for sure and a waste of youth and potential and promise but a tragedy?

I was close friends with a girl from Derry a few years ago who died from cancer. She was 18 years old. That was a tragedy and to put somebody like Katy French, who contributed so tellingly to her own demise, in the same bracket is just plain offensive to be completely honest.

May she rest in peace for sure but may the rest of us use a little perspective in picking through the aftermath.

BaZmO*
14/12/2007, 1:35 PM
To drag this back on topic (and regretably to probably offend 90% of the board) I'm sick to the back teeth of reading about the 'tragic model'.
I'd say it's more like 10% but I agree the rest of your points.

14/12/2007, 2:00 PM
I'll third that sentiment.

14/12/2007, 4:12 PM
I was close friends with a girl from Derry a few years ago who died from cancer. She was 18 years old. That was a tragedy and to put somebody like Katy French, who contributed so tellingly to her own demise, in the same bracket is just plain offensive to be completely honest.

id agree with the above.